Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It will be mine...OH YES. It WILL be mine.

• 08-04-2010 6:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭

You know the feeling: you're ten years old and squeaking around the place on some garden variety bike, watching with jealous, covetting eyes as the kid next door flaunts his flashy laser shooting bike with the bells and whistles all over the neighbourhood.

No amount of begging, pleading or attempts at bribery will persuade your folks to upgrade and indulge your longings. So you give up, promising yourself that someday, wheter you're 10 or 100 that you'll get that new fangled, epic biycycle and accomplish that childhood dream.

What about you guys? Was there anything you coverted (besides yore ma's arse :rolleyes: ) as a child but were unable to own? If so, do you have the object of your dreams now or are you still peering through the shop windows with quiet longing?

For me, I've always wanted to own a pair of knee-high Doc Martins.
    Growing up during the early ninties when grunge was all the rage, I desperately wanted to own a pair of those reliable, stompy and very very stylish boots but alas, as a broke 8 year old, I couldn't afford them and my folks didn't exactly entertain the idea of having a grunger for a daughter.

Nowadays, I've yet to find those elusive boots in my size.

Some day, though...

SOME DAY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Every Pokemon trading card! :( Never got any! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

I always wanted an Easy Bake Oven.
    http://ddppchicago.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/easy-bake-oven.jpg
    Got the usual 'It's too expensive' excuse.
    More like, 'you'll make a mess!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

tl;dr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I'd settle for mudkips girl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

A self-cleaning oven that does what it's supposed to.

GOD DAMN THIS GREASE!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

A full size scalextric's- we never had the room for one.

But,as the youngest of 8,there's quite a lot others had but i didn't. But i was happy with my lot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I didn't want tat, just superpowers, invisibility being my number one obsession....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

always wanted a decent remote control car. eventually bought a quality one in china a couple of years ago, only for my 4 year old nephew to take it away the day i got back. little fecker. haven't seen it since on many recon missions to find it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

McChubbin wrote: »
    squeaking around the place on some garden variety bike, watching with jealous, covetting eyes as the kid next door flaunts his flashy...

I stopped reading here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

I've always wanted to see S Club 7 live in concert. Some day......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Oh gods, you just reminded me of a very sad day in my childhood.
    I had a MAJOR obsession with Pokemon cards-more to the point, I was a gigantic Team Rocket fan. I had about two completed decks with several dozen rare "shinys" and holographics. When I was 11, my aunt went to New york and picked up two ultra-rare "Team Rocket Extreme" decks. They were bordered in black, had special US-only power ups, new artworks and were generally quite epic.

I used to keep them all safe in the top of my dresser. It was an old fashioned thing with a lid on it that lifted up to reveal a mirror and a small pitted area for jewelery/trinkets and make-up.

Anyways, not long after I got my covetted Team Rocket decks, we were having a clear out of old furnature and I'd emptied out my dresser save for the Pokemon cards. I'm not sure what I was doing at the time but I was called away for whatever reason and I told my mother explicitly NOT to throw out my card collection whilst I was gone.

You can see where this is going, right?

I came home the next day to find my dresser gone, along with my precious cards. when I panicly asked my mother about their fate, she said the "furnature's being burned down at the rubbish tips" and seemed to have no idea that she'd just burned £200 worth of Pokemon cards.

I still haven't forgiven her for it. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

a daddy, bawwwwwwwwwww

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

I had a MAJOR obsession with Pokemon cards-more to the point, I was a gigantic Team Rocket fan. :

:eek:The bad guys!

I had a "shiny" Pikachu card. Just sayin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I had a MAJOR obsession with Pokemon cards-more to the point, I was a gigantic Team Rocket fan. I had about two completed decks with several dozen rare "shinys" and holographics. When I was 11, my aunt went to New york and picked up two ultra-rare "Team Rocket Extreme" decks. They were bordered in black, had special US-only power ups, new artworks and were generally quite epic.

I used to keep them all safe in the top of my dresser. It was an old fashioned thing with a lid on it that lifted up to reveal a mirror and a small pitted area for jewelery/trinkets and make-up.

