Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old/Funny Sayings Your Grandparents Had.

• 26-03-2010 1:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭

Not sure if there have been threads on this before....

Not something one of my grandparents said but i heard this last night...

A friend of mine's father was commenting on people's tendancy to go out to restaurants to eat "these days." He said,

"Years ago we used to come in to eat and go out to sh!t, now they come in to sh!t and go out to eat!"

A bit crude but i couldn't stop laughing when i heard it.

So AH, any other sayings you've heard from the older generation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

my grandmother one day asked me if i'd like to taste her syphillis.

...she meant physalis, a fancy fruit she had bought in dunnes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

"I didn't sign that "Do Not Resusitate" form!"

How we laughed....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭powerfade

My Gran used to always say 'watch out for slow horses and fast women'......

I wish I had listened........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

"He was a reflective in the Guards"

(My Nan)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Get off my lawn you damn kids !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

speak of the devil and he will appear. scared the living shoite outta me :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

''You know where the five lamps is?''
    'yeah'
    ''go hang yer bollocks off them''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"It's the gays that have ruined this country."

Dear old homophobic grandma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭flames

My favorite saying i heard was "Sure he only has to hang his trousers on the end of the bed and i'm expecting again"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Nanecdotes?

Is it 2007 already?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

My Granny doesn't like muslims and indians. She waves her fist at them driving her car and usually tells me they are all going to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

"Oh, thanks for fluffing my pillow, wait..what are you OYOISUGOUGF....."

Crazy old people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

My grandmother used to call me a porch monkey all the time when I was a kid because I'd sit on the porch and stare at my neighbors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Well ye can scracth me arse with a broken bottle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭girlwitcurls

my nana....

"my mother my mother she married a black,
    he went away and he never came back,
    if ever you marry will you marry a black??
    sure you could wash him?"

thank god i grew up not being racist!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

"remember... not a f***ing word... *zip*"

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

rgt320q wrote: »
    My grandmother used to call me a porch monkey all the time when I was a kid because I'd sit on the porch and stare at my neighbors.

My grandma used to call a broken beer bottle a nigger knife, come to think about it she was a bit of a racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

As kids if we said to my grandad "Hey thats not fair"

His reply was always

"Ill tell ya what not fair a black spot on a black mans arse"

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

never met mine cos they were all dead before i was born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

My granny: "They're doing a line together"

After my initial reaction of "WTF?" she explained she meant going out with each other, nothing to do with cocaine!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

my gran on an ex girlfriend

'she'll be alright to practise on'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭beaver111

ill wipe that smile of the other side of your face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

irish-stew wrote: »
    my gran on an ex girlfriend

'she'll be alright to practise on'

Turns out she was right if she's an ex :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

Upon learning that a single woman from the area was pregnant for the 5th time I overheard this conversation between my Grandad and the postman,

G: I hear your wan up the road is gone again?
    P: So I believe . . . Any idea who got caught for it?
    G: Put it this way, when you eat a plate of beans you don't know which one makes you fart. :eek:

I cried laughing.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

I had an oldish man subbing me for Irish for the Leaving Cert once, and he said, "Your Irish answers should be like miniskirts. Short enough to keep you interested, but long enough to cover the subject". :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

He died of a Saturday.