Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it ok to strike someone?.

• 20-03-2010 9:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering, with feelings running high with striking/protesting taxi drivers, public sector employee's working to rule, bankers & politicans failing us and the church taking our little one's for a ride...

Is it ever ok to strike someone?.

Personally, yes I feel it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Just wondering, with feelings running high with striking/protesting taxi drivers, public sector employee's working to rule, bankers & politicans failing us and the church taking our little one's for a ride...

Is it ever ok to strike someone?.

Personally, yes I feel it is.

The church taking your little one´s what for a ride?:confused:

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Only if it's a bizmark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    The church taking your little one´s what for a ride?:confused:

Presume he means abusing children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Ask Taxi drivers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Only if they're very small, and slow on their feet.

I'll strike when I own my own business. That'll show him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

There are some boardsies that deserve a strike tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's perfectly fine, you just have to pay a government fighting fee then you can knock the crap out of the person you hate and the best thing is if he fights back he has to pay the fighting fee too. Get two over on him for the price of one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Only if they're smaller than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Of course it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Only in order to look tough in front of chicks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

With the threat of blocking the Luas (again) and the port tunnel, if a taxi driver tries to block my passage I'll be striking big time!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Only if your name is Trent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

With the threat of blocking the Luas (again) and the port tunnel, if a taxi driver tries to block my passage I'll be striking big time!.

Block your passage, guvnor? Oooooooooooooooooh!

http://images1.fanpop.com/images/image_uploads/Carry-On-Constable-carry-on-movies-1217131_376_304.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Well they should be arrested and their cards taken off of them. Anything you use in the course of breaking the law can be confiscated as evidence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Boston wrote: »
    Well they should be arrested and their cards taken off of them. Anything you use in the course of breaking the law can be confiscated as evidence.

They should also be flogged through the streets as a warning to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Yes, if it's justified. I've always tried to not be the one escalating the conflict though. Ie: wait for the fúcker to throw first, so at least you can get a plea of defensive action. <<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Doesn't the term 'to strike someone', sound just a bit old-fashioned?

"Sir, you have betrayed the honour of this good lady & I shall strike you."

Nevore wrote: »
    Yes, if it's justified. I've always tried to not be the one escalating the conflict though. Ie: wait for the fúcker to throw first, so at least you can get a plea of defensive action. <<

I dunno..i beleive in "Get your retaliation in first".

The OP is no spring chicken its true.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

No. Never. Nil. Nada. Zip. Nein. Net.

Only on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Degsy wrote: »
    I dunno..i beleive in "Get your retaliation in first".
    If you're certain of getting away with it, sure. I know two fellas sent down for 2 years for assault, and the case pretty much hinged on them having been the first to throw a punch.
    Unless the other fella has a weapon (or is some kind of Brat Pitt traveller boxing champ) better to take the first punch and have witnesses to back you.

Yes, "bleedin stab ye" just has a much nicer tonal value. :P

Only on TV.
    What if someone hits you? Or your kid? And there isn't a Garda around? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Yeah. Kick their head in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Yes, although I prefer "smite". Giving someone a good kicking is so uncivilised, and I prefer slapping them on the face with my glove and challenging them to a duel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Only on TV.

Cool - what shows / films have you done? Who have you hit? Please say Tom Cruise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I think it's very valid sometimes. Some people deserve it or cannot be engaged with in any other way.But I also think that as you get older you have so much more to lose from the consequences of it and it's better to walk away if you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Maikoimi, save your wrath, if you must strike, for the rapists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Nevore wrote: »
    Apparently that doesn't hold up if you repeatedly poke them in the back of the head beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

OP, I'll show when you it's ok to smack someone upside the head. (Even when it's female). A past experience of mine. :)

The AH thread at the time was "Why can't guys hit girls but girls can hit guys?".

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=58121812#post58121812

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

A good crack on the arse never did anyone any harm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

definite yes

i believe actually, that if you piss me off, i should have the right to kill you

im not dictatorial however, i also believe that you should have the right to kill me if i piss you off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Last week when I saw 30 of them taxi driving bastards standing on the central median of O'Connell street I felt like doing nothing more than hitting them.

What infuriated me more was how the Gardaí were catering to them so much. Don't see why they couldn't go in batons out, if you refuse to move? Fine, taxi driver's head, meet Mr. Baton. I assume you're aware it's illegal to obstruct a public byway purposely Gardaí? Are you that much a shower of pussies you'll do nothing more than close of O'Connell street and do nothing more to help clear them off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

In self defence, yes - possibly best to avoid it though. My friend got jumped on over Christmas and defended himself, naturally, but then the guards were called and the muppet who attacked him twisted things to make it seem like my friend was the one who started it by getting stuck into him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

HI-YAAAAAAAAAH!

Oh yeah, I got the moves.