Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vokey Advice

• 06-04-2010 9:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭

hello
    I want to buy a vokey wedge
    as i now know, it is not a straight-forward purchase as vokey has decided to design a number of different versions
    presumably these subtle differences are lost on the typical high handicapper, but i'd be grateful if ye the experts could advise me on what i should look for
    basically i want a wedge in my bag that i go to everytime when within 50 yards of the green
    i have perfected the mickelson flop shot with a regular wedge but reckon my technique could be further enhanced with the right machinery
    in addition, the vokey would look good in my bag
    thanks as ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

mickelson_wedge_farmers_insurance_open_golf_400.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

I could think of somewhere else it would look good........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

advice please re vokey selection..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

conno16 wrote: »
    in addition, the vokey would look good in my bag......

no offence - but why would you buy something just to look good in your bag??

I was taking the p*ss
    as long as it drops it on the dancefloor consistently i dont care what it looks like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

hello
    I want to buy a vokey wedge
    in addition, the vokey would look good in my bag
    thanks as ever

Id go with a 56 or 54 from here.
    http://www.golfstoreeurope.com/Kits.aspx?ModelID=761
    You'll have a real pretty bag then with this in it.
    Just be sure to not play with it and ruin the illusion.
    761-2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

charlieIRL wrote: »
    no offence - but why would you buy something just to look good in your bag??

he didnt say 'just' he said 'in addition'...:rolleyes:

of course nobody is going to buy a golf club just because it looks good.

OP I'm afraid I havnt played too many shots with titleist wedges, but I did buy a set of cleveland CG10's which I find excellent. Easy to hit and feel good over the ball with them.

In addidtion they look the business in the bag, which is what its all about...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

IITYWYBMAD wrote: »
    brilliant dont think i laughed as much on boards. funniest response to conno i have ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Vokeys are rubbish. Had one for a while, but ditched it for a jigger. It can handle everything within 50 yards with ease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Vokeys are rubbish. Had one for a while, but ditched it for a jigger. It can handle everything within 50 yards with ease.

Lol! Jiggers!

I disagree Mister Sifter, the niblick is far better than the jigger from 50 yards. Would you look at the grooves on this baby
    1248972227958.jpg

bah! what you need is a Lovett sand wedge. My brother brought one a couple of years ago because he is the worst chipper in the world and this is the solution to your prayers conno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

This is what you should really get. It will match the rest of your clubs and everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Obni

I'm no short game specialist, as my handicap of 16 shows.
    I've had a 52° gap and 58° lob wedge Vokey for about 2 years, and got great mileage out of the gap wedge from 90 to 100 yards out. Great stop on greens when I (occassionally) hit it well. Only ever used the lob wedge as an alternative sand wedge for steep bunkers etc...
    Started practicing with it a couple of months ago. Hitting buckets of balls on the range with all my wedges and trying 1/4, 1/2, 3/4 shots with each one. Even started flop-shots recently.
    While I'm still no Phil Mickleson, I've definitely improved, as shown by a flop shot from a tight lie over a massive bunker to a pin just beyond the bunker last Friday in Killeen Castle (the 6th). Probably the best golf shot I've ever hit.
    If a duffer like me can get value for money out of a Vokey, then they must be good.
    I'm sure wedges from Callaway, Bay Hill, Ping, etc... are just as good, but I've only played with Vokey and they're a class act.

thats what i'm talking about
    i'm willing to put the time in to perfect the shot
    i just dont want to invest that time until i have a club that will respond to my improved technique

i was planning on going for something around 56 degrees obni - any suggestions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭stebed

I don't know what your swing speed, technique is like but I would use my 56º from 80 yards and in with a firm 3/4 swing. If you are planning on using it from 50 yards in I would be looking at a 58º The problem most people have when playing pitch/lob shots is they don't accelerate through the shot so the more lofted option will make you accelerate through the ball to reach. I am about to get myself a 60º to use from about 70 yards and in so I will carry 47ºpw 51º,56º and 60º. Also Vokey wedges can have their lofts adjusted by 2º so you could by a 58º and get used to it then get it adjusted to 60º as your technique gets better. One last thing make sure you get the correct bounce for your swing and the course conditions you regularly play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Obni

i was planning on going for something around 56 degrees obni - any suggestions
    At 56° the club is very close to a SW, but with the addition of the spin milled face. The closer a new wedge is to your existing wedges, the sooner you'll feel comfortable with it, but you may feel the need for more loft quite quickly.

I followed the accepted practice of filling the gap between the PW (47°) and SW (54°) with a gap wedge (52°) and moving a similar step beyond SW to the lob wedge (58°). Now that I've started to put some time into the 58, I'm already thinking about a 60 or 62 instead.

As for the all important 'bounce' number, that's outside my limited knowledge.
    http://www.titleist.com/vokey_wedge_guide/#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Hahhaa, a mate of mine actually used a jigger for a while, he was poison around the greens, this was when he was in his forties. Funnily enough he stopped using it when the abuse gathered momentum:eek:
    scrubber72 wrote: »
    bah! what you need is a Lovett sand wedge.

WTF is that?? It's like a half soup-ladle half space-ship!!!!
    Fook me there's some shite out there!

JCDUB wrote: »

Try this:;)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lg0ef3VN3DA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    jesus i want one of those more than i have ever wanted anything in my life.
    "bang, pow, boom" 475yards:D
    that looks very like the old "bat man" to me

JCDUB wrote: »
    Hahhaa, a mate of mine actually used a jigger for a while, he was poison around the greens, this was when he was in his forties. Funnily enough he stopped using it when the abuse gathered momentum:eek:

WTF is that?? It's like a half soup-ladle half space-ship!!!!
    It now rests in the attic with some other ****e, copy 3 ball putter, tennis ball on a string and iron with a hinge. Brother has still the worst short game but now uses a rescue around the green. Put a bunker or water in front and he is fecked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

IITYWYBMAD wrote: »
    Apparently Phil is still trying to perfect the Conno flop shot.