Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Domestic Easter Stage Race Updates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

No.
    Wexford Wheelers got a 1-2 in the TT with the two Brackens taking a 1-2 on todays road stage.Very fast stage today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Sam Bennett 2nd today in GP Valdonnais in France.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Tour of the North 2010
    Stage 3 Results
    Limavady - Limavady, 04 April 2010
    Stage 3 Stage Result... See more

Issued: 04 Apr 2010, 20:46

1 101 Cronshaw,Matt Rapha Condor 3h22'12"
    2 74 Haynes,Hamish VC Ecosse 3h22'12"
    3 39 Murphy,Conor Eurocycles 3h22'12"
    4 106 Last,Tom Sigma Sport 3h22'12"
    5 92 Devoldere,Niki Decock Sportivo 3h22'12"
    6 4 Barrett,Stephen Planet X 3h22'12"
    7 11 McAllister,Conor Cycling Ulster D McC 3h22'12"
    8 104 Gallagher,Stephen Sigma Sport 3h22'12"
    9 89 De Lange,Alex WV Kannibaal 3h22'19" @07"
    10 13 Lavery,Philip Cycling Ulster D McC 3h23'44" @01'32"

General Classification

1 74 3h22'12"/2 Haynes,Hamish VC Ecosse 6h18'33"
    2 106 3h22'12"/4 Last,Tom Sigma Sport 6h18'39" @06"
    3 11 3h22'12"/7 McAllister,Conor Cycling Ulster 6h18'41" @08"
    4 92 3h22'12"/5 Devoldere,Niki Decock Sportivo 6h18'48" @15"
    5 13 3h23'44"/10 Lavery,Philip Cycling Ulster 6h19'52" @01'19"
    6 100 3h23'46"/11 Downing,Dean Rapha Condor 6h19'59" @01'26"
    7 36 3h23'56"/12 Armstrong,Adam Eurocycles 6h20'20" @01'47"
    8 103 3h24'06"/15 Windsor,Dean Rapha Condor 6h20'22" @01'49"
    9 102 3h24'09"/27 Greenwood,Ben Rapha Condor 6h20'35" @02'02"
    10 93 3h24'08"/24 Vandermeiren,Ward Decock Sportivo 6h20'41" @02'08"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭ten speed racer

Today's stage of the Tour of the North was around one of my favourite loops. Coverage here.

Also some good photos here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

Anyone know the expected arrival time of the Gorey into Blessington today ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 tart

it should be about 2ish going from past years..

tart wrote: »
    it should be about 2ish going from past years..

Cheers... was guessing around then myself... Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Muller_1

http://www.irishroadclub.com/index.php?page=Gorey_3_Day it's 92k and it starts at noon, yesterdays average was around 38kph that might give you an idea.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Mr Skeffington won the final stage and the overall of the Gorey 3 Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

UNCONFIRMED REPORT FROM RAS MUMHAN:

Stage winner of Ras Mumhan stage 4 dismounts bike and walks across line in protest (presumably at time penalties levied on off route riders yesterday).

Overall winner raises hands in celebration as he crosses line and is blown over by high winds. Will inevitably be on youtube shortly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

el tonto wrote: »
    From the start list I saw ... he was also wearing number one on his back :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

el tonto wrote: »

Thats 2 years in a row that he has done well there IIRC.

Well done Skeff.

Hopefully someone can persuade him and Ryan to write a report, just to keep Bob happy:rolleyes:

CheGuedara wrote: »

Overall winner raises hands in celebration as he crosses line and is blown over by high winds. Will inevitably be on youtube shortly...

Was up the mountains with the daughter a while back. Winds are absolutely savage here. I felt sorry for anyone out on a bike today.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Looks like Philip Lavery won the Tour of the North. No results yet but a/c his facebook page he took the final stage and the overall.....

Well done Skeff BTW

Great solo finish Mr Skeff super win.....Congrats to Blorg too.. seen him whizzing across finish line...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

CheGuedara wrote: »
    UNCONFIRMED REPORT FROM RAS MUMHAN:

Stage winner of Ras Mumhan stage 4 dismounts bike and walks across line in protest (presumably at time penalties levied on off route riders yesterday).

Dion Beukeboom stopped before the finish line, dismounted and walked across the line with his bike raised over his head. He had 4-5 minutes over the bunch. No idea if it was a protest, but he looked pretty happy.

