Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McIlroy stunt

• 02-04-2010 4:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭

bogeyed 2 of the par 5's on the back nine to very convieniently miss the cut so he can give his back a few days rest and prepare for the masters

any other cynincs here or am i on my own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Huntelaar

Pretty sure he didn't do that on purpose mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

He probably did, and he wouldn't be the first to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Huntelaar wrote: »
    Pretty sure he didn't do that on purpose mate
    how?
    had it back to 1 under for the day after 11 and then decides to miss a 5 footer for bird,from then on looking at shot tracker he was messing around

He probably did, and he wouldn't be the first to do it.
    correct
    for the top players it's more beneficial for them to have a couple of extra days off to work on whatever they're not happy with
    compare that to earning maybe 10 or 15 k which is just chichen feed for the likes of Rory

I'm sorry but I find it hard to believe he would do that. He's a professional. If he had no intention of taking part in the tournament properly why would he bother playing at all?

• Subscribers Posts: 16,611 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

heavyballs wrote: »
    how?
    had it back to 1 under for the day after 11 and then decides to miss a 5 footer for bird,from then on looking at shot tracker he was messing around

well clearly if you think so by looking at shot tracker it must be true.

I'm sorry but I find it hard to believe he would do that. He's a professional. If he had no intention of taking part in the tournament properly why would he bother playing at all?

incorrect
    he entered to win ok and to get a go at a course set up similiar to Augusta,very fast greens etc
    obviously he's not playing great,he has some technical issues that you can't really work at on course
    so once his swing was not up to competing for the tourney that's when he decides(subcontiencely possibly)feck this i need a couple of extra practice days

Correct.

copacetic wrote: »
    well clearly if you think so by looking at shot tracker it must be true.

what you on about,is shot tracker false?,not a very usefull comment at all:(

I meant until you see that actual shots there is no reason to start a thread like this, for all you know he got unlucky/rebounded off a tree/ lipped out on two holes. etc etc. He was out early so would not have known what the cut was, in fact how do you know for sure he missed it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

If the wind kicks up later, 3 over may well make the cut.

I don't believe he missed the cut on purpose. He's a mediocre putter, he was always likely to struggle on these greens. Likewise he has no chance at Augusta.

Out of interest...... since according to you the big players like McIlroy miss cuts when they're out of contention, do you actually know when Rory last missed a cut? And what about Tiger's cut streak?

By the way in case you're interested he missed the cut in Sawgrass last May on the PGA Tour and hasn't missed one in Europe since the Alfred Dunhill in December '08.

If the wind kicks up later, 3 over may well make the cut.

I don't believe he missed the cut on purpose. He's a mediocre putter, he was always likely to struggle on these greens. Likewise he has no chance at Augusta.

you having a larf,he was well in contention and putted very well there last year untill untill he made a balls of things in that bunker where he was penalised
    do some research in future will ya

Out of interest...... since according to you the big players like McIlroy miss cuts when they're out of contention
    you're putting words in my mouth,if i said that you should have quotation marks

you having a larf,he was well in contention and putted very well there last year untill untill he made a balls of things in that bunker where he was penalised

Watch some golf why don't you? If your suggesting McIlroy is a good putter your having a laugh.

175th in Putting on the PGA tour. Q.E.D.

Watch some golf why don't you? If your suggesting McIlroy is a good putter your having a laugh.

175th in Putting on the PGA tour. Q.E.D.

why don't you read my post corectly,tell me where i said he was a good putter?
    go on

now the point i made which you decided to ignore was that McElroy was very much in contention untill he was penalised on the final day
    he putted well that week mainly because his long putting is generally ok but was very good in Augusta
    in future before getting on your high horse READ the post first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

how?

So, you are accusing Rory McIlroy of cheating?

go on

now the point i made which you decided to ignore was that McElroy was very much in contention untill he was penalised on the final day
    he putted well that week mainly because his long putting is generally ok but was very good in Augusta

I never get off my high horse. One swallow doesn't make a summer as regards the putting. I'm suggesting he's a poor putter right now. A la Sergio. Good from distance, poor from in close.

Your original argument that he abandoned this tournament makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

bogeyed 2 of the par 5's on the back nine to very convieniently miss the cut so he can give his back a few days rest and prepare for the masters

any other cynincs here or am i on my own

I don't think its in McElroys make up to give up and try and miss a cut, aside from the prize money, there is also ranking points to pick up/loose too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

go on

Why are you so negative towards people who do not share your opinion? You state something and that's it case closed. As soon as someone offers up a different view on things you start becoming critical.

McIlroy may as you've said decided his back needed a rest and jumped ship. On the other hand he may have put 100% into those closing holes and nothing went his way. Wouldn't be the first time Mc lost it on the greens. The fact is we don't know, and for you to put your views forward on the basis of having "seen it" on Shot tracker is laughable.

