Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NXT and Smackdown Spoilers....

• 10-03-2010 3:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭

SD.....

We get an immediate promise of Chris Jericho's Highlight Reel with guest star Edge.

Rey Mystero comes to the ring with his wife, son, and daughter. No way this can go wrong. Happy family. Rey is here to let the fans into his home. JBL could have done a super heel racist promo in response here. It turns out it's Rey's daughter's 9th birthday. Rey gets the crowd to chant Happy Birthday. Says he wants it to be a night she remembers. Well come on, that's just asking for it.

And, yes, here's C.M. Punk and crew. Our "Obey" Punk poster is well positioned here.

C.M. Punk makes Rey's daughter cry and challenges Rey to a match at WrestleMania, and a match right now. Punk cuts a great promo here and offers a present of letting Rey's daughter shut her eyes while he makes Rey cry and squeal like a pig. Then, he goes after his wife. Rey doesn't want to fight in front of his family, and so Punk offers to get down to his size and gets to one knee. Rey eventually takes off with his family as Punk sings "Happy Birthday." Rey holds his head, and it's promo gold.

Eventually, Punk leaves the ring. Great heat and the match at Mania is set up. Meanwhile, the crowd suddenly notices that Serena is, in fact, pretty stacked.

Miz comes to the ring with Daniel Bry... whatever. No, Big Show. Miz takes the mic and says he is set to respond to the beating he took on Raw. Lots of use for the word "really" here. Miz announces a match with Truth now, and Show vs. Morrison later.

Truth comes out with Otunga in tow. The crowd is a little less enthusiastic about 'what's up' this go around (we just had it for NXT), except for the woman next to me who is dancing. Classy and smelly. Turns out Truth knows what city he's in.

(1) R-Truth beat U.S. champion The Miz in a non-title match at 4:24. Miz with offense early, then Truth does the Matrix dodge and takes over, tossing Miz from the ring. The crowd starts a "Daniel Bryan" chant. Back in the ring, Miz slows the pace down into a resthold. Truth breaks out and the momentum runs back and forth. Several nearfalls before Miz tries to use the ropes for the pin, but Danielson pushes him off. Crowd pops, Miz is distracted, and Truth picks up the win. Storyline of Miz/Danielson is really on a different level from anything else in NXT and largely eclipsing the Show/Miz teaming.

They showed clips of Seattle's Pike's Place Market. Apparently we are all about people throwing fish around. Microsoft, Amazon, Real, Boeing, Cobain shooting himself...nah, we are all about throwing fish.

The Undertaker-Michaels promo is shown with the Johnny Cash theme. The woman next to me is doing the slow dance and touching herself. Everyone is disgusted. Yes Shawn "Sexy Boy" Michaels, this is your fan base.

The Money in the Bank case drops above the ring. Drew McIntyre is stopped by Teddy Long, who pesters him about his losses. McMahon has hand-picked Drew's opponent for tonight in a MITB qualifying match. Teddy notes that he's adding the IC Title to the match in a "winner take all" stipulation. Aren't all the MITB spots taken? I dunno, but that's the way it is playa.

Is it too much to ask for the opponent to be Santino and for it to be a win for the Italian Stallion? Unlikely.

We get Luke Gallows vs. Kane tonight apparently.

Drew McIntyre comes to the ring for the MITB match and has to watch his losses. Seems cruel. His opponent is Aaron Bolo. Apparently a Seattle native, he's introduced as a Washington state wrestling champ. Hometown doesn't do him any favors, and Seattle looks like the home of fish throwing and tiny lame jobbers.

(2) IC champion Drew McIntyre beat Aaron Bolo at 0:22 to retain the IC Title and qualify for Money in the Bank. Yeah, Aaron was demolished. Drew points to the WrestleMania sign and Big Show is shown walking backstage. Walking!

o there are nine wrestlers in Money in the Bank now. Big Show comes to the ring and he's facing Morrison now.

(3) Big Show beat John Morrison at 5:41. Morrison is super over with the women. Brief offense from Morrison, then lots of clubbering by Big Show and a loud, sick wet chop that gets a big crowd reaction. Minor offense from Morrison with a dropkick, but it's really all Big Show. Morrison attempts a flip off the ropes, but it's into a fist and a pin. It seemed like there was a commercial in there. A decent match that I suspect won't come off as well on TV, though. Show plays to the crowd more than others do and he's in a good pairing with Miz.

Hart Dynasty comes to the ring for a match. Meanwhile, we learn Tiffany is talking to Teddy. In comes Vickie Guerrero, who doesn't want Tiffany to take her job. But, turns out Tiffany is here to be a Diva. That means the promise of McCool vs. Tiffany later.

