Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BBQ Neighbours!!

• 14-04-2010 11:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

Does anyone know if anything can be done about our very annoying BBQ neighbours? They BBQ at the drop of a hat and usually goes on all day. They start for breakfast, then its cranked up again in the afternoon and goes on until tea time. They have it positioned up against the wall so that it is billowing right over our clothes line. We have a small child and our washing machine is on most days. They started as early as March this year and with the fine weather they will be at it every evening until about October. Its very annoying that we can’t enjoy our own garden with the smoke and noise from them. We don’t begrudge anyone having a BBQ or party as we have had a few ourselves over the years but not to the extreme that they go to. They are a bunch of lads who doesn't really care what anyone thinks. They also drive around drunk and wrecklessly around the place. They are renting but don’t really know the landlady and have only seen her a handful of times in the past number of years.

Any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭jacko1

NR1 wrote: »
    Does anyone know if anything can be done about our very annoying BBQ neighbours? They BBQ at the drop of a hat and usually goes on all day. They start for breakfast, then its cranked up again in the afternoon and goes on until tea time. They have it positioned up against the wall so that it is billowing right over our clothes line. We have a small child and our washing machine is on most days. They started as early as March this year and with the fine weather they will be at it every evening until about October. Its very annoying that we can’t enjoy our own garden with the smoke and noise from them. We don’t begrudge anyone having a BBQ or party as we have had a few ourselves over the years but not to the extreme that they go to. They are a bunch of lads who doesn't really care what anyone thinks. They also drive around drunk and wrecklessly around the place. They are renting but don’t really know the landlady and have only seen her a handful of times in the past number of years.

Any ideas?

I'd imagine that they find you just as annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭McCrack

Use initiative...talk to them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

They sound like a bunch of idiots, from what you say. Esp the drunk driving.

You could have a word but they probably wouldn't listen. Is there someone in the local council you can have a word with?

It's more of a worry regarding the drink and driving, I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Talk to them, ask them nicely if they can move the BBQ to a different part of the garden and if they wouldn't mind keeping it down after 10pm because you have a small child.

Sounds like they're probably just students, who will do what students do. But you've no reason to assume that they're going to take your head off for making a reasonable request.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

jacko1 wrote: »
    I'd imagine that they find you just as annoying

Jacko, please read the charter. Posts like that won't be tolerated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭jimmylawman

Any ideas?

Very very annoying. Do they play music as well? Unfortunately I'm not sure what can be done. There seems to be little recourse to local councils or the law. In an extreme case you could call the guards but probably only if it was late at night and it may just lead to further tensions afterwards. If you have not already I wonder would it be worth approaching them directly. If they are anyway reasonable they will hopefully listen and respond in part anyway. Of course the danger is they may not want to know. I think you should be free to enjoy your own garden in peace without being subjected to this. Unfortunately it seems a peril of modern living with houses and living spaces in such close proximity. Do any other neighbours mind do you know? At least if they are renting they won't be there forever..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Do they rent or own? Have you made complaints to the Gardaí? The gardaí can't do anything but you can ask them if they will record it on their system in case of civil proceedings being brought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭eagle_&_bear

You have 2 options in reality:

1) non-Legal route:
    go talk to them, talk to landlord/landlady and/or Council/Local Authority and see what good comes of it. If nothing good comes of it. Register post a letter to them and keep a certificate of postage explaining your position and put down all the times you attempted to resolve it etc and what you want and why. If that doesnt help matters,then you have little option but to move to a legal route

2) Legal route:
    Instruct a solicitor who can write a letter on your behalf asking them to calm it down. If they dont respond appropriately, you may then have to look at a nuisance order from the District Court.

Your solicitor will advise you on this (if it comes to that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭lucianot

I've been having similar or worse problems for the last 10 months. I have to move out now, I am renting but is not fair at all being forced out by an idiot who gets to stay.
    You have to talk to them first in case they just don't realize how annoying they are, some people can react very well when realizing they are affecting another person.
    Then if it continues calling the Gardai will not really help, they can't do anything about it except talking to them, it may help but also depends on the sense of impunity they think they have.
    You have to talk to the landlady then, and if it doesn't help you have the PRTB mediation system, local council, even an antisocial behaviour order, but in my case is not working as this guy doesn't really care about anything.
    Good luck, be patient, do not insult them but be firm and show how frustrated you are.

You can read this article but honestly I hope it can be resolved with a simple conversation:

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/environment/environmental-protection/noise_regulations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭eagle_&_bear

lucianot wrote: »
    You can read this article but honestly I hope it can be resolved with a simple conversation

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭blueythebear

Any ideas?

If they're a bunch of lads renting, you can always complain to the PRTB. The PRTB covers most residential tenancies and one of the standard terms of such a tenancy (a "Part 4 tenancy" under the residential tenancies act 2004) is that hte tenant covenants with the landlord to not indulge in anti-social behaviour (can't remember the section offhand). Anyhoo, a complaint could be made to the PRTB (even by a party who is not a tenant or landlord) and possibly have the lease brought to an end....