Timmy Barry celebrated with a shout, raised both arms and fell off a few feet over the line. Wanted to congratulate him but he looked too embarrassed. If it gets onto youtube it will no doubt become as popular as "winning cyclist".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

lescol wrote: »
    Dion Beukeboom stopped before the finish line, dismounted and walked across the line with his bike raised over his head. He had 4-5 minutes over the bunch. No idea if it was a protest, but he looked pretty happy.

It's a cyclocross thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Congrats Mr Skeffington. Looks like its going to be a good season!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Philip Lavery wins TON

http://www.irishcycling.com/publish/news/art_4717.shtml

Looks like he did it in style with balls, young fellow is turning into a great rider !!

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1070098

Ras Mumhan report at 17m:57s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

E@gle. wrote: »

Looks like another boardsie did well in the race as well as Skeff. Home Ballyhoura.

ROK ON wrote: »
    Looks like another boardsie did well in the race as well as Skeff. Home Ballyhoura.
    well done H:B 6th today!!!!

and 3rd in the KOM competition overall!

Jaysus Mr Skeffington a better ride that I had even thought I didnt realise you only had a second in hand leaving this morning. Must have been a good oul battle starting out this morning with the other 4 or 5 guys in contention ?? Where did you break away ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

ROK ON wrote: »
    and 3rd in the KOM competition overall!

Thanks guys! Really appreciate it...I would even have got 5th overall (and about another €100 richer) in the GC only for an unlucky puncture and crash on the first stage. Although I can't be greedy, I'm happy enough to be walking away with two prizes! :D

Nice to meet blorg and aidan for the first time in real life, well done to both of ye! Also, I never knew who Mr Skeffington was until I got home and logged on here. Mad stuff, and my dad was even taking his photos for Irish Cycling and I didn't realise it! Fair play to you man, savage stuff. Great riding and a truly 100% deserving winner. Well done ;)

EDIT: I was the lad in the Limerick CC kit (only one from my club there this weekend). Great race! :)Thanks again to everyone involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Mr. Skeffington

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    Jaysus Mr Skeffington a better ride that I had even thought I didnt realise you only had a second in hand leaving this morning. Must have been a good oul battle starting out this morning with the other 4 or 5 guys in contention ?? Where did you break away ?

Was a little worried this morning, a good 50 riders were within 1 minute so almost every move that went today was potentially dangerous. Strong tailwinds and everyone was talking about a bunch finish but you never can tell so I decided to try and go with any decent looking moves from the start.

Got away in an early break of about 14 riders after about 20km but that didnt stay away. Some riders got up the road but my team helped me keep them at a safe distance.

With about 40km to go 2 riders got off the front and I decided to give it a go. We worked well together for about 20km up until Poulaphuca. There was a bit of a drag there so managed to get away from the 2 lads. Was about 20km to go alone but there was a strong tailwind so just kept the head down.

Was a nice finish to the weekend. Thanks to everyone on here for the congratulations. Nice to meet you Home:Ballyhoura, didnt realise that was you either, nice riding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Well done Skeff, terrific result.

Who needs power-meters anyway? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Well done to Mr Skeffington, a well deserved win achieved in some style.

@H:B- when did you go up the road yesterday? Quite late? I recall seeing you moving up the bunch on the right at one point and half considered following you but extreme laziness intervened and I remained in comfortable shelter.

Must say the entire race was a hell of a lot neater and safer feeling than the couple of A3 races I did before it. I didn't see a single crash the whole weekend although I believe there were a few behind me on the first day.

Very tired now but really felt I learned a lot this weekend, very glad I did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭smithslist

blorg wrote: »

Must say the entire race was a hell of a lot neater and safer feeling than the couple of A3 races I did before it. I didn't see a single crash the whole weekend although I believe there were a few behind me on the first day.

Very tired now but really felt I learned a lot this weekend, very glad I did it.

Congrats on completing in Blorg, it ain't easy. I seen you in the bunch but never got the chance to say hello to you before\after stages.

There where a few minor crashes but nothing like wats been happening the last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

There was only 1 bad crash during Gorey, a rider crashed on the decent leaving Rathvilly broke his wrist, 1 or two falls here and there but nothing major.

