Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you an old folk hater?

• 15-04-2010 8:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭

Looking around some of the comments on the Boards, I've noticed some people knocking the elder lemons in our society. Why? ... Is it just a hate thing ? or do people in general just dislike older people?.. or is it a bit of jealousy ?
    What age do you consider people being old ?

I see some people who pick on older people just for the fun of it, or just terrorise them for the sake of it... What are your feelings about older people?

are you an old folk hater? 16 votes

you dislike old people
    0%
    should be put down @ 65
    56%
    TouchingVirusChad ghostalorourkedaCuddlesworthHead_HunterMmcdHerbal DeityForest MasterGlenster 9 votes
    send them off to the funny farm @65
    25%
    SpearRuu_Oldphasersoisinmc14 4 votes
    you enjoy their company
    18%
    minidazzlerSteeveSmithlilblackdress 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I love Biggins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

These cunts know a lot more than you do.

It's pimply faced fcuks who go to ITs, and can't spell or punctuate, I would be more concerned about.

The oldies have been there and done that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Where's the option for Fuck off, I am one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

It's pimply faced fcuks who go to ITs, and can't spell or punctuate, I would be more concerned about.
    It's the pimply faced fcuks who go to ITs and who can't spell or punctuate that I would be more concerned about.

Fixed it for you.

Honestly, is it really their fault if the fact that they a) can't get laid and b) don't have money that makes them vexatious and disagreeable?

Actually, is it.

Tetch on youngsters, say I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Nah old folks are great. They talk about interesting things, like modern history. Plus they dont drone on about how drunk they're goin to get in some spanish resort this summer while texting endlessly on their phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I love old people so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭TheKells

Agricola wrote: »
    Nah old folks are great. They talk about interesting things, like modern history. Plus they dont drone on about how drunk they're goin to get in some spanish resort this summer while texting endlessly on their phone.

ah ffs you just described me and I'm 22 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

anyone who hates old people based on their age alone is an idiot:rolleyes: of course the moaney cranky ones are a different story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

As a senior citizen was driving down the motorway, his mobile phone rang.

Picking up, he heard his wife, her voice high with anxiety, warn him, "Henry, I just saw on the news that there's a car driving the wrong way on M50. Please be careful!"

"One?" replied Henry, "Are you joking? There's hundreds of them at it!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

They're hilarious....I would'nt be able to live with one though :)

Cullen82 wrote: »
    They're hilarious....I would'nt be able to live with one though :)

Just the odd one night stand so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

"Old People" eh? Like a borg entity with a single mind, action and purpose I guess? There's a tendency to paint all old people as crotchy auld bollixes who spend all day moaning and trying to ruin everything for the rest of us. This is not so. There is variety amongst their ranks. Some are fine. Some are cúnts.

It's like the idea among school-leavers that all 15 year old kids are rude little bollixes who spend each day of their lives bringing down the intellectual and social standard of this country every time they open their mouths. I know this is not so. There's lots of well mannered and smart young teenages out there. The problem is it's just that ones who act like they're hot shít and do rude stuff like playing shítty music on their crappy phones down the back of the bus grab all the attention and paint the rest in a bad light.

Each person to be judged on their own merits.

As a senior citizen was driving down the motorway, his mobile phone rang.

Picking up, he heard his wife, her voice high with anxiety, warn him, "Henry, I just saw on the news that there's a car driving the wrong way on M50. Please be careful!"

"One?" replied Henry, "Are you joking? There's hundreds of them at it!"

thats a blonde joke adapted to senior citizen - fail:D

I was a passenger in a tractor with an old guy while ago, only to realise he was wearing slippers while driving... :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

Just the odd one night stand so?

Haha very good, Yeah pretty much :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

should be put down @ 65
    I used to think old people were all right until yesterday when the neighbour came around to the house and told us to turn off our boiler because she couldn't breathe and had the windows open in her house. Granted the boiler was sooting a bit and is just getting serviced but f*ck me, she was rude, arrogant and very insistant that we weren't being fair. Then today, while we're all going around the house in hoodies and jumpers, freezing our nuts off with the lack of heat her son comes around, tells us they're going to call the council on us over it and that yesterday we did nothing when she complained, despite her watching us turn off the boiler through her back door. Mad 'aul c*nt, so my estimation of old people has diminished somewhat recently.

old or not, tell her to go f*ck herself tbh

You had the heating on yesterday with all that sunshine? WTF - is there an ash cloud blocking out the sun over Longford or wha?

(Either that, or yr over 65 & always cold)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

It's the fear. People who disike oldies are just afraid of becoming old. Projection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I can't wait til I get to shout "Get offa ma lawn! :mad:"

I don't have a lawn yet though...

Dudess wrote: »

Just a well trimmed bush. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Dudess wrote: »
    I can't wait til I get to shout "Get offa ma lawn! :mad:"

Even better, it doesn't have to make sense if your old.

I'm looking forward to this exchange when I'm older:

Young Person: <says something>
    Me: What?
    Young Person: <repeats something louder>
    Me: WHAT?
    Young Person: <repeats something much louder>
    Me: THERE'S NO NEED TO YELL, I'M NOT F*CKING DEAF SONNY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

old folk are cool, i can have a much better conversation with a senior than someone my age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Old people are either hilarious or sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

you enjoy their company
    brummytom wrote: »
    Old people are either hilarious or sound

Or mean, bitter and just waiting for death to come around the corner, but death is always late getting to the mean and bitter old cnuts!

