Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Betting in the bookies...

• 11-03-2010 10:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭

Here is a question.

A few times I have put on bets in bookies that were over 500 quid or around that mark. the girl behind the counter rings someone to "OK" the bet. What exactly happens during this call.

I've listened in twice to the call and it seems like both times the girl got asked a question at the start of the call to which she replied "No". Now, it was my first time in the shop at that point in both cases, so maybe she was being asked if I've ever been there before?

Just wondering what goes on during these calls?

Also, what would happen if I walked into a bookies with 5k and wanted to throw it on an evens shot. Would they take it? Just wondering again. Cheers.

"IS he a traveller?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

I think they do ask is he a regular etc. Have they got enough cash on the premises to cover the winnings? If not,have they enough cash to place the same bet in another bookies and cover themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

paraguay99 wrote: »
    Also, what would happen if I walked into a bookies with 5k and wanted to throw it on an evens shot. Would they take it? Just wondering again. Cheers.

Lol at this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Cash to cover the potential winnings would be my guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Ballyhaunis

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    "IS he a traveller?"

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭raheny red

Gillington wrote: »
    I think they do ask is he a regular etc.

Correct!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

Just checking if you are a regular like the above say. Sometimes they actually describe your appearance over the phone!!

The bookies couldnt care less if they have the money on the premises to cover the bet. They'll take it anyway.

I remember a good few years ago, the whole pub got a very good tip. (The trainer of the pub used to drink there reguraly) He had a horse goin that was priced up at 8's. Well the whole pub hammered him in the one bookies! Horse pissed in but the bookies could only pay out the first few lads. Bookies had to start writing cheques and then tell the rest to come back next week to collect their returns.

We all had a great one that night! Anyway, even though the bookies didnt have a penny after us that day, they still took bets on the rest of the days racing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

Just checking if you are a regular like the above say. Sometimes they actually describe your appearance over the phone!!

The bookies couldnt care less if they have the money on the premises to cover the bet. They'll take it anyway.

I remember a good few years ago, the whole pub got a very good tip. (The trainer of the pub used to drink there reguraly) He had a horse goin that was priced up at 8's. Well the whole pub hammered him in the one bookies! Horse pissed in but the bookies could only pay out the first few lads. Bookies had to start writing cheques and then tell the rest to come back next week to collect their returns.

We all had a great one that night! Anyway, even though the bookies didnt have a penny after us that day, they still took bets on the rest of the days racing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭paraguay99

why do they want to know if I am a regular??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭paraguay99

cson wrote: »
    Lol at this.

I was serious abuot this question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭fuelinjection

Anyone who thinks the bookie gets hurt is an idiot.

I was at this wedding 15 years ago and a load of lads from Paddy Power were there. Big money, big houses, big cars and they were laughing at ye lads - and I have to say I bet on some horses myself over the years.
    But it was then I realised then that Bookies ALWAYS walk away with money, forget about your twice a year dream bet ... they dont care ... they laugh at ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

I was at this wedding 15 years ago and a load of lads from Paddy Power were there. Big money, big houses, big cars and they were laughing at ye lads - and I have to say I bet on some horses myself over the years.
    But it was then I realised then that Bookies ALWAYS walk away with money, forget about your twice a year dream bet ... they dont care ... they laugh at ye.

so what ,i don't care if they laugh at me,i enjoy gambling,and i also understand that they're a business(an irish one)and they're in it to make profit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 pimpmyace

was the pub the name of the horse or did he train pubs and have a few horses:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Every bet over 400 needs approval and all shops monitor customers. start of day we used to get bets to watch. and 5k unless you were a regular no hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭fuelinjection

heavyballs wrote: »
    so what ,i don't care if they laugh at me,i enjoy gambling,and i also understand that they're a business(an irish one)and they're in it to make profit

okay thats grand you are laughing at them and you have bigger brains... yeah yeah :rolleyes:

but they have bigger bank accounts and stupid amounts of cash. Come on lads you can enjoy racing and soccer without feeding these leeches.
    Paddy Power and his mates are knackers living off the sweat of decent workers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭radharc

You wouldn't have any trouble getting 5k on grade A premiership and champions league and probably on an odds on shot in a big meeting, regular or not.

They wanted to know whether you're a regular because the shop will have notes on all of their big mug / shrewd punters.

I was at this wedding 15 years ago and a load of lads from Paddy Power were there. Big money, big houses, big cars and they were laughing at ye lads

It must have been the board of directors you met because it wasn't the traders anyway lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭raheny red

radharc wrote: »
    You wouldn't have any trouble getting 5k on grade A premiership and champions league and probably on an odds on shot in a big meeting, regular or not.

The majority of the time you would, in shop or online!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Paddy Power and his mates are knackers living off the sweat of decent workers

Reported and way out of order. I have family in the betting industry and I'd abhorr such derogatory comments about people trying to make a living. By the same rationale; are Diageo to labelled the same for living off the sweat of decent workers?

raheny red wrote: »
    The majority of the time you would, in shop or online!

I should have probably been more specific, but you'd have no problem getting 5k on a top notch premiership or c league match with Powers or any of the Big 3 (in their english shops). They take huge amounts on these matches and the lines are so strong they're not going to fear a 5k bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

Sorry, I meant to say the trainer of the horse used to drink there regularly! Not the trainer of the pub. Ha!