Anyways, not long after I got my covetted Team Rocket decks, we were having a clear out of old furnature and I'd emptied out my dresser save for the Pokemon cards. I'm not sure what I was doing at the time but I was called away for whatever reason and I told my mother explicitly NOT to throw out my card collection whilst I was gone.

You can see where this is going, right?

I came home the next day to find my dresser gone, along with my precious cards. when I panicly asked my mother about their fate, she said the "furnature's being burned down at the rubbish tips" and seemed to have no idea that she'd just burned £200 worth of Pokemon cards.

I still haven't forgiven her for it. :mad:

But at least you HAD them! :( Better to have loved and lost and all that jazz! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Bazzy

I always wanted a train set with smoke that came out of the chimney at the front.

Got a really cool expensive train set one year at christmas it was much better and bigger than everyone elses but didnt have the smoke coming out it was all about the smoke.

Finance me says i can turn the spare room into a trainset room so maybe IT WILL BE MINE!!

But at least you HAD them! :( Better to have loved and lost and all that jazz! :(

It still hurts, minidazzler. Still hurts.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I actually got that exact feeling just like Wayne did for a Fender american standard strat. Took me an entire summer of saving up when I was 18 but I got it. Still have it. That and the other half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

My mother's standard answer for everything was 'when you're 18'

When can I curse ?
    When can I drink ?
    When can I drive ?

When can I have a BB gun ?

Well I got the first three out of the way at an early age. On my 18th birthday, I came across a sports shop in Chicago and plunked down $22 for a Crossman Air Rifle and another $12 for a 4x12 scope.

That was nearly 24 years ago. I still have the rifle. I may have only fired it a few dozen times (not once in the last 18 years that I can remember), but I will always keep it to remember the day that I turned 18.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

outlawpete did a thread just like this already :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055858349

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I actually got that exact feeling just like Wayne did for a Fender american standard strat. Took me an entire summer of saving up when I was 18 but I got it. Still have it. That and the other half.

I bought mine around the same time as well (although I may have been 19)

A cream coloured American Standard Fender Stratocaster.

She is still gorgeous to this very day.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I bought mine around the same time as well (although I may have been 19)

A cream coloured American Standard Fender Stratocaster.

She is still gorgeous to this very day.

Mine's called Angelina. It's the same age as me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Gibson Les Paul standard was the one for me, drooled over them from the day i picked up a guitar for the first time.

Yes...thats right... it is now mine. MWAHAHA! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Gibson Les Paul for me, ever since I saw Slash with one. I got it eventually:D

For me, I've always wanted to own a pair of knee-high Doc Martins.
    Growing up during the early ninties when grunge was all the rage, I desperately wanted to own a pair of those reliable, stompy and very very stylish boots.
    SOME DAY.
    I had a MAJOR obsession with Pokemon.

Am I the only one who see's something desperately wrong here. Grunge to Pokemon and you were still a child.:confused:

Weren't those two trends eons apart?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

To see Prince in concert.

June 16th 2008 is a day that will live on in my mind forever. That bastard.
    Think that was possibly the only real chance for me to see him and...fcuker cancels..

I also wanted to fill one of those premier league sticker books.
    Never got anywhere near it though, my books were always pathetically scarce, with like 4 or 5 stickers for each team.

Then there were always these kids with big feckin piles of stickers.
    These kids were usually the fat kids, don't know why...they just nearly always were.

The lads that had probably never kicked a football in their life were able to fill their books with stickers no problem.
    Bastards. :p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

always wanted to be older.

Kinda regretting it now, I wanna be young again :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

its only now lookin back that i realise how much of a spoilt little **** i was as a kid. i always got round my parents in the end, might have took a while but always got round them. the biggest one as a kid for me was wanting a dog, took me until i was 16 but they finally caved!

RonMexico wrote: »
    Gibson Les Paul for me, ever since I saw Slash with one. I got it eventually:D

Am I the only one who see's something desperately wrong here. Grunge to Pokemon and you were still a child.:confused:

Weren't those two trends eons apart?