I am not a fan of old people at all TBH. The world is overcrowded as it is, I think you should be in school from 0-20, 2 years off to do as you please, work from 23-50, then 10 years to do as you please...then you go to a farm just outside of town, where you can run and play with all the other mice.

Whoever gets the very vague reference gets 1,000 internets.

But seriously, that's what I think should happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm definitely getting old. A guy passed me riding a unicycle (seriously) in Dublin city centre the other day and all I felt was profound irritation and the temptation to kick the wheel out from under him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

ahh the old folks..
    i remember a few years ago i was waiting for a bus and this old man drives by in his tractor with his wife in the transporter on the back with her shopping:pac:
    best thing i've ever seen in my life:pac:
    they're a strange bunch alright..im surrounded by them where i live too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

stovelid wrote: »
    I'm definitely getting old. A guy passed me riding a unicycle (seriously) in Dublin city centre the other day and all I felt was profound irritation and the temptation to kick the wheel out from under him.

Dont worry about it. Anyone of any age should have an overwhelming desire to upend a unicycle riding nonce. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

should be put down @ 65
    You had the heating on yesterday with all that sunshine? WTF - is there an ash cloud blocking out the sun over Longford or wha?

(Either that, or yr over 65 & always cold)

It does get cold at night, and I don't know about you but a house that sits in the shade nearly all day because of trees does be fairly cold ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

stovelid wrote: »

Ah a natural reaction for someone of any age, it's when you start listening to morning Ireland that you know you're getting old :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

send them off to the funny farm @65
    I hate old people, but that might be because I never really experienced having Grandparents so my only time around old people is on buses.

How I loathe them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I love old people. They've a lifetime of experience to talk about, it makes them interesting and balanced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Old people were never the same in my eyes after i seen lemon party...

The only upshot of it though is that i now still hold some hope of still gettin blown at 80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

I think old people's fear of everything affects many people negatively. They vote alot, and vote about things in a ridiculous manner because they are afraid of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

raah! wrote: »
    I think old people's fear of everything.

Fear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Yeah I like old people, love their stories, think we can benefit from their experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If I don't spend my days as a really old woman sitting on a porch cradling a sawn-off shotgun, with a few cats perched on me, cackling hysterically and rocking back and forth dementedly, I'll have failed as an auld wagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

3 negative options and 1 crappy "Yes, I enjoy their company" option? What's the point in the poll? Also, my grandad is friggin' awesome, dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Some of the best nights out ive had (no jokes) have ended up with me randomly chattin about science/history/politics/celebs with oul lads..and am often found wafflin and debatin about one or all of these in the corner of the pub/at the bar/middle of the smokin area...!

Couldnt give a rashers..life history and somethin to say for yourself FTW regardless of age!!!

All of us (touch feckin wood) will hopefully live a decent long life...and people will appreciate what we have say beyond what IPhones do and what Jordan had for breakfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I like old people (generally... a tiny minority are total bollockses - and even then, they can be endearing). When you're on a bus or a train, and a young person sits beside you, they never attempt to instigate a random conversation. And let's face it - if they did, they'd just seem a bit strange. You'd make your excuses, get off at the next stop and then wait for another... less-friendly bus. Or maybe that's just me...

On those rare occasions that an old person sits next to me on a bus and doesn't start chatting about something, I take it personally. I assume that, upon seeing my face, they just knew that I was dull or standoffish and that their life story would be wasted on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭dueyfinster

RayM wrote: »
    I like old people (generally... a tiny minority are total bollockses - and even then, they can be endearing). When you're on a bus or a train, and a young person sits beside you, they never attempt to instigate a random conversation. And let's face it - if they did, they'd just seem a bit strange. You'd make your excuses, get off at the next stop and then wait for another... less-friendly bus. Or maybe that's just me...

On those rare occasions that an old person sits next to me on a bus and doesn't start chatting about something, I take it personally. I assume that, upon seeing my face, they just knew that I was dull or standoffish and that their life story would be wasted on me.

I find on the train I'm the last one they talk to when they have the option. I wouldn't instigate it, but if there up for a chat they get there moneys worth..

+1 for some life experience sharing, -1 for the minority who are very, very bitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

Alan Rickman's 64.. he'd get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭mail4liam

Generally I like old/er people, they were here before us and experienced things we may never. They are great for stories, especially around your own area as regards past residence and past relatives of yours. So give them the time they deserve, you may be old yourself some day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭quicklickpaddy

Well... It's not that I dislike old people... It's just that they kinda creep me out. When they're all saggy skinned and wrinkly and a bit decrepit... Jesus I hope I don't end up like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

i know some old people who are lovely people and i know some that are cantankerous, horrible cnuts, same with every age group

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I like listening to their storys about long ago. But what písses me off is when auld wans jump the queue or shove me out of the way in the supermarket only to spend fúckin hours rummaging through their purses for coppers :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

I'm a young folk hater, and i'm only 29.
    Fúcking young wans with their heads stuck in the phones all day, and who cant shut up giggling and talking in the cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

I remember this place when it was all fields!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

the nurses steal my things you know