Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A quick lamp this evening

• 25-03-2010 8:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭

After Dinner me and dad decided to go for a quick walk over a local permission to replenish the rabbit stock in the freezer after it was ravaged by the pie making episode on tuesday!

After seeing nothing in the permission we drove home but on the way decided to check out a few fields that usually have a few in them, stopped the car down the private track, lamp on, and the eyes of two bunnies shone up! dad took the lamp and i mounted my cz on the window sil, *Pop* the bunnies flops over!"

paced out to 35 yards! Bullet entered through the right eye!! Will keep the shopping bill down for a while!

At least i know my Sights are on! rolleyes.gif

Here are the piccies! one with added Moggy! the other one was out having a poke about shortly after! hahpost-5345-1269548518.jpg
    post-5345-1269548532.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

noodle650 wrote: »
    post-5345-1269548518.jpg

I see you took the cat shooting thread seriously, well done!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭noodle650

:D sure did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭CZ.

rambo what about the cat dont tell me you only brought 1 bullet shooting:D

CZ. wrote: »
    rambo what about the cat dont tell me you only brought 1 bullet shooting:D

If the "Rambo" thing is an attempt to take the piss then im dressed in Camo for a reason! i was out for grey crow earlier in the day and i didnt bother taking the scrim net off the gun since then!

You should have seen the damn thing as i was gutting it! she was ging ape ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭CZ.

no just think your dressed to kill. whats the rifle

CZ. wrote: »
    no just think your dressed to kill. whats the rifle

Hah! cheers! Its a CZ 452 Lux in .22LR with a Tasco 6-24x50 Mil dot scope on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

Good stuff there. what distance are you zeroed at? u using subs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭Kramer

i mounted my cz on the window sil, *Pop*...

Irrespective of private track etc., isn't it an offence to shoot from a vehicle :confused:?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

Kramer wrote: »
    Irrespective of private track etc., isn't it an offence to shoot from a vehicle :confused:?

The lad was probably on a private permission and as hes only shooting bunnies away from the main road, id say hes ok. I know you cant use a mechanically propelled vehicle to hunt game though, but bunnies dont fall into that category.

fiestaman wrote: »
    Good stuff there. what distance are you zeroed at? u using subs?

Im shooting half inch groups at 75yds with Eley subs and its an inch high at 30.
    Then i have a second zero point for Winchester Super X's which are spot on at 120!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

stopped the car down the private track...... Not a public road

The lad was probably on a private permission and as hes only shooting bunnies away from the main road, id say hes ok. I know you cant use a mechanically propelled vehicle to hunt game though, but bunnies dont fall into that category.

Correct it is a Private permission away from the road in the back arse end of nowhere!

As long as you are on private property you are ok! as long as your not shooting deer or anything of that sorts! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

Correct it is a Private permission away from the road in the back arse end of nowhere!

As long as you are on private property you are ok! as long as your not shooting deer or anything of that sorts! :P

just as I thought noodle:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Good shooting Noodle keep it up.

cheers mate! more piccies to come on saturday.
    Planning a day on the bunnies crows + foxes weather permitting!

AIUI, it doesn't matter where you are. The act itself of discharging a firearm from a vehicle is an offense. Shooting vermin on private land 100 miles from the nearest house etc. - doesn't matter. It's the shooting from a vehicle to which I'm referring.
    No doubt if I'm correct, someone will post a link to the relevant SI/bill :D.

uh ok..well how come i always see people doing it? even on here?!
    Local gun club secretary does it and says it is perfectly ok once you are on private land!

Could someone please shed a light on this as there is obviously alot of confusion there as alot of the lads here are clearly in the same boat as me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Could someone please shed a light on this as there is obviously alot of confusion there as alot of the lads here are clearly in the same boat as me!

Technically illegal, with a major AFAIK after that.

Wouldn't worry too much, I don't think the local Super will have your mugshot pinned to the stations most wanted list or that the ARU will be breaking down your door at 6.30am tomorrow morning to haul you over the coals or that a Garda who might see you in a field or on private land doing such would know the score on it.

Conversation..

What ye at?
    Shootin rabbits.
    Have ye permission?
    Yep, from Joe Bloggs, lives over yonder.
    Have ye a licence for that yoke?
    Yep, here it is.
    Grand so, good luck.

johngalway wrote: »
    Technically illegal, with a major AFAIK after that.

