Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public march

• 25-03-2010 9:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭

If there was a public march on a saturday morning in our major cities to highlight how fed up people are with the current governments continous mess ups, would you attend??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

No. I remember the mass PAYE worker marches of the 1980's and they achieved nothing.

The problem is that most Irish people don't know the difference between venting and changing the status-quo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭rebelchick2

I'm just so sick of the government doing exactly what they want and feck everyone else. I want to show them how mad I am at them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭aoboa

I reckon that internet media and boards like this have taken the teeth out of public protest.
    Younger people who would have been the driving force behind protests are so worn out reading and discussing stuff that the fight has gone out of them before the thought of protest rears its head.
    It'll take something cataclysmic to drive people onto the streets.
    Social welfare offices closing or a proper bank collapse would be the only things I could think of that would trigger it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

If there was a public march on a saturday morning in our major cities to highlight how fed up people are with the current governments continous mess ups, would you attend??????

No but if there was a march against the PS Unions I might.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

id attend a march to show my disgust at the public sector industrial action right now

i wouldnt attendone to show displeasure at the goverment because for the last year or so i think they have been doing a fine job and have been doing exactly what was necessary

i also look forward to not voting for them in the next general election because of their previous mis management

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭danman

I have to agree.

The unions would try to spin this to their advantage. Saying that they have public support.

I would march against the unions.

As far as the government are concerned, I'll wait untill the GE to vent my feelings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭zielarz

rebelchick2, what's your alternative to the current mess?
    If you're in favor of small government with much less power then I can join your protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

danman wrote: »
    I have to agree.

The unions would try to spin this to their advantage. Saying that they have public support.

I would march against the unions.

As far as the government are concerned, I'll wait untill the GE to vent my feelings.

Sorry, Mr Castro, but what exactly would a march against PS unions solve?

A protest against people having their right to stand up against something? A protest against a protest of sorts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭granite man

Decentralisation of power, leave the EU, devalue a new Irish pound and a NAMA for mortgage holders rather than wasting it on capitol hungry banks would be a very simplified version of what would work for me. In the meantime I couldn't afford to even get to a protest march even if for one second I'd thought it'd do any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

deccurley wrote: »

A protest against people having their right to stand up against something? A protest against a protest of sorts?

A protest against lazy inefficient feckers who the country can't afford to pay holding us to ransom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭aoboa

Inquitus wrote: »
    A protest against lazy inefficient feckers who the country can't afford to pay holding us to ransom.

Who are lazy and inefficient? Which sections of the public or civil service do you mean?

AKA the government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

If it`s protesting you want then it`s off to France with ye......

http://ukfrancebikers.com/2010/03/14/french-motorcyclists-more-angry-than-ever/

The U-Tube footage underlines the scale of this protest which in Éire would be seen as very much a minority grouping.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I'm dismayed by the current situation at the passport office as much as anyone else.

But lazy and inefficient? Now you're pigeonholing and you don't rightly know what you're protesting. I work as hard as anyone and am not lazy by anyone's standards. And I am certainly not inefficient. Your concept of the average PS worker is typical of the grotesque image portrayed by our media, and its unfortunate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

No, I've somewhere to be Saturday which already precludes me being at a protest march against the Green Party in the South East.

johngalway wrote: »
    No, I've somewhere to be Saturday which already precludes me being at a protest march against the Green Party in the South East.

Sounds interesting, its time the public started standing up against that crowd of igits with a tiny come near non existant mandate.(and I believe in true ecological principles)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Citizen_Cutback

I think that it is individual protests that will do it this time.

We need one person outside the GPO with a placard asking honest questions:

Is this the Republic that Pearse and Connolly died for?

Are the Irish capable of running their own affairs?

Should we ask Seanie what to do now?

It is amazing that a couple of centenary's are coming up shortly:

2013: the 100 anniversary of the Dublin Lockout orchestrated by William Martin Murphy, the owner of the Irish Independant in 1913. What will Sir Tony Baloney do in 2013?

2016: 100th anniversary of 1916 rebellion. Maybe we should be like the French who are in their 5th Republic in slightly over 200 years.

People: Think for yourselves! Do not be brainwashed by Tax Exiles like Tony O 'Reilly or Denis O'Brien.

It is a pity that the Opposition are stuck with Enda Kenny! Being from the Marian county he gives in too much to his feminine side. Leave the Seanad alone and stop the waffling! Cowen hasn't an idea in his head and if he did he would be too lazy to put them into action in any case.

