Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for a bit of advice!

• 15-03-2010 2:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41

Hi fella's,

So i'v got this big hot date lined up and im going round to his for dinner and drinks. The thing is, i don't want to go empty handed and i don't know what to bring on the night! Id like to give him a little gift as a gesture of my appreciation of him cooking and preparing and stuff.... any ideas, help!!
    I'm mad about this guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

ballygowan wrote: »
    Hi fella's,

So i'v got this big hot date lined up and im going round to his for dinner and drinks. The thing is, i don't want to go empty handed and i don't know what to bring on the night! Id like to give him a little gift as a gesture of my appreciation of him cooking and preparing and stuff.... any ideas, help!!
    I'm mad about this guy!

Dont tell him you're mad about him if its your first date. Wine is always nice with dinner on a special occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭BennyBlanko

Give him a Blow Job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 ballygowan

he said that since he invited me that he'd get the drinks in so do i just bring some anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Give him a Blow Job.

Steak and BJ day was yesterday :)

Do you know what he drinks? a bottle of that or just one bottle of wine for both of ye will do, if hes putting in this much effort he'll probably have all this sorted anyway, just relax!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

he said that since he invited me that he'd get the drinks in so do i just bring some anyway?

Hard to say then. It's hard turning up empty handed alright. You could bring along some good quality coffee for after dinner. I'd be well impressed if I invited a lady for a date and she showed up with good coffee for after. :) I am a certified addict though.

Good luck. Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Maybe a little dessert if he hasn't one planned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Maybe a little desert if he hasn't one planned.

he's making dinner ...so you provide the desert !!

Given he's offered dinner ...me thinks he like you too .... whit whoooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Okay, we expect a higher standard of input here than some posters have given. If you can only offer smartarsed answer then there are other forums for that, this isn't one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 ballygowan

thanks for all your replies so far! they're really helping! I dont think he drinks coffee so i wouldn't chance turning up with a bag of beans ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Same thing you'd expect him to bring, bottle of wine and/or flowers.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    and/or flowers.

Negatory on the flowers.

Khannie wrote: »
    Negatory on the flowers.

TBH I'd be impressed with a box of After 8s. Simple pleasures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 50euro

6 Pack of beer would impress me, bottles preferably. He wont be expecting anything so a small gesture is fine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Khannie wrote: »
    Negatory on the flowers.

why?
    They often finish of the table setting for the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

A nice box of chocolates would be my prefernce... wine is dodgy sometimes - do ya bring white or red, new world, merlot or cab sav?!!

Chocs does the trick!

why?

Well it depends on the type of guy of course but speaking for myself I'd think it a wee bit weird if a date brought me flowers, even if it was to set on the table. I think flowers should be left to the guy to set a romantic mood with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭john kinsella

If a lady turned up with a bottle of Jack Daniels and a bottle of coke i would be more than impressed with her.
    Maybe a few small glasses after dinner and hey presto... he is wrapped around your little finger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Jay Walker

To be honest if I invited a girl over for dinner I would not expect her to bring anything really. As posted before, if you really want to bring something, a bottle of wine would suffice. A definite NO on the flowers though...I personally would find getting flowers to be a bit weird. Just turn up, be yourself and have fun. Good luck! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Some form of small gadget, that takes hours to assemble but only has 1 specific use that the man may never encounter in his lifetime. Men love these.

why?

LOL. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

L31mr0d wrote: »
    Some form of small gadget, that takes hours to assemble but only has 1 specific use that the man may never encounter in his lifetime. Men love these.

Like a multi purpose home gym ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Bring a cool film to watch after dinner :):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

PCPhoto wrote: »
    he's making dinner ...so you provide the desert !!

Given he's offered dinner ...me thinks he like you too .... whit whoooooo
    Same thing you'd expect him to bring, bottle of wine and/or flowers.

I am going to say:

Wine
    Chocolate
    Flowers

Wine - something easy drinking like a Cab Sav - try and keep it under €12. You don't have to drink it that night, and it gives you the perfect opportunety to invite yourself back - 'you hang onto that bollte of wine, I am sure that we will enjoy it togther another evening'. :D

Chocolate - something simple like 'after eights', again nothing expensive.

