Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiger Woods - Return to Golf

• 03-04-2010 11:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭

Well enough has been written in the last few months so im not even going there with his private life......

anyway..the great man is returning to the game against the backdrop of personal difficulties. Not 100% on the betting side of things for his return but i'd suspect the odds should be worth at least a tenner.

I realise another thread will be started discussing the tournament as a whole so let this be the one for discussing the Tiger.

Syngin..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

the odds for him to miss the cut are 6 to 1, ill have a few bob on that:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

thats a good shout. will have some of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭fatherbuzcagney

im going 20e on him to miss cut and 30e on him to win outright,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭ant043

Those who back him to miss the cut are throwing their money away imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Hopefully not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

im going 20e on him to miss cut and 30e on him to win outright,

I think that is a good bet

stockdam wrote: »
    Hopefully not.

I'd love to see your face if he did manage to win lol.

Having his first press conference tonight at 7pm..Live and Exclusive on Sky Sports News. This is getting beyond a joke now. Hyping up Press Conferences. Apparently 180 places are available of the 350 that applied.
    I very much doubt we will hear something we haven't heard before.
    He'll more than likely stick with only questions concerning Golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I see from the paper this morning that he has a private security team somewhere close to 90 people. The best of the best seemingly, made up of former FBI and CIA agents... is this what they mean by a black ops mission ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

syngindub wrote: »
    Having his first press conference tonight at 7pm..Live and Exclusive on Sky Sports News. This is getting beyond a joke now. Hyping up Press Conferences. Apparently 180 places are available of the 350 that applied.
    I very much doubt we will hear something we haven't heard before.
    He'll more than likely stick with only questions concerning Golf

Well to be honest he should be sticking to questions about golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Ya i would be very suprised if he didnt answer anything beyond golf related questions.
    If any personal question do get asked the answer will be thats between me and my wife, or its all in the police report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

i for one dont want to hear him talk, not even about golf, i just want to see him play.
    if you want to know what happened on that thanksgiving night, i suggest you watch the south park eppisode with woods in it , i would say its not to far from the truth, its hillarious:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

well i for one am eager to hear what he has to say. I am sure he will deflect any questions regarding his private life. I am looking forward to hearing what his prepartation has been.

ant043 wrote: »
    I'd love to see your face if he did manage to win lol.

What makes you think I'd be bothered one way or the other. I'm neutral if he wins or fails to make the cut (I'd smile more for the latter though).

On the other hand if David Duval were to win they I'd be delighted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

What makes you think I'd be bothered one way or the other. I'm neutral if he wins or fails to make the cut (I'd smile more for the latter though).

On the other hand if David Duval were to win they I'd be delighted.
    There you go. The stop on DD has happened;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

I thought he did well. Now hopefully it can all be forgotten and we can get on with the golf. I hope he wins it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

He definetly answered a lot more questions than i thought he would, he did well.
    We are never going to hear anything more about the crash than what we already know.
    Im just really looking forward to seeing him back out on the course again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

syngindub wrote: »
    anyway..the great man is returning to the game against the backdrop of personal difficulties.
    Syngin..

I suppose it depends on your measure of what a great man is but I certainly wouldn't be referring to him as a great man. Great golfer - definitely. Great man - definitely not.

Par72 wrote: »
    I suppose it depends on your measure of what a great man is but I certainly wouldn't be referring to him as a great man. Great golfer - definitely. Great man - definitely not.

I really can't stand all this sanctimonious dribble. I doubt anyone in here is so perfect as to cast any judgement on anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

I really can't stand all this sanctimonious dribble. I doubt anyone in here is so perfect as to cast any judgement on anyone else.

Calling someone great is casting judgement is it not?

Par72 wrote: »
    Calling someone great is casting judgement is it not?

Yes it most certainly is. And generally it relates to the achievements that person is famous for. Its not a personal judgement. When you say he's not a great man, thats a personal barb at his off course behaviour.

His personal life is his personal life. Thats not for us to judge. Thats between himself and his friends and family.

Not having a go, just tired of this tabloid culture we all live in.

If he did win it would be the greatest win of all time in golf even surpassing his achievement of winning the us open with a dodgy knee. Unfortunately i can't see it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭D Hayes

Has anyone seen the new South Park Tiger Woods episode? I think it sums up nicely his "addiction" and the media's over reaction to it. Basically it's saying that anyone in his position would've done the same; and takes the mick out of the stupid amount of attention that the media gave it:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sexual_Healing_%28South_Park%29

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Part of me would like to see him win, but i really can't see. When you hear how he hacked it around in practice yesterday it would seem to make a mockery of his odds for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Part of me would like to see him win, but i really can't see. When you hear how he hacked it around in practice yesterday it would seem to make a mockery of his odds for the week.

Yeah, shame to hear that.

Personally, I would far, far prefer to see him in contention, than chop around and barely make the cut, if at all. I'm really looking forward to seeing him play. But it'd be a shame to be watching him at +1, but seeing every shot just because he's Tiger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

Yeah, shame to hear that.

