Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hitchhikers

• 26-03-2010 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭

In the last 3 days, I have seen hitchhikers on the N7 heading out of Dublin. And I thought that I havent seen hitchhikers in years. Anybody know if its making a come back?
    Back in my day it was all the rage, I'd say I must have hitch-hiked about 2-3 time a week when I was younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Why didnt you knock them down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

hitchhikers
    end up in unmarked graves in Australia, Wolf Creek comes to mind:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Yeah. I've seen a lot more of them over the past year or so. Normally unsavoury looking, tracksuited types though.

Used to hitch all over the gaff years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Maybe with the recession,it's a cheap way of getting about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Yeah it used to be my number one mode of transport back in the day.

great way of meeting foreign girls too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭DoMyBooks

I was driving out the old Dublin road in Galway a few months ago and a van turning right bumped off the wing mirror of my car knocking it off. I stopped to talk to him but he had driven off. I got out of the car to fix the mirror and when I got back in there was a girl sitting in the passenger seat.

She was a hitch hiker going to Limerick and thought i'd stopped for her. I broke the bad news to her and went for lunch an hour later I was driving past and she was still there. I felt bad and took her out to the N18 where she might actually meet someone going to Limerick. While she was in the car we were chatting she was 21 from New York and had hitch hiked all over the UK and Ireland. I wouldn't like my sister or wife standing at the edge of the road doing similar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I havent hitchhiked in years, used to do it nearly every day years ago, Jeez i dont think i could do it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

The end for me was spending three days under an overpass by a roundabout outside birmingham.

The Aussie wrote: »
    ...Wolf Creek comes to mind:rolleyes:
    Shit wine.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Shit wine.

Jacobs Creek is dishwater

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Jacobs Creek is dishwater

It's not it's wine

So much for taste

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

So much for taste

I haven't tasted dishwater so your comparison may be correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Yeah it used to be my number one mode of transport back in the day.

great way of meeting foreign girls too...
    Wow, you've managed to make hitchhiking sound sleazy...touche my friend.

Yeh Jacobs creek is rough as a bears ar*s.

Back on Hitchhikers, i picked up an old fella/farmer outside Gort on St Patricks day who was heading into town for a few i think, well long story short, It took me three days to get the smell out, i know it was a cold winter but i dont think he showered since last summer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

DoMyBooks wrote: »
    I wouldn't like my sister or wife standing at the edge of the road doing similar.

Better than standing on the edge of the road doing something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Hate hitchikers. Nothin worse than been trapped in a small space with a stranger for an extended period of time while havin to engage in small-talk.
    As a rule, id only ever pic up someone if she was under 30 and hot. Which, needless to say, they never are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

I've noticed an increase alright, but the ones thumbing are going about it all wrong,

basically if you're wearing sovereign rings and a white tracksuit you're not getting a lift from 90% of drivers

well there's always this free ride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I havent hitchhiked in years, used to do it nearly every day years ago, Jeez i dont think i could do it now.
    why not? Did you lose a thumb? You can only hitch one way now lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

God I hitched everywhere when I was in school. Into town at the weekend, outta town at night sometimes at 2am. Used to hitch from Galway to Mayo when in college to save a fiver.
    I always swore I'd pick up hitchers because of all the time I've spent hitching bu if I don't like the look of them I usually wont, though I did pick someone yesterday who was a bit of a kack.

Wouldnt hitch now though, I'd feel like a failure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

My mum and her friends hitched a lift all the way back to cork form Southern Spain with a truck driver and his wife in the 70's.

Shes always going on about how it was diffrent then though,that you couldnt do it now.

Tbh I'd be mortified myself :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Seloth wrote: »
    My mum and her friends hitched a lift all the way back to cork form Southern Spain with a truck driver and his wife in the 70's.

jaysus fair play to her for going on such a long journey at that age.

Seloth wrote: »
    Think I've seen that film...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

God I hitched everywhere when I was in school. Into town at the weekend, outta town at night sometimes at 2am. Used to hitch from Galway to Mayo when in college to save a fiver.
    I always swore I'd pick up hitchers because of all the time I've spent hitching bu if I don't like the look of them I usually wont, though I did pick someone yesterday who was a bit of a kack.

Wouldnt hitch now though, I'd feel like a failure!

This is the kind of problem I have with the previous generation.

They like to make out that they helped eachother, when in fact, the generation of the 80's were helped by the government and people from previous generations, and no longer pay it forward.

I have hitched before, I was only 18 at the time, I am now 20, I don't drive, I would pick up hitchers if I could drive, I don't see a good reason not to TBH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

George Carlin, what a legend! :) RIP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I've hitched a good bit around Ireland with nary a problem. Even got picked up by a full-on Traveller family without a bother, though I swear their truck smelled liked cat food and was wondering if they were feeding the kids it.

I've had some entertaining conversations, but honestly 85% of the time it's near the same conversation. I'd only do it if your up for small talk - for instance if I don't have a ride I'd much rather take the bus back from a festival where I know I'll be wrecked and rather sleep then make conversation.