Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Entry costs

• 11-03-2010 10:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47

Does anyone else think that €65 is excessive for a Sprint distance triathlon? I was about the enter the Slane Castle sprint but did a double take when I saw the price..:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

yes, I have still to look at what I will enter this year but with prices like that it might be a quite season :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭Bambaata

its ridiculous. Id urge you to email them voicing your feelings. I did so yesterday. I hope this isn't a sign of things to come from Alive Outside as ill be boycotting their events if it is so and ill be urging as many of my friends to do so too (already three have also commented on this!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Bet you still enter in the end.

People whinging but still entering is why the rip off merchant, sh!te races still keep goin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭griffin100

People whinging but still entering is why the rip off merchant, sh!te races still keep goin smile.gif

There are a lot of races on this years TI calander, some of which are charging silly money. I'll bet that a lot of races will struggle to fill this year.

This sprint tri is much better value at €30 :)

http://racing795.com/tri795/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

griffin100 wrote: »

This sprint tri is much better value at €30 :)

http://racing795.com/tri795/

Price is right but it is a pool based swim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭cantswim

No need for sprint race to be that expensive except where there are profits to be made. Fair play to them if they can get people to do it. Only answer is just not sign up and the prices won't be long coming down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Jupiter36

tunney wrote: »

People whinging but still entering is why the rip off merchant, sh!te races still keep goin :)

I definitely won't be entering. I emailed the organiser yesterday to complain about the price but they have not responded yet. As someone else pointed out, there are plenty of alternatives. Its disappointing:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭onimpulse

Don't think there's much point emailing them - won't do any harm but the only way prices will come down to a reasonable level is if people aren't prepared to pay crazy prices - but somehow I've a feeling it'll fill up anyway.

At the end of the day alive outside make no bones about the fact that they are not a club & therefore are in it for the money. To them it's a business & if people are willing to pay they've hit the right price point.

I won't be paying it tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭too much trifle

arran mor triathlon, donegal, entry fee €65 and its not even sprint distance.
    750 swim, 10.9k bike:confused:, 5k run and you still have to pay the ferry to get out there,
    :) strangely enough, the tri is sponsored by the ferry company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I wonder what the position would be on a "name and shame" thread, showing teh worst value and most expensive run / tri events in teh country. We could do it in parallel with a "Best Value" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭tinydave

Best value has to be "velvet Strand triathlon"
    25 yo yo's:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

I wonder what the position would be on a "name and shame" thread, showing teh worst value and most expensive run / tri events in teh country. We could do it in parallel with a "Best Value" thread

That would be interesting. Could show the event category in a separate column... Tri, 10k, Half Mar, Marathon..

Figure the imra events will take some beating. With one exception all events are 7 quid and they range from 5k up to 25k. The exception is the wicklow way trail where bus costs and stuff needed to be factored in. I did more than 30 imra races last year for a total of c. 220 quid. Thats value!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

tinydave wrote: »
    Best value has to be "velvet Strand triathlon"
    25 yo yo's:D

Lowest entry cost should not be confused with best value. Likewise a high entry cost does not mean poor value. (however historically in Ireland high cost events have not justified the cost)

that would be a good idea. might be worth having some sort of comment on peoples feeling after the event too, should they feel the event went so far beyond other events and made the cost worthwhile but to me 65 is far too much even for the best sprint distance race in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Figure the imra events will take some beating. With one exception all events are 7 quid

+ 1 By far the best value IMO.

Coming in a close second are the BHAA races @ €10 for members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 wally101

65 euro is way too expensive for a sprint triathlon. The problem is that people will pay the entry fee even when there are alternative races on the same weekend.
    Lough allen tri only 30 for super sprint, 35euro for olympic..ish distance. Liam Ball 32 euro (pool swim)
    Rosses point tri in Sligo good value also at 40 for individual and even better for team (60 euro). The latter not on until July BH tho.

Too many corporate tris out there already!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Huff n Puff

I totally agree that the entry price for that race is far too high. If it was a club benefiting from holding the race then I would consider doing it (before deciding against it!)

I try not to support the races that I believe are not run as they should be e.g. I am avoiding triAthlone this year and I try to support races that are organised well e.g. Kilkee

I have tried to work out the costings involved with running a sprint triathlon. Feel free to disagree. These are from my own experience but prices would obviously vary greatly from race to race. I calculated the total cost for the event and divided by the number of triathletes competing (250).
    • Timing Chips - €7
    • Goodie Bag - €8
    • Prize Money - €7
    • Pool Rental - €4
    • Barrier and Equipment Hire - €2
    • Medical - €1
    • Water, Food - €0.5 most is either sponsored or given by club members
    • TI fees - €0.50
    • Active Europe Processing Fee - €3.60
    • Race Numbers & Pins - €1
    • Barbecue - €0.50
    The combined cost per triathlete - €35.10

Getting sponsors in would obviously greatly reduce the costs involved but finding race sponsors seems to get harder every year for some races. The cost also comes down significantly if you can cater for more triathletes.

