Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is the psp dead

• 20-03-2010 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

well is it, there are not alot of big releases coming out for it most of the new stuff is cross platform I sold mine and got a xbox 360 and im much happier with it what do you think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

It's dead in the west but there is still some big name titles coming out e.g. Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker

In Japan, it is one of the most popular gaming devices thanks to monster hunter especially now that Monster Hunter Portable 3rd has been annouced.

I'm looking forward to play peace walker in May and Persona 3 Portable during the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭tonydude

The psp died a long time ago, and the pspgo concreted its death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Jimbobjoeyman

how would pspgo concreated its death psp go and psp are the same console just different form factor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

well is it, there are not alot of big releases coming out for it most of the new stuff is cross platform I sold mine and got a xbox 360 and im much happier with it what do you think

You can't really compare a PSP and a 360.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Jimbobjoeyman

You can't really compare a PSP and a 360.

ya i wasnt comparing graphics and stuff like how good online is i was talking about the amount of new games for the psp that are any good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭tonydude

how would pspgo concreated its death psp go and psp are the same console just different form factor

pspgo plays downloaded games only, and as far as i know no young gamer has access to a credit card or computer and if they do its alot of work just to get a game . The umds were better and if u can afford a pspgo id rather get a ps3 or 360

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭GothPunk

tonydude wrote: »
    pspgo plays downloaded games only, and as far as i know no young gamer has access to a credit card or computer and if they do its alot of work just to get a game . The umds were better and if u can afford a pspgo id rather get a ps3 or 360
    You say that and yet the very same kids seemed to figure out how to hack their PSPs and download games just fine. UMDs are not better - fact. They take longer to load from, use more battery power to play from and are noisy. It's also a pain in the ass to carry a load of games around with you. Download is the future. I doubt PSP2 will have a UMD drive and I'll bet the majority of people won't miss it. They can still release the games in boxes it'll just have a download code instead of a disc - many games are released like this in NA.

The PSP is not dead, it sold something like 10 million units last year. It's consistently number one on the hardware charts in Japan. I suppose if you like shooters it's a dead platform but if you like RPGs, puzzle, adventure, fighting or quirky games the PSP is very much alive. The PSP has more big name games this summer for me than any other system I own - Kingdom Hearts Birth by Sleep, Metal Gear Solid 5 and Valkyria Chronicles 2, with a few more niche titles like Persona 3 Portable and BlazBlue Portable. If it was dead I don't think we'd be seeing such big name games as Metal Gear Solid and Kingdom Hearts coming out on it. It is slowing down though, which is normal for an old system. I'd guess we'll see a PSP2 next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭NotorietyH

tonydude wrote: »

That's not what he was saying though. The PSPGo could have concreted the PSP's death if the regular PSP was no longer available, but it is, so the PSPGo is irrelevant to the PSP platform as a whole. It hasn't boosted sales of PSP software probably, but there's not less people buying PSP software because of the Go.
    GothPunk wrote: »
    If it was dead I don't think we'd be seeing such big name games as Metal Gear Solid and Kingdom Hearts coming out on it. It is slowing down though, which is normal for an old system. I'd guess we'll see a PSP2 next year.

Resident Evil is coming to it too if I remember correctly. Plus ModNation racers is getting a simultaneous realease on PS3 and PSP.

EDIT: Argh Double post sorry!

NotorietyH wrote: »
    Resident Evil is coming to it too if I remember correctly. Plus ModNation racers is getting a simultaneous realease on PS3 and PSP.
    Exactly. Case closed. :pac:

Only thing UMD has going for it is that you can trade/resell them. I doubt the PSP2 would be download only as Japan is PSP's biggest market and they don't like download only.

Also they have a massive preowned market and people will complete a game in a week to get the best trade-in credit e.g. FFXIII, people burnt through it in the first two weeks of launch.

I hope PSP2 is similar design as PSPGO but uses some form of M2 card for games. Kinda like how the DS uses it's own kind of SD card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

Was the PSP ever even alive outside Japan?

35 million PSPs outside Japan, with quite a few multi-million selling games, so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

The PSP is good but its no ball in a cup

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I'd take physical medium over download anyday. At least I'll always own the piece of software and the prices are much better since there's a market and you can actually get bargains. And with my lovely hack PSP I can still play them off the memory stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

35 million PSPs outside Japan, with quite a few multi-million selling games, so...

I think a lot of people bought the console but didn't really bother with it too much. It's a really cool little device but game wise it just felt like I was playing a ps2 on a smaller screen. There are indeed some interesting titles like Patapon and LocoRoco..but meh, I just found the whole experience a bit dull.