Flowers - an 'ordinary' bunch of flowers - no roses or carnations. 'I stoped at the shop at the way over, and saw these - they are so prettly, I had to buy them' :D

Good luck.

I am not a romantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Tbh if you bring anything after being told not to it will be kudos, a semi-decent bottle of wine would seem very nice of you imo.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I'd be delighted if a girl showed up with a 6 pack of nice beer. Wine is grand but if he's making dinner he'll probably have some in already but might not have bothered to buy in beer. Chocolates to eat after dinner are good.

Definitely not flowers, most guys would find that weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

irish_goat wrote: »
    Definitely not flowers, most guys would find that weird.

How do you know what most guys would think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

I'd go with the JD and coke as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Beer

If a girl brought me beer I think I might have to swoon

(no flowers)

why?

Yeah, I'm afraid, I'm another 'no flowers' guy and I'm no 'Alpha male', I'm very in touch with my sensitive side.

If a woman brought me flowers I'd say 'Oh, thank you, they're lovely' and then think about how quickly I could put them in the compost bin. They have no meaning for me. Now if you brought me a couple of bottles of European beer, I'd be impressed!

However, on a practical note, even if he likes flowers, he may not have a vase...a lot of guys don't, so they could be wasted or he could be embarrassed by having to put them in a bucket or something.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

A couple or 4 bottles of nice (unusual) beer... bottle fermented... not expensive but not so simple to pick up either... so that it looks like you went out of your way even though it's only a token.

Right, I going to risk getting banned here but here goes.

I posted "give him a BJ" because i was honest. Not smartarsed, but honest (and was thanked aplenty showing I'm not alone in my thinking and i'm right) because at the end of the day, when dating its what both parties want deep down, some lovin.Why is the Moderation here being all prudish?
    We're all sensual animals with desires after all and we're programmed to procreate, so some kinda sexual gratification or thank you would to me demonstate the follwoing;

1) Thats you are really into this guy and you really like him.
    2) That you are very thankfull for a lovely evening
    3)That Coffee/special beers/after 8's can be had anytime when your married with kids etc, but a nice bit of mutually enjoyable sex will reel your man in quicker. Trust me on that.

Reel him in quick before he starts making romantic dinner dates for other women, who will reel him in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

if i was cooking a lady dinner which she would be extreamly priviliged cause....

some nice dark choclates , some good coffee that just be ground and a cafitar if i didnt have one which i do ..... would be all,.....
    all I like after my dinner is a good coffee and dark choclates.....
    and a cigerate...

bliss :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Right, I going to risk getting banned here but here goes.

I posted "give him a BJ" because i was honest. Not smartarsed, but honest (and was thanked aplenty showing I'm not alone in my thinking and i'm right) because at the end of the day, when dating its what both parties want deep down, some lovin.Why is the Moderation here being all prudish?
    We're all sensual animals with desires after all and we're programmed to procreate, so some kinda sexual gratification or thank you would to me demonstate the follwoing;

3)That Coffee/special beers/after 8's can be had anytime when your married with kids etc, but a nice bit of mutually enjoyable sex will reel your man in quicker. Trust me on that.

Reel him in quick before he starts making romantic dinner dates for other women, who will reel him in!

You can get some "lovin'" anywhere. Some people actually date because deep down what they want is simply just some companionship. If a guy ever expected "some kinda sexual gratification" as a thank you for making me dinner, I'd probably think, "Dodged a bullet there, Novella". You don't have to go around giving BJ's to show a guy that you're really into him, or that you're thankful. Oh, and married people can have sex just as easily as they can have After 8's.

Benny I'm not going to ban you for that but don't post on this thread again in relation to moderating decisions, if you have a problem with them take it to PM.

Now next time you feel like posting a remark like that, try qualifying it like you did just now, that way people can make a more informed judgement for themselves as to what they think about what you are saying.

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Benny I'm not going to ban you for that but don't post on this thread again in relation to moderating decisions, if you have a problem with them take it to PM.

Now next time you feel like posting a remark like that, try qualifying it like you did just now, that way people can make a more informed judgement for themselves as to what they think about what you are saying.

pm sent.

keane2097 wrote: »
    How do you know what most guys would think?

I think it's reasonable to say that a woman can have a good grasp on what men like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

The BJ suggestion, though welcome by most men is probably not what you wanted to hear.

