Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ubuntu resolution too high

• 18-03-2010 4:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭

Hi folks ,

Just installed unbuntu as a dual boot with windows 7 on my machine and it worked like a dream. My first experience with linux so took me a while to figure out drivers etc. Thought I was doing well until I installed the drivers for my graphics card then restarted my machine - now ubuntu starts but my monitor wont display it stating "resolution not supported". Any ideas on how to fix this bearing in mind I'm a complete noob to linux.

Many thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

It's not that easy. Try pressing ctrl+alt+F1, then log in using your username and password.

Then you'll want to have a look at the xorg.conf file which is at: /etc/X11/xorg.conf

What I would suggest is that you have a look in /etc/X11/ directory for the previous version (there's a good chance a backup was made). If there is a backup, I would do the following:

sudo bash
    cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.my_backup
    cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf.(whatever the backup file is called) /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    shutdown -r now (not strictly necessary, but easy)

If there is no backup in the /etc/X11/ directory then
    sudo bash
    cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.my_backup
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

have a look in there and try to fiddle with the resolution bit. Make sure you've created the backup file first. If you make an arse of it, just copy the backup file to xorg.conf.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭loldog

Is it nvidia or ati or some other type?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Karlos_Sparky

Khannie wrote: »
    It's not that easy.

You got that right ! The best I can get is that it tells me I have no permission ! I'm struggling with this command line stuff - i used to be Ok with DOS back in the day but this is another level. I think I will throw my hat it to be honest, I'm not even sure im entering the basic commands right. Thanks for the help though but looks like im stuck with windows

It's a nvidia geforce 6150 LE intergrated chip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

You got that right ! The best I can get is that it tells me I have no permission ! I'm struggling with this command line stuff - i used to be Ok with DOS back in the day but this is another level. I think I will throw my hat it to be honest, I'm not even sure im entering the basic commands right. Thanks for the help though but looks like im stuck with windows

It's a nvidia geforce 6150 LE intergrated chip
    You can try using sudo in front of whatever command says you have no permission. If it asks for your password enter it.
    It's really not so bad once you get going.
    Just follow the sound advice from Khannie above. If you get stuck just ask.

Perhaps the easiest way to do it is from a livecd if you have one handy.
    It's all graphical then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

You got that right ! The best I can get is that it tells me I have no permission !
    open/edit the file as root,
    sudo gedit

should give you admin permissions
    i dunno im a n00b myself !
    dont throw in the towel, linux is a very enjoyable learning curve, you'll be delighted with yourself when you sort out your current problem ! :D

I have nvidia card also, can you adjust settings from System> Admin> Nvidia X server settings, resolution drop down box ? i have the option ?

http://i43.tinypic.com/2ivjt75.png

and have you actually downloaded the proper nvidia driver, ubuntu comes with default open source Nouveau driver, which is ok, no 3d, but you may need the actual Nvidia driver ? which would probably install the GUI i posted above

sys>admin>hardware drivers,

BOBBY wrote: »
    I have nvidia card also, can you adjust settings from System> Admin> Nvidia X server settings, resolution drop down box ? i have the option ?

http://i43.tinypic.com/2ivjt75.png

and have you actually downloaded the proper nvidia driver, ubuntu comes with default open source Nouveau driver, which is ok, no 3d, but you may need the actual Nvidia driver ? which would probably install the GUI i posted above

sys>admin>hardware drivers,
    They could do that if they could get the screen to show something. :)

live cd is a good idea.

It's only telling you that you have no permission because you forgot to do "sudo bash" :)

It's a bit daunting alright, and there is a learning curve, but the promised land awaits..... :)

Sherifu wrote: »
    They could do that if they could get the screen to show something. :)
    ::embarrassed, re-read first post lol :D
    sorry !

actually...try this:

sudo nvidia-xconfig

then reboot, that might do it.

no joy with nvidia-xconfig

got xorg.conf open but there ain't anything there about resolution just this :

Section "Screen
    ` Identifier "Default screen"
    Defaultdepth "24"
    endsection

Section "module"
    load "glx"
    endsection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "Default device"
    driver "nvidia"
    option "nologo" "true"
    endsection

any ideas ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Ahh i remember the first time i installed Nvidia drivers, I was pulling my hair out :D

nvidia-xconfig rarely fixes problems in my experience, in fact its almost better reinstalling the driver.............

Firstly download the correct version here

If you are using a recent Nvidia video card eg. 8600gt or gt260 ect download the 190.53 driver. Make sure you get the architecture right ie 64 bit or 32 bit.

Download the driver and place it on your desktop.

