Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí alienating Public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

The neck!

Seizing a car belonging to the sister of an international affffleet?

What next, ministers resigning for interfering with a Garda investigation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

couldnt have said it better myself deadwood:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Clearly... From the article the woman is soooo distraught loike her mini got took off her in such a case where she couldn't be arsed using her job to pay a miserable 400 euro (give or take on 1.6 mini). No sympathy.
    Writing on the net is simply to cause a publicity stir and ironically pull a ryanair stunt increasing webtraffic.
    Who gives a fu*k. Woman didn't obey law and admitted crossing one of the busiest roads with out tax across the length of the country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭fuelinjection

Why oh why do certain people feel entitled to not pay tax or speeding fines ???

I know someone in the Gardai and the amount of "do you know who I am" and "no i was NOT speeding Guard!!!!" types he stops is incredible.
    Either these people are just very stupid or they are doing large amounts of high-grade drugs.

I reckon there are just a percentage of naturally ignorant types in the World and in their own minds, they can do no wrong. Fines and taxes are just for the little people in life, which of course they are not. As the world would stop turning if they died tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

from the same journalist..

"Partaking in the evening MA in Journalism at Independent College has been a rewarding challenge. It allowed me the opportunity to gain experience as a working journalist while at the same time teaching me the skills needed to become a capable one. The reputation of the College opened the doors for me in many of the national broadcasters such as RTE, Newstalk, and Today Fm. It gave me the confidence to pursue a career that I always aspired to.
    Marie Crowe, MA in Journalism 08/09"

and she still couldn't be orsed to tax the car!
    those pesky Gords, spoiling her day:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭fuelinjection

lehanemore wrote: »

OMG !!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I'm nearly sure that it says somewhere in the statutes that you're exempt from road tax if your bro is an athlete.....

He then drove off leaving us on the busy N7 dual carriageway complete with my brother's Irish team luggage and no transport to take us to the airport.

We walked to the Louis Fitzgerald hotel where the staff made some inquiries about the whereabouts of my car and helped organise lifts for us.

Now if I remember correctly if this is where she got stopped then there is a side road that runs along the triple carriage way at this section of road. More than safe enough for walking along. Speed limit is I think 60kph or 80kph at most.

Sour grapes in my opinion.

http://www.louisfitzgeraldhotel.com/map_directions.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭paraletic

More fine journalism from the irish indo.
    We walked to the Louis Fitzgerald hotel where the staff made some inquiries about the whereabouts of my car and helped organise lifts for us

i feel sorry for the hotel staff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

I can be quite understanding to individual gardai I meet who are in a bad mood, because I know they deal with morons like this on a daily basis. And then returning home to read the paper, and come across articles like this, written by spoilt, self righteous, D4-style prats.

As fun as it is to mock D4 heads, is she not from Clare?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

She had the idea - to see how many years she could get away with not paying and then in the unlikely chance that she might ever be stopped just say 'OMG, loike, I'll pay now and back tax, here's the money now, run along'
    and if she wasn't caught, could save herself lots of money. Oh how original!
    Unfortunately even being a member of the intellectual elite, she never considered the possibility that loike 'men in uniforms', peasants could have the effrontery to put her ladyship (she plays the female card as well in her article) on the side of the road. OMG I had to walk.
    Men in uniforms !

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

foreign wrote: »
    As fun as it is to mock D4 heads, is she not from Clare?

She's a D4 wannabe from Clare - Clare folk don't drive Mini Coopers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,312 ✭✭✭source

parsi wrote: »
    She's a D4 wannabe from Clare - Clare folk don't drive Mini Coopers...

She's probably from Ennis the buzzing metropolis that it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

lehanemore wrote: »
    from the same journalist..

[

And she is a Bogger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

Traumadoc wrote: »
    And she is a Bogger!

seen her pic on the sindo, i wouldn't be kicking her outta bed for not paying road tax:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,312 ✭✭✭source

Why would you kick her out of bed, just kick her off the road :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭james finn

if this lady was a man would it have made it to the paper,

she could pay her tax when caught but not before,

the guards only take your car if its way out of tax not after just a week or two,

we have also only heard only one side of the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Funny, I hear stories about peope travelling abroad. For one reason or another, they come to the attention of the local police for, what appear to us to be, trivial matters. Huge fines are doled out (that are literally paid on the spot), cars seized or people locked up in a dingy cell with little or no regard for human rights.

"Aha, you don't [EMAIL="f@#$"]f@#$[/EMAIL] with the Northern/British/French/Spanish/German/American cops - those boys don't mess about!"

A guard sticks to the letter of the law and it's a news story.

Still, I bet it never would have happened if her brother was playing in an intermediate county 3rd division GAA game.....next October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Zuppy

Having read the article, is it true that there is no set procedure to deal with the passengers when impounding a car? Seems like a bit of an oversight.

She had to have been told on the side of the road what was happening to her car. And especially how to get it back.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Just to let you all know that I have compiled all the posts that that were deleted into a separate thread here for you to continue the discussion that was off-topic from this journalist's article.

Use that new thread (with tallaght01 as the first poster) if you wish to comment in general about his experience, and use this thread (the one you're now reading) if you wish to comment about the journalist's experience.

Normal forum rules apply to both theads.

Thanks.