The wine is not a bad suggestion but it really depends on what he's like as a cook. You might get beans on toast ni which case the wine is wasted (if you've splashed out on a good bottle). If he's a real foodie he'll have already chosen a wine for what he's cooking and your bottle might not suit the meal. Wine is a great gift IF you know the cook/chef.

Chocolate - well a bit twee really. Men arn't as big a chocolate fan as women. Some of us would be happier with a jar of olives or some good cheeses and coffee.

Flowers? Nice but not for most men. I'd be happy with them, I like flowers - but in all honesty I don't know any other men who would be happy. Oh they would make the right noises and be greatful but they would be thinking 'Weird'.

The gift I've always found to be a great 'ice-breaker' is music. Make a compilation of what you like and what you think he might like. It provides background to the night and for when those arkward silences fall the music is a conversation starter. Make your choices as wide ranging as possible just in case he's not a big JLS fan or hates jazz or thinks that Amy Winehouse is pants.

Second dates are for wine, chocolate and personal gratification. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

I posted "give him a BJ" because i was honest. Not smartarsed, but honest because at the end of the day, when dating its what both parties want deep down, some lovin.Why is the Moderation here being all prudish?

I wouldn't call the moderation prudish in this case. That comment is typical of After Hours and if the poster wanted feedback of that sort then they'd post it in AH.
    Sure everyone wants some lovin' but those with a bit of cop on don't make it blindingly obvious, with a hint of desperation. There is such a thing called subtlety.
    OP asked a valid question for guys, with your response & justification of it, it's like you'd expect her to show up and say "listen, cheers for cooking me dinner. I thought about bringing wine or dessert but I thought since you're a guy, you'd clearly prefer a bj instead".
    OldGoat wrote: »
    Chocolate - well a bit twee really. Men arn't as big a chocolate fan as women. Some of us would be happier with a jar of olives or some good cheeses and coffee.

Screw that, bring on the chocolates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Screw that, bring on the chocolates.
    Olives stuffed with marzipan and dipped in plain chocolate - with chilli.

Savoury FTW.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

Take things nice and easy, no need to go over board on fancy stuff, dress neat and the main meal can be in small portions so it well be finished with no left overs.
    Afters some nice cocs as every one else says and may be a bag off Marshmallows as you settle down on the sofa to watch the news!

I was right all along:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 tenfour

Bring a pair of marigolds to do the washing up that would impress any guy! At least it will make him laugh.:D

Right, I going to risk getting banned here but here goes - I am going to fix your post to what I would advise.

I posted wine, chocolates and flowers because i was honest. Not smartarsed, but honest (and was thanked only once :o showing I'm not alone in my thinking and I might be right) because at the end of the day, when dating its what both parties want deep down, some respect and appreciation, and a little bit of flirting.
    We're all emotional animals with feelings after all and we're programmed to 'want to be liked', so some kinda gift or thank you would to me demonstate the follwoing;

3) BJ's and drunken sex can be had anytime when your married with kids etc, but a nice bottle of wine, choclates, laughing at his jokes and some good flirting will reel your man in quicker. Trust me on that.

BennyBlanko - while I see where you are coming from, I disagree with you.

I am not a romantic.

P.C. wrote: »
    BennyBlanko - while I see where you are coming from, I disagree with you.

Foo shizzle, no problem, a healthy debates good, but no need to go violating my post ye of no romanticism;)

But, but, but

I had fun... :o

I will try not do it again - I promise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

A couple bottles of unusual beer. Far more original and interesting than wine IMO. That's if he likes beer, obviously.

Or maybe even a bottle of vodka (Russian Standard, or something decent) or some other spirit that you could share after dinner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

I can see your dilema here OP. You've been asked over for dinner and drinks so presumably he'll have a suitable beverage to accompany the dinner and then have some drinks in mind for after dinner.

What I'd recommend is that you bring a beer or wine that you particularly like yourself and just say "I didn't want to come with my arms hanging so I brought you this beer/wine/whatever. It's really good so I recommend you try it". Something simple like that. It's not just another bottle of wine or whatever; it's got a bit of a personal touch. It serves the dual purpose of you not feeling awkward turning up empty handed and telling him something about yourself, however small.

Hope this helps.