(4) Hart Dynasty (Tyson Kidd & D.H. Smith) vs. Crime Tyme (Shad Gaspard & JTG) went to a No Contest at 1:56. Apparently Crime Tyme's music is also good to dance to if you're an out-of-shape woman with poorly done tattoos. Kidd takes control early, but here's The Undertaker's music. Lights go out, when they are back he's in the ring. Undertaker proceeds to f-up all four with his four finishers over the years. Crowd goes crazy for this. The No Contest mercifully ends a dull repeat in an endless series between the two teams.

Undertaker looks to the Mania sign and sends a clear message to Shawn Michaels: I can beat up two jobber teams at one time. Suck it, Michaels, who will have to respond by killing the teams of Santino & Masters and Carlito & Chavo on Raw.

(5) Tiffany beat Michelle McCool via DQ. The match quickly goes outside where Vickie gores(?) Tiffany for a DQ. As McCool and crew threaten Tiffany, out comes Beth Phoenix, who destroys McCool and Layla. After teasing a clothesline on Vickie, she helps up Tiffany, and the two hold up arms. Yay for...something.

Backstage, Kane is walking! Did you know the WWE Magazine is the number one magazine in Walmart? Out comes Luke Gallows for his match with Kane, the society in tow.

Kane beat Luke Gallows via DQ at 5:10. Kane's slow music is another opportunity for a gross dance. This match was just all Kane. Eventually, Gallows escaped to regroup. Kane continued the attack until Gallows took over with a methodical, clubbering offense. Kane had enough of this and hit the chokeslam. As he made the pin, in came Punk for the DQ.

As the Society beat down Kane, out came Rey Mysterio. They brawled to the outside and into the crowd until Dean Malenko held Rey back and C.M. Punk made his escape.

Highlight Reel: Jericho introduces "a big liar," Edge. This is all about their WrestleMania match, with Jericho pointing out Edge is injury-prone. Edge responds that all he knows is taking risks, like diving off ladders (and Vickie) and going head-first into flaming tables (and Vickie). Jericho cites Vickie as Edge's key to success. Edge responds that everyone has a bad girlfriend they regret; for Jericho it was Big Show. (So Jericho was the beard?)

Edge continues to insult Jericho, who gets tired of it and decks him a microphone and then with a stool. Then, the other stool, and then in an odd choice, his jacket. With Edge reeling, Jericho prepares to send him into the extremely expensive Panasonic 6000, but Edge breaks free and decks Jericho. Just as he's about to hit the spear, Jericho decks Edge with the belt. With Edge down, Jericho chants "spear" over and over at the crowd, and then in Edge's face. For an awkward moment, it looks like Jericho is going to kiss Edge, but no, it's just an angry wrestler taunting the other wrestler.

Jericho poses with the belt over Edge, and we are done. Edge rolls out of the ring as the ring crew rolls up the carpet. Where does the extremely expensive Panasonic 6000 go from here? Nobody knows. This is the likely end of the show.

NXT

WE NXT TV Report
    March 9, 2010 - Season 1, Episode 3
    Taped in Seattle, Wash.
    By James Caldwell, Torch assistant editor

The third week of WWE's NXT show started with a video package on the NXT rookies and a shot of Carlito spitting apple in Heath Slater's face at the end of last week's show. They rolled more footage from last week, focusing in on C.M. Punk helping Darren Young win and R-Truth and Otunga having a little fisticuffs. Cue up the standard NXT intro theme.

In-ring: R-Truth's music hit and out came Truth rapping to the ring followed from a distance by David Otunga. Michael Cole and Josh Mathews were shown on-camera to introduce the show and talk about the "competition" being wide open. Backstage, Matt Striker welcomed us to Week 3 of the competition. The Rookies are competing against each other and looking for votes. Will they ever explain what "the competition" is? Goodness. Back in the ring, Truth addressed Seattle, inquiring on what's up. The Miz's music then hit to bring out Daniel Bryan ahead of U.S. champion The Miz. Cole referenced Bryan in his home state tonight as Miz got his shine in the ring with three belts covering his upper body.

Before the match started, Miz took the mic and offered a pep talk to Bryan. He said Daniel is 0-2 right now and he hasn't proved anything to anyone. Miz told Bryan this match is very important and if he lets him down tonight, he will personally make sure Bryan never achieves his goal of becoming a WWE star. And, he will have Bryan thrown off NXT. Bryan, who was sporting a scruffier look in the facial hair department, grimaced and took the "advice" before starting the match.

