Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

quick alcohol/driving question

• 21-03-2010 1:56am
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭

i know it is 2 hours for one pint to clear your system give or take

is that from when you stop drinking or when you start drinking?

we had a nice dinner tonight and have had 5 pints of bottled beer since 8pm - should finish up at 230am, after a big dinner.

when technically would be able to drive?

if is at start time it would mean -6am

if is at end time it would be 12.30pm

need to drive at 12.30pm

i know everyones metabolism is different not looking for a definitive answer just is it when you start or finish drinking

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

irishbird wrote: »
    i know it is 2 hours for one pint to clear your system give or take

is that from when you stop drinking or when you start drinking?

we had a nice dinner tonight and have had 5 pints of bottled beer since 8pm - should finish up at 230am, after a big dinner.

when technically would be able to drive?

if is at start time it would mean -6am

if is at end time it would be 12.30pm

need to drive at 12.30pm

i know everyones metabolism is different not looking for a definitive answer just is it when you start or finish drinking

thanks

Really depends on yourself. I'd be getting a big breakfast into you and wouldn't go anywhere before 12 if I was you. From my experience women tend to take longer to sober up

Edit: Oh and to answer your question it would be from when you finish drinking :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

thanks onkle - its for himself.

will make sure he has big fry up and doesnt leave until 1pm :)

god damn football:mad:

i suppose at least i dont have to listen to rugby moaning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

I read somewhere that your body uses up a lot of blood sugar while metabolising alchohol which is why you feel like cr@p the next morning (that and being dehydrated). Eating a good breakfast boosts your sugar levels which is why you tend to feel better but it doesn't actually reduce the level of alcohol in your blood. So despite how well you may feel you could still be well over the limit.

Apparantly food (your evening meal) actually slows the rate your stomach absorbs alchohol so it takes longer to process and get out of the system. You don't get drunk as quickly but you don't sober up as quickly either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

thanks onkle - its for himself.

will make sure he has big fry up and doesnt leave until 1pm :)

god damn football:mad:

i suppose at least i dont have to listen to rugby moaning

Let me get this straight.... you cooked him dinner and going to cook him breakfast cos he had a skinful? If you fancy trading him in let me know
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

slimjimmc wrote: »
    I read somewhere that your body uses up a lot of blood sugar while metabolising alchohol which is why you feel like cr@p the next morning (that and being dehydrated). Eating a good breakfast boosts your sugar levels which is why you tend to feel better but it doesn't actually reduce the level of alcohol in your blood. So despite how well you may feel you could still be well over the limit.

Apparantly food (your evening meal) actually slows the rate your stomach absorbs alchohol so it takes longer to process and get out of the system. You don't get drunk as quickly but you don't sober up as quickly either.

Good brekfast, not a fry, plenty of fruits and cereals. Makes a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Breakfast is good in that it will restore your blood sugars to normal levels which will make you feel better and allow your body continue break down alchohol at it's normal rate, this is better than no breakfast. It won't accelerate the reduction in blood alcohol any quicker. Too many people mistakenly think they're ready to go because the feel grand an hour or so after their breakfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

what is he? a Rabbit?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭moonage

A fry is a good breakfast, despite what the food police say.

He should be fine by 12.30pm.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Plus lots of water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If he is average weight he should be fine, the more flab to process the alcohol the better, if not I wouldn't drink until 3pm or after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭lau1247

spurious wrote: »
    Plus lots of water.

+1, plenty of water seemed to help me

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

If in doubt don't drive tbh... sure you might feel 100% fine but if that breathalyzer turns red you're in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

You clear (at a minimum) a pint every 2 hours. If you drink a bit then you can clear a lot more. Alcoholics clear alcohol about 72% quicker. You do clear alcohol while you are still drinking, after 2 hours the first pint will be eliminated regardless of you still drinking. So you'd be absolutely fine to drive the next morning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Jo King

A lot depends on body weight.

http://www.drunkdrivingdefense.com/general/bac-comparison-over-time.htm

http://www.drunkdrivingdefense.com/general/bac.htm

Heavier people take much more drink to reach the limit and get back below it sooner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

gpf101 wrote: »
    You clear (at a minimum) a pint every 2 hours. If you drink a bit then you can clear a lot more. Alcoholics clear alcohol about 72% quicker. You do clear alcohol while you are still drinking, after 2 hours the first pint will be eliminated regardless of you still drinking. So you'd be absolutely fine to drive the next morning.