A club hosting the above type of sprint triathlon in my opinion can be justified in charging up to €40 per person. From events that I have been involved in organising we roughly come out with profits of between €1000 - €2000. This is used to subsidise club activites for the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Alive Outside

Hi there, many thanks for all your comments on the race.Just to reiterate the price includes a full plate of food from the pig on a spit buffet plus live entertainment after the race. There are of course costs associated with the hiring of a venue like Slane Castle. There are over 200 people registered for the race to date. We do appreciate that the price is higher than a normal sprint tri price but not all races offer a free plate of hot food and live entertainment after the race. Hope to see you on the 29th!

Regards

Alive Outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Have to say guys this tri in particular is different to your usual tri's as far as i see it. This is more about the full day experience and the craic afterwards rather than rushing away after the race. I imagine it'd be similar to their tag blitzes where the day is all about the social aspect as much as the taking part. Maybe it's not for all but at least it's a different offering to the normal stuff.
    Personally, I get fairly pissed off when I pay €60 or €70 for a marathon and there is no decent way to party & celebrate afterwards. Last year's Achill HM was about €60 but was well worth it because the atmosphere that evening was superb...a real festival feeling. Compare that to cheaper races and I'm glad it's there as an option, just like this Tri.
    ...but I just hope not all the races/tri's revert to this price point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

I know this is a tri related matter but did the Larne Half Marathon last Saturday. £15 with a t-shirt, chip timing, well organised, friendly and helpful people, plenty food, tea, coffee, lockers, showers, massage tables etc.

Spoke to two guys afterwards from the north who couldn't believe that people pay over the odds for races down here. I have to say, they do have a point after the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

chinguetti wrote: »
    I know this is a tri related matter but did the Larne Half Marathon last Saturday. £15 with a t-shirt, chip timing, well organised, friendly and helpful people, plenty food, tea, coffee, lockers, showers, massage tables etc.

Spoke to two guys afterwards from the north who couldn't believe that people pay over the odds for races down here. I have to say, they do have a point after the weekend.

I was just about to write this exact post. Did this event as well and I couldn't believe how cheap it was, the organization was impecible as well.

Amazing value. I'd love to know if Larne AC actually make any money off this event. I can't see how they could, it must be subsidised heavily by their main sponsor or local council. I've ran other races north of the border in the past and this sort of value is the norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ladytri

I totally agree that the entry price for that race is far too high. If it was a club benefiting from holding the race then I would consider doing it (before deciding against it!)

I try not to support the races that I believe are not run as they should be e.g. I am avoiding triAthlone this year and I try to support races that are organised well e.g. Kilkee

I have tried to work out the costings involved with running a sprint triathlon. Feel free to disagree. These are from my own experience but prices would obviously vary greatly from race to race. I calculated the total cost for the event and divided by the number of triathletes competing (250).
    • Timing Chips - €7
    • Goodie Bag - €8
    • Prize Money - €7
    • Pool Rental - €4
    • Barrier and Equipment Hire - €2
    • Medical - €1
    • Water, Food - €0.5 most is either sponsored or given by club members
    • TI fees - €0.50
    • Active Europe Processing Fee - €3.60
    • Race Numbers & Pins - €1
    • Barbecue - €0.50
    The combined cost per triathlete - €35.10

Getting sponsors in would obviously greatly reduce the costs involved but finding race sponsors seems to get harder every year for some races. The cost also comes down significantly if you can cater for more triathletes.

A club hosting the above type of sprint triathlon in my opinion can be justified in charging up to €40 per person. From events that I have been involved in organising we roughly come out with profits of between €1000 - €2000. This is used to subsidise club activites for the year.

Out of a €50 entry, our club pay €10 a head for a meal after the race and €13-€15 for a technical t-shirt... your other estimates aren't too far off the mark though. The club had a couple of quid left over last year so bought team trisuits for all the members of the club, most of whom had volunteered and given up their summers to help organise and marshal the race.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I was just about to write this exact post. Did this event as well and I couldn't believe how cheap it was, the organization was impecible as well.

Amazing value. I'd love to know if Larne AC actually make any money off this event. I can't see how they could, it must be subsidised heavily by their main sponsor or local council. I've ran other races north of the border in the past and this sort of value is the norm.

I'd be interested to see what the charges are in the republic compared to up north for things like road closures, police escorts(I assume you have to pay for these) I bet it's more expensive down here...

Though Dunshauglin can put together a 10k for €12 with a great goody bag, good prizes, good t-shirt, lots of food and goodies afterwards, while others charge twice that with rubbish prizes and rubbish in their 'goody bag'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Le cheile 5km was great value (think it was €15) with tea and lovely cakes after
    Bohermeen 5km took the biscuit completely though, again think it was €15 with free barbeque, tea, cakes, beer, dj and little finishline memento

€15 for a 5k, are you mad:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

€15 for a 5k, are you mad:eek:

It was a tenner and you could eat your own weight in food afterwards. Jones-counter measured etc. I'm a member of the club so I'm biased but there's a thread in the events sub-forum and it was all positive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

It was a tenner and you could eat your own weight in food afterwards. Jones-counter measured etc. I'm a member of the club so I'm biased but there's a thread in the events sub-forum and it was all positive!

