Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane O'Donoghue

• 09-04-2010 9:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭

Just like the open last year he has surpassed himself again and deserves his own thread.

The Matt Kuchar interview took the piss completely, made him discuss Tiger for 90% of the interview. Only Kuchar is such a gentleman I think O'Donoghue would have been well put in his place by others.

The saga continues ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

f22 wrote: »
    Just like the open last year he has surpassed himself again and deserves his own thread.

The Matt Kuchar interview took the piss completely, made him discuss Tiger for 90% of the interview. Only Kuchar is such a gentleman I think O'Donoghue would have been well put in his place by others.

The saga continues ...

i agree 100%,he seems to complicate his Q's and likes to have a good waffle to himself before he pops the Q
    you can tell that he irritates most of the players,especially Westwood imo,lets see what the interview is like in a few mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Legwinski

Thought the Tom Watson one was pretty good :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Aha Shake wrote: »
    Thought the Tom Watson one was pretty good :)

in fairness you're right but maybe that just shows the class of the man(Watson that is:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

What I found to be the worst about the Kuchar interview was that when they went back to the commentators they said, and I'm paraphrasing here, that wasn't it nice for Kuchar to be asked about himself cause his play has really warranted it.

Like **** me I know Kuchar is a bit of an unknown but to say that about anyone who has got into the Masters and shot under par whilst playing beside the Tiger is completely and utterly ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭GorHugh

I've watched Shanes questions for the last 2 days , My God he's painful .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

What I found to be the worst about the Kuchar interview was that when they went back to the commentators they said, and I'm paraphrasing here, that wasn't it nice for Kuchar to be asked about himself cause his play has really warranted it.

Like **** me I know Kuchar is a bit of an unknown but to say that about anyone who has got into the Masters and shot under par whilst playing beside the Tiger is completely and utterly ridiculous.

If i read you correctly, i think you've got the wrong end of the stick. It was Rileywho spoke up about it and he was annoyed that O'Donoghue hadn't asked Kuchar about his own golf/round enough. That was the way i took it anyway.

O'Donoghue seems like a clown - some of the questioning is really cringeworthy. He showed his lack of knowledge too when he accused Ricky Barnes of having had a crap year up until now. Barnes certainly put him in his place.

And the Woods interview? O'Donoghue sounded like the quiet boy in school asking the coolest kid in class if he could borrow his ruler.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

You lose Linker, You get more of SOD.
    Plus ça change and all that jazz... although I heartily approve of him interviewing Garcia, Poulter and Westwood because it will sure come to live violence any day soon.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,611 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Licksy wrote: »
    You lose Linker, You get more of SOD.
    Plus ça change and all that jazz... although I heartily approve of him interviewing Garcia, Poulter and Westwood because it will sure come to live violence any day soon.

Agreed, I'd say Shane has a 50/50 chance of being decked by a golfer before the year is out. I was kinda on his side on the past threads, hoping he'd get the hang of it, but he still prefaces every question with a ridiculous comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Maybe we should abandon the Boards pick the winner sweep and set up a 'who's gonna deck shane o'donoghue' sweep instead.

My 5p is going on Sergio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

I cant get over how bad he is, how bad his questions are and that the bbc are employing him...i just dont understand it.

That Kuchar interview was a disgrace, you could tell he was a bit embarrassed by it. Barely asked him about his round, and at -1 he is well in contention.

I find Hazel equally as rubbish too.

Post round interviews should focus on the round itself with a few more broader questions at the end, not these nothing questions being asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Daithio9

Yea Shane comes across in his interviews as nervous and/or clueless, either way it's strangely entertaining, and with regard to Hazel, she's far superior to the dumbo condescending noddy that used to present it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

If i read you correctly, i think you've got the wrong end of the stick. It was Rileywho spoke up about it and he was annoyed that O'Donoghue hadn't asked Kuchar about his own golf/round enough. That was the way i took it anyway.

That may well be the case. Unfortunately I wasn't fully listening at that stage as I was banging my head off the wall hoping to wake up and find out Shane O'Donoghue was at home watching it on tv and not reporting.

I thought the Tiger interview was class. Tiger put him back in his box with the response about his concentration.

I have to say I felt slightly sorry for Shane when he was interviewing Ross Fisher I think it was yesterday. He asked one question and Ross spoke about everything that happened to him that day. You could see Shane was struggling to come up with another question but I'm sure he's used to that by now so it's no big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Oliverdog

MaxPower89 wrote: »
    I find Hazel equally as rubbish too.

