Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Different perspective on Brian Cowen?

• 31-03-2010 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭

I think I may have a kind of different perspective on Brian Cowen than the other posters here. I see him as a big fat useless incompetent bollix. Anyone else share the same view?

He's had a major hand in wrecking the country, Minister for Finance during the property bubble, and as Taoiseach he oversaw the bailout of the bankers/developers and the saddling of the taxpayer with massive debt. He's an utter disgrace to the country. I think he may well go down in history as the most useless Taoiseach we've had, and that's saying something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

I think I may have a kind of different perspective on Brian Cowen than the other posters here. I see him as a big fat useless incompetent bollix. Anyone else share the same view?

He's had a major hand in wrecking the country, Minister for Finance during the property bubble, and as Taoiseach he oversaw the bailout of the bankers/developers and the saddling of the taxpayer with massive debt. He's an utter disgrace to the country. I think he may well go down in history as the most useless Taoiseach we've had, and that's saying something.
    just slightly less useless than his predecessor I'd say. Would like to see the FF backbenchers turf him out and replace him with Lenihan tbh. Coughlan though? Somebody get rid of her asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Indeed I have a completely different perspective I see him as a big fat useless incompetent tribal Fianna Fail b@sta@rd who thinks that what's right for FF is what's right for the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭BluntGuy

murphaph wrote: »
    just slightly less useless than his predecessor I'd say. Would like to see the FF backbenchers turf him out and replace him with Lenihan tbh. Coughlan though? Somebody get rid of her asap.

How and why would Lenihan be a better choice? I think he's doing an awful job. I don't envy his position, but I don't like his strategy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭techdiver

Bertie had more of a hand in ruining the country than Cowen. That's not to say that Cowen isn't useless anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I would like him to be reminded by an interviewer of his boast on question and answers prior to the last election. especially as he is still fond of saying our problems are mainly caused by the international crisis. if that really was the case then it wouldn't really have mattered what party was in power. Yet he insisted prior to the last election his party was the one to manage any downturn and it's fair to say this was the reason many people voted for FF. Indeed a popular sentiment at the time seem to be one i recall posited by Jim Bartley(Bella Doyle to soap fans) "i'm voting for the party of experience, the party who know how to manage the economy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭scr123

I watched Vincent Browne last night and Bruton and Burton were on the show. Went to bed and woke in the middle of the night with the nightmare that these two were at a cabinet table facing each other with Kenny and Gilmore in a twin chair !! What really woke me was the part of the nightmare that showed soup kitchens all over the country in place 12 months after FF and Brian Cowen was replaced in government !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

scr123 wrote: »
    What really woke me was the part of the nightmare that showed soup kitchens all over the country in place 12 months after FF and Brian Cowen was replaced in government !!
    Might be healthier than the bars littering the place after an extended period with the Publican Party in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Pot Noodle =

I watched Vincent Browne last night and Bruton and Burton were on the show. Went to bed and woke in the middle of the night with the nightmare that these two were at a cabinet table facing each other with Kenny and Gilmore in a twin chair !! What really woke me was the part of the nightmare that showed soup kitchens all over the country in place 12 months after FF and Brian Cowen was replaced in government !!

Did you eat any Cheese before you retired

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

you were saying that you are a member of fiannna fail for 32 years in another post, you should be grateful that your nightmare is confined to an occasional night, many are living a 24 hour nightmare just now,

your observation reminds me of the italian prime minister who talked about 'useful tension' as part of government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Seriously you are the problem, muppets like you will go out and vote for these FFers again and another round of tribal cronyism will result in another period where the rest of us end up paying for their mistakes.

Take the scales from your eyes, FF does not care about you, they do not look after your interests and they do not represent the best way forward for this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

Saying "X is a big fat useless incompetent bollix" about a politician isn't really political discussion.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Scofflaw wrote: »
    Saying "X is a big fat useless incompetent bollix" about a politician isn't really political discussion.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

Yeah leave his weight out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭strathspey

It's a pity the vote is secret. I'd have every card-carrying Fiana F*cker and those who vote these bastards in, pay for the mess Ireland is in. People should be held to account for the party they vote into power. I have a 5-month old son who I will teach not to hate, with one exception. He will learn to despise FF - the cretins of Irish society!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

We have to see the guy to have any perspective on him at all.

Come out and lead the country, for fúck sake. You're not the leader we want but you're the one we're stuck with for now so do your job and stop hiding behind your Ministers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭sirromo

I think history will be kind to Brian Cowen. In twenty years from now people will look back and see that his contribution to our economic recovery were far greater than his contribution to our economic downturn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭glaston

Fail!

sirromo wrote: »
    I think history will be kind to Brian Cowen. In twenty years from now people will look back and see that his contribution to our economic recovery were far greater than his contribution to our economic downturn.

And that contribution is....? The guy is a weakling..lot of gob before he took the Taoiseach's job but has been more or less invisible for last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Frayed knot.

I'm with the majority of people of this country who think he is a highly capable man doing a sterling job in tough times. Oh and he's a handsome bastard as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I see him as a fat, unhealthy, loudmouth, alcoholic, unsure, muppet who wrecked this country and is only digging it further into the ground with his extreme incompetence.

He can't even make decisions that look like they are going to benefit the country.
    He's too busy trying to please fat cat **** to try and sort out this feckin country (that...and spending his time in the pub...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

strathspey wrote: »
    It's a pity the vote is secret. I'd have every card-carrying Fiana F*cker and those who vote these bastards in, pay for the mess Ireland is in. People should be held to account for the party they vote into power. I have a 5-month old son who I will teach not to hate, with one exception. He will learn to despise FF - the cretins of Irish society!

I'm apolitical, but it seems everybody only started to hate Fianna Fáil once it became totally clear that the boom was a party which we didn't earn and which we would all have to pay for.

Take that back..I've always despised them...just delighted the rest of the country is following suit and they'll be out on their ears at the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Collie D wrote: »
    Take that back..I've always despised them...just delighted the rest of the country is following suit and they'll be out on their ears at the next election.

Just when the tax hikes and ECB hikes and bank interest rate hikes start to take real effect and then the new government gets blamed for the lot.

Classic FF.
    You really have to hand it to them.
    The masters of screwing absolutely everyone over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm so grateful to have him as a TD!
    (Still want him out of power though!)

By his sheer existence, he's helped exhibit and define whats wrong with an average bad TD - so much so that is now easier to spot the better ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Was it your favourite song, or a pre-recorded tape of the dulcet tones of your favourite celebrity, that woke you up from your 5 year coma?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Well I remember distinctly hating them in 2009, 2007, 2004, 2002, 1999 and 1997.

I'd probably feel different if I had the ear of one of them and had them working for my own interests. But then I have a consicence. I even ran that coke snorting twat Liam Kelly from my doorstep when he called on me in 2004 looking for my vote. Hope the shock of my rudeness didn't turn him to drugs :rolleyes:

bonerm wrote: »
    I'd probably feel different if I had the ear of one of them and had them working for my own interests.

In fairness to FF there's plenty of that about. Parish pump politics is way too prevalent in this country. TDs who don't see past their own constituency..yes Healy-Rea, I'm looking at you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

Wheres the difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Watching politics is one thing. Dreaming of politics is another. What an incredibly dull life you must lead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

snip

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Watching politics is one thing. Dreaming of politics is another. What an incredibly dull life you must lead.

Your sig is your kill ratio for a video game...stones and glass houses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Collie D wrote: »
    Your sig is your kill ratio for a video game...stones and glass houses
    Well at least I have fun. There's little fun in politics.