Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marking your ball?

• 16-04-2010 3:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭

Does anyone have any unique way they mark their ball. Eg 2 yellow dots. I bet we have some examples of lads who will only use a ball if it has a certain colour dot. line, etc. Just interested to hear..........:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

this is probably the most pointless post i've seen in a while,sorry that's just my opinion,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Change the opening line buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Two blue dots above the ball name, always :D

It's amazing the amount of people who still don't mark their balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I recently marked my ball at the start of the round. It was placing that day. After a few holes i noticed the markings had all but disappeared. Trouble is, i was midway through a hole and wasn't sure whether i'd have to wait until the hole was over to re-mark the ball.

Anyone know what the ruling would be.

To answer the O.P's question - any old squiggle usually does the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

heavyballs wrote: »
    this is probably the most pointless post i've seen in a while,sorry that's just my opinion,

I know i'm bored here though so anything to pass the time...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

I recently marked my ball at the start of the round. It was placing that day. After a few holes i noticed the markings had all but disappeared. Trouble is, i was midway through a hole and wasn't sure whether i'd have to wait until the hole was over to re-mark the ball.

Anyone know what the ruling would be.

The ruling on what?

Rule 12.2 states
    Each player should put an identification mark on his ball.

It's not mandatory, it's a recommendation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Followed by a one of the most pointless post's !! why knock him, if you dont like it dont post anything but dont have a go...stupid !!:confused::confused::confused:

I always mark my ball with 2 dots together right of the number, pointless I know !!

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    Followed by a one of the most pointless post's !! why knock him, if you dont like it dont post anything but dont have a go...stupid !!:confused::confused::confused:

I always mark my ball with 2 dots together right of the number, pointless I know !!

because it's a fing forum and if i think it's pointless i may aswell post it,i could also say to you if you don't like my post ignore it and don't reply

Exactly a fing forum to discuss the topic in which was posted !!
    what exactly did you discuss ?? nothing you just ran it down, if thats how you discuss things fair enough !!

I on the other hand just pointed that out and then told you how I marked my ball !!

aster99 wrote: »
    I know i'm bored here though so anything to pass the time...:D

look buachaill that's from the original poster,fair play he admits it himself basically that it's pointless,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

Sure whats the point of any of this? Its all useless really.

look buachaill that's from the original poster,fair play he admits it himself basically that it's pointless,

unreal !!
    I will say no more on it we are now dragging it off post !!

suns shining, its friday , chill your beans and be a lil nicer imo it doesnt always have to be a serious post ??
    Sorry if i upset ya !!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Daithio9

Lads with a name like aster and all the trivial threads "he" starts, I'd say it's fair to say "he is a "she".
    @ OP who makes there own balls?, I likes to buys mine!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

It's amazing the amount of people who still don't mark their balls.

Why? I'm amazed at the number of people who do.

When did this craze catch on and is it just more pointless aping of the pros (who do have some justification given that they are all playing Pro Vs) creeping into the amateur game? You even see 'ball marker' pens on sale in proshops.

We got along for years without this affectation - and most of us playing Dunlop 65s back in the day.

Sandwlch wrote: »

When did this craze catch on and is it just more pointless aping of the pros (who do have some justification given that they are all playing Pro Vs) creeping into the amateur game? You even see 'ball marker' pens on sale in proshops.

We got along for years without this affectation - and most of us playing Dunlop 65s back in the day.

Its down to honesty again and I am in favour of marking.Its not an image thing or egotistical just avoids confusion. You name your ball tee off and pull it into the bushes !! you get there and say yeah Titleist 2 thats mine, how do you know for sure ? Your playing a game and hit a provisional, it happens to be same make and number who is to say which one is the first or provisional ??, Some players in your group hit same make and number and you put two balls close together ?? I think these can all be avoided without marking but that said why not just make sure ??? I think its better all round its marked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    Its down to honesty again and I am in favour of marking.Its not an image thing or egotistical just avoids confusion. You name your ball tee off and pull it into the bushes !! you get there and say yeah Titleist 2 thats mine, how do you know for sure ? Your playing a game and hit a provisional, it happens to be same make and number who is to say which one is the first or provisional ??, Some players in your group hit same make and number and you put two balls close together ?? I think these can all be avoided without marking but that said why not just make sure ??? I think its better all round its marked.

