Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mbox 2 a sound card??

• 11-03-2010 3:57pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭

hows it goin im just wondering if the mbox2 is a sound card because i would like to play live with my pro tools and use my virtual synth from the software and was just wondering if it was just before i look into buying a soundcard. i dj aswell so it benifit in both ways

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Obi-Jim

Yes it is a soundcard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

so what input or connection on the mbox would i send to the mixer/p.a ?? mon out (left/right) ??

ccheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Obi-Jim

ah, you haven't done this before?

yea, you would do that.

Why are you choosing pro tools for this? just out of interest? It's a great program, i use it, it would work and i'm sure it'd be grand, but i'm not sure it's the perfect choice for playing synths live. Ableton Live is designed a bit more for that kind of use, DJing a bit too.

Obi-Jim wrote: »
    ah, you haven't done this before?

yea, you would do that.

Why are you choosing pro tools for this? just out of interest? It's a great program, i use it, it would work and i'm sure it'd be grand, but i'm not sure it's the perfect choice for playing synths live. Ableton Live is designed a bit more for that kind of use, DJing a bit too.

ok kool know im just using boards just make sure and get a second opinion i do it alot

em iv always been interested in pro tools and its has always been recomended to me by retails and expeirienced people sayin to get purchase it i had ableton before but i just couldnt use it it was wreckin my head but with pro tools i used my m8s and i just seemed to work with it. i know what you mean about live use i know ableton would be the better choice but i juts got pro tools.i write diferent music (to many types to be honest) but mostly write score's/film soundtracks that kind of stuff and i play alot of electronic music like postal service and stuff like that so it just seemed like the better choice i dj aswell and i use traktor pro with a midi controller so i jus didn want to get into ableton really

how come you ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Paolo_M

A V A wrote: »
    so what input or connection on the mbox would i send to the mixer/p.a ?? mon out (left/right) ??

ccheers

I've a MacBook Pro, MBox 2 and a pair of HS80s set up like this.
    Makes for a hell of a stereo system if nothing else.

I also use this set up with the Eleven Free in ProTools LE for home guitar practise, as the tones this way are better than using my Marshall stack at bedroom volumes, so you could definitely do what you're talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Pro Tools is grand, it's a nice easy learning curve. But the M-Box isn't great and better value can be had. M-Audio also supply a kit that will work with Protools LE. Pro Tools LE isn't particularly useful for film when compaired to PT HD and the other workstations.

It depends on what platform you are using.
    For Mac I'd go for Logic for a PC get Reaper either way you should look at RME cards before you shell out.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

studiorat wrote: »
    Pro Tools is grand, it's a nice easy learning curve. But the M-Box isn't great and better value can be had. M-Audio also supply a kit that will work with Protools LE. Pro Tools LE isn't particularly useful for film when compaired to PT HD and the other workstations.

It depends on what platform you are using.
    For Mac I'd go for Logic for a PC get Reaper either way you should look at RME cards before you shell out.

Reaper is pretty cool and AMAZING for the price but not my fave for PCs.... And I also like RME, but then again, many many companies make excellent stuff... Hugely impressed with the quality of my TCE K8... Not expensive, but awesome!

And yes, I've used a lot of things.

So look around and try various brands... Some excellent deals out there.

cheers for getting back lads

ye pro tools is a good learning curve alryt and i knew the mbox wasn goin to be the best of quality but it was good enough to do the job i needed with the money i had witch i was greatfull for lol em well iv only started doing the scoring kind of things in last 4-5 months and i use a separte screen or what ever of i jus settin my stuff up in the livin room n jus use the tele and stuffim saving up for good gear that will help me with my scoring. . .any body got any suggestions?? as in the OP i wana use the mbox as a sound card but i was talkin to my friend and he said that youl have to find out a way of gettin both mixes from traktor rather than just the one thats playing .. does that make sense, he also said if you plug your head phones in to the mbox you wont get both soungs that you want to use either side of you mixer youll just get one and thats the one thats selected to play

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Jabel

cheers for getting back lads

ye pro tools is a good learning curve alryt and i knew the mbox wasn goin to be the best of quality but it was good enough to do the job i needed with the money i had witch i was greatfull for lol em well iv only started doing the scoring kind of things in last 4-5 months and i use a separte screen or what ever of i jus settin my stuff up in the livin room n jus use the tele and stuffim saving up for good gear that will help me with my scoring. . .any body got any suggestions?? as in the OP i wana use the mbox as a sound card but i was talkin to my friend and he said that youl have to find out a way of gettin both mixes from traktor rather than just the one thats playing .. does that make sense, he also said if you plug your head phones in to the mbox you wont get both soungs that you want to use either side of you mixer youll just get one and thats the one thats selected to play

cheers

OMG this is text talk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭madtheory

Hi, welcome to the forum AVA. Use whatever program is right for you. I've done a few films with the same Pro Tools software as you, and it works. If you were to get in to serious editing and post production stuff it's not good, I think that's what studiorat meant. But for composing it is fine. It has its failings but every program does. Some folk prefer Logic or Cubase or whatever for composing. Each to his own!

PS can you please type normally? It's very hard to read your posts because you don't have any punctuation, and you use txt abbreviations. Not a criticism of you, just that it will just make things easier for us!

yes sorry i will type properly i'm just use to writing like that everyday
    i just didnt like the way jabel just said omg thats text speak didnt leave a comment about the OP thanks madtheory think people listen to the way you say it and not when people just criticize my owl learnig disoder kicking in when i put my sentences backwards or i leave letters out, i get fustrated writing and typing so thats why i wrote in text . . sorry man

ye think maybe later down the line ill get the more serious programs for composing and i do think it really is just based your own personal preference on what recording software any person wants to o use you know sure pro rools is doing ok for me now so its all good

just confused on how to use the head phones with the mbox for dj'ing with traktor maybe ill post in the dj'ing thread lol

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭madtheory

You're welcome AVA. I actually can't remember how the M Box handles headphone and monitor outputs, but I do remember that it can be confusing sometimes. If I recall rightly, the manual actually has a very good clear and straightforward explanation.
    i just didnt like the way jabel just said omg thats text speak didnt leave a comment about the OP
    FWIW neither did I. But in fairness, we do get some trolling around here, and it is a Friday after all, so I think jabel was just being wary :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Jabel

Sorry if I offended you AVA, was not my intention,
    Text speak is a real bugbear of mine, my kids use it all the time
    and it drives me nuts!
    Forgive an old(ish) fart
    Cheers
    J

yes iv been looking through the manuals and they are pretty straight forward to be honest they cant get any more easy to understand but there is a few things that are not put in clear context ha ha

ill just keep trying,the best thing with pro tools is everytime you use it you learn how to do something new with it . . .well thats what seems to happen to me :S

jabel thanks :) i mean that , there are people out here that just say things and it does bother people and its only a social/networking site you know ha

and im 19 so thats probly why i use it so often lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

the tele and stuffim saving up for good gear that will help me with my scoring. . .any body got any suggestions??

cheers

Muse Score : http://musescore.org/ Similar to Sibelus and a piece of piss to use.

Lily Pond : http://lilypond.org/ Have not used it...

And they are both FREE so you don't have to save up at all!!!

Actually forget Lily Pond it's text based except for Linux. Unless you want to go back to that 80's vibe.

cheers for that man :):)