Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

looking for deer shooting spots in mayo

• 09-04-2010 6:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26

just got my new .270 rifle looking for places to shoot deer in mayo. does any one know a good spot. can anyone help me get permisson to shoot on someones land ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

your joking .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

knock on doors, you will be surprised by the response you will get.
    i would say 90 per cent of poeple i approached told me to work away.
    it is also good to get to know the land owners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Steyr243Hunter

i second that ya must be joking. If you don't allready have HCAP do it it would be worth it just get to know other stalkers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 monarch

you should contact the connaught branch of the irish deer society,as far as i know the main men in it are in mayo. i am sure they will sort you out .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭thedragon

jwshooter wrote: »
    your joking .
    Why would he be joking, is he not entitled to shoot deer just like anyone else.

You'd have to be joking about going to look for help from the Connaught Deer society, now thats a joke alright.

thedragon wrote: »
    Why would he be joking, is he not entitled to shoot deer just like anyone else.

You'd have to be joking about going to look for help from the Connaught Deer society, now thats a joke alright.

welcome back ,i see your posts are still up to the same standard .

Im not too bad now though, I just had my last course of electric shock treatment 2 weeks ago. I havent had one hallucination in a month. But Im back and Im ready:mad:
    Mayoman PM me and Ill tell you how to get deer shooting in every part of the country. Dont worry about the IDS you dont need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

:D It's gotta be a joke with the mayoman thing and all right?:D Lookin for deer shooting premises and wabbits in the one day:p (bit of craic eh)

Jokin lad...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

kay 9 wrote: »
    :D It's gotta be a joke with the mayoman thing and all right?:D Lookin for deer shooting premises and wabbits in the one day:p (bit of craic eh)

Jokin lad...;)

Interesting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Fallow

Your an awfull bollix............:)
    You seem to allways have something negative to say.
    I really do think your a ranger and a bad one at that...:(

Fallow wrote: »

your also making a flying start on hear .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭ronboy

Fallow wrote: »

He He He :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I use to live in Belmullet and in my several years there I've found the area between Bangor Erris and Castlebar which is made up of vast blanket bogs, spruce plantations, lakes and scrub woodland to harbour some truely huge specimen stags. The same is true about the area between Bellacorick and Crossmolina. Deer populations in these parts continue to expand with the council having to erect more and more road signs warning motorists about these potential traffic hazards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭buckshotbrolan

mayoman24 wrote: »
    just got my new .270 rifle looking for places to shoot deer in mayo. does any one know a good spot. can anyone help me get permisson to shoot on someones land ?

Lad any muppet can shoot deer, ditch the rifle and arm ur self with a camera and learn to stalk, track and observe ur quarry. Learn to get so close to them that you can nearly tickle them under the chin! Then think about hunting with your nice new rifle.
    As a fella on here says; you can watch them all the time but shoot them only once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

How in the name of god did you ever get a licence for a rifle, first off looking for rabbit shooting spots and now deer shooting spots.

Do you not realise that you actually have to make a bit of an effort yourself and find out where the deer and rabbits actually are.

Get off your backside, get out and knock on a few doors like everyone else.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

Dont you have to have deer hunting permission already to get your deer hunting rifle? I did!? Best thing to do is go out for a spin on your own and talk to a few farmers, they'd love to see you helping the land. Good luck!

Lad any muppet can shoot deer, ditch the rifle and arm ur self with a camera and learn to stalk, track and observe ur quarry. Learn to get so close to them that you can nearly tickle them under the chin! Then think about hunting with your nice new rifle.
    As a fella on here says; you can watch them all the time but shoot them only once.

did u ever catch a wild deer by stalking them .

i have !. a sika calf near wicklow gap about 10 years ago .
    it was a horrible morning wind /rain , i had a client out with me ,we were working down a hill near laragh and i spotted a sika calf feeding away from us .

