Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FIAT 780 4WD

• 16-03-2010 1:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭

Hello All. I am looking to buy an old FIAT 780 4WD, to do-up. Does anyone know if they were an good tractor in there day? Also, is it hard to change the gearbox in them , from one to the other?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 8560

jocotty wrote: »
    Hello All. I am looking to buy an old FIAT 780 4WD, to do-up. Does anyone know if they were an good tractor in there day? Also, is it hard to change the gearbox in them , from one to the other?
    a near impossible tractor to do up. all cab bonnet and mudguards will be eaten away with rust. look for a earlier one eg fiat 450 or 540, much sounder.

we had a 780 for 11 years good mechanicaly. very rusty. slow on road.

ps. a fiat 1100 dt would be easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

8560 wrote: »
    a near impossible tractor to do up. all cab bonnet and mudguards will be eaten away with rust. look for a earlier one eg fiat 450 or 540, much sounder.

we had a 780 for 11 years good mechanicaly. very rusty. slow on road.

ps. a fiat 1100 dt would be easier

yep - most 780 and 880 etc will be eaten with rust, the ones in good condition are making silly money

so you mean a fiat 1000DT? great tractor and can be used for work as well as show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭jocotty

thanks for the advice lads. Only 4wd i can get in my price bracket tho (2500e). Might have to have a better look at it first so. :rolleyes: all other model fiats very expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 8560

corkcomp wrote: »
    yep - most 780 and 880 etc will be eaten with rust, the ones in good condition are making silly money

so you mean a fiat 1000DT? great tractor and can be used for work as well as show
    maybe it is a1000dt, thought it was 1100 and 1300 which was 150 hp

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

worst thing about those 1000s is there cat slow. you would be faster walking.

ah, they are not THAT slow, I saw one on aroad run yesterday and it was able to keep up with most of the fleet, around 18mph.

the 1300DT is the big sister of the 1000DT, there was never an 1100 afaik

was that at dripsey. there was two of them there. both finnegans and riordans. was there myself. well there 25kph

thats the place:D what were you driving? good day, but too many pitstops, just as well no guards out :o:pac:

i only went to spectate this one. im from down kinsale direction so it was too far for me to bring a tractor up. sorry i didnt after though. good morning out. first time seeing the crowd build the tractor. good time at 5.37. how many places did ye stop at.i followed in the car as far as coachford but then went my own way. what were you driving

we had the REAL vintage out, I was driving one of the two farmall H's:D we stopped in donoughmore for an hour, Matehy and Cloghroe and we decided it safer to drop the tractors back to base then, but i heard it went on to tower after before heading back to Dripsey:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 nascon

HI,
    I bought Fiat 780DT 4WD I am looking for body panels as it is very rust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 JMAC84

Hey we have a 780dt 4wd at home, and its rusted badly, I was wondering if anyother cabs would fit it from the 90 range or anything?