Blorg looked pretty happy with himself at the end of the final stage.

blorg wrote: »
    @H:B- when did you go up the road yesterday? Quite late? I recall seeing you moving up the bunch on the right at one point and half considered following you but extreme laziness intervened and I remained in comfortable shelter.

Haha, I was up the road early on in the hope of claiming some more KOH points to secure my podium position prize which I managed to do successfully.

I was just riding hard on the front just after the 3 man break with the yellow jersey had got away when I looked back to see that myself and Sean Featherson from Newry Wheelers had a small gap on the bunch (must have been crosswinds) so we got the head down and worked together to literally ride off the front of the bunch. This was with about 30km to go and I was pretty much on the limit from here on (approx 40-45mins). We were joined by about another 6 guys who had managed to bridge across the gap to us from the bunch and we got working pretty well together to open out a considerable the gap. We caught the two riders which Mr.Skeffington had literally dropped all by himself and they joined in too! One IOM rider just sat in on the break for all of this time and then decided to take some action when the sprint came! Same fella had asked me to let him take the KOM points the previous day. Overall I'm delighted with how the race went besides that disastrous day one! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

One IOM rider just sat in on the break for all of this time and then decided to take some action when the sprint came! Same fella had asked me to let him take the KOM points the previous day.

Did you let him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

E@gle. wrote: »
    Blorg looked pretty happy with himself at the end of the final stage.
    It was over, damn right I was happy! :pac:

Lumen wrote: »
    Did you let him?

I said yes he could take them at the bottom of the hill as long as he took the rest of the break up the hill with him (not too sure whether I would actually let him). One of the other Juniors went for it up the outside and yer man starting roaring "what the hell are you doing, let me take them!" so he kind of eased off and dropped back. I dunno but when I went for them towards the top I was kind of indecisive, probably because of his antics and sort of let him take them by half a wheel. Not too sure why I actually did this now that I think of it, anyway it didn't make the world of difference in the end of the day! It was probably just all tactics and mind games

Reminds me a of story I heard about a certain Irish rider who was away with a German on a climb in the Ras a few years back in Mayo I think. Anyway towards the top of the KOH the German is alledged to have said to the Irish guy "the point are mine". With that the Irish rider put it in the big ring and took the points!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭ryan_sherlock

Fun racing in windy wet conditions down in Kerry - I'll have my usual reports up on my blog once I get a chance...

Most interesting geeky stat for the weekend was my third stages kJs burned... 4,100 in less than 4 hours - going through 1,100 cals per hour. I ate like a monster that evening :) (oh, and stats are from my properly calibrated SRM)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Pulled over about 5km outside of Blessington on Saturday cos there was a race coming down the opposite direction. Guessing now that it was the start of stage 1 of the Gorey 3-day. Just managed to snap a quick shot of the 3 lead riders, didn't come out too badly considering it was a crappy camera.
    Never seen so many bikes in my life. Racing looks like fun :)
    photo5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭emtroche

Well done Mr. Skeffington on a savage ride. The results sheets don't show half the effort you put in. If there was a combativity prize you would have easily won it. Well done to everyone who raced in gorey. Was a great weekends racing. Very fast with near perfect weather. Was also good to see that the much anticipated pile-ups didn't materialize. Although thats not much consolation to the guy who broke his wrist yesterday!

On another note, 1 of our guys (Declan Byrne No.160 Navan) is missing a Mavic carbon wheel from the saturday stage. It was just before tinahealy where people puncturing non-stop. The change wasn't from neutral service and he's not sure which team car he got it from. Spent last 2 days looking for the wheel with no joy. Leads me to the conclusion that the team either fleeced it or left it on the side of the road. Either way it's poor form. Anyway on the off chance that somebody hears off the wheel turning up somewhere could you let me know. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

I was doing service for the wexford wheelers on sat and found a carbon wheel left on the road in that very spot when i stopped with a navan rider who had been passed by the entire cavalcade. Maybe you could check if was definetly a mavic because i am almost certain this was a corima and it was claimed on sunday by the isle of man team.

Yeah it was definitely a Mavic. Was talking to either yourself or one of your guys about it. The whole thing has me mad confused! :confused:

fondriest wrote: »
    I was doing service for the wexford wheelers on sat and found a carbon wheel left on the road in that very spot when i stopped with a navan rider who had been passed by the entire cavalcade.

Thanks for looking after him by the way.