Wouldn't worry too much, I don't think the local Super will have your mugshot pinned to the stations most wanted list or that the ARU will be breaking down your door at 6.30am tomorrow morning to haul you over the coals or that a Garda who might see you in a field or on private land doing such would know the score on it.

Conversation..

What ye at?
    Shootin rabbits.
    Have ye permission?
    Yep, from Joe Bloggs, lives over yonder.
    Have ye a licence for that yoke?
    Yep, here it is.
    Grand so, good luck.

Cheers mate! i dont quite understand that, you are on private property, its cold and wet outside! there is no danger to any other human being or farm animal! and they say no you cant do this!

Weirdo's! :P

Well, again, you should do your own looking up on it. There may have been a link posted on a thread in the past.

As far as I remember, it's entirely about being in a vehicle, and perhaps even using that vehicle to shoot off i.e. the roof, bonnet or boot lid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

lads did a safety course a few weeks ago, they said its illegal to shoot on or from a vehicle, im sure i read it on here too, didnt mention private prop though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Well that's you ****ed so noodle, your ugly grinning mug plastered all accross the internet, with a smoked bunny and a pussy laid out in the back of your daddies truck.

Your going down boy!:P:P:P

Plenty of threads on here showing lads shooting from vehicles/bonnets etc. poulo6.5 even put a video of such up on youtube :eek:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055865345

Actually, in his case, if that road/track isn't gated to prevent public access, he'd technicaly be shooting from a public road too.
    Doesn't matter AFAIK if it's a private road if the public can reasonably access it (i.e. no gate).
    Basically, it doesn't matter if "everyone's doing it", if it's illegal, no one should.
    Driving while using a handheld mobile phone is also an offence but I don't think the "everyone does it" defence would stand up in court :D. Stand at any busy intersection for a few minutes & count the number of drivers on the phone - shocking :eek:.

Not questioning the safety or otherwise of the OP but a young lad starting out shouldn't be encouraged to develop bad or potentially illegal habits. His dad should know the law ;).

What's "technically illegal"? :D:D:D

It's a grey area :D Going forward.

Technically illegal then...

Driving 35-40mph in a 30mph zone on what constitutes a dual carriageway elsewhere, squad oncoming, sees you, does SFA.

Overtaking on a solid white line, where it's visibly and practically safe to do so as the linesmen were too lazy to turn the paint off ages ago.

Very illegal...

Playing chicken with the squad car, or, lamping them, whilst blaring out "I fought the law....".

Over taking on a footpath, outside of a busy primary school, at 1.30pm or 2.30pm.

In conclusion....

A life experience study of what the typical Irish law enforcement agent will "do" you for i.e.

Technically illegal
    Shooting a bunny out of a jeep in the middle of a field, on private land, with permission, licensed, supervised, away from the public, shooting safely (save for the bunny)... In the dark.

Very illegal
    Bringing the unmoderated .223 down to the local beer garden of an August bank holiday weekend, setting it up on a table which happens to offer an ideal view of a teaming bunny field, and red misting bunnies in the view of cheering Americans, slightly yet politely embarrassed English folk, and positively outraged high horse mounted D4 types.

Savvy? :D

Technically illegal then...

Driving 35-40mph in a 30mph zone on what constitutes a dual carriageway elsewhere, squad oncoming, sees you, does SFA.

Overtaking on a solid white line, where it's visibly and practically safe to do so as the linesmen were too lazy to turn the paint off ages ago.

Yes, I see where you're coming from now now John. It's only illegal if you get caught

Technically man, technically !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Very illegal
    Bringing the unmoderated .223 down to the local beer garden of an August bank holiday weekend, setting it up on a table which happens to offer an ideal view of a teaming bunny field, and red misting bunnies in the view of cheering Americans, slightly yet politely embarrassed English folk, and positively outraged high horse mounted D4 types.

Savvy? :D

John I would love to have been there for that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Goosie

Hey Noodle. Just heard that the Gardai down in Cork are looking for a lad in connection to a "drive-by shooting".

Thanks for the info on this, i tihnk every shooter here should learn from this thread and claim Benefit of the doubt if they did not know otherwise!

Best,
    DF