Even when I softmodded mine and had the complete library pretty much at my fingertips I still rathered playing the DS.

The only thing my PSP gets used for now is emulation. The screen is lovely for Shmups.

As for the PSPgo, that's really not for me. If I'm paying for a game I want a physical copy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

My girlfriend bought me a psp for christmas, I think I played it for a few hours on christmas day and have'nt played it since.. It will be used on my summer holidays and thats probably about it, if you have a ps3 and an xbox 360 at home, your not going to fire up your psp and leave those two gathering dust under the tv..

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    My girlfriend bought me a psp for christmas, I think I played it for a few hours on christmas day and have'nt played it since.. It will be used on my summer holidays and thats probably about it, if you have a ps3 and an xbox 360 at home, your not going to fire up your psp and leave those two gathering dust under the tv..

The PSP isn't supposed to replace either of those though that's the thing. I only started using mine recently, but I use it in situations when I wouldn't be using my PS3 or Xbox anyway. Like if there's a match on TV I'll often play my PSP with the match on in the background.

If I've got half an hour or less to kill I'll fire up the PSP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I dont think its dead at all...

I use mine for all my emulators, GPS, internet, updating my PS3, music, videos....

I think people just dont realise how versitile it is

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I'd take physical medium over download anyday. At least I'll always own the piece of software and the prices are much better since there's a market and you can actually get bargains. And with my lovely hack PSP I can still play them off the memory stick.
    Have you ever bought anything on Steam Retr0? Do you think you'll always choose the physical medium over download? In fairness, the PSN Store has been running offers every week since the PSPgo was released, some games can be had for a steal (like Disgaea for €15, half what it costs on eBay or online) or some games are only available as a download (like Patchwork Heroes). The games can never go out of print, which is a problem I'm sure we've both had to deal with. I've also read that Falcom are interested in releasing some of their PSP games on the PSN, whilst they probably don't have the cash to put out a physical disk here or in NA the digital route perhaps offers an easier or cheaper way for companies like Falcom to get their titles out there.

What's odd is that I hate the digital route for music and prefer to have a physical copy, yet more and more I find myself buying digital copies of games from the PSN, Steam and XBL.
    o1s1n wrote: »
    I think a lot of people bought the console but didn't really bother with it too much. It's a really cool little device but game wise it just felt like I was playing a ps2 on a smaller screen. There are indeed some interesting titles like Patapon and LocoRoco..but meh, I just found the whole experience a bit dull.

Even when I softmodded mine and had the complete library pretty much at my fingertips I still rathered playing the DS.

The only thing my PSP gets used for now is emulation. The screen is lovely for Shmups.
    I think you sum up the problem the PSP as a games console has had since launch, and it's a similar problem 3rd party Wii games have (e.g. low sales of games like The Conduit) - if people want to play a PS2/PS3/360 game they'll play it on the PS2/PS3360, they don't want to play the 'lite' version on the PSP/Wii. That being said, some of the biggest sellers on the PSP (GTA Stories games, God of War Chains of Olympus and Crisis Core) are what you could perhaps call 'console lite' games, so there is a demand for those titles, and I think most of this summer's big PSP titles fall within the same category. The key to making the PSP stand out has been making them innovative and quirky games, make them pick up and play, and/or add ad-hoc multiplayer. Playing a PSP game over adhoc with 4 friends is a great experience.

Do you like RPGs at all o1s1n? Because the PSP is home to some gems. In fact, the DS and the PSP are the home of quality RPGs for me so often I'd rather play my PSP or my DS than anything else.
    NotorietyH wrote: »
    If I've got half an hour or less to kill I'll fire up the PSP.
    Pretty much this. I mostly play the PSP on the bus or in bed, and every now and then I'll play some adhoc Monster Hunter or an online game of Motorstorm. Not that I don't sit down with my PSP or my DS in favour of my PS3/360 at times, the games are just more conducive to short bursts of play.

hmmm I'm not really convinced, I know a few people who bought them around Launch and had all pretty much finished with them within a year.

Personally I never felt the games were there.

Tallon wrote: »
    I dont think its dead at all...

I use mine for all my emulators, GPS, internet, updating my PS3, music, videos....

I think people just dont realise how versitile it is

SO pretty much everything except playing PSP games then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Tony_Yeboah

Got mine about 2 years ago. Hadn't played it for about a year when i heard Final Fantasy VII was released on PSN to download. Probably my all time favourite game so snapped it up.

