Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sleep-Overs

• 30-03-2010 2:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭

Sleep-over is such an Americanisation, but we don't have a word for it, all we have is "Staying in someones house".

My nephew is have his first sleepover and it made me feel all nostalgic.

The nail biting suspense of your friends asking their parents can they come over and then the joy of hearing that they're allowed, oh 'twas great.:D

He's asleep, but his two friends aren't they're going to set the world record for not going to sleep.:rolleyes:

Everyone is asleep except for me and them(no paedo jokes please) and they decided to go on walkabouts around the gaff. They turned on a telly downstairs which woke everyone up and got in a shítload of trouble, delighted for the little rats(they're both 9).

I used to love sleepovers as when I was younger, the thrill of staying up late, watching telly, playing PlayStation, prank calling people and talking shíte til all hours of the morning.

Now that we're older and wiser(:p) we do all those things, minus the prank calls, but with added drunkenness and it just doesn't seem as much fun.:(

The most fun I had was camping out in the garden and sharing 6 bottles of Bavaria between 9 of us, we thought we were gonna get moooouuuuldy.:rolleyes: This was after watching The Amityville Horror, we were only chaps and it was some scary shít. Cue rain and us all having to go inside at 3 o'clock and staying up, ringing people and talking bollócks until 7 o'clock, twas fun!:D

What's your best memory of a sleep-over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Back when I was a teenager, I was always in bed by 8..........

and home by 11...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I was in the Scouts and we had some cracking times in Dublin Mountains camping.

At the time it seemed like thousands of miles away.

Strange no thinking we were just thirty mile away.

None of us slept really, be running around fields, smashing up greenshouses, telling ghost stories, playing cards etc.

Great days though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭duckygalway

I slept over at a mates once -ended up watching Childsplay with Chuckie.... that was my last sleep over!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

OutlawPete wrote: »

None of us slept really, be running around fields, smashing up greenshouses, telling ghost stories, playing cards etc.

Great days though.

I went on a camping trip to the Isle of Man with the cubs when I was a nipper. One of the shops had a copy of Playboy in the window with a topless minx on the cover... imagine a load of young catholic boys seeing that, when the closest thing you got to porn back then was the lingerie section of the Oxendales catalogue...

Anyway, everyone was giving it loads with lads bravado, like "I'd give her one etc", when one lad piped up with "Whoooarh - look at the balls on her"!!!

Poor f*cker never lived it down.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

baz2009 wrote: »
    Sleep-over is such an Americanisation, but we don't have a word for it, all we have is "Staying in someones house".
    One-night stands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭UnleashTheBeast

I am job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I am job

Improving your English might even get you a promotion.;)

I went on a camping trip to the Isle of Man with the cubs when I was a nipper. One of the shops had a copy of Playboy in the window with a topless minx on the cover... imagine a load of young catholic boys seeing that, when the closest thing you got to porn back then was the lingerie section of the Oxendales catalogue...

Anyway, everyone was giving it loads with lads bravado, like "I'd give her one etc", when one lad piped up with "Whoooarh - look at the balls on her"!!!

That reminds me of when I was eleven.

My Dad brought me and brothers to Anfield to see Liverpool v Utd.

We were late for the match but all I can remember is my Dad calling everyone Gov and suddenly we were in the Tunnel where the players run through.

Some Bobby had let us watch the match from there :D

So we head off to get our flights but they were Free Stand-By tickets (my Dad worked in Aer Lingus and back then you were entitled to so many Stand-By and so many Positive flights each year).

Anyway, flight was full .. in hindsight Dad, it would be if Liverpool were palying Utd :rolleyes:

:p

So Aer Lingus staff tell us if we head off to Birmingham airport, we can make that flight to Dublin. Long story long, we missed that one and so had to sleep in the airport.

Que me sneaking off and wandering around Birmingham airport all night.

To this day that was the longest night of my life.

All I can remember is finding a copy of Mayfair (British porn magazine) :D

I must have jerked off seven times in the toilets. I was a child pervert on the loose :pac:

The place was deserted almost, just cops with guns which I thought was so cool and they never batted an eyelid that I was strolling about on my own.

I smuggled the Magazine back home, sweating bullets, as - even though I was only eleven, I knew very well the Catholic Church would be waiting for me at Arrivals back home.

