Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Barista Championship 2010

• 01-04-2010 10:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭

Just a quick mention that the above event will be taking place next week - Apr 6-8th - at the Twisted Pepper on Abbey Street.

Superstar baristas, awesome coffee and plenty to keep the geek & casual observer entertained. We'll be having brewing tutorials, very special guests and an 'open to the public' competition - Brew Haha

The final 6 will be competing on Thursday, Apr. 8th with the eventual winner representing Ireland at the World Barista Championship in London in June.

We'd love to see you. All are welcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭donnacha

Should be a special couple of days - can't wait to see how the venue looks on the day.

Best of luck to the boards members that are competing for the Irish Title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Regular Latte

arabica69 wrote: »
    Just a quick mention that the above event will be taking place next week - Apr 6-8th - at the Twisted Pepper on Abbey Street.

Superstar baristas, awesome coffee and plenty to keep the geek & casual observer entertained. We'll be having brewing tutorials, very special guests and an 'open to the public' competition - Brew Haha

The final 6 will be competing on Thursday, Apr. 8th with the eventual winner representing Ireland at the World Barista Championship in London in June.

We'd love to see you. All are welcome!

Sounds like a great couple of days. The Brew HaHa is a brilliant idea. (But I'm away all next week!!! Arghhh!)

Hope it all goes well for everyone involved. Have fun!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I'll be swinging by at some stage, dunno which day(s) yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

Looks like it will be a great few days. Is it on during the day or in the evening?
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭arabica69

FYR, competition should be running from 10-4 Tues & Wed. the final 6 will be competing from noon on thursday. i'll update if there is any changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

Thanks, hope to make it over at some stage.

Best of luck to forum regulars RE*AC*TOR and 'the gentle giant' ch2008 who are both up in the first round tomorrow.

Just in case anyone wants to see the event but can't make it you can wtach a stream of the events here:

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/irish-barista-championships-2010

Ch2008 is on from 10:25 and RE*AC*TOR at 15:35 - good luck!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,658 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Any updates on how it's gone? In work can't get at the streams :(

Going well. I called in for an hour earlier and caught a Belguim lass.

I'm just home and hoping I haven't missed RE*AC*TOR. Spoke to ch2008 briefly and he seemed happy with his performance.

more updates I demand more updates

RE*AC*TOR done very well. Couldn't really see the cappas and such the stream wasn't clear enough.

Beginning to announce results me thinks.

ch2008 & RE*AC*TOR both through \0/

RE*AC*TOR had a sweat, last name out (in no particular order).

Best o' luck tomorrow lads.

Thanks very much for the updates - Delighted for both ch2008 & RE*AC*TOR, ****in Ace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Might pop in tomorrow - the video stream was fun today. Well done lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Kannon

best of luck lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭Doodee

Best of luck to both.

The performances/presentations are all finished with. There's some thanking and some speeches going on before they announce the winner for '10.

I didn't catch ch2008 but I was in in time for RE*AC*TOR, he done very well and cut it mighty fine at the end.

A big congrats to ch2008 for retaining the title. Well done too to RE*AC*TOR for finishing in the top 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Slaphead07

Well done to all and especially well done to CH for retaining the title.

Well done Colin & Dave - very impressive stuff. Hoping to taste those signature drinks next week in 3FE :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Thanks everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

Feckedy feck, sounds like a great time and good competition. Well done RE*AC*TOR for getting stuck in and to ch2008 for bringing it home again. Fair play fellas.

Now, can someone tell me why my subscription emails for the Coffee and Tea forum are not working ? :D

cheers

hshortt wrote: »
    Now, can someone tell me why my subscription emails for the Coffee and Tea forum are not working ? :D

cheers

Check this to see...