Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dogs chasing cattle again

• 10-04-2010 4:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

posted on this last year and we got rid of the problem dog , now the same guy has another dog chasing the cattle again:mad: should i ring dog warden , owner of dog is a total prat so its not worth asking him to restrain his dog or do we shoot on sight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

why dont you tell the prat that he runs the risk of losing a second dog, if the chasing persists then ring the warden, (not a fan of the shooting idea) its not the dogs fault his owner wont look after him propperly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Since it's happened before because of the same person, shoot on sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

If the dog is chasing cattle shoot him. You're perfectly within your rights and the owner should know better at this stage. If you go the dog warden route the problem could drag on for months, if the owner gets rid of the dog it will probably end up chasing someone else's cattle down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Is there any chance of you getting near enough to the dog to catch it? If so, catch the dog, bring it back to the owner and tell him the dog was in the field and that the next time it happens you'll be shooting any dog you see worrying your stock. I did that before and it worked a charm. No more dogs in chasing cattle or horses. :)

You could go down the route of the dog warden, but their effectiveness depends on the individual. If you've a good warden, then you could contact them. If not, it's probably a waste of time.

I'm not a fan of shooting either, but if the guy doesn't bother to control his dogs effectively he's breaking the law and you're legally entitled to shoot the dog as it's worrying your stock.

Btw, I don't suppose you happen to have a camcorder handy? Or a video recording function on your phone? If you did, you could record the dog chasing your stock and present it to the dog owner warning him to control his dog or risk losing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭cam1452

id take the pellets out of the cartridges and fill them up with grains of rice or corn. he'll tink twice about coming the 2nd time. worked for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭UPCS

Tell the owner to stop the dog chasing the cattle and if he doesnt you will get the warden, dont shoot on sight its cruel its not the dogs fault that its owner is a prat and he also shouldnt be allowed dogs espically if he cant look after them!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

last year when we got rid of the dog he sent his 12 year old daughter crying to me about the dog being shot , he's away all day and dogs can do what they like he says "sure they're having fun" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

I would give him one more warning, that way the ball is in his court. Tell him you will shoot it if happens again. If you kick up a fuss about it, he might figure out you are serious. Maybe talk to a dog warden, dog might not be licensed. Nobody wants to shoot kill someones pet, but if people cant control them, maybe they shouldnt have them in the first place. We had the same problem a few years ago with dogs chasing sheep. Ended up shooting them in the act, and ended up putting down a good few sheep aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Had a similar problem a few year ago with a neighbours dog.. Let out a few limouisins with new calves.. sorted the problem, the nearly killed the dog with fright when they got him in a small field.

Dog may need to be frightened. A shot over his head might be enough to make him afraid to come back; it would also let the neighbour know you are serious as well.
    Claasman wrote: »
    I would give him one more warning, that way the ball is in his court. Tell him you will shoot it if happens again. If you kick up a fuss about it, he might figure out you are serious. Maybe talk to a dog warden, dog might not be licensed. Nobody wants to shoot kill someones pet, but if people cant control them, maybe they shouldnt have them in the first place. We had the same problem a few years ago with dogs chasing sheep. Ended up shooting them in the act, and ended up putting down a good few sheep aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

If the dog does this again shoot it with rice or corn and then warn owner if it happens again you will shoot the animal dead

PS - I wouldn't bother with the dog warden -in my experience they are glorified meat wagons, any stray dog that can't be re -homed is better off with a bullet in the head!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Figerty wrote: »
    Had a similar problem a few year ago with a neighbours dog.. Let out a few limouisins with new calves.. sorted the problem, the nearly killed the dog with fright when they got him in a small field.