Im with Buachaill on this. Marking a ball is a must to avoid any confusion. One thing I think when playing a provo it must be a different number or at least be different marking from original ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

You think it's a craze/fad?

Dont think so.

By marking your ball it leaves no doubt that it's your ball. Also, when approaching my ball, most of the time I can see the markings on the ball before the logo/name. To be honest I actually think it's irresponsible not to mark your ball.

I follow the logic alright, and nothing against being safe. But with the variety of balls out there and numbers its not that hard to sort out who's playing what on the first tee without confusion.

My point was more that if you go back 10 or 20 years and you had stood by the first marking your ball and declaring 'mine has three blue dots around the number', you would have been looked at as if you had two heads, or been subject to jibes of a 'what do you think you're playing, The Open ?' nature.

Let alone a discussion on what marks you have seen....

I follow the logic alright, and nothing against being safe. But with the variety of balls out there and numbers its not that hard to sort out who's playing what on the first tee without confusion.

My point was more that if you go back 10 or 20 years and you had stood by the first marking your ball and declaring 'mine has three blue dots around the number', you would have been looked at as if you had two heads, or been subject to jibes of a 'what do you think you're playing, The Open ?' nature.

Let alone a discussion on what marks you have seen....

yeah I guess so

I think its like everything else though it evolves with time and some people will chose to pick up on it or stay old school !! whatever floats your boat I guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

But with the variety of balls out there and numbers its not that hard to sort out who's playing what on the first tee without confusion.

Sure - within your group of 3 playing partners it's unlikely there will be mix ups but what about Buachaills point about rummaging in bushes? Not to mention the fact that often out on the course you might cross another 4 lads playing towards you on the hole ahead?
    My point was more that if you go back 10 or 20 years and you had stood by the first marking your ball and declaring 'mine has three blue dots around the number', you would have been looked at as if you had two heads...

It's the year 2010. Things have changed thanks be to Christ.

Anyway - whether you mark because you are being vigilant or don't mark because you either don't care or afraid people will think you're trying too hard, in my opinion it's a good thing. If I pull a ball that I haven't marked, after I've swiped my 1st one into the gorse, I'll just say, "Titleist 1 with no dots." - Can only do that because it's the done thing :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Three black dots on either side of the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

I put my initials on the ball, saves confusion with the various dots. I wouldn't dream of playing without a marked ball. There are so many people playing ProV1's that I think it's essential to put some sort of identification on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭stebed

Three red dots above Titleist, in a Scotty Cameron flavor, and a black putting line.

I play the same course week in week out and it is nice to find your own balls again weeks after losing them when I venture in the gorse on a ball retrieval mission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

One black dot either side of the number, always. Usually works out kinda diagonal to the number because of the dimples.

@ sandwich, I dunno who you play with but usually when I'm on the first tee in a singles there's at least two pro v's in the group, sometimes with the same number. Marking sets them apart and makes recognising your ball easier, so why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

Didn't think i'd cause such a stir with this topic. Was just wondering thats all, saw a guy with his ball covered in markings during the week so was curious what everyone else did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,185 ✭✭✭G1032

A GUI rules official told us at a rules night at my local club that it is now mandatory to put an identification mark on your ball.
    It is the only way you can be sure that you're hitting your own ball.
    Think of this senario - Hit a drive over a hill and you can't see ball land. Say you're playing a Titleist 2. Lots if people play a Titleist 2 and the only way you can know that the Titleist 2 you're about to hit is your ball is to check for your own identification mark.
    Everybody should mark their golf ball.

And it's not a craze either Sandwlch.......

My mark - 3 blue dots above the first letter of the ball name.

A GUI rules official told us at a rules night at my local club that it is now mandatory to put an identification mark on your ball.

Thanks, Ill keep that in mind if struggling in a matchplay someday. What is the penalty if you spot your opponent hasnt complied ? Loss of hole or disqualification ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

I bought 2 doz personalised TM numbered ones, little difference in price. Normally every ball is either 0 (if its a TM) -4, but not mine, so don't need the marks :)