Personally, I would far, far prefer to see him in contention, than chop around and barely make the cut, if at all. I'm really looking forward to seeing him play. But it'd be a shame to be watching him at +1, but seeing every shot just because he's Tiger.

you know what... maybe that would be just desserts to a guy who, by his own admission yesterday, barely acknowledged his own fans at events in times past.
    if ever there was a case of an egotit disappearing so far up his own h**e he's become utterly detached from his own reality - here it is... live and in 3-D.

forgive me, but the complete toolbag has turned the masters into his own circus. the whole event is rapidly becoming a joke.

his personal 90 strong security entourage carry with them a headshot list tigers mistresses which lead to a 60 plus female fan, during the practice round, being asked by a security guard " maam, are you a stripper??"

im praying that come saturday night he'll be a backstory and not the main event - unless of course he's in contention, then in that case im hoping its his game we'll be hearing the yanks dissect and not all this other rubbish. sadly tho... im very skeptical that this wknd - a personal fav. wknd of sport along with the open - will be anything other than a pile of steaming tiger crap.

and all this is peddled to us from the most sincere face he can muster " Im in undergoing treatment and therapy for my addiction " which just happens to be sex-addiction.... gimmie a break.... sex addiction? dear lord... poor you... it must be a deep and painful time in your life not being able to bone everything that moves.... gosh, i thought recovering from heroin addiction was tough.... but you, youve got it real bad. god bless you... oh and buddha be with you too... and whatever other bull you pony out to us to you massive fake.

just how dumb is middle america anyway?

I agree with some of your points Blackwaterfish.

I always look forward to the Masters as it's the "start of the golfing season" for me. The event has a unique history (not always good though) and the course is always in excellent condition.

The Masters has always been bigger than any golfer but this year the focus has been not on the golf but on a goat who thought he could do whatever he liked with whoever he wanted.

For me I'd be happy if Woods misses the cut and then we can focus on the golf. He can have his day at the next event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

people are forgetting that tiger is not asking for this media frenzy,
    I'm sure he'd be more that happy for the media to **** off and leave him concentrate on his golf

you know what... maybe that would be just desserts to a guy who, by his own admission yesterday, barely acknowledged his own fans at events in times past.
    if ever there was a case of an egotit disappearing so far up his own h**e he's become utterly detached from his own reality - here it is... live and in 3-D.

forgive me, but the complete toolbag has turned the masters into his own circus. the whole event is rapidly becoming a joke.

his personal 90 strong security entourage carry with them a headshot list tigers mistresses which lead to a 60 plus female fan, during the practice round, being asked by a security guard " maam, are you a stripper??"

im praying that come saturday night he'll be a backstory and not the main event - unless of course he's in contention, then in that case im hoping its his game we'll be hearing the yanks dissect and not all this other rubbish. sadly tho... im very skeptical that this wknd - a personal fav. wknd of sport along with the open - will be anything other than a pile of steaming tiger crap.

and all this is peddled to us from the most sincere face he can muster " Im in undergoing treatment and therapy for my addiction " which just happens to be sex-addiction.... gimmie a break.... sex addiction? dear lord... poor you... it must be a deep and painful time in your life not being able to bone everything that moves.... gosh, i thought recovering from heroin addiction was tough.... but you, youve got it real bad. god bless you... oh and buddha be with you too... and whatever other bull you pony out to us to you massive fake.

just how dumb is middle america anyway?

...that's 30 seconds of my life I'll never get back.

Personally, I don't give a shyte about his press conferences, how many security guards he has or what logo is on his bag. I've no interest in whether or not he's a good role model for kids, whether he signs autographs or not, or how often he does the dirt on his wife.

He's a bloke I want to watch playing golf on tele, not a close personal friend.

It's pretty sad how hot under the collar people get over how a famous person runs or ruins their life. What actual difference does it make to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

...that's 30 seconds of my life I'll never get back.

Personally, I don't give a shyte about his press conferences, how many security guards he has or what logo is on his bag. I've no interest in whether or not he's a good role model for kids, whether he signs autographs or not, or how often he does the dirt on his wife.

He's a bloke I want to watch playing golf on tele, not a close personal friend.

It's pretty sad how hot under the collar people get over how a famous person runs or ruins their life. What actual difference does it make to you?

well fookin said

I agree with some of your points Blackwaterfish.

I always look forward to the Masters as it's the "start of the golfing season" for me. The event has a unique history (not always good though) and the course is always in excellent condition.

The Masters has always been bigger than any golfer but this year the focus has been not on the golf but on a goat who thought he could do whatever he liked with whoever he wanted.