Enter the terminal by Ctrl+Alt+F1

sudo nvidia-uninstall

This will uninstall your current Nvidia drivers

Its always safer to restart here I think
    sudo reboot now

Ubuntu will now restart in low graphics mode now.

Enter the terminal by Ctrl+Alt+F1

sudo service gdm stop

This will temp. stop the display manager to allow you to install the drivers

cd Desktop

(remember Desktop starts with a capital, Linux is case sensitive)

Navigate to the desktop

sudo sh ./Nxxxxxxxx

(After you type the first "N" hit TAB and the rest of the file name should appear provided there isn't any other programmes that begin with N on the desktop)

4. Follow the instructions within the program. When it asks do you want to automatically configure the xorg.conf config file hit "yes"

5. When it’s successful and you are back at the terminal
    sudo reboot

Annnnnnd fingers crossed you will have fixed your problem. :D

and dont give up :P

downloaded the drivers but how do i put them on my ubuntu desktop from windows 7 ? I can see anything to do with ubuntu on my HD ?

Have you the live CD still handy?

If you have it boot into the live cd and place the driver from the windows partition to the desktop folder on your home drive on your ubuntu partition.

the carry out the instructions from above :)

landyman wrote: »

sudo nvidia-uninstall

This will uninstall your current Nvidia drivers

entered this command it asked me for my password then said command not found ! Should i re-install the whole feckin thing ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

entered this command it asked me for my password then said command not found ! Should i re-install the whole feckin thing ?

Try going back into the directory/folder where you save the Nvidia sh installer. Now enter the following commands:
    sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-190.53-pkg1.run --uninstall
    sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-190.53-pkg1.run -aqs 

Good luck. You are probably a bit pissed off at the moment but rest assured that in my 5 years using Linux, the Nvidia
    drivers where the only really painfull step towards moving from Windows:) Wifi is the only other tricky one depending
    on your hardware configuration. Mind you, most wireless cards work out of the box now which is a good thing.

Ubuntu makes the drivers a bit tricky to install because it is regarded as 'non free'. Nvidia also provides the drivers
    in this form, and they can't be(or at least should not)modified in any way shape or form. There are scripts out there
    to lessen the pain though. Envy comes to mind: http://albertomilone.com/envyngfaq.html

Any luck op?

Naikon wrote: »
    [/code]Good luck. You are probably a bit pissed off at the moment but rest assured that in my 5 years using Linux, the Nvidia
    drivers where the only really painfull step towards moving from Windows

I have a GeForce 8400M and it's always worked grand, maybe the OP has some special kind of screen or something?

Sorry folks had to hit the hay - have exams today !!! I will give it a rattle later and let u know how I get on - thanks for all your help I won't give up just yet !

No special display just a regular dell 17" tft flatscreen. Would a fesh install help?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I've two solutions you might want to try.

1. Get back to the xorg.conf and edit it. Change the nvidia in the driver line to nv and reboot.

If you've still got no display, change it again, and put vesa instead of nv.

2. Get to the command line and type sudo apt-get install envyng-core

When it's installed, type envyng -t and choose option 0 to remove the nvidia driver and then option 1 to reinstall a new driver. You might have to test a couple of driver versions. From experience, 95 and 185 worked best for me.

By all means reinstall if you haven't got back to your desktop screen within an hour.

Sound advice IMO. Flip all this flutin'. Seeing as you've nothing important on there, reinstall that sucker. It only takes a few minutes. You can learn all the fiddly bits later.

Khannie wrote: »
    Flip all this flutin'.

Damn straight - I'm using ubuntu now !! In all it's high res glory. Did a fresh install then followed landymans instructions and getting the right drivers - worked a treat !

Thanks for all your help folks would have been rightly stuck without ye !!

Any tips going forwards on getting around this thing ?

Damn straight - I'm using ubuntu now !! In all it's high res glory. Did a fresh install then followed landymans instructions and getting the right drivers - worked a treat !

Thanks for all your help folks would have been rightly stuck without ye !!

Don't be afraid to ask here.

The ubuntu forums are great for any issues you have if you search for what you need.

Look in the Ubuntu Software Centre, install anything that takes your fancy. There's some really quality free software in there like Blender, which is a 3D animation suite, and loads of other good stuff. But you can expect to find some stuff in there that's maybe not so good, it's a mixed bag.

There are good sites for finding out about Linux software:

http://www.osalt.com/

http://linux.softpedia.com/

If you're into games, there are a number of good games - check out the Ubuntu gamer's arena.

For general tips on using Ubuntu, check out the Ubuntu Pocket Guide.