Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did I miss something?

• 14-03-2010 4:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭

So I looked at my facebook, on which I have a lot of my old friends from Canada and the States added. They keep going on about Daylight Savings Time and how they forgot to change their clocks. Is this a global thing, or a North American thing?

I should really know this by now, I've been here well over a year... :(

Have the yanks taken over Mullingar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Have the yanks taken over Mullingar?

Since when are Canadians yanks? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

It's basically just that daylight savings time happens at different times in different parts of the world.

Or is it that you don't understand day light savings at all?

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    It's basically just that daylight savings time happens at different times in different parts of the world.

Or is it that you don't understand day light savings at all?

Oh no, I understand it, I'm just not entirely sure when it happens this side of the pond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Its US Daylight Saving Time. When do we do it? Round the 25th or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,643 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Its a mostly upper northern hemisphere thing. However, some countries changed today, some change later (yes, stupid).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daylight_saving_time

Canada/US: 14th March 2am

Ireland/Europe: 29th March 1am

Edit:Was reading that wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Would you not consider googling it rather than going to the bother of creating a thread on boards?

This link my help you:

http://www.google.ie/#hl=en&source=hp&q=daylight+savings+time&meta=&aq=f&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=&fp=db09630e0a0f3d2a

syklops wrote: »
    Would you not consider googling it rather than going to the bother of creating a thread on boards?

This link my help you:

http://www.google.ie/#hl=en&source=hp&q=daylight+savings+time&meta=&aq=f&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=&fp=db09630e0a0f3d2a

Boards is my preferred search engine, but thanks anyway for the suggestion.

More than happy to help a woman on steak and BJ day. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

liah wrote: »
    So I looked at my facebook, on which I have a lot of my old friends from Canada and the States added. They keep going on about Daylight Savings Time and how they forgot to change their clocks. Is this a global thing, or a North American thing?

I should really know this by now, I've been here well over a year... :(

Link to your page or gtfo

Fago! wrote: »
    Link to your page or gtfo

Sig, shark.

I think I'm going to start calling people shark.

I'm not entirely sure why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I dont think you understand the concept of steak and BJ day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

This link my help you:

Google does not come with a post count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

This link my help you:

You can google party-pooper.
    Boards is my preferred search engine, but thanks anyway for the suggestion.

I agree, Google is just complete lies with ads. Everything on Boards is true. FACT!

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I agree, Google is just complete lies with ads. Everything on Boards is true. FACT!

Hank_Jones elected emperor of the world.

Fact indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Sig, shark.

Don't, that would be like when people call other people horse...makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

It does ;)

I like it when people call each other horse. :o

Provided they know they're being ironic. The ones who say it without a glint of humour are a bit.. weird.

In my sexperience people call each other horse in 2 situations, when they can't remember the real name and during pony play...it's cool with me durig pony play! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

On the same day as Mother's Day?

Ugh, that could cause some unfortunate mishaps!

In my sexperience people call each other horse in 2 situations, when they can't remember the real name and during pony play...it's cool with me durig pony play! :D

I suppose it's 'cuz I'm a foreigner, but I like it when people say things like "horse" or "head," or other country Irishisms. It reminds me of where I am, and I appreciate it a little more, I guess. I <3 boggers. I honestly do. Me and quaintness get along.

Still, I like it best when it's said with a bit of the ol' glint in the eye rather than in seriousness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Hank_Jones elected emperor of the world.

Fact indeed.
    "Emperor of the world in kid ****ing scandal":eek:

I suppose it's 'cuz I'm a foreigner, but I like it when people say things like "horse" or "head," or other country Irishisms. It reminds me of where I am, and I appreciate it a little more, I guess. I <3 boggers. I honestly do. Me and quaintness get along.

Still, I like it best when it's said with a bit of the ol' glint in the eye rather than in seriousness.

From now on you are beoir! :D (if we ever happen to be at the same beers that is! :D) Now THAT's an Irishism! :D

Why do I have a sinking feeling that's an insult :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

For god sake love dont use that word unless you really want to wreck heads

Why do I have a sinking feeling that's an insult :(

It's not, it's just slang (Munster more than anything) for girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

This link my help you:

who pissed on your cornflakes:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Be glad you don't live in (the US state of) Arizona, where they just don't do daylights savings time at all. Then you'd be really confused ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I don't abide by time, I am my own clock!
    Hmm, might explain why I'm outta work & on the Dole :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hey everybody, mothers day...steak&blowjob day and pi day, all at once, what a day!
    Sig, shark.

Somebody calls me shark, dunno why.
    Love the pages on your yoke(cool surname):
    'No i don't wanna dance; jus gimme the shift!!'

lmao!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Sig, shark.

My mate is called shark, probably due to it rhyming with Clarke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Sig, shark.

Coolest. Surname. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

cafecolour wrote: »
    Be glad you don't live in (the US state of) Arizona, where they just don't do daylights savings time at all. Then you'd be really confused ;)

That seems like it would save confusion. I hate daylight savings! Outdated and pointless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

bluto63 wrote: »
    That seems like it would save confusion. I hate daylight savings! Outdated and pointless
    Not really, it helps to make the most out of day light during both summer and winter. Its much simpler that changing everyone working hours twice a year. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

I know a guy who goes by the nickname "horse money"

Basically when we were younger and looking for funds to scrape together to get sweets and he says "right lads I only have "
    horse money

Cue us breaking our holes laughing and 15 years later he still has the nickname

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Do the powers that be not realise that the earth and the sun regulate this whole 'days get longer/days get shorter' thing all by themselves and that by fiddling with their clocks they're not actually saving anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Do the powers that be not realise that the earth and the sun regulate this whole 'days get longer/days get shorter' thing all by themselves and that by fiddling with their clocks they're not actually saving anything?
    You don't understand this at all.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Read the wiki page, theres a lot of strange benefits to using DST.

A couple years ago the US changed by law its DST hours for some energy saving malarky, but anyway, its wildly different depending on where you are. many states and countries dont adhere to it; and plenty more adhere to it differently.

Im just pissed because my alarm clock was made before the new law. I was in an hour early last week for no good reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

marko91 wrote: »
    who pissed on your cornflakes:pac:

I feckin love that expression. "Who pissed in your cornflakes". Brilliant. I remember seeing it used a while back and thought it was classic. Wonder who came up with it? Did someone actually piss in someones cornflakes as a practical joke? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

friendface wrote: »
    I feckin love that expression. "Who pissed in your cornflakes". Brilliant. I remember seeing it used a while back and thought it was classic. Wonder who came up with it? Did someone actually piss in someones cornflakes as a practical joke? :eek:

The real question is did he eat them afterwards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

friendface wrote: »

i know:pac:hmm gues its best if we didnt find out:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Oh no, I understand it, I'm just not entirely sure when it happens this side of the pond.

They eat swans and blame the Canadians for it !!

....an hour earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭LD 50

Steak and bj day on thecsame day as mothers day. Ewww