Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Johnny Sexton has lost us the Triple Crown!

• 20-03-2010 6:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭

Sexton shouldnt start or Kick for Ireland for a long time back to leinster with ya

He's not up to it, Bottles the big occasion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

IBTL!

Hardly Scotland wanted it more, the dominate the scrum and our line our was a shambles. Sexton should have kicked better yes but he was no by no way the main reason we lost today. Plus Sexton was involved in setting up our first try.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Johnny Sexton set up our first try, don't you forget.

Johnny Sexton lost us nothing, the entire team wasn't good enough. Ireland lost the triple crown, not Johnny Sexton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭yoursaviour1989

no, he hasn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭miseeire

I am a big big fan of Ronan but Sexton has other qualities.What about the first try?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

He had a bad game. But to blame him for losing the Triple Crown when the passing and line outs were well below standard isn't fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

andyman wrote: »
    Johnny Sexton set up our first try, don't you forget.

Johnny Sexton lost us nothing, the entire team wasn't good enough. Ireland lost the triple crown, not Johnny Sexton.

IBTL my ass, Sexton is a bit player, he needs many more years to come up to international level if he ever does make it it won't be with playing with the ladybois

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

yayamark wrote: »
    I don't have a clue about rugby

Fixed your post.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Hes kicked poorly last few games and while most of the team struggled he did miss 2 kickable kicks and also dont forget the try was actually a forward pass by him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Ah seriously lads.........
    Did ye not see the scrum and the lineout, I dont think Sexton was involved in them.........

He missed a few kicks in this few games, he is young and needs game time however and theres only one way to do that.

We werent good enough today or agiainst the French, thats the way the cookie crumbles in international rugby.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I do miss these kind of threads. Now it's all 178 page megathreads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

For me anyways he looks so nervous at international level.. and hes just not able for it.. plain and simple in my opinion lads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

I don't know about his kicking, it's a mystery because he's a much better kicker. Maybe a confidence issue, but he did not lose us anything.

IBTL my ass, Sexton is a bit player, he needs many more years to come up to international level if he ever does make it it won't be with playing with the ladybois

Sexton is clearly struggling with confidence and his kicking has obviously faltered. He offers us something different to O'Gara and if he can shore up his kicking again then he'll be better than O'Gara.

It's nonsense to suggest this is Sexton's fault. Absolute nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭ColinJennings

What about Rory Best who cant throw the ball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    I Don't have anything constructive to say so i Fiddled your post.
    Fixed for u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Blame game... leave it out and move on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭uriah

I'm a munster fan and I have to say that this thread is nonsense.

Fixed for u

You've been challenged about the dismal performence of our scrum and lineout. Why is Sexton more to blame than these?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Fixed for u

Are you blind or retarded?

Line outs lost
    Kearney being gash
    Scrum was so bad they may as well have just not bent down for it
    Stupid box kick at the end when we have the ball and just had to move up the pitch to get in range for a drop goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

Hardly fair to say he lost it for us, however he has been pretty dire the last three games, bar a few breaks including the forward pass today which we got away with. ROG is miles ahead of him on current form and in my opinion we would have won today if he had been brought on earlier. He set the team running, he scored his kicks and we almost started playing well.

The lineout was brutal today and Best has more to answer for than Sexton IMHO.

You've been challenged about the dismal performence of our scrum and lineout. Why is Sexton more to blame than these?

Might be to do with the misses of two simple penalties and the effect that had on the teams morale: Oh god if I lay my body on the line will this numbnut be able to convert it into scores... NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Gambler

In fairness Sexton is our best bet for a replacement for ROG at the moment but his kicking in the last 2 games weren't good enough for him to get more than a 40 minute chance to show he can\can't get it together. He didn't get it together and was rightfully replaced by ROG.

I don't think all the blame lies on his shoulder but I do think that if we had a better kicker on for the whole game overall we would have done better and probably would have won it. (Same could be said for if we had Flannery at hooker or if we had a better scrum but we didn't really have any options in the other 2 areas..)