Other than playing that I wouldn't use it. Although FFVIII has been released so I will be getting that soon.

SO pretty much everything except playing PSP games then?

Is there games for it now? Is that what the little drawer on the back is for?

hmmm I'm not really convinced, I know a few people who bought them around Launch and had all pretty much finished with them within a year.
    I'm not sure what you want then, if hard facts can't convince you.
    Personally I never felt the games were there.
    What does this even mean? It's like you're making yourself immune from normal discourse. It doesn't matter if someone provides you with facts and figures, you just don't feel like the games were there. Too bad, I'm sure if you looked a bit harder you'd find plenty to enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

It's dead if Sony want it to be dead, or are good enough to do something with it. Right now they're focusing on the PS3 and giving zero attention to the PSP. Shame really, but it'll make a comeback by my bets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

People who compare a psp with an xbox 360 or a ps3 are funny.
    Can you discretely slip your ps3 or xbox 360 into your pockets when you need to use the jacks at work?

Tallon wrote:
    I use mine for all my emulators, GPS,

Do you find it works well as a gps? I was very interested when those attachments were released..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Have you ever bought anything on Steam Retr0? Do you think you'll always choose the physical medium over download? In fairness, the PSN Store has been running offers every week since the PSPgo was released, some games can be had for a steal (like Disgaea for €15, half what it costs on eBay or online) or some games are only available as a download (like Patchwork Heroes). The games can never go out of print, which is a problem I'm sure we've both had to deal with. I've also read that Falcom are interested in releasing some of their PSP games on the PSN, whilst they probably don't have the cash to put out a physical disk here or in NA the digital route perhaps offers an easier or cheaper way for companies like Falcom to get their titles out there

What's odd is that I hate the digital route for music and prefer to have a physical copy, yet more and more I find myself buying digital copies of games from the PSN, Steam and XBL..

I've never bought a digital game myself. Don't intend to. I hate the whole concept. Really don't like how everything is heading that way :( I enjoy having a library of physical media that I can browse/Collect, pick out discs/carts..look at booklets, be OCD in sorting.

Funnily enough, I'm completely the opposite with music :pac:
    The key to making the PSP stand out has been making them innovative and quirky games,

I agree with you here. However I think the DS has pulled it off better with the control interface and the two screens. The PSP is just still a bit too tame in the innovation department. It's a shame Sony didn't include a touch screen.
    Do you like RPGs at all o1s1n? Because the PSP is home to some gems. In fact, the DS and the PSP are the home of quality RPGs for me so often I'd rather play my PSP or my DS than anything else.

Yep, I hear ya! Before my DS broke it was pretty much what I played for about two years. Some fantastic rpgs alright.

As for RPGs on the PSP, I played a bit of Jeanne D'arc and a lot of Tales of Eternia. Both of which I enjoyed. Started Crisis Core but found it to be extremely meh.

I wouldn't mind trying out a few more..any you'd suggest?

I'm not sure what you want then, if hard facts can't convince you.

Thats just numbers, it says nothing about how happy people were with the system, what the attach rate is like or if there is any sort of "community", can you get a decent multiplayer game going or is it an on-line wasteland? If I want to buy a game will I find a large selection or were many games even released outside japan? Your hard facts don't answer those questions. As I said anyone I know who owned one gave up on it long long ago.
    What does this even mean? It's like you're making yourself immune from normal discourse. It doesn't matter if someone provides you with facts and figures, you just don't feel like the games were there. Too bad, I'm sure if you looked a bit harder you'd find plenty to enjoy.

Take it easy man, it means that I'm expressing an opinion, Its my opinion that there were never any games that made me feel like I should buy, or needed to buy, or had to buy a PSP. Judging from some of the posts on boards, people use them for everything except PSP games, which of course is fair enough but it kinda echoes my point.