You are correct it was a tenner indeed and it was a great deal- both the events I name checked were a tenner if I now remember correctly. good fast courses, well organised, great atmosphere and fantastic grub after!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

It was a tenner and you could eat your own weight in food afterwards

roll on next year:D.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭locteau

Hi Guys,

a quick jump in the thread if you don't mind. The 25.5 Triathlon series cost €35 per head and I lost money this year again.

Life guard, kayaks, boat rescue : €500
    Swim caps (silicone) €3.5 per head
    Ambulance : €150
    Donation to local clubs for marshaling : €500
    water : €0.19 per head
    tea / coffee, sandwiches after the race €???
    Goodie bags when possible (not always sponsored) €??
    Advertising :
    admin : markers, entry forms, printing

Equipent investment :
    Signage (€6 per sign X60), cones (€7x60), swim buoys (€45x8), Bike racks (paid €1000 for 250), Trailers X2 (€1500 each), Sounds system with microphone €120, starter horn, yellow bib marshall (£0.99x35), radio for marshall leaders (€40 per set of 2 X 3) laptop (€500) ropes (€25), fencing mesh (€40) + pols for transition (6x€18) etc......

Non TI race have their own insurance €400 depending on events

There is lots of stuff involve in a race, and prices are different if you are a club or a personal venture such has sometimes the garda have to be paid for off duty work, then staff, storage etc....

I do feel things are expensive too and can't afford to race much myself, but it does cost lots of money and time to organise an event. I published in the past the cost of my own event and the above list is from the top of my head from paying the bills recently.

If you consider that I got 130 people in my last race, there is not much left over :rolleyes: and try to value how much you would like consider to be fair as expenses or paid for the amount of work involved and the responsabilities going with it.

I don't believe races try to rip off people, from my side it is really hard work, very little sleep, lots of stress and very little gratitude in general, because people just think : participant X fee = profit

But it's not the case (for me anyway).

My final point is that I removed the Tshirts to make the race cheaper, then people tells you they want a Tshirt. (cost about €6) and when the race is cheaper people thinks it is weird so don't sign up for it. so you can't really win.

The fact is that the most expensive events are the most popular, but this is a personal point of view. Hope this help to make your mind.

locteau, if your losing money you have my sympathy, from what i hear you run great events if that is any consolation,
    €35 is a reasonable price for a tri imho. as for goodie bags, if your racing reguarly its not long before all the sample bags of 'whatever' just end up in the bottom of kit bags.
    the same with t.shirts, although they are nice to get, may be on application people should be given the option to pay extra for them, resulting in cheaper entry fees,
    this year i have so far, i have registered for 8 sprint & olympic tris,
    + duathlons, 5k's etc. not an unusual amount i would have thought for someone with our lifestyle,
    the tris alone have cost over €400,
    when you add b&b's etc, i dont want work out what it costs over a year, but this is how i choose to spend my money/time, but if €5-10 could be saved on t.shirts goodie bags & alike it certainly would not take the enjoyment out of a well organisied event & good competition

Goodie bags are always a nice treat but yeah theres only so many t-shirts one can wear! If i had a choice between a 35/40 entry without a t-shirt rather than 50 with id go without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭onimpulse

The Fingal sprint - run by 3d tri used to give an option of paying extra for a t-shirt... great idea in my opinion! Beginners who it means something to can still get their t-shirt but the rest of us save some money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭Ceepo

+ 1 on the t-shirts only so many you can wear,
    Carrick tri , gave Towel's last year which is something different and this
    year the gave a light rain jacket. didn't need it yesterday thank god, but today got a bit of value from it, and Entry fee was still only e35.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭locteau

Some good idea here. Remember sponsorship is a big help for goodie bag, but it is more and more difficult, especially when you are not a local clubs and a commercial event.

Small companies like me, don't have more resources than clubs, including marketing and local shops etc....

I like the idea where you can select on the entry form : T-shirt (yes no) + fee
    etc....

so what people would like to see is an entry with different options with price increase or decrease ? I am correct ?

you got it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭shg101

locteau wrote: »
    Some good idea here. Remember sponsorship is a big help for goodie bag, but it is more and more difficult, especially when you are not a local clubs and a commercial event.

Small companies like me, don't have more resources than clubs, including marketing and local shops etc....

I like the idea where you can select on the entry form : T-shirt (yes no) + fee
    etc....

so what people would like to see is an entry with different options with price increase or decrease ? I am correct ?

The Tri3 guys sent an email the other day about seeing did we want to bring our own swim hats, to save the environment. From your figures, that saves a few quid for them. Some other tris ask you to bring your own hat also.

The only food I have used before is the chicken curry immediately after the TriAthy. For others where the food is not immediately available there and then, I'm usually driving home to or with the wife and kids.

Personally, I would like the option of a bare bones 'Ryanair' tri: €35 for the tri, going up to €45 or whatever if you take the t-shirt, food, goodie bag etc. I do like the good T-shirts - this year's TriAthy, Joey Hannon, HOTW were all high quality and I would definitely shell out a few quid for them. I'd gladly take a €10-15 reduction in the price for no goodie bag, no food and no swim hat.