Terrible, terrible advice.
    Where does the 72% come from???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

hehe

Random figures appearing with a 72%???

As long as he is hydrated by drinking plenty of water and a nice decent brekkie his suger levels should be ok to drive by 12. He will feel fine to drive by 10 but a trace amount may still be in his system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

It's from when you start. That said, after a night of drinking i'm nowhere near ready to drive by the time that 'rule' would suggest. Might be below the blood-alcohol limit, but between the missed sleep and the tender head, I'm not sharp enough to trust myself with a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

It's from when you start. That said, after a night of drinking i'm nowhere near ready to drive by the time that 'rule' would suggest. Might be below the blood-alcohol limit, but between the missed sleep and the tender head, I'm not sharp enough to trust myself with a car.

X2, its from when you start.

You drink the first pint and the body starts to process the alcohol straight away. It doesn't wait till you are finished before it begins to do this ;).

I find the best way of determining whether you are fit to drive or not is to buy a home breathalyser. I have an Alcosense Elite which cost me over €70 online and I have to say it works well.

I wouldn't trust the cheap arse things you can buy on ebay etc but I did a bit of research before I bought this one. That much money to save my licence could be a very good investment in the future possibly :).

I have been surprised at times how I felt able to drive the next day but it went red when I used it. Drinking into the early hours of the morning is a definite no-no if you plan to drive the next day from what I've seen.

Yeah but it's still no safe thing that the Gardaí breathaliser will pass you even if your home one does. I know you researched and paid a lot of money for it so it prob is a damn good decent one but I hear so many people buying the cheap ones and assume it works just the same.

I would love to hear what they would say to a guard / judge if they were ever caught dui and tried the excuse of "My home detector said I was fine"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

Yawns wrote: »
    Yeah but it's still no safe thing that the Gardaí breathaliser will pass you even if your home one does. I know you researched and paid a lot of money for it so it prob is a damn good decent one but I hear so many people buying the cheap ones and assume it works just the same.

I thought of that already ;) and I only use it as a guideline but I would not place 100% trust in it either. I reckon the Garda ones have a bit of variance in how they detect alcohol after what a mate told me a few weeks ago so I can imagine there would be a difference.

He was at a christening a few years ago, had a few pints more than usual and was breathalysed the next afternoon. He passed with flying colours.

An hour later, he was stopped for a second random breath test and the other Garda told him that he was very lucky as he was just under the limit :eek:.
    I would love to hear what they would say to a guard / judge if they were ever caught dui and tried the excuse of "My home detector said I was fine"
    I don't think it unlikely that someone hasn't done it already at some stage lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Yawns wrote: »

I'm sure all of those home breathalysers have T&C's for there use, that would say that the company cannot be held responsible if it is proved wrong. Can't see using that excuse doing anything tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

im not a huge drinker so its never been too much of an issue for me, but my understanding is that on average a pint will go thro your system in 2 hours, surely then the first one you have drunk at say 8.30 will be cleared by 10.30 etc etc, making the time you are safe to drive the next day a lot earlier than 12.30pm no?

I'm sure all of those home breathalysers have T&C's for there use, that would say that the company cannot be held responsible if it is proved wrong. Can't see using that excuse doing anything tbh.

That was my point :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I got a home breathalyzer (Alcosense) for the morning after too. I see it as a preventer rather than an enabler. i.e. If it shows high then won't drive, but I won't take it that a pass is a green light.
    You are right they do have T&Cs to cover themselves. They also recommend annual recalibration.
    The trick to driving the day after is to stop consuming or reduce alcohol intake as the night progresses. But who remembers this after a feed of beer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Ryan T

He was at a christening a few years ago, had a few pints more than usual and was breathalysed the next afternoon. He passed with flying colours.

An hour later, he was stopped for a second random breath test and the other Garda told him that he was very lucky as he was just under the limit eek.gif.

The roadside breath analysis does not give readings like that - only red or green. Have to go to station for analysis of breath blood or urine