Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why aren't we doing this?

• 07-04-2010 03:01PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭

in thailand they don't like their government, so they stormed the parliament today:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0407/thailand.html

Everyone here seems to be pissed the fcuk off with cowen and his fat posse constantly sticking their hands into peoples' wallets, taking money away from health services, education, justice etc. and giving it to the banks. soon they're taking business away from the headshops to give it to drug dealers. they're planning to make everyone work later into their lives, which will eventually extend so far that nobody will be able to retire in the country. They've chopped the pay of low grade civil servants, yet they are giving an exemption from said cuts to the highly paid ones.

Look at what other countries do in similar situations:
    In france they fcuking run amok until they get what they want.
    Greece, they don't stand for it either.
    in russia... well, you know.

what do we do when we're unhappy here? we go to the pub and grumble into a pint, and because the price of that pint was reduced recently, Fianna Fail stay in power. whether or not you deem what they are doing necessary or not isn't important,

edit: Just to clarify - i have no position with regard to nama etc. i'm just speaking based on the things i most often hear people complaining about)

but why is it that a nation founded as the result of a revolution never does anything despite complaining about being shat on time after time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

we cant do it here, the dail is still on their easter break are they not?

lol

Also some would say that the NAMA decision was as a result of a lot of goverment ministers being stoned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

ok, yo go first im right behind you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Yeah, except in Thailand they are trying to get a corrupt fecker back into government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

You go first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yeah, except in Thailand they are trying to get a corrupt fecker back into government.
    Bertie is in Thailand now? :eek:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

They're always at that the Thais. Interesting political history actually. I blame their inability to afford a constant supply of brain melting booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Sheeps wrote: »

meh, the only thing that really bothers me in this country is crime, and to be fair to myself i'm packing in my Ph.D. to *hopefully* become a Garda so I can make my contribution, so I'm doing my bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

because our country doesnt look like a penis and testicles, it looks like a grizzly bear, rearrr!

genericguy wrote: »
    meh, the only thing that really bothers me in this country is crime, and to be fair to myself i'm packing in my Ph.D. to become a Garda so I can make my contribution, so I'm doing my bit.

ok so what is it your're' complaining about exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

..why is it that a nation founded as the result of a revolution never does anything despite being shat on time after time?

You answered your own question tbh. We weren't founded as the result of a revolution, we were founded as the result of factional infighting, civil strife and back stabbing. Ireland has never been any different. Back through the centuries there was always one c*nt who'd do anything to get one over on the next, the 'greater good of Ireland' has always been and is a secondary thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Because no one can organise a protest to save their lives.

ok so what is it your're' complaining about exactly?

how people grumble about issues that annoy them , yet make no effort to rectify them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

what do we do when we're unhappy here? we go to the pub and grumble into a pint?
    Or in your case, go on a forum and whine about it!

how people grumble about issues that annoy them , yet make no effort to rectify them.

ironic that youve posted about an issue that has annoyed you and when we told you that you should go first you kind of back down and made it all a non issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

You go ahead, We're right behind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Would you trust the type of morons you hear complaining to run a country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,426 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

read this OP http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/8004306.stm

thailand is nothing more than a giant group of rival football supporters

believe me you don't want ireland following them, if you think its bad now it could get a hell of alot worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Have you not noticed by now the vast majority of the Irish public like nothing more than to complain and bicker about things but when it comes to actually doing something about it they sit on their ass and wait for someone else to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Ruu wrote: »
    You go first.
    You go ahead, We're right behind you.
    sounds like the op is gaining support by the second!

ironic that youve posted about an issue that has annoyed you and when we told you that you should go first you kind of back down and made it all a non issue

I don't see that. I've said that people complain about these things, yet do nothing, and i've asked why people think this paralytic grumbling happens here, as opposed to the protests carried out by people in other countries when things are upsetting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,263 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There seem to be so many pissed off groups, each with a different agenda, that if they did all pile up to Dublin, they'd be start fighting amongst themselves long before they reached the dail. Biffo and his chums wouldn't even know that anything was happening, because they'd be miles away from the punch-up.

As for a revolution, there's another 700 years to go for that, judged on past performance.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The main difference between the Ireland of today and Ireland pre-1922 is that the target of all the previous revolts was the British crown. We have a long and proud history of putting it up to the Brits, before being hammered back down again. Its easy to get behind revolt against foreign oppression!

This time the culprits of the devastation are other Irish men, those running the banks and running the country. I think deep down alot of us arent able to summon up the same level of blind hatred against democratically elected Irish people as we are so adept at doing for British monarchs! So the default position is to grumble, resigned to our fate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

in thailand they don't like their government, so they stormed the parliament today:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0407/thailand.html

Everyone here seems to be pissed the fcuk off with cowen and his fat posse constantly sticking their hands into peoples' wallets, taking money away from health services, education, justice etc. and giving it to the banks. soon they're taking business away from the headshops to give it to drug dealers. they're planning to make everyone work later into their lives, which will eventually extend so far that nobody will be able to retire in the country. They've chopped the pay of low grade civil servants, yet they are giving an exemption from said cuts to the highly paid ones.

Look at what other countries do in similar situations:
    In france they fcuking run amok until they get what they want.
    Greece, they don't stand for it either.
    in russia... well, you know.

what do we do when we're unhappy here? we go to the pub and grumble into a pint, and because the price of that pint was reduced recently, Fianna Fail stay in power. whether or not you deem what they are doing necessary or not isn't important,

edit: Just to clarify - i have no position with regard to nama etc. i'm just speaking based on the things i most often hear people complaining about)

but why is it that a nation founded as the result of a revolution never does anything despite complaining about being shat on time after time?

If you want it done organise it. Setup a Pirate Radio station and stick it to the man.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

peabutler wrote: »
    Because no one can organise a protest to save their lives.
    Max Power1 wrote: »
    sounds like the op is gaining support by the second!
    OP for mod of a new Protest Planning forum.

(imagines various scenes from Life of Brian)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Thailand = ladyboys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭shoegirl

Don't be fooled by this carry on in Thailand, this "opposition" is basically large numbers of people who were bribed by Thaksin in the past and probably still now. They are not a genuinely democratic opposition, but like our own "golden circle" the angry disenfranchised vested interest group who like Thaksin because he looked after their interests.

This challenge is tantamount to massive protests by builders and bankers in our economy, except of course, they've nothing to protest against, having had billions poured into their tankers at the taxpayers expense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm going to get right on this as soon as Lost is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

because it's a nation of people who won't do anything for themselves and want it all 'fixed' without ever doing anything.

SV wrote: »
    because it's a nation of people who won't do anything for themselves and want it all 'fixed' without ever doing anything.

this fcuking "shore it'll be grand" attitude grates on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Because it would cause ridiculous political instability and reduce us to a nation of idiots in the eyes of the world. We would basically be committing economic and social suicide.