I was thinking the same myself. I saw one of our red limousin cows nearly kill a dog once. His owner was bringing him through the field on a lease. Panic set into the cows and they huddled around the calves. The head cow (matriarch) left the group and sprinted for the dog. Scared the hell out of me, I can tell you, I taught she'd go for the owner. She tried to pin the dog to the ground.
    This year the same cow went beserk when a pigeon landed on a 6Ft wall near her calf. She charge at the wall and tried to get up at the pigeon.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

whelan1 wrote: »
    last year when we got rid of the dog he sent his 12 year old daughter crying to me about the dog being shot
    Well let her know about the dead baby moo-moos.

pakalasa wrote: »
    I was thinking the same myself. I saw one of our red limousin cows nearly kill a dog once. His owner was bringing him through the field on a lease. Panic set into the cows and they huddled around the calves. The head cow (matriarch) left the group and sprinted for the dog. Scared the hell out of me, I can tell you, I taught she'd go for the owner. She tried to pin the dog to the ground.
    This year the same cow went beserk when a pigeon landed on a 6Ft wall near her calf. She charge at the wall and tried to get up at the pigeon.:D

I had a similar experience only last summer. Some of those continental breeds are wicked beyond belief - give me a nice quiet Angus cow any day over these mad Frenchies:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

It's the irresponsible dog owner who should be shot. We've had three dogs over the past 7 years and not one has gotten a sniff of any farmers livestock. It's down to the dog owner to provide a secure open space for their pet to use and of course none of them think of that when they go off buying puppies for the kids. I've spent a lot of time and money building various versions of Guantanamo Bay compounds which serve the purpose of protecting my dogs and everyone elses cattle and sheep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭haybob

Just disappear the dog Whelan, I know lads who have videoed dogs following their animals and got little satisfaction for it. The man that owns the dog is a disgrace totally irresponsible and not fit to have a dog
    posted on this last year and we got rid of the problem dog , now the same guy has another dog chasing the cattle again:mad: should i ring dog warden , owner of dog is a total prat so its not worth asking him to restrain his dog or do we shoot on sight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Figerty wrote: »

Dog may need to be frightened. A shot over his head might be enough to make him afraid to come back; it would also let the neighbour know you are serious as well.

my dad had a similar problem a few years ago with his own dog, just decided to start acting the bollox one year and went chasing the lads' cattle (the place is rented out)

My dad was awful worried and was tying up the dog, walking him on a lead etc. talked to the tenants who said to hold tough for a few days, they were changing the stock around and had the perfect solution.

They arrived on at the weekend with a trailer of charolais cows with calves and took away the heifers that had been out.

himself was let off the lead and went exploring, only took a while till he was into the field with the cows and calves. Only took a little while longer till he got a puck in the head from a charolais cow he was chasing. It was beautiful, she saw him and wanderd over, nearly taunted him to give chase, once they got up to speed she slowed all of a sudden, the dog caught up and got an unmerciful kick.

We didnt see him for hours, but he's been a good little boy ever since.

JohnBoy wrote: »
    my dad had a similar problem a few years ago with his own dog, just decided to start acting the bollox one year and went chasing the lads' cattle (the place is rented out)

My dad was awful worried and was tying up the dog, walking him on a lead etc. talked to the tenants who said to hold tough for a few days, they were changing the stock around and had the perfect solution.

They arrived on at the weekend with a trailer of charolais cows with calves and took away the heifers that had been out.

himself was let off the lead and went exploring, only took a while till he was into the field with the cows and calves. Only took a little while longer till he got a puck in the head from a charolais cow he was chasing. It was beautiful, she saw him and wanderd over, nearly taunted him to give chase, once they got up to speed she slowed all of a sudden, the dog caught up and got an unmerciful kick.

We didnt see him for hours, but he's been a good little boy ever since.

Good story - My own Lab learnt not to chase horses the same way;)

got in touch with my neighbour he says shoot the dog he doesnt like it:eek: i will ring the dog warden tomorrow and get him to take it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

got in touch with my neighbour he says shoot the dog he doesnt like it:eek: i will ring the dog warden tomorrow and get him to take it

what a prick, nothing stopping him going and getting another dog tomorrow and letting it do the same

thats what he did last year ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Goldenquick

Wow, that is some contrary neighbour you have. I hope there is some way of stopping him from ever having a dog again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

thats what he did last year ....