Decentralisation of power, leave the EU, devalue a new Irish pound and a NAMA for mortgage holders rather than wasting it on capitol hungry banks would be a very simplified version of what would work for me. In the meantime I couldn't afford to even get to a protest march even if for one second I'd thought it'd do any good.

oh so your in the ruin the country camp then

PeakOutput wrote: »
    oh so your in the ruin the country camp then

Try the change the country camp. Its slowly being dismantled in favour of a rich elite who couldn't give a fiddlers about community, its youth or its native population. The country HAS been ruined and many people have stood by and watched trying to protect their own interests, not the interests of the general populace. What say you? Let the massacre continue? Keep thinking inside the imploding box rather than outside it?
    Whats your great ideas for a future for Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

Ah yes, the good old "internet organised protest". What next: a facebook group where we can let the government know we need change but we don't actually know what that really means, but we think if we can get more than 400 people as part of the group it will really make a difference :rolleyes:

If you go out, I will also go out, but I will be protesting against people who don't know what they are protesting against, so make sure you have a point or you will see me with the lads:

protestgd0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

no

mainly cos what are you marching for ? if you dont have specific propsals.
    i can see why someone might march against the ps unions action
    but a i'm fed up with the gov march ?
    smacks a bit of

father-ted-careful-now.jpg

edit mace face beat me to it

Try the change the country camp. Its slowly being dismantled in favour of a rich elite who couldn't give a fiddlers about community, its youth or its native population. The country HAS been ruined and many people have stood by and watched trying to protect their own interests, not the interests of the general populace. What say you? Let the massacre continue? Keep thinking inside the imploding box rather than outside it?
    Whats your great ideas for a future for Ireland?

if i didnt actually like this country i would love to see someone withyour views get into power just so the sheer devastation of your policies can actually be seen and all this ridicolous talk of leaving the eu and the euro and devaluing our currency severe financial regulation and therefore severe regulation of everyone and everything can finally be put to bed

the answer is to actually do what we were saying we were doing ie regulate the financial industry not have an empty office called the financial regulator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

No offence but do you really think that marching will change things.

Even if FF lose the next election, it will be FG in power and do you really think they make any difference???

Have they ever or any party ever made a difference?

When that term is over you be moaning for another change, so FF gets in then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bytey

AlekSmart wrote: »
    If it`s protesting you want then it`s off to France with ye......

http://ukfrancebikers.com/2010/03/14/french-motorcyclists-more-angry-than-ever/

The U-Tube footage underlines the scale of this protest which in Éire would be seen as very much a minority grouping.

theres the difference between the us and the rest of the world - as long as we have got our beer / pub / tv / crisps and couch to make bad go away - we couldnt be bothered to lift our arses to break a boozy fart .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

No but if there was a march against the PS Unions I might.......

PeakOutput wrote: »
    if i didnt actually like this country i would love to see someone withyour views get into power just so the sheer devastation of your policies can actually be seen and all this ridicolous talk of leaving the eu and the euro and devaluing our currency severe financial regulation and therefore severe regulation of everyone and everything can finally be put to bed

the answer is to actually do what we were saying we were doing ie regulate the financial industry not have an empty office called the financial regulator

Its a bit late for that, the horse has already bolted, and left quite a mess behind it. Devasted the country you might say though being forced to comply with the interest rates that suited an ailing German economy at the time would have nothing to do with that at all. Or the fact that interest rates will surely rise before Ireland has got its act together will be of some benefit to our economy and rapidly dropping standard of living.
    Something tells me not.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Unless it's got some clear cut ideas behind it, rather than mere venting, I'm not sure how effective it is. The government knows we're annoyed - the polls prove that.

Be interesting to see the chants though:

"What do we want?"
    "A phased approach to PS/CS reform, coupled with a reformation of the tax base to lower the tax threshold, reforming social welfare to reduce expenditure, focus on job creation through incentive schemes, regulations locking the banks into fiscal responsibility models"
    "When do we want it?"
    "Over the next five years, using a staggered model with a retroactive application of punitive measures where applicable to the finance and housing industry to ensure that this unsound taxation model and property bubble does not reappear"

Doesn't have a catchy ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

deccurley wrote: »
    Am I the only one to spot the irony here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

That depends, if its more entryist nonsense from the Socialist Workers Party and friends, still dreaming of their red dawn, no I wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I'll be there as long as we can all agree to tag on a march passed the British Embassy to protest against Walkers Crisps using blue as their colour for cheese and onion crisps, when the internationally recognised belief is that blue signifies salt & vinegar flavour. :mad:

People have marched against genuine causes such as the scandals in the health service and not one thing has been done about it. The only power is in the ballot box and our time is coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭danman

oldyouth wrote: »
    I'll be there as long as we can all agree to tag on a march passed the British Embassy to protest against Walkers Crisps using blue as their colour for cheese and onion crisps, when the internationally recognised belief is that blue signifies salt & vinegar flavour. :mad:

I thought I was the only one that cared.

All marches do, is give a self appointed giant ego wearing misfit, a chance to speak into a megaphone.

I've only ever joined one. That was in protest against sectarian killing of both divides, in Belfast. I think it was around 1996. Not sure.

That was a time when we feared for our lives. (black Wreath time).

Trade union type marches, hold no interest for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Only thing that would get Irish people out on the streets is if they banned alcohol...