Pearl Jam's first album was out in 1992, followed with Nirvana in 1994.
    Pokemon got big here around 1997-98.
    In 1996, I was eight years old and my then twelve year old brother introduced me to grunge. It's been downhill ever since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Mr. Frosty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Always wanted to stay up late and watch TV. Sunday nights I was allowed to watch londons burning til 10. I remember thinking I cant wait to be an adult and stay up as late as I want. Now its the complete opposite, the earlier I get into bed the better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I farted on that, you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

+1 on the remote control car. Never got one that didn't have a stupid wire from the controller to the car. Then one Xmas, I got one. It was a cool truck that could jump and everything. Couldn't open it up quick enough. Batteried it up and went to play..... It didn't f*ckin work!!! Brought it back to Smiths and they had none. Ended up swapping it for something that was not a reote control jumoing truck!!! Childhood dream was a failure.

Other than that I always wanted a camcorder. Never got one. Then got older and realised that everyone looks stupid on video, just acting the eejit, so I just bought myself a nice fancy DSLR camera and I will take many a pretty picture of my friends before they can act all stupid and try and do flips and hurt themselves. We're 25 not 15 anymore, we can't do flips without ripping some muscle assunder!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

NothingMan wrote: »
    +1 on the remote control car. Never got one that didn't have a stupid wire from the controller to the car. Then one Xmas, I got one. It was a cool truck that could jump and everything. Couldn't open it up quick enough. Batteried it up and went to play..... It didn't f*ckin work!!! Brought it back to Smiths and they had none. Ended up swapping it for something that was not a reote control jumoing truck!!! Childhood dream was a failure.

Other than that I always wanted a camcorder. Never got one. Then got older and realised that everyone looks stupid on video, just acting the eejit, so I just bought myself a nice fancy DSLR camera and I will take many a pretty picture of my friends before they can act all stupid and try and do flips and hurt themselves. We're 25 not 15 anymore, we can't do flips without ripping some muscle assunder!!!

My brother had the yellow one in this ad when I was a kid. I always wanted one aswell but my folks wouldnt buy me one and then he went and broke his so we had none damnit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭bob the bob

Always wanted a remote control car. Guys used to race theirs up and down the halls in primary school.

Closest I got was a truck (as in a long heavy goods truck) with the controls attached by a 6 foot cable)

How pathetic would I have looked running up and down the hall chasing this bloody truck on the end of the cable!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I always envied the other kids in their expensive FX Rollerblades, I could only have the cheap pair with the plastic wheels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    I always envied the other kids in their expensive FX Rollerblades, I could only have the cheap pair with the plastic wheels

I spent 95 punt of my 110 confo money on Bauer FX1's. They were sh1t fast. They hadn't got grind plates they were for pure speed. Noone could beat me in a race. I was a wuss when it came to jumps and grinds though. I think one of my niece's has them now. so they're still going 14 years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I always wanted a Batmobile or the Turtles van.

Still, I had Scalextric to keep me happy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Apparently when I was about 10 I told my parents that when I grew up I would buy a home with bay windows!! :confused:

At the age of 30 I bought a house here in England...it has bay windows! :eek:

I don't even remember saying that or what was so special about bay windows but it really must have seeded itself in my mind. Scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

NothingMan wrote: »
    I spent 95 punt of my 110 confo money on Bauer FX1's. They were sh1t fast. They hadn't got grind plates they were for pure speed. Noone could beat me in a race. I was a wuss when it came to jumps and grinds though. I think one of my niece's has them now. so they're still going 14 years later.

i had a great pair by 'rollerblade', remember rollerblade racing and rollerblade tag around our estate, got them in the states, were around $100, lost them during a housemove

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Stee wrote: »
    Always wanted to stay up late and watch TV. Sunday nights I was allowed to watch londons burning til 10. I remember thinking I cant wait to be an adult and stay up as late as I want. Now its the complete opposite, the earlier I get into bed the better

Funny how roles reverse. My nephew's at an age where he thinks it's not only fantastic to stay up late but somehow admirable. "I was up until 1 o'clock on Saturday", says he proudly. I was up until ****ing two last night with a list of **** I had to have done before going to bed :mad:

But anyway......

For me it's always been a GT40. Increasingly rare and expensive you're probably looking at 200k sterling for a starting point. One day. One day....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Smeggy

...friends...