i crawled flat to the ground moving every time it did ,it lifted its head many times and i buried mine .
    we were in long rushes with in a foot of each other when i moved and grabbed him by the back legs .
    it was not happy squealing and kicking ,my company came running and pulled his knife ,no i said do u have a camera .in landrover was the answer .so i let him off .but the banter over dinner was great crack.

my point, my best momorries over the years from stalking ,have not been the killing .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

hi mayoman24, welcome to the sport of kings, best of luck with your new rifle.;)

i'm just wondering how you got a licence for a rifle to hunt deer if you dont have any permission. i'm sure a lot of lads on here would like to know,
    dont get me wrong i'm always in favor of helping others and sharing info on our sport but your request seams a bit odd given the hoops that most people have to jump threw to get their licence, rifle, permission etc.

you also need a deer hunting licence from the NPWS, the national parks and wildlife service.
    you only get this when you furnish the folio numbers of land with deer on it to the NPWS,

again i say dont get me wrong it just seams a bit odd.

anyway the best way to get permission is to go to the places where the deer are and talk to the farmers there i'm sure they will be glad to sort you out and give you what you need.

the NPWS address is the national parks and wildlife service
    main street
    ballybay
    co monaghan

or you can go on line and down load an application .

best of luck;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

Mayoman I am in Mayo and working hard getting some permissions for the NPWS licence before I even buy a suitable rifle, how on earth did you manage to get a .270 licenced without permissions, or did you have one or two already and are looking for more? As numerous lads have mentioned you have to get out on the ground where the deer are and ask the landowners, they can only say no!!! Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Not getting on the band wagon here but how on earth could you expect to be given third party permission for deer or rabbit shooting :confused:???Get on your bike and meet theses land owners ,face to face .....Best of luck either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Fallow

No he's commercial shooter, no interest really its just about money.
    These boys think nobody else should be shooting deer except themselves. Ya notice he always puts the little advert in when he mentions having clients out. This is so he'll get PMs from potential CLIENTS and exploit wildlife for money.

Well, their you go, what more can i say...:rolleyes:
    Thanks for that TD.. ;)

did u ever catch a wild deer by stalking them .

i have !. a sika calf near wicklow gap about 10 years ago .
    it was a horrible morning wind /rain , i had a client out with me ,we were working down a hill near laragh and i spotted a sika calf feeding away from us .

i crawled flat to the ground moving every time it did ,it lifted its head many times and i buried mine .
    we were in long rushes with in a foot of each other when i moved and grabbed him by the back legs .
    it was not happy squealing and kicking ,my company came running and pulled his knife ,no i said do u have a camera .in landrover was the answer .so i let him off .but the banter over dinner was great crack.

my point, my best momorries over the years from stalking ,have not been the killing .

Last year i had a fallow doe stop not more than 2-3 meters away from where me and a buddy were layed up in heavey cover. Good strong wind blowing into us and could hear her breathing.Felt like an hour before she left but was probly just a few minutes. Can't beat a rush like that, and the last time i go out with out the camera!

tasty sandwiches work best

LEGEND!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Royalred

Lots of Fallow around south Mayo, and east Galway and Clare but lots of hunters too. It got a real pasting last season, hardly a decent buck left but lots of does. Seems to be the story countrywide. Could be worse next season with so many out of work. Regarding the Red Deer near Belmullet. The hunters there are local and most are landowners too. I'm lucky enough to be one of them and we accommodate local hunters but hate to see head hunters and poachers trying to muscle in where the stags are good. They are good because the area the locals control is managed correctly. Some of us are in the Connaught Branch of the IDS and make no apologies for it. Can anyone blame us for minding what we have when we see the driveby 'Stalkers' and chancers in action everywhere. Nearly everyone I know has a job holding onto their bit of hunting. All eleven in our syndicate get a chance to take a trophy stag when its past its best and when there is a sustainable surplus. Our newest member got his stag last season after a two year wait. The biggest problem we have is sniping from the roads and lads chancing it even though they have been told the shooting is taken. Seems to be the same everywhere.
    Royalred

