Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

iphone O2 or Vodafone????

• 21-03-2010 4:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

I've been waiting.. and waiting.. and waiting for the vodafone launch of the iphone but now i'm wondering should i go with O2? (I like the free any network calls evening and weekends extra!) :p

It's call coverage I'm more worried about, i know that the vodafone coverage in my place is good but can anyone tell me what O2's coverage is like? :confused:

I'm in Moyglare Hall in Maynooth which is crap for meteor by the way! :pac:

Any input would be greatly appreciated :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

I used to live in Moyglare Abbey down the road from you. O2 put up a mast at the GAA grounds in 2003 and so the coverage was excellent. However some of the locals objected to this mast and it was subsequently discovered that O2 never sought planning permission and so were ordered to remove the mast by the Council. I moved house around this time so don't know if the mast was taken down. Have a look in the GAA grounds to see if the mast is still there.

Btw do you know anyone with an O2 phone? Ask them to go to your place and see what the coverage is like. If the GAA mast is gone, the nearest mast would be at the Garda station in the village but as this is in a low spot, the signal wouldn't be great in your place as there's a hill between the village and Moyglare Hall which would degrade the signal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

Its weird.. the phones cost the same on the packages.. Its mad.. I though o2 were giving them away free and now they are charging!!!!

I just broke my unlocked one and was going to move to O2 or vodaphone ( which ever was cheapest) and well to be honest they both are crap :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭mitsybaby

Thanks Dave that's a great help, yeah i think i've a friend on O2 that could call over...

The packages and phone prices are almost identical.. i'm just not sure if free calls and texts (vodafone) is better than evening and weekend calls to all networks (o2)

feck it, i've waited this long now i probably should just stick with Vodafone!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

mitsybaby wrote: »
    Thanks Dave that's a great help, yeah i think i've a friend on O2 that could call over...

The packages and phone prices are almost identical.. i'm just not sure if free calls and texts (vodafone) is better than evening and weekend calls to all networks (o2)

feck it, i've waited this long now i probably should just stick with Vodafone!! :p

Just ordered mine too. I needed texts as I text a lot and it will mostly be to non Vodafone customers. I got the 150mins/texts package as that, couple with the free 600 webtexts a month, should be enough to do me. Costs 45e per month.

Had I gone with o2 the only option to ensure I had enough texts for the month would have been the 60e per month option where I could get a 'free addon' of unlimited texts to any network. Not exactly free when you look at it right.

Edit: Order just got cancelled 'due to order criteria limitations' - whatever the hell that means. Gonna have to call them. Ugh
    Another edit: turns out there was something wrong with the website despite the order going through. Website should be fixed in a few hours and I've to re-order. But no time given when I can do that. So I could go through the whole thing again and it not work, despite it appearing to on the website. *sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭dougs09

Stick with vodafone, roaming costs with 02 are ridiculous,my bill is gonna be 300 quid this month cause I was roaming for a weekend in England.

They give you a pathetic 100 free texts, most of my friends are vodafone so makes sence for me to go change, I'm gonna buy my contract out early and move to vodafone

Hi Mr Anderson, yeah i think you're right... i was gonna pre order online but i'm afraid i won't get it by thursday so I'm just going to head to the shop early thursday morning!

I think 3 is the best for roaming in fairness but their customer service is rubbish.. and they don't have the iphone :P

Does O2 not give webtexts aswell?? anyway, yeah i am gonna stick with vodafone, i've just read someone else's post giving out about 02... and now the 16g phone is free on the tarriff i want!! happy days!!!

mitsybaby wrote: »
    Hi Mr Anderson, yeah i think you're right... i was gonna pre order online but i'm afraid i won't get it by thursday so I'm just going to head to the shop early thursday morning!

I think 3 is the best for roaming in fairness but their customer service is rubbish.. and they don't have the iphone :P

Does O2 not give webtexts aswell?? anyway, yeah i am gonna stick with vodafone, i've just read someone else's post giving out about 02... and now the 16g phone is free on the tarriff i want!! happy days!!!

I think they only give 250 webtexts. 600 is a brilliant amount really.

true.. and they're international!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭artielange

Might want to have a read thru this thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055851465

The one thing that jumped out at me was that Vodaphone doesn't support GPRS (and does't plan to)so if your not in a 3G area all the time you could be stuck.

artielange wrote: »
    Might want to have a read thru this thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055851465

The one thing that jumped out at me was that Vodaphone doesn't support GPRS (and does't plan to)so if your not in a 3G area all the time you could be stuck.

Meaning that if you're not in a 3G area you won't be able to use the internet or access email etc using the phone? Making it useless unless you're like in Dublin city all the time?

Vodafone's 3g coverage is not bad though... i was looking for a link for you regarding coverage but can't find it... and it's good in Wexford aswell ;)

I checked myself earlier. Does seem good. Stick in your town and it should show up

http://www.vodafone.ie/coverage/