Gophur wrote: »
    So, you are accusing Rory McIlroy of cheating?
    jesus you're quick on the uptake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

there's only one person who really knows the truth, and that is the man himself.
    the rest is just pure speculation.

madds wrote: »
    Why are you so negative towards people who do not share your opinion? You state something and that's it case closed. As soon as someone offers up a different view on things you start becoming critical.
    cop on,this is a difference of opinion,do you really expect me to give my opinion and then backtrack and agree with all of your comments,it's a forum ffs
    and btw i'm fair and balanced when i need to be but am intitled to my opinion and will stand by it

there's only one person who really knows the truth, and that is the man himself.
    the rest is just pure speculation.

god i hope they don't ban speculative comments on boards or the site will be a ghost site,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

Just to add my few cents worth, Vijay Singh withdrew after nine yesterday stating back troubles, and Greg Owen withdrew too after a nightmare yesterday (I was "watching" it on Shottracker - he put two drives out of bounds on the 3rd, signed for a 79). I don't know why he withdrew though. And Briny Baird withdrew after a 78.

I'm not saying there's any sinister reason for these withdrawals, I'm just letting yiz know they happened. Singh has been having back troubles of late. And at 325th in the world, I'm not sure Owen has a Masters to go to. Don't know about Baird.

Regarding McIllroy, I don't think any top pro would pull deliberately pull like that. There's no better preperation for a tournament than playing another similar tournament. He's not the only one to have a mare on that course, it's making some of them look pretty silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Su Campu wrote: »
    Just to add my few cents worth, Vijay Singh withdrew after nine yesterday stating back troubles, and Greg Owen withdrew too after a nightmare yesterday (I was "watching" it on Shottracker

Short aside - what is this Shottracker and where can it be 'watched' ? Can you see traces of all shots by all player ?

Kace wrote: »
    Short aside - what is this Shottracker and where can it be 'watched' ? Can you see traces of all shots by all player ?

Yes, it it available here for all PGA Tour events. It's linked into the Shotlink system, so all details on each shot are viewable. Click on a player to see a map of his shots on each hole.

Speaking of which, Harrington's just gone in the water on the 18th, looks like he's blown it on the last again today.

EDIT: He double bogeyed it, the 18th, which is his 9th today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

madds wrote: »
    Very similar posting style to another poster who used to post his weekly betting choices on here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

He wasnt penalised and I think it was probably the 4 putt on 16 before the bunker incident that cost him is chances over the weekend.

I dont believe he missed the cut on Purpose.

this review of his round i todays time makes a mockery of this thread tbh
    His second round made for frustrating viewing. After a bogey five at the first, where he lipped out for par from six feet following visits to two bunkers, McIlroy still had hopes of making the cut when he birdied the par-four sixth and par-five eighth to get back to one over for the tournament.

But he missed every holeable birdie chance and stumbled home in two over par with an ugly pair of sixes at the par-five 13th and 15th holes – three shotters he once ate for breakfast.

At the 13th he tugged a fairway wood into a hazard and after chipping backwards to the fairway, he clumsily pitched 15 feet past the hole from 30 yards short of the green and dropped a vital stroke.

The longest putt he holed all week was a slippery 14-footer for par at the par-three 14th. But he was only prolonging the agony.

At the 600-yard 15th, he bunkered his fairway metal lay-up and after coming up 40 yards short of the green with his third, he flipped a spectacular, towering flop shot to three feet but somehow managed to lip out for his par.

McIlroy tried hard to look on the bright side and denied that he was heading to the Masters with a sense of foreboding. However, he confessed that he hasn’t felt happy on a golf course since he visited Augusta a few weeks ago and a return to the Masters venue might be just what the doctor ordered.

“I’m really looking forward to next week and can’t wait to get there. It’s just a shame I couldn’t have prepared a little better this week,” he said.

“When I went there for three days after Doral it was the happiest I’d felt on the golf course for a while. Hopefully I can get back there again and get a little kick out of it.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

TBH it didnt take a lot to make a mockery of this thread.

hardly
    explain

hardly
    explain

Your thread is a mockery, it would be easier to win the tournament than throw it away by deliberately ending up against the face of fairway bunkers from 280 yards away, followed by deliberately lipping out numerous putts.. etc etc.

Some 'stunt' indeed. Using what are apparently the most impressive skills in golf to barely miss putts rather than using them to sink them.

Your thread is a mockery, it would be easier to win the tournament than throw it away by deliberately ending up against the face of fairway bunkers from 280 yards away, followed by deliberately lipping out numerous putts.. etc etc.

Some 'stunt' indeed. Using what are apparently the most impressive skills in golf to barely miss putts rather than using them to sink them.

In the words of Jack Charlton,

"I couldn't a put it betta meself"

He's at it again, this time he's deliberatly missing the cut to save his back for the Volvo China Open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

He's at it again, this time he's deliberatly missing the cut to save his back for the Volvo China Open.

Yeah but no but yeah but no but there's this whole other fing wot you dont know nuffin about so SHURRUP! u SHURRUP!

He needs a bogey coming in just to be safe, he's dangerously close to making the cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Certainly dirty tactics by McIlroy, i just hope he gets caught for what hes doing.:o