o1s1n wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind trying out a few more..any you'd suggest?
    Games like Brave Story:New Traveller, Yggdra Union, Crimson Gem Saga (you could probably skip the first game, Astonishia Story), Half Minute Hero and Monster Hunter Freedom Unite (and maybe Key of Heaven) are probably what you're looking for. You know what, thinking about it the majority of the RPGs I like on the PSP are enhanced ports/remakes of older RPGs, like Star Ocean and Valkyrie Profile, so I dunno if they would count. Then there are the games where the superior version is on the PSP, like Final Fantasy Tactics and Disgaea. I'm playing Half Minute Hero at the moment, it's great. Hopefully God Eater and The Last Ranker will make it over here. There's a Level 5 game called 'Ushiro' that hasn't had a release date set (for all I know it's been cancelled), but it looks really interesting. Keep an eye out for that.
    Thats just numbers, it says nothing about how happy people were with the system, what the attach rate is like or if there is any sort of "community", can you get a decent multiplayer game going or is it an on-line wasteland? If I want to buy a game will I find a large selection or were many games even released outside japan? Your hard facts don't answer those questions. As I said anyone I know who owned one gave up on it long long ago.
    You asked was the PSP even ever alive outside Japan. I provided you with the information that it has sold over 35 million units outside of Japan, with several multi-million sellers outside of Japan, and then you said that you weren't 'convinced' that the PSP was ever alive outside Japan. Can you see why I'm getting the impression you're just being contrary? When you say 'were many games even released outside Japan' makes me think you haven't done any research. Have you heard of WipeOut Pure, God of War: Chains of Olympus, Patapon, LocoRoco, Crisis Core, Dissidia, Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories, Gran Turismo PSP, Holy Invasion of Privacy Badman, MotorStorm Artic Edge, Resistance Retribution, Crush, Monster Hunter Freedom Unite, Rock Band Unplugged, Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops, Lumines or Daxter? There are PSP orientated forums with plenty of members, plenty of games that have online multiplayer with full lobbies and programs that let you play adhoc games over the internet like Adhoc Party on the PS3 or Xlink Kai on the PC. The PSP section in any GameStop I've been to is bigger than the PC section, they stock plenty of games there either new or older titles.

But like you say, all your friends gave up on their PSP. Well all my friends 360's have gotten the RROD, clearly that means that all 360's get the RROD... Attach rate information is very hard to come by, so I can't help you out there. I would imagine with piracy being so common on the PSP, the attach rate would be low for paid software but high for pirated software. As for me, I own about 60 PSP games, 7 of which I've bought in the past 3 months. (Final Fantasy Dissidia, Half Minute Hero, Patchwork Heroes, Echoshift, Age Of Zombies, Elemental Monster TD Portable and Patapon 2.)
    Take it easy man, it means that I'm expressing an opinion, Its my opinion that there were never any games that made me feel like I should buy, or needed to buy, or had to buy a PSP. Judging from some of the posts on boards, people use them for everything except PSP games, which of course is fair enough but it kinda echoes my point.
    Now I understand, the PSP was always 'dead' to you as you didn't find it interesting, fair enough. Like I said, I'm sure if you looked a bit harder you'd find plenty to enjoy.

pwd wrote: »

Do you find it works well as a gps? I was very interested when those attachments were released..

Yeah, I really like it, you wont get a GPS with that big of a screen :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Have a phat PSP, played maybe 3 games (if even), the reason?

There's one fecking analogue stick!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I've never even used the UMD drive on my psp :pac:

I use mine mostly for emulators and the odd good game. Metal Gear solid Portable ops, gran turismo, worms e.t.c. e.t.c.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

I like it as there's plenty of good 2-D games and retro stuff on it. SF Alpha 3,Capcom classics remix and reloaded, Midway arcade treasures mega drive collection. It will be around and supported for a good few years yet but it will become more and more download orientated. If Sony had any sense they would update their E.U. PSN store. It's a disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Have a phat PSP, played maybe 3 games (if even), the reason?

There's one fecking analogue stick!!!!

How is that a reason?:confused:
    The games have been built from the ground up with one analogue stick in mind, its not like you actually need a second one for the majority of the games... (apart from the likes of Liberty/Vice city stories)

The PSP is pretty much bottom of the pecking order for me when it comes to buying new games... Don't think I've bothered buying one for it since God of War (Locoroco 2 is about all that caught my attention)

tman wrote: »
    How is that a reason?:confused:
    The games have been built from the ground up with one analogue stick in mind, its not like you actually need a second one for the majority of the games... (apart from the likes of Liberty/Vice city stories)

The PSP is pretty much bottom of the pecking order for me when it comes to buying new games... Don't think I've bothered buying one for it since God of War (Locoroco 2 is about all that caught my attention)

It didn't bother me until i played the Peace Walker demo, then i just realized games like it and other games in the shooter genre could be so much better.

Peace Walker is simply awful to control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭bokkenspiel

than the psp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

face.palm.

So rumour has it that another God of War game is headed to the PSP, as well as an Uncharted game. Is the PSP dead? Pfft.

Would play another GOW game, fixed camera angle is awesome for the PSP. Not so sure about the uncharted game unless they make that fixed angle too, also Naughty Dog wouldn't be developing it. I think ND hinted at Ready at Dawn (chains of olympus) doing it, would it really have that uncharted feel we're all used to? :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Are there any other third party games that aren't monster hunter clones though?