For me I'd be happy if Woods misses the cut and then we can focus on the golf. He can have his day at the next event.

i wouldnt mind atall if he makes the cut... or even if he went on to do very well.... theres so much to admire in his ability as a golfer.... its the giant entourage of bull that now follows him everywhere... and knowing this would be the case he still chose the masters to make his grand entrance. he talks about respecting the game... the masters 2010 will be played out in the shadow of one mans ego.

No doubt he will be well received by the galleries.... but what exactly are you buying into if you applaud tiger woods on the first tee on thursday morning before he hits a ball?

since you asked.... the difference it makes to me is simply that it'll be all about him and his issues this wknd and golf will take 2nd place.

That peeves me.

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    I'm sure he'd be more that happy for the media to **** off and leave him concentrate on his golf

your absolutely right.

if he made his return prior to this at a more low key event however, then the media frenzy would have lessened somewhat by now. therefore surely he'd be in a better position for a tilt at augusta. the fact that he's returned at this specific event has amped up its media profile. if its media frenzy he's trying to avoid he's totally made a balls of it.

since you asked.... the difference it makes to me is simply that it'll be all about him and his issues this wknd and golf will take 2nd place.

That peeves me.

All about him? Yeah, absolutely. The best player of all time is back in town. I'm not ashamed to say I wanna see every shot.

All about his issues? Eh, no - you need to give golf broadcasters (as opposed to general media) a bit more credit. Everyone, especially people who will actually watch the Masters, is bored of comments about his issues. There'll be the odd vague reference, but not many.
    but what exactly are you buying into if you applaud tiger woods on the first tee on thursday morning before he hits a ball?

Buying into with applause? ...really? It's just sport on tv buddy.

My advice, stick to actual golf coverage, try to avoid reading Perez Hilton, and don't take it all so seriously. You'll be wayyyy less peeved.

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    people are forgetting that tiger is not asking for this media frenzy,

Then you are implying that he and his advisers haven't a clue.......it was obvious that this would happen. At least at Agusta they can keep the rabble out.

A hypothetical question which you can ignore (obviously).

If Woods had been convicted of paedophilia then would be all be saying that it's not about him but about his golf? Would he still be the "greatest" (greatest technical golfer - yes, but greatest "golfer")?

Sorry I'm being hypothetical just to see if anything would make any difference.

All about him? Yeah, absolutely. The best player of all time is back in town. I'm not ashamed to say I wanna see every shot.

All about his issues? Eh, no - you need to give golf broadcasters (as opposed to general media) a bit more credit. Everyone, especially people who will actually watch the Masters, is bored of comments about his issues. There'll be the odd vague reference, but not many.

Buying into with applause? ...really? It's just sport on tv buddy.

My advice, stick to actual golf coverage, try to avoid reading Perez Hilton, and don't take it all so seriously. You'll be wayyyy less peeved.

my god.... your right.... its like a veil has been lifted.... and so sorry for wasting your time again.... that must of taken you at least 60 seconds to pull together. and you with all the valuable time and none of it to waste.

peeved i can handle - thanks for your concern tho.

Your in my thoughts kind sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Cheating on your wife is a whole lot different to interfering with kids.

Yes but it comes down to your own values. Excuse me if I read that you would be a bit colder if he was a fiddler. My point is that everyone (I think) has a line that if it is crossed then they will link a persons private life with his public life. Cheating on your wife (and kids) is wrong and so is fiddling. It then comes down to whether you want to accept and "ignore".

Btw I'm not pretending to he "holier than thou" but those who don't like Woods are not saying he's any better or worse.......I just don't warm to him and I'd rather watch many other golfers (less talented but imo ones that I admire).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

:eek::eek:

the odd vague reference to whats happened in the last 4 months!? hmmm... okay well i hope so but im thinking thats not going to be the case. not unless the broadcasters are specifically told not to discuss his private life on air... but with tim finchem around anythings possible really - although he may not have much influence during augusta.

Buying into with applause? ...really? It's just sport on tv buddy. My advice, stick to actual golf coverage, try to avoid reading Perez Hilton, and don't take it all so seriously. You'll be wayyyy less peeved.

i hear what your saying .... but... if the yanks just welcome him back with open arms and believe all the spin he's been peddling over the last few months, and applaud him on the 1st tee.... i'll be honest, i'll be disappointed.

he's a bullsh*t artist in the extreme and i hope people see thru it.
    im not talking riots here... but a little bit of niggle at least... tar and feathers is probably going too far... how about a chicken head in the ass? is that too much to ask?

Can we stick with the Golf. He did the dirt on his missus. Big Swing..He hasn't committed murder

cool... lets just ignore the biggest golf related story in quite a while, which happens to now involve one golfs major tournaments, on a forum specifically for the discussion of golf related topics..... because that makes sense?

Well the thread is "Return to Golf".
    I was hoping we might just concentrate on all golf related stuff
    Feel free to start your own thread discussing his sex life is you want

fair enough... ive had me little rant... thats me done.

looking forward to what will hopefully be a pure class masters and please god let the horsesh1t re sexlife and therapy and so on be kept to a minimum.