She's seamlessly replaced Lineker, in that (1) she knows sweet bugger all about the subject and (2) she interrupted Peter Allis twice in rapid succession when something appeared on her monitor that in her judgement was more interesting than whatever Allis was saying.

Shane's interview with Rory was a small classic too - he asked him the same question four times, and to Rory's credit he answered politely, although he must have wanted to throw a tarpaulin over SO'D and nail down the corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

Does anybody have any links to these interviews,would love to see one of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

In fairness I think S'OD is better this year.

Reilly made the comment about Kuchar and I know that personally ,after an incident I had with him, before an Irish Open,he doesn't seem to like the Irish.

If I was asked I would call Reilly a major asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 markj2009

I think you mean Wayne Grady, who made the comment. I thought O'Donoghue was fine in the interview with Kucher. He did ask him about his own round near the end but lets be fair the interest is with Woods. Not for the first time Grady got the wrong end of the stick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

just heard hazel irvine mention poulters "rags to riches" life working in a golf shop selling mars bars. ah bless..... these people live in another world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Niallymac

The man is a plank, an embarrassment to all who understand golf and the English language. He must be riding someone at the beeb, and I ain't talking hazel ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

This has probably come up before, but how did Shane ever get the gig on the BBC?

He was an average DJ on 2FM, did a small bit of golf commentary on RTE. Surely there must be more qualified BBC Sport journalists who could make a better stab at Golf interviews?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

SkidMark wrote: »
    This has probably come up before, but how did Shane ever get the gig on the BBC?

He was an average DJ on 2FM, did a small bit of golf commentary on RTE. Surely there must be more qualified BBC Sport journalists who could make a better stab at Golf interviews?

Rumours are he has a very big driver.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭useurename

i think shane is great.very entertaining between the golf.also i think that some of the golfers like him and they seem to open up a bit more to him.sergio is a pain anyway.when he hears shane talking he probably sees paddy harrington.rory mac really opened up to him.i say fair play to him.i'd say himself and greg allen go to hooters every night drinking whiskey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

I don't understand the antipathy towards O'Donoghue. He knows the game and he knows the players (and they know him).

What do you want him to ask? Players do not want to be uncomfortable, they're accommodating the media.

As for the Kuchar interview? I thought Kuchar misunderstood the first question and rambled on and on about Tiger, instead of answering what he was asked. SO'D then steered him towards his own game.

Fair play to Shane, may he continue doing this for a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

did he interview tiger and if so what were his 2/3 questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Gophur wrote: »
    I don't understand the antipathy towards O'Donoghue. He knows the game and he knows the players (and they know him).

Quite laughable to be honest, perhaps you were watching something different to most others here.

Firstly interviewing clearly doesn't seem a natural thing with him at all, none of his quaestioning flows in any way at all. His knowledge of the game seems quite limited to me and he tripped himself up more than once, especially with Ricky Barnes, mentioning his "slow start" to the season. In fact Barnes had made 10 out of 11 cuts.

Lastly, I bet the players know him alright, quite a few of them look at him in dibelief as he questions them, most of the time asking the exact same thing about "strategy" after every round.

As mentioned earlier, surely the BBC can come up with something better .

f22 for the job
    better than any sleeping pill on the current market

conno16 wrote: »
    f22 for the job
    better than any sleeping pill on the current market

pest-off-concentrate.jpg

Quite laughable to be honest, perhaps you were watching something different to most others here.

Firstly interviewing clearly doesn't seem a natural thing with him at all, none of his quaestioning flows in any way at all. His knowledge of the game seems quite limited to me and he tripped himself up more than once, especially with Ricky Barnes, mentioning his "slow start" to the season. In fact Barnes had made 10 out of 11 cuts.

Lastly, I bet the players know him alright, quite a few of them look at him in dibelief as he questions them, most of the time asking the exact same thing about "strategy" after every round.

As mentioned earlier, surely the BBC can come up with something better .

What do you want from an interviewer?

Anyone see that idiot of an American interviewing Tiger after he finished?

What a plonker! An amateur psychologist too, by the sounds of things.