Royalred wrote: »
    Lots of Fallow around south Mayo, and east Galway and Clare but lots of hunters too. It got a real pasting last season, hardly a decent buck left but lots of does. Seems to be the story countrywide. Could be worse next season with so many out of work. Regarding the Red Deer near Belmullet. The hunters there are local and most are landowners too. I'm lucky enough to be one of them and we accommodate local hunters but hate to see head hunters and poachers trying to muscle in where the stags are good. They are good because the area the locals control is managed correctly. Some of us are in the Connaught Branch of the IDS and make no apologies for it. Can anyone blame us for minding what we have when we see the driveby 'Stalkers' and chancers in action everywhere. Nearly everyone I know has a job holding onto their bit of hunting. All eleven in our syndicate get a chance to take a trophy stag when its past its best and when there is a sustainable surplus. Our newest member got his stag last season after a two year wait. The biggest problem we have is sniping from the roads and lads chancing it even though they have been told the shooting is taken. Seems to be the same everywhere.
    Royalred

a country wide problem my friend .

How did that scandal ever fair out down that country where the boys were organising to get peoples licences revoked in order to move in on the whole area for tourist hunting. I hope that whole incident wasnt swept under the carpet like they usually do when theres kops involved.

change the record lad .

Dragon's like a dog with abone JW. Last season one of our guys ran a couple of Italians, no less, from our shooting area. The farmer was fumeing about the Italians when we asked him about it. Seems somebody told them to fire ahead just to cause trouble. It appears some people resent others having better ground than them. Does'nt seem to matter that its better cos its looked after. By the way no one lost a license that I heard of. A few were told to piss off or they would be reported. Some take their chance others dont, so some will end up in difficulty. To answer the Dragon, it rumbles on, driven by rumour, mistruths and jealousy.

Royalred.

Oh Im afraid its not rumour, there was a big conspiracy and it was all greed and money related. Deer society my bo**ocks, a pack of self serving crooks that want it all to themselves. They look after the Reds alright and shur why wouldnt they at 20k a pop. The more land the more deer and the more deer the more money. Its the nearest thing to organised crime I ever came across.

The only place I saw stags advertised for that kind of dosh was on a web site for a place in Galway. I think the site was kellycountrysports or something like that. What I'm talking about is farmers doing what they want with their own lands and trying to do it so that it is sustainable. The problem is there will always be people trying to cash in on other guys good management and being resentful if they cant get in. Are you on the outside looking in, dragon ? Why dont you join some group and get involved instead of slatiing people and groups you dont know. Hope the shock treatment has'nt made you paranoid !

Rr

I think you know what Im saying is totally true. Are you trying to deny what Im saying. Maybe its a little less than 20k but its not a whole lot less and breakfast is thrown in for good measure. Your digging a mighty big hole for yourself here Royal and your just about to fall backwards into it. Keep digging anyway and see what happens.

Gee ! You're more frazzled than I thought, only breakfast and a stag for 20k or maybe less. Where's me spade ?! Be back n a week r so. Going hunting n England. Bye
    Rr

Royalred wrote: »
    Gee ! You're more frazzled than I thought, only breakfast and a stag for 20k or maybe less. Where's me spade ?! Be back n a week r so. Going hunting n England. Bye
    Rr
    Just because Im mad in the head doesnt mean I cant make a comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sniper1

how did u get on with getting your permisson. just getting into the deer my self and from mayo so have to go through it to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kieran1141

you have to send in at least 2 permissions plus folio numbers to npws, and i had a 220 swift and 223 and had to send letter plus farmers names with deer on there land for 243 into super,, seems strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

kieran1141 wrote: »
    you have to send in at least 2 permissions plus folio numbers to npws, and i had a 220 swift and 223 and had to send letter plus farmers names with deer on there land for 243 into super,, seems strange.

I only submit one of my permissions every year for deer permit 390~ acres, I have another few permissions but they would not all fit on the form.

I've heard of lads getting the permit with less land, however they owned the land.