But I got that baby though and my mates though I was a hero for a few days .. :)

Ah - those heady days, when porn had to be smuggled into the country, along with condoms, all hidden safely in bags of heroin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

the funniest post i've read in weeks :D

i'm gonna pee, feckin comical!
    "Whoooarh - look at the balls on her"!!!
    - this is gonna be my signature :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

sleepovers isn't an americanisation! everyone i knew had sleepovers/slumber parties since i was a little kid.

i used to love them. such a big part of my childhood/adolesence :)

one of my friend's mother's had a cash and carry card, so at her sleepovers there would always be huuuge tubs of penny sweets and stuff! was brilliant.

and the truth or dares were hilarious [and sometimes humiliating].
    and the prank calls to boys we fancied ...ugh and somehow they'd always guess who we were and it was so embarasssing, we'd just have to repress the memory to show up to school the next week.
    and of course the sneaking out! we set off the burglar alarm at one friends by creeping out the window though and got in so much trouble.

i remember this one sleepover i went to [perhaps the last proper slumber party one actually] and playing truth or dare the girls were all talking about french kissing which i had yet to do, and their periods, which i had yet to get, and i felt like such a baby because i had nothing to say and had to admit i'd have neither experience yet. went to the bathroom at her party, and there was weird stuff in my underwear. thought there was something wrong with me. next day told my mom. turns out i'd gotten my period. i was sooooo annoyed i hadnt realised it in time so i could have been all like "yeah, pfft, periods. i'm down with that."

too much information?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

I smuggled the Magazine back home, sweating bullets, as - even though I was only eleven, I knew very well the Catholic Church would be waiting for me at Arrivals back home.

But I got that baby though and my mates though I was a hero for a few days .. :)

He he, you've just brought back a memory from my childhood. I found a porno mag in my younger days in a shopping centre toilet. I brought it home but rather than leave it in my room for a possible discovery, I wrapped it in a plastic bag and buried in the neighbours garden for later retrieval. Good times. :D

too much information?

I don't know. I stopped reading after you mentioned periods. :D:D

m@cc@ wrote: »
    He he, you've just brought back a memory from my childhood. I found a porno mag in my younger days in a shopping centre toilet. I brought it home but rather than leave it in my room for a possible discovery, I wrapped it in a plastic bag and buried in the neighbours garden for later retrieval. Good times. :D

I buried mine in an old suitcase that was in the wardrobe.

I had a Penthouse as well that a mate gave me at 12, he robbed it from his old man, he had tons.

I buried mine in an old suitcase that was in the wardrobe.

I had a Penthouse as well that a mate gave me at 12, he robbed it from his old ma, he had tons.

The best my ma had was the Oxendales catalogue!

Typo alert :p

Although, I used to be fond of the Kay's Catalouge in my time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Also remember doing prank calls to Childline. Me and my friend would have a skit going with me pretending to phone from under the stairs and then the 'dad' discovering me and beating the **** out of me. Terrible when I think about it now but it was funny as hell at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Typo alert :p

Although, I used to be found of the Kay's Catalouge in my time ;)

even us girls had those catalogues for inappropriate purposes :o

mens bulging packages galore :D

nipple action behind the lace :eek: and back then, there was no brazilians :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Our couch has been occupied constantly since paddys day (by about 4 different folks - not the same lad) and about 50% of the time b4 that.

So they don't necessarily end when you grow up ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Great days though.

Phew! I thought you meant green houses I was gonna give out to ya!

Them greens are fúckers anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Gillington wrote: »
    Phew! I thought you meant green houses I was gonna give out to ya!

Them greens are fúckers anyway!
    /yes and one house should be enough for them anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

:eek: and back then, there was no brazilians :o

What about Pele?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Ah sleep overs were good fun!

Remember once we snuck out at about 4 in the morning in our pjs, saw a squat car and were convinced that my friends mom had found out and rang them, ran for our lives and just so happened to end up down the town in the early hours of the morning.

Next week in school (I was in fourth class at the time) our teacher was telling us a story about another teacher who was out walking her dog when she saw two girls running around in their pyjamas!:o

Never forget that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

The uncontrollable giggling resulting from lack of sleep at that age is what I miss the most. Giggling about the most stupid of things.

I remember one night with my friends replacing random words within film titles with the word ARSE and laughing for hours at the results. It would usually have to be done a few ways in the case of two word titles e.g. "Pretty Arse" or "Arse Woman", "Saturday Night Arse" or "Saturday Arse Fever"

Ahh, Nostalgia! Hillarious! :pac:

The uncontrollable giggling resulting from lack of sleep at that age is what I miss the most. Giggling about the most stupid of things.

Yeah :p

I remember laughing cause my Dad said:

"Oíche mhaith"

And we kept saying ..

"We're not eating anything.."

Seemed hilarious at the time :o

Well, this one time I followed my dad down into the basement for a sleepover.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Sleepovers were the best thing ever. That excitement when your mum or dad would give it the green light, just incredible. Step Brothers (the film) made me think of that recently.

I regularily had my best mates to stay and would stay over at theirs too.

I had a great area in my old gaf which was relatively far from the bedrooms so we could be fairly loud, we would stay up watching Jackass, Eurotrash and Ibiza Uncovered, generally anything we wernt supposed to.