Give me SO'D any day, over the likes of that guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

He's not as bad as some of the American's, for sure.But he does go a bit overboard on the kiss-arsing.He interviewed Tom Watson and his son yesterday for the second day in a row and asked the exact same questions.Over two days and about 9 questions in total, he must have asked Watson's son how amazing it was to caddy for him at Augusta at least 3 times.Wouldn't go as far as to say he makes a completel tool of himself, but he's not far off it.

marty morrissey, as mentioned earlier, is a credible alternative to o'donoghue

surely the logical thing would be to stick an ex-golfer down there with a mike
    the bbc should have faldo or someone asking proper questions and giving golfers a good grilling when warranted
    like poulter for instance shoulda been givin a boot up the ass saturday evening for fooking up my 35 - 1 bet

The main problem with Faldo is, though infinitely knowledgeable about the game, he always manages to end up talking about himself!

David Feherty always manages to inject a little humour into things, while also knowing alot about the game.

the bbc could take a different approach tho and use someone like chris evans or ronan keating
    both know golf inside out, have played all the top courses and could inject a little charisma into the game/interviews

Ronan Keating + Charisma + Same Sentence = Mistake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

The main problem with Faldo is, though infinitely knowledgeable about the game, he always manages to end up talking about himself!

David Feherty always manages to inject a little humour into things, while also knowing alot about the game.

Pleeeeeease not that guy.!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

In fairness I think S'OD is better this year.

Reilly made the comment about Kuchar and I know that personally ,after an incident I had with him, before an Irish Open,he doesn't seem to like the Irish.

If I was asked I would call Reilly a major asshole.

That Wayne Riley guy from sky is a plank alright but probably best not to confuse him with fellow Aussie Wayne Grady (Major winner) who seems a like a decent bloke.

Which you have just done. It was the major winner who is commentating for the BBC and who the poster was referring to.
    I'd agree with you re Wayne Grady on sky, a hopeless case.

conno16 wrote: »
    the bbc could take a different approach tho and use someone ................ ronan keating
    both know golf inside out, have played all the top courses and could inject a little charisma into the game/interviews

Are you taking the pi55?

Aidric wrote: »
    Which you have just done. It was the major winner who is commentating for the BBC and who the poster was referring to.
    I'd agree with you re Wayne Grady on sky, a hopeless case.

Are you trying to confuse me? I think you've mixed them up as well :p
    The poster WAS referring to the guy on BBC but he called him Reily.
    It's Grady on BBC.

Are you trying to confuse me? I think you've mixed them up as well :p
    The poster WAS referring to the guy on BBC but he called him Reily.
    It's Grady on BBC.
    I thought he was talking about Wayne from The Wonder Years. :pac:
    In all seriousness though you are right, Wayne Grady is on the BBC and Riley is the plonker on sky.

wayne.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Ya Wayne Grady is from the bbc, and Wayne Riley from sky.
    Grady is a good commentator while Riley trys to be like Feherty imo, and it doesnt work for him.
    But back to Shane, he isnt great but he is improving, so maybe 20 years of him on the beeb and he will be one of the best. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Eoinyh

This man is painfully to listen to, I had to watch the open on sky,I hope he is getting paid for the constant plugging he is at, u wouldn't mind if it was going international but it's aired in Ireland if I here " fantastic Carton House only 30 minutes from Dublin" il crack, even the wife has twigged him, saying "who's that twat, is he working for failte Ireland does he know anything about golf", her words, they should have the golf weekly threeo on or some one like it,bit of crack intetesting to listen to, Ryle nugent has a lot to answer for, another case of jobs for the boys

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

3 years later and ye still don't like him!! Only coverage i watched was on sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭dcmm

Thought Gary Murphy did a real competent well informed job out on the course. He sounds like an irish Peter Alliss,nice speaking voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 dsk

I was really looking forward to the open coverage but this man is painful to listen to. I'm sure he is useful at other things but maybe he should really give the commentary a miss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭SevesThreeIron

dsk wrote: »
    I was really looking forward to the open coverage but this man is painful to listen to. I'm sure he is useful at other things but maybe he should really give the commentary a miss.

I always felt the same til he did a life and times piece on the Newstalk golf pod recently. Came across well. Has an interesting golf background and clearly knows his stuff. It's a bit like Butch, quite annoying with the 'fine young man' and 'it's a lot of fun' stuff but you have to respect their knowledge/background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 dsk

Fair enough, I'll admit I haven't given him much time however he has said 'intriguing' 29 times since coverage began and generally just goes on a bit much. But I'll give him a chance. Butch does say that a lot, he's a big fan of everybody ;-). Feherty was at pain at first but now I think he really adds to the viewing experience, wish he was with fox for this event. Feherty knows his stuff as well as any of them.