Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bishop questions focus on Church over abuse

• 10-03-2010 11:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭

These guys just don't know when to shutup.

"Bishop of Elphin Christopher Jones has questioned why the Catholic Church is being singled out when the cover-up of child abuse is going on today in families and in society."
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0310/abuse.html

This is unbelievable, we have had 3 months of this farce. They were found guilty. They were let have a think about what they would do. They wrote the pope a letter. Pretended to resign. Went over for a weekend.

and

Still nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Hum.......... geeeeeeeeeeee......... why do we focus on the church......

Oh yeah, the whole raping children and systematically covering it up. THAT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

But, but, but.... other people are doing it too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

These guys just don't know when to shutup.

"Bishop of Elphin Christopher Jones has questioned why the Catholic Church is being singled out when the cover-up of child abuse is going on today in families and in society."

This is unbelievable, we have had 3 months of this farce. They were found guilty. They were let have a think about what they would do. They wrote the pope a letter. Pretended to resign. Went over for a weekend.

and

Still nothing.

I saw this on the news last night and I was shouting at the tv!

They still don't get it! Even if abuse is happening in families it doesn't exonerate them because they are only responsible for "5%" of the abuse.

You don't get some overseer coming along to a family once a paedophile uncle has been discovered, in order to protect him and move him on to a fresh family with young children. THAT's what is so despicable about what the church did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

In my eyes he's as bad as the sick ****ers that committed these crimes.

That to me equates to a rapist at a trial saying 'why are your focusing on me,you caught me but sure there's plenty of other rapes that have happened', irrelevant facts don't make a defense.

Its funny that the church were very good at dishing out punishments for what the felt were crimes when they were considered to be in authority over the population, but when they are no longer in charge they still think they have some special privileges.

MAKES MY BLOOD BOIL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I had the misfortune to see this. It does answer the question of 'what the hell are they thinking?' brought up by that diocess looking for money to pay off their debt incurred by paedophile priests and the subsequent fallout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I'm finding it hard to seperate the church in real life from the one in Southpark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

You gotta hand it to them, even after the decades of abuse, cover up, ruining of lives and eventually getting caught, they still act the victim! How do they keep a straight face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

Because, it's a lot harder for a massive instituition to cover up the raping of hundreds of babies than it is for 1 or 2 adults to cover up their raping of their own kids.

The covering up of the RC requires a much greater magnitude of sinister and perverse thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

toiletduck wrote: »
    You gotta hand it to them, even after the decades of abuse, cover up, ruining of lives and eventually getting caught, they still act the victim! How do they keep a straight face.

Centuries of practice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

First we had the Bishop of the infamous Ferns dicoese telling his flock that it was their "God given duty" to pay Rape Tax.

Now we have this **** coming out with a statement like this.

Maybe we can turn it on its head and view it as another nail in the RCC's coffin? Keep 'em coming Your Effluence, you're only digging yourselves in deeper.

Rape Tax.

Hmm, maybe if we put a tax on rape the stingy buggers would stop doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Nah, I'm sure the religions tax exempt status would apply to it too :pac:

toiletduck wrote: »
    Nah, I'm sure the religions tax exempt status would apply to it too :pac:

Bah, they've thought of everything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Erren Music

Galvasean wrote: »
    Bah, they've thought of everything!

They really have.

from wiki

The State of the Vatican City, created in 1929 by the Lateran Pacts, provides the Holy See with a temporal jurisdiction and independence within a small territory.

The two entities even have distinct passports: the Holy See, not being a country, only issues diplomatic and service passports; the state of Vatican City issues normal passports.

Certain properties of the Holy See enjoy extraterritorial status similar to that of foreign embassies.

The pope has full and absolute executive, legislative and judicial power over Vatican City.

He is currently the only absolute monarch in Europe.

Whats his reply going to be to these countries, is it not time for a Europol style investigation, rather than let the church do their own investigation.

Mexico
    http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5jUvagNBIbUW667fgWWx3Vhx6JHfAD9EARH5G1

Austria
    http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/show/313211,abuse-cases-surface-in-austrian-catholic-church--summary.html

Germany

http://in.reuters.com/article/worldNews/idINIndia-46724220100307

Dutch
    http://freethinker.co.uk/2010/03/10/catholic-church-child-abuse-focus-now-switches-to-the-netherlands/

US and Ireland
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/35781704/ns/technology_and_science-science/

The Germans are getting p1ssed off.

"In Germany, political debate over extending the statute of limitations for civil and criminal prosecution is gaining momentum after revelations of sexual abuse in Catholic schools dating back to the 60s. "
    http://www.presstv.ir/detail.aspx?id=120447&sectionid=351020604

"In response to growing German criticism over the lack of cooperation on the issue, the Vatican's chief spokesman praised the manner in which the cases of pedophilic priests' in Germany, Austria and the Netherlands had been handled. "

Mods, maybe this deserves its own thread but here it is:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/comment/faith/article7054181.ece

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

“Compulsory celibacy is the principal reason for today’s catastrophic shortage of priests, for the fatal neglect of eucharistic celebration, and for the tragic breakdown of personal pastoral ministry in many places.”

“Abolition of the celibacy rule, the root of all these evils, and the admission of women to ordination. The bishops know this, but they do not have the courage to say it in public".
    I do like the cut of Father Kung's jib.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

we shouldn't criticse brennan cos he's a scohlar

vincnet browne questioing the bishops at their press conference

http://www.tv3.ie/shows.php?request=tonightwithvincentbrowne&tv3_preview=&video=20367

astonishing up there own cossocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

It's obvious what's going on here; it's militant atheist double agent who convinces the church to say the most tackless and rage inducing comments so that people will turn away from the church and towards atheism. Either that or I seriously worry for the mental well being of some of these high ranked clergy men.

