Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good news perhaps for those going on holiday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

I saw this today and the first thing I though was they're gonna have to bring down the tax on fag and booze now because this is gonna turn into one serious cottage industry otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Brilliant. I might take up smoking so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Am i the only person who doesn't buy in bulk abroad? It might be stupid of me, but if i take home a rake of cigarettes, i'll only smoke them pointlessly.

Girl i know came back from Portugal yesterday and took 1400 cigarettes home with her (7 x 200). She hasn't bought cigarettes in Ireland in years, because between herself and family members going away, she always has some duty free ones.

Fair play to her, she's saving money. But its just not something i do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Sweet im flying out to france tomorrow morning!!!

Any orders lads??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Any orders lads??

yes, i'll have a bit of carla bruni please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Wasnt this always the case? :confused:

We're in the EU so free movement of goods and services and all that.

The only limit that ever really applied to anyone was weight limits on baggage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Am i the only person who doesn't buy in bulk abroad? It might be stupid of me, but if i take home a rake of cigarettes, i'll only smoke them pointlessly.

Girl i know came back from Portugal yesterday and took 1400 cigarettes home with her (7 x 200). She hasn't bought cigarettes in Ireland in years, because between herself and family members going away, she always has some duty free ones.

Fair play to her, she's saving money. But its just not something i do.
    I'm the same as her. I usually get whoever in my family is going away to bring me back quite a few packs. I dont smoke more just cause i have them tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Ill be surprised if O'Leary doesn't cash in on this one advertising cheap cigarette return flights to Spain and Poland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

genericguy wrote: »
    yes, i'll have a bit of carla bruni please.

id like a cute frenchie hottie... with a massive set of... ear rings.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Ill be surprised if O'Leary doesn't cash in on this one advertising cheap cigarette return flights to Spain and Poland.

How many cigarette packets could you fit in ryanair's hand luggage allowance?
    2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I see only two drawbacks. Firstly, you can only bring back items for personal use, so legally you flog them. Secondly, the ****ing baggage handlers at Dublin Airport will only steal them anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Any orders lads??

5 million gitanes please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

samhail wrote: »
    id like a cute frenchie hottie... with a massive set of... ear rings.

not sure about where you'd get that, but if you hang around henry street long enough you'll find a fat irish burd with huge earrings, pyjamas, a pram and a shopping list for penneys childrens wear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Danny2009

TO NICE TO BE TRUE!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

I really wish everclear (or whatever the european equivalent is) was as readily available in touristy places as absinthe. I'd actually seriously consider stocking up on enough of it to cover my alcoholic needs for a whole year at a time. 5 litres of the stuff gives you the equivalent of 63 naggins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Danny2009 wrote: »
    TO NICE TO BE TRUE!;)
    except it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

vinylmesh wrote: »
    I really wish everclear (or whatever the european equivalent is) was as readily available in touristy places as absinthe. I'd actually seriously consider stocking up on enough of it to cover my alcoholic needs for a whole year at a time. 5 litres of the stuff gives you the equivalent of 63 naggins!

You may aswell just go the whole hog and save even more cash

http://www.springfields.co.uk/camping/cooking-and-eating/cookers-stoves-accessories/?id=1523

A thimble of everclear and coke..grand drink, I tried mixing in a shot or two and it was barely drinkable. Id say the closest thing you'll get to it here is Poitín.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

so will vrt go the same way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

yeah, cept the whole methanol making you blind thing :rolleyes:.
    A thimble of everclear and coke..grand drink, I tried mixing in a shot or two and it was barely drinkable. Id say the closest thing you'll get to it here is Poitín.

Yeah, I can see how someone could fuck up if they didn't drink a measured and calculated amount. 80mls in a 500ml bottle of lucozade sport should be fine though ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

that article is a bit vague.

i always thought the limit was 200 fags and 2 litres of booze or is that for duty free?? so once you buy them in say a spanish shop you can bring as much as you want back?

will customs at dublin take them off ya and then you have to prove theyre for ''personal use'' in some dragged out form of paperwork etc??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

ah they'll just find some other way of taxing ye anyway

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Danny2009 wrote: »
    TO NICE TO BE TRUE!;)

So that's why we voted yes to that treaty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

df1985 wrote: »
    i always thought the limit was 200 fags and 2 litres of booze or is that for duty free?? so once you buy them in say a spanish shop you can bring as much as you want back?

Once its inside the EU you can carry back as much stuff as you want. Outside the EU is when the limits apply. Its the same when you go up north - your technically in the UK - but can bring back as much as you want because we're both in the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Well I could imagine someone on a 60-a-day habit would fly through 800, so even if they were bringing them back for a month's personal use, that'd be what - 1800 ?

The same amount would do a "social" smoker for 6 months or more!

As for drink - same applies; an alcoholic or stereotypical Irish person would demolish a rake in a week or two, whereas most of us could bring home the same amount and say they were for the next 6 months, or for Christmas.

I tell ya, if this is true (rather than the usual restrictive signs at an airport) then you'd pay for your holiday ten times over!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭__________

Does this also mean you can buy cigarettes online from within the EU without any hassle ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭missmatty

This is mad. I was coming back from London in October and they had actually removed cigarettes from the duty free, they didn't have any. I thought they were having a laugh, but no, I was sickened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

How many cigarette packets could you fit in ryanair's hand luggage allowance?
    2?
    i happen to know the answer to that one, its 12 cartons easy and you can buy them in barcelona for 36euro for 200 at the moment

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I was being facetious but it's still good to know.