What the hell was that at the kick when both O'Gara and Sexton were on the pitch?

I think he will make a brilliant outhalf but he just isn't there yet. After the Welsh match O'Gara should have started.

Edit: I agree Best has more to answer for more. Bring back roundhouse flannery.

Sexton is hopefully going to learn to only bite off what he can chew and not put his had up for selection so quickly in future, he has a lot to learn and time to learn it so he'd better do it now when he's not No. 1 @ 10 than later as he'll be buried for not improving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I'm a militant Munster fan and hate anything to do with Leinster

Yes OP, it was quite obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Bad game, average tournament for him, he'll take it on the chin and come back stronger hopefully, like he has done for Leinster.

Certainly his kicking contributed to losing the game but so did the front 3, Best at LOs, POC in the loose and the backrow vs Beattie Barclay and Brown not to mention Kidney's tactics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Sexton shouldnt start or Kick for Ireland for a long time back to leinster with ya

so because he had one bad game, should be kicked out of the squad?

cop on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 451 ✭✭thetyreman

Rory Bst was the biggest let down today,and how Kidney could leave him on for so long is beyond me,it reminded me of Eddie mO Sullivans attitude an reluctancey to make changes,an O Gara should have been brought on earlier,it was a whole combination of **** ups tha lost us the game an not just JS.They never even looked like they were bothered by the beationg they were getting,there was no panic ortalking or confireing wih each other,i dont remember seeing BOD trying to rally the troops in the whole match.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I find this thread distasteful and offensive. How anyone can blame one player for losing in a team game is amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭poppyvalley

kippy wrote: »
    Ah seriously lads.........
    Did ye not see the scrum and the lineout, I dont think Sexton was involved in them.........

He missed a few kicks in this few games, he is young and needs game time however and theres only one way to do that.

We werent good enough today or agiainst the French, thats the way the cookie crumbles in international rugby.

great match 'tho Kippy. Ah well every dog has his day, and I guess Ireland's is coming to pass.

so because he had one bad game, should be kicked out of the squad?

cop on.

In fairness, his kicking was the worst by a long shot of the 6N, himself and Wilko are bottom of the table.

He brings a lot to the backline, but he leaves a lot off the board.
    Couple of years time he will be fantastic.

thetyreman wrote: »
    Rory Bst was the biggest let down today,and how Kidney could leave him on for so long is beyond me,it reminded me of Eddie mO Sullivans attitude an reluctancey to make changes,an O Gara should have been brought on earlier,it was a whole combination of **** ups tha lost us the game an not just JS.They never even looked like they were bothered by the beationg they were getting,there was no panic ortalking or confireing wih each other,i dont remember seeing BOD trying to rally the troops in the whole match.......

Who had we as a replacement for Best?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Meh blame game goes round and round again.

Too many penalties in bad positions, imprecise attack, missed scoring opportunities and too many handling errors lost us the triple crown. Sexton had a hand in it like the other 14 Irish players on the field, and will take his fair share of the blame I'm sure. But he'll get over it, like all the rest of us will. He'll be back, and I'll be back to cheer him on! We can't have ROG playing forever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

1PS+0018+SOFA_RK.jpg

-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

What are u on about i have been challenged?

If O gara had started he wouldnt have missed those penalties One of them was a simple tap over. We were poor overall but Sexton was shocking. O Gara came on and kicked a sublime penalty from the sideline. Sexton would still be there trying to get it.

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Are you blind or retarded?

Line outs lost
    Kearney being gash
    Scrum was so bad they may as well have just not bent down for it
    Stupid box kick at the end when we have the ball and just had to move up the pitch to get in range for a drop goal.

I dont respond to personal abuse. I didnt abuse you or anyone on this thread. I thought a CMOD would know the rule of attacking the post rather than the poster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

Get off the computer. You've a junior cert to study for.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

2040 wrote: »
    Get off the computer. You've a junior cert to study for.
    And that comment wasn't childish... ?

Less of the handbags please ladies.

DeV.