Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A woman from Georgia is soon to be 130!

• 10-03-2010 10:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/5/20100310/twl-woman-130-wants-age-old-guinness-rec-3fd0ae9.html
    Officials say Antisa Khvichava, who lives in a remote mountain village, will be 130 on July 8.
    The Georgian authorities have petitioned the Guinness Book of Records to include her as the oldest person.
    "Antisa Khvichava was born in the 19th century, and she is amazing," said Giorgi Vashadze, head of Georgia's Civil Registry Agency.
    "We have the necessary documents to prove it."
    The authorities have Ms Khvichava's Soviet-era passport registration, which shows her date of birth, and her pension book issued in the 1960s.
    Although she was born in 1880, the pensioner only retired in 1965.
    She was shown on TV two days ago - on International Women's Day - being congratulated by her children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren, and enjoying a glass of wine.
    The matriarch, a resident of the Tsalenjikhi region, remains in good health, according to reports, and still plays backgammon and drinks vodka.
    If Mrs Khvichava is accepted for the Guinness Book of Records, she will take the title from a 114-year-old who lives in Japan.

Fair play to her I say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

is she still ridin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Don't think i'd fancy living that long tbh. Only so much of life i could take!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

is she still ridin?

No, that was 40 years ago when the crack was 90. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

That was 40 years ago when the crack was 90. :p

i reckon its a conspiracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

has she got a horn? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i'd kill myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

That's impressive. She had her mid-life crisis at her retiring age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

A remote mountain village in Georgia?
    Im calling shenanigans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

130?

That's mental :eek:

*Goes off to search more about it*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

has she got a horn? :D
    Yes, here :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

God blessed her health;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Crazy, but damn cool!

Although, I think in years to come we will see a lot more people living beyond 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

That region has many people with exceptionally long lives. I saw a programme on Armenia and there were many people living to over 100 in the 19th century there.

Oh wait, this is AH. I know a black, Polish, racist taxi driver thats older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Jaysus she dont look a day off 129.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

**** me, id say its bad enough to be turning 40 and losing hair and getting a belly and such, never mind feckin 130 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I don't want to be around that long unless I get a hovercar, but back in the eighties it was pretty much promised that I'd have one by now.

And a big silver robot that can do fry ups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Could this wait until she actually turns 130? Slow news day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Could this wait until she actually turns 130? Slow news day.

bet you he's jinxed it and she wont make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

is she still ridin?

You'd be bordering on necrophilia at this stage.

Kirnsy wrote: »
    bet you he's jinxed it and she wont make it.

I'm going down the local to see if I can get her in the dead pool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

When is the old cant due to die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

She was born in 1880?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

She was born in 1880?

Yup. WWII ended half her life ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

In her third century quite impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

No, that was 40 years ago when the crack was 90. :p

If that doesn't get post of the day it will be a travesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Death missed his window, dont be surprised if she lives forever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭LarrytheLantern

She's only 83, but because she's lived all those years in that arse of a country, she feels like 130!

Anyhow who wants to reach 130?
    The person who's 129 I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

and this children is why retirement ages will be up at 90 by the time most of us retire. If a good amount of people start living to that age they will have been drawing pensions for longer than they were working which isnt sustainable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Stephentlig

It reminded me of St.Padre Pio, one time when it was his birthday his fellow monks stood up and gave a toast and said ''to padre pio, may he live to be a hundred'' and Padre Pio said ''what did I ever do to you?'' :D

Pax Christi
    Stephen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

is she still ridin?

I fukkin doubt it man, she probably so dry that she make a perfect environment for storing precious artefacts, you know manuscripts and the like, to avoid them oxidising or getting damp.

We should stash the Book of Kells up there, so we could preserve for furture generations to enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Derekjames

I really would not like to be around that long well not in this country anyway, I should not worry with the HSE Im sure none of us will last that long,