Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipperary v Waterford NHL 28/03/10

• 23-03-2010 3:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭

I am looking forward to this match. I think it will be a cracker of a game. Both teams will be well up for it. I wonder which Eoin Kelly will come out better on the day!
    I think Tipp will shade it by a point or two.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,864 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Looking forward to Sunday myself, should be a decent enough game. Hopefully the weather will be good and give that feeling of a Championship game in Thurles! I'll be interested in seeing what team Davy puts out as we have a good few unavailable.
    Will be travelling up in hope more than expectation tbh and if we can give a good performance and take our chances as they come I'll be happy enough! I'd have to say Tipp by a few points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭sonic boom

should be a good game and as its the league it will be impossible to predict the outcome. i wonder who will start for tipp this week?! who knows, no sign of kerwick so far, also a pity patrick maher hasnt been playing, a great man to win the ball and has the pace to trouble defenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

Really hope the Waterford forwards have a better game this week.
    It was pretty much the Eoin kelly show last week against cork.

Personally I think (and hate to say it) Tipp will win by 3 points or so. Tipp are fairly jammy with the goals.

But hopefully at 4pm Sunday someone can say Im wrong!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I can see Tip winning by 6 or 7 points. I somehow do not think Waterford will get as many scores from frees as they did against Cork. Tip are motoring well and should win handy enough.

very hard to predict outcomes judging on league form, tipp lost to dublin then beat the all ireland champs in the next game. galway had maximum pts then only got 1 score in the 2nd half against tipp in the following game so i dont agree with people saying tipp will win by x amount of points because its impossible to say and waterford have stars who on their day could bury tipp on their own. hopefully they wont this time though, up the premier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭twitch1984

This could be the game of the league, IF both teams play to their abilities on the day. It is now crunch time in the league so I hope this game will be taken seriously by both teams and before ppl start telling me that they always take it serious imo the start of the league is never taken serious its a chance for managers to try out upcoming players which I have no problem with, I just hope that sundays game will be treated like an all-ireland final and it will be a cracking game

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

I wonder how interested Tipperary are in being in the league final. Since Cork are pretty much garunteed to be in it, and the two teams will be playing their championship match only a 3 weeks later I think..
    Or would this be a factor?

I think either team could win it, just depends on the teams and who wants it more. Probably a Tipp win though!

deise_girl wrote: »
    I wonder how interested Tipperary are in being in the league final. Since Cork are pretty much garunteed to be in it, and the two teams will be playing their championship match only a 3 weeks later I think..
    Or would this be a factor?

I think either team could win it, just depends on the teams and who wants it more. Probably a Tipp win though!

Thats a very good point Deise Girl. we'r playin cork in the last round of the league and the 1st round of the championship, so if we wer to get to the league final that would be played between the other 2 fixtures so we'd be playin em 3 times in a row in a short space of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭sparkydee

sonic boom wrote: »
    Thats a very good point Deise Girl. we'r playin cork in the last round of the league and the 1st round of the championship, so if we wer to get to the league final that would be played between the other 2 fixtures so we'd be playin em 3 times in a row in a short space of time

That's a bit mad alright but I don't think that will play a huge factor. I think some of the teams are trying to lay down a marker for the championship and that will be a focus on sunday for tipp. Plus after last sunday's game they will be trying to gauge where they are at. I can't wait for sunday.
    On another note i'm delighted to hear tony browne is back:)

Tipperary SH Team v Waterford 28/3/10

The Tipperary Senior Hurling team to play Waterford in Sunday’s Allianz GAA Hurling National game at Semple Stadium at 2.30pm shows 7 changes from the team which started against Limerick last Sunday. Brendan Cummins, Declan Fanning, Conor O’Mahony, Shane Maher, Lar Corbett, Noel McGrath and John O’Brien all come into the side. Timmy Hammerlsey retains his corner forward position after an impressive 1-4 against Limerick in his first full game at this level.

1. Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange)
    2. Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)
    3. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
    4. Paul Curran (Mullinahone)
    5. Declan Fanning (Killenaule)
    6. Conor O’Mahony (Newport)
    7. Shane Maher (Burgess)
    8. Brendan Maher (Borris–Ileigh)
    9. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)
    10. Gearóid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
    11. Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields)
    12. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
    13. Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone) Captain
    14. John O’Brien (Toomevara)
    15. Timmy Hammersley (Clonoulty Rossmore)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

lads would anyone be passing through limerick city on da way to thurles, im stuck for an ole lift and need to meet me friends in thurles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

sparkydee wrote: »
    That's a bit mad alright

It wouldn't be too mad, we would just have to hammer ye three times in a row, no offence to our sensibilities at all... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

This one has high scoring barn burner written all over it. Tipp by a goal IMO.