I only submit one of my permissions every year for deer permit 390~ acres, I have another few permissions but they would not all fit on the form.

I've heard of lads getting the permit with less land, however they owned the land.
    i sent in 5 letters with folio num's about 2000 acers and they rang me to ask where 1 of the addresses was as never knew there was deer on it {good for me i hope} i had another 3 letters and asked did they want them, they wanted to know how many acers i had altogether , and after that just rang 1 farmer but he had 550 acers and asked about the address as they never heard of it. they said that 2 permissions will do next time. so i suppose its differant for everyone.

Where i have some of my permissions deer are a problem, just mention the address and they don't even have to look at it.

saying that it is probably 10 or more years since i got my first permit, I have it somewhere (I must look it up)

I've cousins with deer on there land and they had no hassle, yet I know of a fella who was rejected as his permission had not enough deer? Yet i have been given green light for same land

BTW I'm still working on that ammo for you ;)

Of topic, did you try intershoot?
    he informs me he can get all ammo keenly priced

Where i have some of my permissions deer are a problem, just mention the address and they don't even have to look at it.

saying that it is probably 10 or more years since i got my first permit, I have it somewhere (I must look it up)

I've cousins with deer on there land and they had no hassle, yet I know of a fella who was rejected as his permission had not enough deer? Yet i have been given green light for same land

BTW I'm still working on that ammo for you ;)

Of topic, did you try intershoot?
    he informs me he can get all ammo keenly priced
    i did send post to intershoot for 243 ammo and got no reply, had another guy onto me about 65g winchester ballistic tip ammo never hear of it for 243, then other lads say you shot 7 deer this season and none of them ran away why would you change from remmie 100 psp's, have to say tack they do fire pretty well out of it i know that anything that i hit between 150 and 200 yards is dead, would'nt be realy fireing beyond 200 at deer but have shot a few foxes at 300 or close to it this year, so tack iam confused. lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 hawke eye

take a look on a map and just take a drive around some saturday and look for few farmers its da only way..

i did send post to intershoot for 243 ammo and got no reply, had another guy onto me about 65g winchester ballistic tip ammo never hear of it for 243, then other lads say you shot 7 deer this season and none of them ran away why would you change from remmie 100 psp's, have to say tack they do fire pretty well out of it i know that anything that i hit between 150 and 200 yards is dead, would'nt be realy fireing beyond 200 at deer but have shot a few foxes at 300 or close to it this year, so tack iam confused. lol.

Confused.com lol

I love BTips, they make "I feel" a good shooter better as they "in my experience" are more accurate.

I've intershoots mobile if you want it?
    It's a bit extra paperwork import licence & Northern visitors permit, however it's what you want, when you want it

I'm sorely tempted to upgrade the .223 to a .243 or 6XC (rebarrel and take a sliver out of the bolt)

Confused.com lol

I love BTips, they make "I feel" a good shooter better as they "in my experience" are more accurate.

I've intershoots mobile if you want it?
    It's a bit extra paperwork import licence & Northern visitors permit, however it's what you want, when you want it

I'm sorely tempted to upgrade the .223 to a .243 or 6XC (rebarrel and take a sliver out of the bolt)
    you would know more than me about ammo ,would say you are right and i have a 223 remmie vls heavy barrel was tempted to change for 308 wanted to have 243 and 308, think tack were gone off original post ha ha, comfused.commmmm, lol.

Thanks tack for pm sent to me.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sniper1

243 good enough for sika/hybrid

spoke to a guy who is 40 year shooting deer and he advised me that unless iam going abroad to shoot wild boar or the likes forget about 308's or 270's , said aint anything going anywhere after 100g 243 bullet, unless you plan on shooting them in the next parish, anything 200 yards and beyond, i think to be fair most deer are shot at about max 100 to 150 yards regardless of what some people say, seen a fallow shot at 410 yards with 243 ran about 30 yards and dropped dead, good shot placement with any of the above and job is done.