Xluna wrote: »
    Either that or I seriously worry for the mental well being of some of these high ranked clergy men.

Put a crazy man in a dress and a fancy hat and he is....
    a) crazy.
    b) a member of the clergy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

Galvasean wrote: »
    Put a crazy man in a dress and a fancy hat and he is....
    a) crazy.
    b) a member of the clergy.

Pop quiz.

A man believes that if he goes on a killing spree and tops himself he will get to have infinite orgies in a transcendental invisiable realm with invisable virgins.

Is he...

A: A paranoid schizophrenic with advanced delusional features.

B:A fundamentalist Muslim?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭mehfesto

I'm going with A there. If the Koran is translated into Aramaeic they get 72 sweet raisins, as opposed to virgins. I'd like to hope that's what was really intended- seriously, who'd want 72 virgins?! They'd be rubbish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Arcus Arrow

Dades wrote: »
    I do like the cut of Father Kung's jib.

In 1979 he was stripped of his right to teach as a Roman Catholic theologian. He don't believe in Papal infallibility either.

If anyone feels moved to protest with or support the survivors battle for justice click
    here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055845701

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭skelly22

I can't believe nobody has spoken about banning the Catholic Church entirely in this country. For a body responsible for ruining so many lives, surely it's time they are run out of the country once and for all.

skelly22 wrote: »
    I can't believe nobody has spoken about banning the Catholic Church entirely in this country. For a body responsible for ruining so many lives, surely it's time they are run out of the country once and for all.

The current generation of politicians, journalists and lawmakers are still tugging their forelocks to the bishops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Either that or I seriously worry for the mental well being of some of these high ranked clergy men.

"Intellectual Weakness"; its an unfortunate affliction that many of them suffer from.
    See no. 10 here (from another thread)http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0312/1224266107677.html

Is this perhaps a cry for help?

It's obvious what's going on here; it's militant atheist double agent who convinces the church to say the most tackless and rage inducing comments so that people will turn away from the church and towards atheism. Either that or I seriously worry for the mental well being of some of these high ranked clergy men.

The fact that they believe god told them to be a priest is enough to convince me of mental illness.
    skelly22 wrote: »

I know how you feel. Here we are months after another report highlighting scandal after scandal, yet still no gov or garda investigation. Who is protecting them.
    mehfesto wrote: »
    I'm going with A there. If the Koran is translated into Aramaeic they get 72 sweet raisins, as opposed to virgins. I'd like to hope that's what was really intended- seriously, who'd want 72 virgins?! They'd be rubbish!

Thats funny. A comedian once said what if they were 72 virgins from a nursing home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

"Bishop of Elphin Christopher Jones has questioned why the Catholic Church is being singled out when the cover-up of child abuse is going on today in families and in society".

Answer.........

Because if the priests in question were teachers/doctors/swimming coaches, etc, they`d be shut down and prevented from operating until they were all investigated and vetted.

Thats why priests are being singled out, because if 5 schools in dublin had child abusing basketball coaches, basketball practice/games across the country would be banned until EVERY SINGLE possible "person" raping and sexually abusing children was weeded out and purged from the system.

The Catholic church are not treating their members in the same level of commitment to absolving the harm done and making sure there are no possible child rapists amongst their ranks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

What level of delusion does it take to see what has gone on in the RCC and what is going on now and still think ir is an organisation still worth following?

I get the god thing, for some people. I get that religion has ir uses for people, comfort, purpose etc. But how can you say you follow this amazing christian god and still support the RCC.

Some of the posts on the other forum are actually making me ill. "The good bishop will not be standing down..." "we support the good bishop..." "his eminence is a good man..." Seriously what is going on inside these people's heads?

How divorced from reality do you need to be to genuinely believe that a man that can keep silent on child rape and continue in his daily affairs for 18 years knowing what went on and not reporting it to the authorities is a good man?

He is not a good man. He is a despicable. How can he possibly think he has a right to tell people how to live a moral and good life? I sincerely hope that he is charged with perverting the course of justice and has to stand trial.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

MrPudding wrote: »
    How divorced from reality do you need to be to genuinely believe that a man that can keep silent on child rape and continue in his daily affairs for 18 years knowing what went on and not reporting it to the authorities is a good man?

He is not a good man. He is a despicable. How can he possibly think he has a right to tell people how to live a moral and good life? I sincerely hope that he is charged with perverting the course of justice and has to stand trial.

MrP

Great point, MrP. I would love to see a catholic try and argue against this point. I really would. What you posted is all factual and in any court in the land would be indefensible, yet somehow I think the faithful will find a way, they`ve been doing it for years.

MrPudding wrote: »
    What level of delusion does it take to see what has gone on in the RCC and what is going on now and still think ir is an organisation still worth following?

I get the god thing, for some people. I get that religion has ir uses for people, comfort, purpose etc. But how can you say you follow this amazing christian god and still support the RCC.

Some of the posts on the other forum are actually making me ill. "The good bishop will not be standing down..." "we support the good bishop..." "his eminence is a good man..." Seriously what is going on inside these people's heads?

MrP

We have the leader of the Irish church and his boss, the royal holy grand wizard now both implicated in the worlds largest child abuse scandal over 30 years ago.

Here we are years later, and still no proper investigation.

Both of these deluded fools need to be removed along with their organistaion