Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish cyclists winning this weekend

• 03-04-2010 12:04pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭

David McCann winning stage 1 of the Tour of Thailand

27024_394080381248_348779976248_4261828_5464968_n.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Philip Lavery winning the prologue of the Tour of the North

5.jpg

"Lavery in charge at Tour of the North opener
    By Anthony Mitchell
    Apr 2, 2010,
    Southern teenager Philip Lavery, riding for the Cycling Ulster squad ran out winner of last nights opening stage of the P&O Irish Sea Tour of the North."

http://www.irishcycling.com/publish/news/art_4702.shtml

(That one's for Bob ! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Any RACE RESULTS from domestic stage races would be APPRECIATED !! :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Any RACE RESULTS from domestic stage races would be APPRECIATED !! :D
    Tour of the North - Stage 1 - Results 02/04/10 (Top 10)
    1. Philip Lavery (Cycling Ulster - D McCall Fnd) 2.13.72
    2. Matt Cronshaw (Rapha Condor) 2.14.59
    3. Martyn Irvine (Planet X) 2.15.09
    4. Stephen Gallagher (Sigma Sport) 2.16.40
    5. Glen Kinning (East Antrim Audi) 2.17.07
    6. Dean Downing (Rapha Condor) 2.18.29
    7. Ryan Connor (Cycling Ulster - D McCall Fnd) 2.18.90
    8. Ben Greenwood (Rapha Condor) 2.19.09
    9. Tom Last (Sigma Sport) 2.20.25
    10. Dean Windsor (Rapha Condor) 2.21.43

Ras Mumhan Stage 1
    1. 22 Robbert-Jan Mol West Frisia Combilift U23 2.13'39" 5"
    2. 71 Sean Lacey The Edge Sports Team A 2.13'41" 2" 3"
    3. 14 Andrew Roche Isle of Man 2.13'41" 2" 1"
    4. 50 Fiachra O Muire Usher Irish Road Club A 2.13'41" 2"
    5. 68 Tim Barry The Edge Sports Team A A2 2.13'41" 2"
    6. 47 Michael Reddin South Dublin CC Blue 2.13'41" 2"
    7. 133 Keith Gater Comeragh CC 2.13'41" 2"
    8. 48 Neil Delahaye Usher Irish Road Club A 2.13'41" 2"
    9. 8 Woulter Haan Midi Centre Ruiter Wielerteam U23 2.15'32" 1'53"
    10. 10 Tiernach Murphy Irish Development Squad U23 2.15'44" 2'05"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

ROK ON live at Molls Gap reporting for SSB TV.

Awaiting on stage 2 of RAS MUMHAN.
    Driving rain and cold winds have caused mayhem with the times.
    Left Kenmare on the 45km/h schedule.
    Healys Pass and a savage wind between glengariff and adrigole have eaten into the the mighty racing men.
    I have been informed by a marshall that they should be between the tunnels andKenmare now.

I will update you all on results as I see them.

ROK ON for SSBTV signing out from a cold wet Molls Gap.

Timmy Barry of the Edge leading on the road in small group.

Small group at 30s anothe at 2mins and bunch at 10m according to marshall.

Wim Buitman

Sherlock MAD

GRIFFIN Earl Desmond

Barry

Barry new race leader.
    Sprint to the gap.
    6 in chasing group to finish.

Congrats Ryan.

Don't have the full results yet but Paul Kennedy of Swords CC won the first stage of the Gorey today

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Just heard that blorg and aidan.offbeat finished in the lead group at the Gorey.

Thanks for the news about Blorg and Aidan Off Beat.

Could their actual names be posted or is the news only for those in the 'know' on this forum?

Posting their names is up to them I would imagine.
    The only reason come people know their names is they have been out cycling with the.
    Sure come along to the next boards spin and we can all get to know one another.

