Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rule for marking Ball on Green ,

• 09-04-2010 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭

Lads just wondering if anybody can shed some light on this for me ..

I get to the green put my marker down and pick up my ball , clean put it down and position it to my liking , i remove my marker and step away .

Can i then place my marker down again and move the direction of my ball to my liking ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Atlantic1

Absolutely! The only thing I can think of that's different is that, under winter rules, when you lift, clean and place your ball on the fairway, etc., I don't think you can't touch it again. But on the green it's different. You'll often see pro's replace it a number of times, to allign the ball exactly as they want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭GorHugh

Cheers Lads ,

I've often aligned the ball , stood up and noticed it could be a little bit more left or right , I now now i can re-align it ,

Thanks for your help .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

GorHugh wrote: »
    Cheers Lads ,

I've often aligned the ball , stood up and noticed it could be a little bit more left or right , I now now i can re-align it ,

Thanks for your help .

TV commentators giving out about pros doing exactly that during last nights Masters saying no wonder it takes so long to play a round.

It makes you a slower player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭GorHugh

Sandwlch wrote: »
    TV commentators giving out about pros doing exactly that during last nights Masters saying no wonder it takes so long to play a round.

Jaysus Lad , I'm talking about 1 time every 2 or 3 rounds ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

GorHugh wrote: »
    Jaysus Lad , I'm talking about 1 time every 2 or 3 rounds ...

you do it all the time !!! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

I've a question. What's the procedure if two balls come to rest against eachother on the fairway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Atlantic1

Su Campu wrote: »
    I've a question. What's the procedure if two balls come to rest against eachother on the fairway?

The ball closest to the hole should be marked and lifted by the player whose ball it is. However. he/she can't clean it and should hold it with the index finger and the thumb. Under no circumstances should it be put into the player's pocket, etc!

The ball can be replaced, not dropped, where it originally lay, but, if the player hitting first took a divot, etc., thus affecting where the lifted ball should be replaced, the ball may be placed beside the divot mark, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Sandwlch wrote: »

ya, I got a tip for my putting recently about lining it up using the line on the ball, but I do find it difficult.
    I will often have to do it, step back for a look, then repeat. I feel like it makes me way slower on the green. But I never seem to get it right first time, and it definitely has improved my putting. What to do.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

jimbling wrote: »
    ya, I got a tip for my putting recently about lining it up using the line on the ball, but I do find it difficult.
    I will often have to do it, step back for a look, then repeat. I feel like it makes me way slower on the green. But I never seem to get it right first time, and it definitely has improved my putting. What to do.....

1 walk to the green promptly,placing you bag at the proper side to exit the green to the next tee
    2 be ready to play when its your go i.e. have the putt read from behind the ball and behind the hole if you can,
    3 putt out without analsying each others missed putts or faults
    4 get off the green and dont mark the cards 'till you reach the next tee box while one of your partners is teeing off or while you are walking up the next fairway

then you wouldn't be holding anybody up,and could fanny about the green when puttting or re-aligning your ball if necessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

good advice sham

I find it, the less time someone has been playing golf the more time they take.
    i.e. a guy who picked up golf 2 years ago but might watch it on tv for 20 years, takes 3 practice swings and ages around the green.

that and the fact he's taking 120 shots makes the whole round a joke.

Its very frustrating when people fanny about.

you could add in a number 5 - where if you finish putting out before anyone else, go and grab the flag so you are ready to depart quickly.