Orizio wrote: »
    It wouldn't be too mad, we would just have to hammer ye three times in a row, no offence to our sensibilities at all... ;)

Ha;) maybe we might just thrash ye three times.....we'll have to wait and see:D

The only thrashing ye'l do is in the hay field :D , sorry i couldnt resist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

It's encouraging to see Hammersley retaining his place in the corner.. I know its the league, but it demonstrates Liam Sheedy has a bit of faith in him. Another class forward is what Tipp badly need. Lets hope he can make the grade and prove himself worthy of a place come championship time.

sparkydee wrote: »
    Ha;) maybe we might just thrash ye three times.....we'll have to wait and see:D

Don't be getting cocky now, it doesn't 'become' the notoriously humble people of Tipperary...
    I'm not getting cocky I think you brought up the suggestion of cork winning three times and I don't think cork people are notoriously humble either;)

Orizio are you by any chance forgetting the above comment?? :confused:

Irony - a concept also lost on Tipperary people...;)

smugness - a concept not lost on cork people ;)

From http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2010/0326/tipp_waterford.html

These Munster rivals come into Sunday's game in Thurles on the back of two vastly different experiences last weekend.
    While Tipp were cruising past Limerick's increasingly uncompetitive second string, Waterford were engaging in an epic battle with Cork which ended in a deserved draw.
    The latter game was all the more noteworthy for the amazing performance of Waterford's Eoin Kelly, who hit a whopping 1-17 of his side's 3-17 tally.

The Passage clubman modestly directed praise towards his team-mates for their efforts, but no amount of bashfulness can take the spotlight off such a wonderful individual display of scoring prowess.
    It has been a good news week all round for Waterford really, with veteran Tony Browne committing to the cause for what will be his 19th season with the Déise.
    Tipp have made seven changes to the side which hammered Limerick 2-23 to 0-08. Brendan Cummins, Declan Fanning, Conor O'Mahony, Shane Maher, Lar Corbett, Noel McGrath and John O'Brien all come in as manager Liam Sheedy has understandably gone with his strongest hand in what should prove a testing encounter.
    Timmy Hammersley has managed to retain his spot at corner-forward after he hit 1-04 against the Treatymen in what was his full debut for Tipp.
    With Kilkenny struggling to make up lost ground, both sides will have their eyes on making a final that may not well feature the Cats. Another tight game is promised, but the hosts might just have the edge at this moment in time.
    Verdict: Tipperary

I'd like to think Tipp will win but I don't think last Sunday did them any service at all. Waterford will be a lot sharper after last Sunday especially when at times the game did seem to be slipping away from them. It will be definitely be a close game they generally are between Tipp and Waterford.

Just back from Thurles, thought it was an excellent game real end to end, tit for tat kind of stuff. Both sides probably a bit disappointed not to win it, Kelly missed a late free and 65, Richie Foley also wide with a long range free. Tipp also had a few wides late on and maybe overplayed it a bit at times in a scorable position but all things considered, a draw was a fair result.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

I think both teams could have won it, both did some great things but then silly mistakes. I think it was after 10minutes before Tipperary scored and they had 3 stupid wides which all could have really gone over the bar. The first 15minutes Waterford were very unsttled in the half back but when Nagle went top the wing things seemed to steady up. I thought Fives had a pretty good game.
    Timmy Hamersly was some man though, I wouldnt be surpried if hes there come June, I was very impressed with him. Even though Dan was average enough I think it was his best game in almost 12months...
    What happend in the second half when the Waterford sub came on, the commentator said it was Shane Walsh but he looked like the Bull? He had Walshs jersey on though..
    It was a good game though,for the last 10minutes were very good and you'd see worse in championship games.

deise_girl wrote: »
    I think both teams could have won it, both did some great things but then silly mistakes. I think it was after 10minutes before Tipperary scored and they had 3 stupid wides which all could have really gone over the bar. The first 15minutes Waterford were very unsttled in the half back but when Nagle went top the wing things seemed to steady up. I thought Fives had a pretty good game.
    Timmy Hamersly was some man though, I wouldnt be surpried if hes there come June, I was very impressed with him. Even though Dan was average enough I think it was his best game in almost 12months...
    What happend in the second half when the Waterford sub came on, the commentator said it was Shane Walsh but he looked like the Bull? He had Walshs jersey on though..
    It was a good game though,for the last 10minutes were very good and you'd see worse in championship games.

Yeah I think that could have been Brian Phelan because he went in midfield and I wouldn't have thought Shane Walsh would of gone there. Think Walsh is injured anyway (?)
    For a league game it was a good run out all the same. Would imagine both sides to be happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,000 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

It was Brian Phelan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭thesultan

Shane fives wore 12 listed as Eoin McGrath. Phelan wore 14 listed as Shane Walsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,000 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Positive performances today from Clinton, O Brien, Ringo, O Sullivan, Mullane, Molumphy, Dan

Overall we are getting to the right place. It will be good to see some genuine competition for places as we head toward the championship.

draw probably the fairest result. great 1st half display form corbett, worth the admission fee alone. delighted to see hammersley get another start also. noel mcgrath would have fancied his chances from the penalty in the absense of eoin kelly but it was well saved.