Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

local festivals?

• 12-04-2010 10:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭

i want a little festival, a local not to much happening but still a bit of a laugh festival.I want to rent a house and head with a few friends.be great if it was along to coast mayo/sligo/donegal area.
    Dont want anything too big like the mary of dunglow or rory gallagher festivals

Any recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

rothai wrote: »
    i want a little festival, a local not to much happening but still a bit of a laugh festival.I want to rent a house and head with a few friends.be great if it was along to coast mayo/sligo/donegal area.

Any recommendations?

http://www.seasessions.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

wow you're so cool and edgy OP.

Nothing mainstream for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

i want a little festival, a local not to much happening but still a bit of a laugh festival.

Sounds like a fete worse than death.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Tedfest!

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

NPLD
    FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I think I'll start a festival called:

'A local not to much happening but still a bit of a laugh festival'™

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭feelpablo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭karlm37

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

.......or "A festival that's sh1t because Carlberg didn't organise it festival".

The-Rigger wrote: »

I know a guy that has a field that we can run that festival in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

AnonoBoy wrote: »

I have an old table we could put things on.

It's coming together nicely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Leixlip-festival-2010/308606868736?ref=ts

the town just gets hammered the whole weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

All July and August in Galway should sort you out.;)

Good shtuff. Where is she?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

NPLD
    FTW
    From the flikr pictures and the photos ive seen on their facebook page, it seems horrid 'yaw tochally loike'.... DJs and their mates 'having grache fun'.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

From the flikr pictures and the photos ive seen on their facebook page, it seems horrid 'yaw tochally loike'.... DJs and their mates 'having grache fun'.

I posted it in the most sarcastic sense, please dont take it seriously

Good shtuff. Where is she?

It's me!

Let's get that table from lonad too. I could do with something to sleep under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Well next week in galway is the Cuirt literature festival, which is excellent (don't laugh, I love that sort of thing) and there's a trad fest in kinvara over the bank holiday weekend.

Then there's sh*tloads in the summer and beyond. What exactly sort of festival do you want, besides small? Trad? Electronic (more drum and base and house or more psy trance)? Metal/Hardcore? Reggae? Small alterna-bands? Past their prime charting bands? Literature/theater? Yoga? Fire spinning? Environmental/crafts? Sci/fi conventions?

I'm not taking the piss, all of the above have happened in Ireland in the last two years. There are a lot of festivals in this country ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

As a Dubliner this is the first time a culchie has made me feel culturally ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

df1985 wrote: »

We really do

It's me!

Let's get that table from lonad too. I could do with something to sleep under.

Let's!
    What's lonad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭360ts

The Rory Gallagher Festival in Ballyshannon, Co. Donegal.

Flipping awesome. June Bank Holiday Weekend.
    Everyone goes for the craic and to just relax. Never saw one fight in the last two years.

Will be my third in a row this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

360ts wrote: »

Everyone goes for the craic and to just relax. Never saw one fight in the last two years.

Did you actually read the OP ?

I agree with your views on the Rory Gallagher festival, it's a cracking weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 andy1981

Bluegrass festival, Dunmore East, Waterford 27th, 28th & 29th August, 2010.

Once a year in August music pilgrims come from all over the world to the Dunmore East Bluegrass Festival to listen to authentic bluegrass music. Bands play to ecstatic crowds, spread out comfortably at 6 venues, both indoors and outdoors. There also fine dining, sunbathing, swimming, dancing and jamming all day and night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Did you actually read the OP ?

I agree with your views on the Rory Gallagher festival, it's a cracking weekend

DOH!
    Never even saw that last line in their post til now.
    Must have been a ninja edit to make me look foolish!

Specsavers for me then....

Let's!
    What's lonad?

A poster on here, apparently he has a table that we can use to put things on for the festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

That's pretty much what it was like yeah...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭JoseJones

360ts wrote: »

Will be my third in a row this year.

The measure of a good festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭mac36

Check out the An Tostal festival on Facebook.

JoseJones wrote: »
    The measure of a good festival.

It's actually kind of sad that it has come to counting the number of brawls I witness at a social event in order to judge it's "goodcraicedness".

It's the only way though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

I was at a new years party at Ionad's gaff. he didn't even have a clock.

Good table though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Cois Fharraige in Kilkee. It's at the start of September, and is a fantastic weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

the ballinamore festival in leitrim every august is great fun

ballygar festival end of july/early august on the roscommon/galway border is a little more low-key but its still not bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Don't know if this is stil on, used to be great though I'd say the scum quotient has increased.
    http://www.discoverireland.com/ca-en/ireland-things-to-see-and-do/whats-on/listings/?fid=FI_70199

The Donegal Town festival is quite good.

I was at a new years party at Ionad's gaff. he didn't even have a clock.

Good table though.

I thought he was called Lonad.

That's how locked I was at that party.

PS - I was the one that tried to steal the table! I'm so crazy me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Maigh Eo

Well if I was in your shoes, Id head for Mayo and more importantly Westport from Thursday August 5th to Sunday August 8th the Westport Music Festival is a massive hit with a final rap up of all events on Sunday with Lá Oidhreachta Chathair na Mart, or Westport Heritage day, something different from all the other events, check out www.gnomhaigheo.ie and www.westportmusicfestival.com