Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grey Crows Chasing Rabbits

• 11-03-2010 8:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭

I was eating the breakfast this morning looking out the window down the field at the back of the house and theres 2 rabbits there the last few months. there was grey crows hanging around and a few magpies and all of a sudden the grey took off after the rabbit and the rabbit had to head for the ditch. it was like a greyhound after the rabbit twisting and turning. Would this be ''playing'' or was the crow hunting the rabbit?? Never seen this before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

once saw two magpies take a young rabbit before. it might have had mixy though but they deffo swooped and pecked like fcuk till it gave up.

used to feed the dog in the mornings years back and the magpies would land down on the yard and run letting the dog chase them while the others would gulp as much food as possible. started to feed them at night after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

the grey crow is a fierce predator ,they will catch and kill and small mammal or bird.
    they have been seen trying to kill a mature partridge .

never miss the opportunity to plug one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Does anyone else get the weird smell from dead greys ? To me it must be the smell of death :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Does anyone else get the weird smell from dead greys ? To me it must be the smell of death :o

They absolutely stink!

My catching rate has shot up in the past fortnight, they're getting proper territorial now, which is good for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

thanks lads, i was thinking it was preditory alright. il get out saturday morning and as john says ''Plug em'':D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

jwshooter wrote: »
    the grey crow is a fierce predator ,they will catch and kill and small mammal or bird.
    they have been seen trying to kill a mature partridge .

never miss the opportunity to plug one.

You bet, Compliments of 17HMR:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

You bet, Compliments of 17HMR:D

My your rabbits breed in peace!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Have also seen aload of stirling's attack a magpie when he tried to eat there injured comrade on the road :eek: and a normal crow chase a hare... The things ya see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

elius wrote: »
    Have also seen aload of stirling's attack a magpie when he tried to eat there injured comrade on the road :eek: and a normal grow chase a hare... The things ya see.

These are the things non hunting folks can't understand & will never understand without opening their minds. :rolleyes:
    It's what you see when interested & out & about in nature that is 90% of the enjoyment for me...

These are the things non hunting folks can't understand & will never understand without opening their minds. :rolleyes:
    It's what you see when interested & out & about in nature that is 90% of the enjoyment for me...

Agreed lad thats the enjoyment of it. Even today on the way to navan from trim there was a buzzard just sitting on the fence at the side of the road. A wonderfull sight and one of those moment when you wished you had a top class camera. Even out walking the dog today she flushed a lovely cock and if truth be known i get more plessure watching the dog work than shooting the bird itself. Thats have the problem these days people dont get to see nature at its best..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

That's the essence of it. Imagine you didn't hunt, how little you'd see.

My misses can never understand how i spot wildlife. Often driving down the road and spot kestrel, Buzzards ducks etc. Always get how can you see them. Even whilst walking today it took 10 mins to point out a couple of rabbits only 100 yards away:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Elius, you said it mate. Was in the car with a work bud (non hunting folk) the other day. Passed big open field & a good 200 yards out in the middle of it there was a fine cock pheasant picking away!
    Sure straight away I said it & he says "Where, where? - I can't see him - your talking through yous a*s!"
    Well if he did anyway I stopped the car reversed back & had to point him out with the old, see that big tree yonder, well see the clump of rushes to the left of it etc etc etc speel!

Then I got " Jaysus there he is, aren't they lovely! How'd you see him followed ignorantly enough by, ah how'd you shoot em!?" :eek:

Hand thrown up in the air & back on our merry way & all observations including 2 sparrow hawks hovering, scanning the fields were kept to myself! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

always getting 'so what' or 'jesus nature boy' from the mates and mot. have ofton lost an hour or two staring at animals fluting round the garden. cant understand lads glued to an xbox or ps3 playing virtulal hunting games. . . walk out your door and do it for real lads. . .:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Foxer101

Was walkin the fields 1 day and heard squeals that sounded like somethin in distress,, looked up and there i saw a greycrow with a little leveret in her claws flying into her nest,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

slap a few bb`s through the nest when she is sitting on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Gives ya a lovely warm glow when you punch a hole in greys or mags.
    Mags are well wiley but the greys seem to just fly out of what would be shotty range. And sit there. Doesn't matter with the hummer. As good as dead as soon as they land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

I was shooting over barley last year and i used to send the dog out everyso often to pick up birds. For some reason he wouldnt pick up the grey crow. He retrieved pigeons, jackdaws and rooks no problem, but the one grey i shot, he just sat beside it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Figure your dog has good taste there Dusty, they're smelly buggers.

johngalway wrote: »
    Figure your dog has good taste there Dusty, they're smelly buggers.

Read that here alright. Not much around me though. Plenty of mags though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

Dusty87 wrote: »
    I was shooting over barley last year and i used to send the dog out everyso often to pick up birds. For some reason he wouldnt pick up the grey crow. He retrieved pigeons, jackdaws and rooks no problem, but the one grey i shot, he just sat beside it.

Clever dog - crows, rooks, magpies, jackdaws etc will if retreived injured try to peck a dog's eyes.

I've seen grey crows kill magpie fledgelings. Every crow familly member around gathered to make an almighty racket.

J. Ramone wrote: »
    Clever dog - crows, rooks, magpies, jackdaws etc will if retreived injured try to peck a dog's eyes.

I've seen grey crows kill magpie fledgelings. Every crow familly member around gathered to make an almighty racket.

He too clever for his own good half the time:mad::eek: