Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hurling...EVERYWHERE.

• 23-03-2010 08:01PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭

Is there really any need to play hurling everywhere around campus where people are walking or at least trying to when there is a huge park with wide open space on campus?

Why do so many lads around DCU feel the need to drop everything they are carrying every 100m to puck a ball around the place?

Why do these same people feel the need to do it around the residence all day?

Why do these people feel the need to go out into the courtyard of the residences at 1am to puck a sliotar back and forth?

Why don't these people get fucked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

People from outside the pale are a strange bunch indeed, with their stick and ball games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

robby^5 wrote: »
    People from outside the pale are a strange bunch indeed, with their stick and ball games.

It's more of a Dub thing to us north-westerners I'll have you know.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

never noticed anyone playing hurling around campus, often you see idiots throwing/kicking a rugby ball around, which is pretty ignorant as the ball bounces and flys off unpredictably.
    OP why dont you just ring security if they are playing by the accomodation as they obviously aint allowed and its annoying you so much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Nothing wrong with throwing a ball around/pucking a sliotar around. Providing it's not damaging your window or whatever.

I'm a Larkfield resident and like kicking around just for something to do and most of my friends are hurlers who enjoy the odd puck around. What's wrong with it?

andyman wrote: »
    I'm a Larkfield resident and like kicking around just for something to do and most of my friends are hurlers who enjoy the odd puck around. What's wrong with it?

OP is making the point that it can be annoying for people walking through campus or res having to deal with balls flying around (giggidy) when there is a big park right beside us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Because its brilliant! In fairness wherever there is green space enclosed its fair game for whatever sports you want to play.

As far as the game itself-to be good at it requires a couple of hours of daily practise which may explain some of what you are seeing. Take it as a sign that spring is finally here!

As for playing at 1am you've a fair gripe, but aside from that I'd strongly encourage you to get a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

Walking through the sports complex the other day to get coffee, group of lads kicking a football around in there... Why in a corridor and not in the park less then 20 meters away, or even the astro pitches!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Einstein?

cage.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I admit I'm guilty of this in the past too. I do think playing in the middle of the night around student accomodation isn't the best idea in the world, but honestly in the grand scheme of things it's hardly a criminal offence. If I had the choice of a bunch of lads knocking a sliothar around outside minding their own business, or a bunch of lads getting pissed and blaring music from their apartment until all hours, then it's fairly obvious which one I'd prefer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Daysha wrote: »
    I admit I'm guilty of this in the past too. I do think playing in the middle of the night around student accomodation isn't the best idea in the world, but honestly in the grand scheme of things it's hardly a criminal offence. If I had the choice of a bunch of lads knocking a sliothar around outside minding their own business, or a bunch of lads getting pissed and blaring music from their apartment until all hours, then it's fairly obvious which one I'd prefer.
    Nothing wrong with throwing a ball around/pucking a sliotar around. Providing it's not damaging your window or whatever.

Those posts kinda remind me of when your around the age 6 and some other kid comes up to you and puts their finger very close to your eye and says "not touching, cant get mad"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Green Hand Guy

The hurling thing is a bit annoying, but what really pisses me off is those people who throw a rugby ball around at the top of the Hub stairs. There's only about 20 square feet of space there, and people have to get past all the time. Someone's going to get hit by it some time.

Daysha wrote: »

That's ridiculous. It shouldnt be an 'either or' situation it should be neither. These hypothetical drunk lads would be minding their own business, but you can be minding your own business wheter listening to loud music or whacking a sliotar against a wall and still be an inconsiderate ass.

Sober people should know better than to be outside peoples rooms playing with their balls (again giggidy) in the middle of the night, no one should have to choose between the lesser of two groups of tools.

Cant say I care much about people doing it around campus during the day but probably best if they kept it to the grass areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Hang on a second here. I know that when we're pucking one around and people are walking past us, we stop to let them go. So for people to claim we're being inconsiderate is ridiculous.

If you read my post I was talking about people playing it at night, I think we can both agree that would be pretty annoying no?

As I said I'm not really bothered about people doing it around campus during the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

How about go over to albert college park if you want to play hurling you caveman.

Albert College Park has many acres of open space. You can actually let rip with hurl and sliotar over there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭thefa

How about go over to albert college park if you want to play hurling you caveman.

Albert College Park has many acres of open space. You can actually let rip with hurl and sliotar over there
    There's hardly need to call him a caveman when he's making a valid point. Anyways, playing on campus or around the residences is a little bit more convenient than heading over to college park. I know it's only a few hundred metres but getting people for a kick/puck around just outside their accommodation is just easier. From experience, i'm not too into poc/cic fadas so the room available is a grand size. As Andy says, it's not like it's done without consideration for passerbys and isn't done to inconvenience anyone. Personally haven't noticed anyone playing in the wee hours but if they are, then fair enough that's inconsiderate. If it is causing inconvenience, it doesn't take much effort to ring security.

Right, there seems to be a few different arguments floatin around here.

First, this crap about needing to train but being too lazy to go the few hundred metres to the Park. That is complete ****e. The park is there for everyone to use - it is fully set up, it is only a short walk away and no one minds you in the middle of a field messin about.

Secondly, it is done without consideration for passerbys (or mostly at least). I haven't personally had any real trouble with anyone but have witnessed on numerous occasions, lads trying to hit the ball as close to people walking by and in general, act the maggot.

Thirdly, ye're not in secondary school anymore. If it was anyother estate you were livin in around Dublin, you wouldn't be out actin the pricks. It is what it is - annoying. Whether you are living on campus and having to listen to the shoutin and other noise while you are tryin to study or whether you are going through the rest of the campus having to dodge groups of people in circles. Ye are the equivalent of the Spanish Summer Students that come to DCU - loud, annoying but most of all, as ignorant as the days long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

wish them bast**d spanish student were here now so I could launch a few sliotars at them....Hate the sight of them about this place in the summer

thefa wrote: »
    There's hardly need to call him a caveman when he's making a valid point. Anyways, playing on campus or around the residences is a little bit more convenient than heading over to college park. I know it's only a few hundred metres but getting people for a kick/puck around just outside their accommodation is just easier. From experience, i'm not too into poc/cic fadas so the room available is a grand size. As Andy says, it's not like it's done without consideration for passerbys and isn't done to inconvenience anyone. Personally haven't noticed anyone playing in the wee hours but if they are, then fair enough that's inconsiderate. If it is causing inconvenience, it doesn't take much effort to ring security.

The thing is, it might be okay for you as I take it you're a hurler. But for us who dont really care for the game, we really dont want it played in the courtyard. Now if St. Claires was the nearest place to play hurling, you could have a point, but what you are saying is that its an effort to take a 3 minute walk? The sheer laziness of what you just said is hilarious coming from a good ole sports person like yourself....
    No, i'm not a hurler. Wasn't a strong sport where i came from and haven't played since under 14 but do play rugby. I don't mind going to the park when it's necessary and organised, like when the rugby boys decided to get a game of tag going one tuesday. Like 16 of us running around the res grabbing each other for the most of an hour would have been a spectacle but a fair bit of a hazard.

However, the kick/throw arounds I usually enjoy are a bit more casual where i just ask the roommates, who aren't fierce into their sport, to just step outside the door and play for a few minutes. It's actually that bit easier to get them to play there than in the park believe it or not and actually i prefer playing them too so in fairness, i suppose i am a bit lazy alright. We do our best to make sure we don't get in people's way and it's really just on here where i've learned that it's a big deal to some people. As before, if it is causing such an inconvenience you should probably contact security. There's an office right there near the entrance to the sports complex on the way out to the park. Alternatively, I'd love you to join in some day because you never know, you might love it. Good bit of light exercise.

thefa wrote: »
    As before, if it is causing such an inconvenience you should probably contact security. There's an office right there near the entrance to the sports complex on the way out to the park. Alternatively, I'd love you to join in some day because you never know, you might love it. Good bit of light exercise.

You're hilarious. You really have no consideration for others, do you?

Contrary to what you may think, i have plenty of consideration for others. I wouldn't expect you to know that since you probably don't know me and are going by a few posts i made on a forum. I could give examples of myself being considerate both to people i know and people i don't but it seems a fair bit off topic. I know a few people around the place who i'm confident would be very comfortable coming up to me and telling me to stop if they had an actual issue with it but they don't so far and I'm pretty sure the vast majority of people are either unaffected and/or don't have any real issue with it.

I'm not condoning anyone who acts the maggot while doing it by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Josef Fritzl

Hurling is hardly the most annoying thing that goes on around the campus.

Personally, I find the drunken singing and roaring of "one of the lads, like" at four in the morning to be far more annoying than a few people pucking around a sliotar.

Some would say that it is the same people in certain cases...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Josef Fritzl

Quite possibly true.