One sleepover memory that i still slag my mate about to this day was while watching American Pie, when Jim jizzes in his pants, my innocent friend asked "What happened? Is he too cold or something?" :D

Playing 45min halfs on FIFA 98. :O

Watching Match of The Day and saying who we were going to play for when we grew up and how much money would make. :(

Eating nothing but Wham bars, Desperate Dans and Roy of the Rovers (my teeth hurt just thinking about them.) :P

PLAYING WITH WRESTLING FIGURES!!!

When we were collected we generally slept the whole way home and then straight to bed.

The best of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Just who was leaving all those porn magazines around for kids to find anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Just thinking here, sleep-over is actually an americanism?

I seem to have a lot of these then. Other threads dictate that 'mom' is also an americanism.... I've always called my own mother 'mom'... I've a few more that I could throw up there. I was just surprised that so few people use those words :/

Anywho.. I always used the word 'sleepover' whenever I was going to stay at a friends. Still do ;)

......I'm afraid of the dark and don't like to sleep alone ... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

God, i loved sleepovers. I remember one night we all ran half way down the road, sat in a circle and just talked...****ing random as hell, but really nice memory to look back on.

Oh and the childline thing, we all did that. Also, for girls, those long, deep conversations ye have :p Life was so easy then, then sex and alcohol get involved and bam...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

All I remember is at my first sleepover is that i laughed so hard from someone elses ghost story that I had to leg it for the bathroom.

Otherwise I would never believe you could piss yourself laughing, but there you go. Listening to myself laughing uncontrollably while i was making a wee did not help at all. Something about pee and flushing sounds at 6 years old that will send you into a fit of giggles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Mikeyt086 wrote: »

PLAYING WITH WRESTLING FIGURES!!!

Best. Toys. Ever.:D

Everytime there was a few of the lads staying in my house we would go into town(not Dublin:p) and get a few DVDs to rent, usually a scary one followed by a funny one to cancel out out horrors.:o
    We would always get over-15/18s, we were like 10 or 11, the owner of the shop gave them to us because he's a friend of the family.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

As a kid we'd always end up staying up all night ad having a game of chase at 6-7am.

As a teenagers we get home at that time :D

At my 16 actually we had a huge came of unty,there were around 15-20 lads.The house next door is abandond and the game consits of the entire townland so at one stage several of us were running away from two of the lads and I feel down a pit..got up and ran on...then another person fell into the pit :D and so on,was hilariouse.

But ya as a kid I always had sleep overs,one of my most memorable is playing muder in the dark in the kitchen.I was hiding on the fridge when the phone rang so I got my friend to walk in with his eyes closed to turn on the light and awnser it.My dad and I have the same name so my friend picked up the phone and was like "Hello...No sorry he's playing a game with us...wait..oh ya e's on the fridge" I fell off laughing.

Later on we watched dumb n Dumberer which we found hilariouse so when we had a game of chase we were like "Invisibility shield....woo woo" "I cant see you...I cant see you!"

Way too many stories though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I was at a sleepover last night and I thought a few guys from my year would be there, so then I was all fussed about what pyjamas to wear. I mean, I'd look pretty stupid turning up in my pennys fleecy pyjamas with ladybirds if all the girls are in their La Senza nightwear, so I opted for casual, colourful cotton pyjamas from Dunnes but brought an optional onesie just in case. Turns out there was only one guy there, but he wasn't staying the night so I was able to wear my onesie over my pyjamas.

It never used to be this complicated :(

Piste wrote: »
    I was at a sleepover last night and I thought a few guys from my year would be there, so then I was all fussed about what pyjamas to wear. I mean, I'd look pretty stupid turning up in my pennys fleecy pyjamas with ladybirds if all the girls are in their La Senza nightwear, so I opted for casual, colourful cotton pyjamas from Dunnes but brought an optional onesie just in case. Turns out there was only one guy there, but he wasn't staying the night so I was able to wear my onesie over my pyjamas.

It never used to be this complicated :(

Wait till you get to college...you'll be ****ed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Vinta81 wrote: »

Depends.. is she hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Vinta81 wrote: »

I am in college!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

I am in college!

Weel then.... are you hot?:pac:

I am in college!

Ah right, thought you were just in school!

My college sleepovers consist of two people....at most :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

When I was a young fella we used to rent out WWF videos, say Royal Rumble '93 etc, play Super Nintendo and just try and stay awake as long as possible!

When we got a little older it was pretty much the same except we would try and rent out an "18's" video which had naked chicks in it, and at about 6am go and nick milk from peoples door steps. That milk always tasted great, and sometimes you could get orange juice outside the posher folks houses. They were lucky finds indeed!