Tell the dog warden this too. The man is clearly unsuitable to have a pet.

ye i said i would get the dog warden he said no to shoot it , but i am going to get the dog warden , wonder does he have a licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭UPCS

At least your not going to shoot it, the poor wee thing, you sholud see that he can't keep dogs at all!!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

ye i said i would get the dog warden he said no to shoot it , but i am going to get the dog warden , wonder does he have a licence

Sounds like a lovely person! Christ, let the dog out to chase cattle so it'll get shot and so the owner won't have to go to the effort of bringing him to the vet to be put down or to the pound to have a chance at being rehomed. And then he'd probably send his poor daughter over to you again to complain that you shot the dog!

yes arent i the lucky one to have such nice neighbours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

shoot the dog, then the neighbour and then the daughter.....might as well get a clean cull hahahahaha(joking by the way)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

This man should never be allowed own a dog again if thats his attitude....

I live in the middle of a large farming area sheep/cattle...i have a 7ft 1/2 acre inclosed area for my dog

she barks through the fence at the cows...they stand and roar back at her...both animals seem quite content with this exchange and are happy to leave it at that...

anyone that takes the attitude of your neighbour should never be allowed own an animal or better yet should be shot themselves..

I jsut cant understand people who dont take resposibility for there pets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 deglance

shoot the owner of the dog if he put time into the dog maybe the dog wouldnt be running around after cattle, we had the same problem with a neighbours calf drove the cattle through all the new wire fencing :mad: so we put the highland cow in with the rest of the cattle and after a kick off her the dog wont go near the cattle anymore but the owner does not do anything with the dog just lets him roam around the place.

My own dog goes over an lies down beside the cattle haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

Sounds like another classic case of Vitamin L deficency. This appears to be becoming a very prevalent problem, and yet it is so easily avoided. Always carry your Vitamin dosing gun with you when out and about, and when you spot Rover, give him his shots. Correct Vaccination with vitamin L has proven to cure 8 out of 10 dogs that worry farm stock, and the other 2 missed completely, the eegits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

Tell the owner that his dog is loose again on your land, when he comes over take your pick, shoot him or shoot the dog !

1st time was irresponsible on his behalf, the 2nd time is taking the p***

CoalBucket wrote: »
    Tell the owner that his dog is loose again on your land, when he comes over take your pick, shoot him or shoot the dog !

1st time was irresponsible on his behalf, the 2nd time is taking the p***

Its been proven in the past that administering Vitamin L to humans has bad side effects, including :Hair loss, Farm loss, Liberty Loss and family loss, and has very adverse financial implications.

Administering Vitamin L to animals on the other hand, tends to lead to : Extreme docility in the subject, huffy neighbour syndrome, solicitors letters and lingering resentment, up to and including a severe lack of waving when met on narrow roads, the calling of names in pubs, and fist fights.
    On mature reflection, Vitamin L should only be administered to neighbours pets when all other cures have been tried, and all temptation to dose the neighbour himself should be ignored totally, much as it may be warranted, needed or even begged for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

dunsandin wrote: »
    Its been proven in the past that administering Vitamin L to humans has bad side effects, including :Hair loss, Farm loss, Liberty Loss and family loss, and has very adverse financial implications.

Administering Vitamin L to animals on the other hand, tends to lead to : Extreme docility in the subject, huffy neighbour syndrome, solicitors letters and lingering resentment, up to and including a severe lack of waving when met on narrow roads, the calling of names in pubs, and fist fights.
    On mature reflection, Vitamin L should only be administered to neighbours pets when all other cures have been tried, and all temptation to dose the neighbour himself should be ignored totally, much as it may be warranted, needed or even begged for.

I acquired some vitamin L a few years ago and have never looked back since.
    The treatment works alot better with a higher quality dosing gun

Sorry for your trouble. Edit- does that mean you got given some, or did you get some to give others? I may be taking this up the wrong way, as the altar boy said to the monseigneur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

dunsandin wrote: »

jeez your mad for your vit L are ya