Tour of the North Stage 2

1 13 Lavery,Philip Cycling Ulster D McCall Fnd 2h53'55"
    2 100 Downing,Dean Rapha Condor 2h53'55"
    3 36 Armstrong,Adam Eurocycles 2h53'55"
    4 103 Windsor,Dean Rapha Condor 2h53'55"
    5 74 Haynes,Hamish VC Ecosse 2h53'55"
    6 2 Aiken,Roger Planet X 2h53'55"
    7 93 Vandermeiren,Ward Decock Sportivo 2h54'07" @12"
    8 11 McAllister,Conor Cycling Ulster D McCall Fnd 2h54'07" @ s/t
    9 102 Greenwood,Ben Rapha Condor 2h54'07" @ s/t
    10 92 Devoldere,Niki Decock Sportivo 2h54'07" @ s/t

Seems like the Comm's are throwing their weight around there. Philip won the first 2 stages but lost the yellow as they penalised him 30 secs fro crossing the white line . They also disqualified a Rapha rider.

RobFowl wrote: »
    Tour of the North Stage 2

1 13 Lavery,Philip Cycling Ulster D McCall Fnd 2h53'55"
    2 100 Downing,Dean Rapha Condor 2h53'55"
    3 36 Armstrong,Adam Eurocycles 2h53'55"
    4 103 Windsor,Dean Rapha Condor 2h53'55"
    5 74 Haynes,Hamish VC Ecosse 2h53'55"
    6 2 Aiken,Roger Planet X 2h53'55"
    7 93 Vandermeiren,Ward Decock Sportivo 2h54'07" @12"
    8 11 McAllister,Conor Cycling Ulster D McCall Fnd 2h54'07" @ s/t
    9 102 Greenwood,Ben Rapha Condor 2h54'07" @ s/t
    10 92 Devoldere,Niki Decock Sportivo 2h54'07" @ s/t

Seems like the Comm's are throwing their weight around there. Philip won the first 2 stages but lost the yellow as they penalised him 30 secs fro crossing the white line . They also disqualified a Rapha rider.

Thanks Rob

Sounds extremely harsh, bound to appeal, wonder how it will go!?!

Ras Mumhan report at 22:18

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1070026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭serendip

Ras Mumhan report at 22:18

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1070026

Thanks!
    But it was unfortunately a somewhat brief report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

serendip wrote: »
    Thanks!
    But it was unfortunately a somewhat brief report.

Jaysus wouldnt you think they wud have shown them crossing line like they did in the feckin boat race.. :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Jesus sounds like the comm's up north have their jackboots on. Wonder is it from pressure from johnny law up there ? They have had to restrict field entry levels under direction from the law afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

Results page with interview and pictures from Ras Mumhan http://www.rasmumhan.com/?p=463

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

RobFowl wrote: »
    Philip Lavery winning the prologue of the Tour of the North

5.jpg

"Lavery in charge at Tour of the North opener
    By Anthony Mitchell
    Apr 2, 2010,
    Southern teenager Philip Lavery, riding for the Cycling Ulster squad ran out winner of last nights opening stage of the P&O Irish Sea Tour of the North."

Note: If your that good to be in a winning photo, dont wear your over shoes with the Rainbow stripes (which you haven't earned)
    or are they just really like the WC stripes but actually something else which he has earned? - I doubt it though

me@ucd wrote: »
    Note: If your that good to be in a winning photo, dont wear your over shoes with the Rainbow stripes (which you haven't earned)
    or are they just really like the WC stripes but actually something else which he has earned? - I doubt it though

Are you serious? Give the young fellow a break!

Back to the racing - any news on his appeal??

Overnight penalties overturned P Lavery still in yellow

Matt Cronshaw reinstated and in 16th

Race organiser seems to have intervened ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 misspollyanna

Anyone got the GC for the Gorey?? It doens't seem to be available anywhere....

Glad to see Philip in the Yellow. Couldn't imagine Downing wearing it when he didn't earn it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 tart

check out this web site for info of Tour Of the North

http://www.cyclingulster.com/?thenewsid=3935&newstable=news

Set up this thread, might be better for posting race updates / results etc:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055874492

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭jag con

Well done to Mr Skeff for winning the Gorey 3 day in some style

and well done to Blorg also, great to meet you again

Con

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Well done lads and Skeff on the result. Enjoyed watching it go past with a load of others on Saturday at the Hollywood turn off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Mark Cassidy An Post Sean Kelly team finished 28th in the Rund um Köln in Germany today.