I do think that my PSP has some good games. I just find I never play them because it's so inconvenient. The DS has better battery life and way more games while the PSP runs out of juice so quickly and it's a pain to charge and I get hand cramps.

Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker
    Kingdom Hearts: Birth by sleep
    Persona 3 Portable
    Valkyria Chronicles II

Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker
    Kingdom Hearts: Birth by sleep
    Persona 3 Portable
    Valkyria Chronicles II

Terrible controls was why I couldn't play the last one
    Yawn a Nomura emofest
    Sunk 120 hours into the PS2 version, not going to do it again
    Yes please

From the past few months and over the next few months? How about Patchwork Heroes, Echoshift, Half Minute Hero, Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep and Metal Gear Solid 5? The Monster Hunter clones are getting better though, Phantasy Star Portable 2 has infrastructure play which should have been in all PSP games like that from the start. Lot's of games have it but not enough. Monster Hunter Portable 3rd is rumoured to have infrastructure too, which will be huge to Monster Hunter fans. God Eater is fantastic, at least it seemed so to me from the demo. Monster Hunter clone does not equal bad game, but I see your point, lot's of new releases are going to see multiplayer tacked on. Hey, that's almost like most console games! :pac: That is one of the strengths of the system though - local multiplayer where everyone has their own dedicated screen. Like a mini movable lan party, heh.
    I do think that my PSP has some good games. I just find I never play them because it's so inconvenient. The DS has better battery life and way more games while the PSP runs out of juice so quickly and it's a pain to charge and I get hand cramps.
    Newer models of the PSP have much better battery life, although it's not near my original DS levels. The newer models are much more confortable. I realise you wouldn't touch a PSPgo but I find it so much more comfortable than my PSP-2000. You can get a better capacity battery fairly cheaply that can bring the battery life up to the 10-12 hour mark. The PSPgo's save state feature can save on battery too.

Retr0 if you haven't heard about it already, look up a Capcom game called The Last Ranker. I think it would interest you. It probably won't release here until next year though.

Terrible controls was why I couldn't play the last one
    Have you tried the Peace Walker demo, the controls are great. I know that I'm a regular PSP user so it's always going to be more comfortable for me, but the controls really are an improvement over Portable Ops, which suffers from terrible controls as we all know.
    Yawn a Nomura emofest
    You might want to rethink that one, word on NeoGAF is that it's awesome. From the combat, presentation... even the minigames, it's supposed to be great.
    Yes please
    But Valkyria Chronicles 2 has the obligatory adhoc multiplayer component tacked on...

Sunk 120 hours into the PS2 version, not going to do it again

Even with a female player character dressed as a schoolgirl?

You could finally fulfill your dream and date Akihiko :D

If that doesn't appeal to you, maybe this ad will :pac:

I'm looking forward to the Last Ranker but it's touch and go if it will even get a western localisation unfortunately. There's plenty of good PSP games I haven't played yet like half minute hero but I just prefer to use my DS. I've got a PSP 1000 and don't have the money to buy a new model. If I want to play a portable game of something I just go straight for the DS. you turn it on and you are playing. There's no load times and when you want to play something new there's no arsing around with custom firmware (I know I should get rid of the custom firmware because I don't even use it for emulation since all the games aren't in the proper resolution). And everytime I pick up the PSP the battery is dead and I can't be bothered charging it. I have a yank one so have to use a step down converter or charge it through the USB port on the wii or laptop.

Even getting demos is too much effort, yes I'm lazy.

I heard jeremy parish talking about birth by sleep saying that after TGS he thought it was really good but now that he got a hands on with it he is totally meh. It seems another Nomura fest where he is more interested in telling his silly tale of people in black cloaks than looking at the cross over appeal.

Also I can't get excited at all about monster hunter type games, I can't stand them and I'd rather a single player phantasy star compared to what it's become so have even bigger reason to hate it.

I feel Sony made the devise too complicated. All I want to do on a portable system is stick a game in and play it. Slow firmware updates and load times annoy me enough on the PS3 but on a portable it drives me insane.

Interesting piece from Kotaku here

He bought one at launch, gave up on it and came back to it when he started writing for Kotaku, loves it now, mostly.

That seems to be the thig about the PSP, people like yourself GothPunk who are into it are crazy into it, you ll probably still be using it, talking about it and making homebrew stuff for it long after Sony have moved on and stopped supporting it, with fans like that it will never be dead.