Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lazer Huts

• 22-03-2010 10:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭

When are the lazer huts going to be bulldozed and replaced by a proper lawn. The lads in Gardens & Grounds would surely be delighted to do the honours. I believe the occupants of the SNIAM must get fed up with the clinical environment they work in and could do with a bit of afternoon croquet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭Fo Real

I agree that the laser huts are an ugly eyesore but if they were removed there would be an even bigger shortage of computers. It's a shame that the 43rd best university in the world cannot even provide sufficient facilities for its students. Looks like Trinity is willing to settle for mediocrity rather than strive for excellence like it used to.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

Given the year-on-year unreliability of the swipe card readers at the Ussher computer room and, particularly, the Hamilton, the laser huts are the only place where you can be sure you'll get access to a computer out of hours. Leave well enough alone until the Board decides it will cough up the cash to have the card readers fixed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

underclass wrote: »
    When are the lazer huts going to be bulldozed and replaced by a proper lawn. The lads in Gardens & Grounds would surely be delighted to do the honours. I believe the occupants of the SNIAM must get fed up with the clinical environment they work in and could do with a bit of afternoon croquet.

I read that three times. Still have no idea what you are talking about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭underclass

Fo Real wrote: »
    I agree that the laser huts are an ugly eyesore but if they were removed there would be an even bigger shortage of computers. It's a shame that the 43rd best university in the world cannot even provide sufficient facilities for its students. Looks like Trinity is willing to settle for mediocrity rather than strive for excellence like it used to.....

Fire half of ISServices and tell all students to buy their own laptops. The College shouldn't be funding slow, crappy computers that are set up badly, don't work and have ridiculous policies regarding their use (that is if you can get to use one). Frankenstein comes to mind when I switch on a machine managed by ISServices. I'd love to divide the ISServices budget over 4 years by 15,000 students and see what the end figure is.

I know of one department in college that has been tracking the research output of the academic staff (i.e. # of papers per year multiplied by journal ranking factor) for the last couple of years. There are people earning €70k+ who are doing FECK ALL (not even teaching) and the department head has said enough is enough in no uncertain terms and he is now seeking redundancies. Fair play to him. Needless to say, the unions are erupting. We need a similar analysis of the performance of technical staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭gearoidof

Croquet is limited to new Square, and anything they put in instead of the laser huts wouldn't be big enough to play croquet on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭strangel00p

Totally agree underclass. The technical staff provide a completely inadequate service to their customers. If they went on strike I don't think anyone would notice. I seriously think we would be better off if the computer science students ran the network.