1 -- U.S. champion THE MIZ & DANIEL BRYAN vs. R-TRUTH & DAVID OTUNGA

Bryan's ribs are apparently healed, as he wasn't sported the taped ribs this week. Truth and Bryan started things off with Truth dominating early on. Mathews said Truth and Otunga are on the same page now after having a chat during the week. Otunga then tagged in and helped Truth continue to dominate Bryan. Truth then knocked Bryan to the outside before chucking Miz to the floor. Truth then hit a flip splash onto both Miz and Bryan on the floor before they cut to break with Bryan's "career on the line."

[Commercial Break]

Back to the action, Bryan was taking another beating as Cole said Bryan has been trying to get to WWE for ten years. I don't know about that. Miz then tagged in and worked over Truth to hype their Unified tag title match at WrestleMania. Bryan then blind-tagged himself into the match and hit a double foot stomp from the top on Otunga. He then hit rapid fire kick strikes in the corner and fired up the crowd. Bryan then followed through with a heel hook center ring. Bryan applied the hold and Otunga sold the hold. "Tap, tap, tap" the crowd chanted.

[Q2] Suddenly, Miz blind-tagged himself into the match with Bryan having the hold locked in. Miz and Bryan then went at each other. In the background, Truth smashed Miz with a kick strike and Otunga gave Miz a lift-up slam for the pin and the win. Post-match: Bryan grimaced from the ring apron as Team Truth celebrated the victory. Bryan then walked away staring down Miz, who sold the effects in the ring. Bryan got some shine on the entranceramp raising his fist in the air for the crowd. After WWE replayed the high points, Miz grabbed Bryan on the floor and yelled at him to show respect. He vowed to get rid of Bryan from NXT. Bryan then reared back and feigned a big slap. Miz flinched and Bryan pulled back before pointing at Miz. Nice focus on Bryan here.

WINNERS: Truth & Otunga in 11:00. Nice storyline progression with Miz and Bryan. There's a lot they can do with the tension going forward. Bryan definitely had his best outing on NXT thus far. Well done all around here. (*1/2)

Earlier today: In a sit-down interview setting, Heath Slater talked about Carlito surprising him with the apple at the end of last week's show. Slater said that's not cool to him. He said he was mad and on NXT tonight, Carlito will get his. He really stood out there talking about what happened, with his personality coming off the screen. Tonight, it's Slater vs. Carlito. Yes, a video package adding fuel to the fire on the issue to be played out in the ring!

[Commercial Break]

Backstage: Matt Striker caught up with The Miz and asked Miz if he really let Daniel Bryan down tonight. Bryan then walked into the shot and told Miz that every single tag partner he's had has always carried him. Miz told Bryan he's the Pro and he calls the shots. Bryan said if Miz is so talented, then why did he lose tonight? Bryan shoved Miz in the chest and walked off, leaving Miz looking upset.

Announcers: Cole and Mathews continued to play up the tension between Miz and Bryan, asking whether the relationship can be repaired. This show is hitting on all cylinders tonight.

Justin Gabriel video: They rolled a sit-down interview/highlight video on Justin Gabriel, who talked about his background and visualizing himself being a top star in WWE. Well done.

Backstage: Matt Hardy was with Justin Gabriel, who was sporting a Matt Hardy t-shirt. Hardy talked him up for being the first Rookie to beat a Pro on NXT. Gabriel said he has a great sensei, so would he do anything different tonight? Hardy said Gabriel has Wade Barrett tonight, so stick to the gameplan. In walked Chris Jericho in a suit and Wade Barrett smiling in the background. Jericho sized up Mr. Barrett and told Gabriel to be on top of his game tonight. Gabriel said he respects Jericho, but he's not intimidated by Barrett. Barrett, with his deep voice, said he destroyed the fan favorite last week and it'll go down again tonight. Gabriel said they'll see. Gabriel needs more polish in his promos. Hardy then stared down Jericho as the heel duo walked away.

In-ring: Christian's music hit to bring out Heath Slater dressed to compete with Christian following behind in street clothes. Cue up Carlito's music to bring out Carlito followed by Michael Tarver. Carlito had mic in hand here. Carlito slowly said Slater's name and addressed what Slater had to say about him last week. Tarver, by the way, is sporting a t-shirt that just read "1.9." Carlito told Slater he should be begging him to spit in his face again. Carlito then slowly walked into the ring and stared down Slater before spitting in his face again. They had a brief exchange with fists flying before WWE cut to break. Match up next.

[Q3]

[Commercial Break]

2 -- HEATH SLATER (w/Christian) vs. CARLITO (w/Michael Tarver)

Back from break, Carlito was working on Slater as the announcers continued to put over the apple. Slater suddenly no-sold Carlito's offense and told him to bring it on. Slater then chucked Carlito over the top rope. Slater got some shine and Carlito regrouped on the outside before shooting a look back into the ring. Carlito and Tarver talked things over, then Carlito re-entered the ring and pounded on Slater in the corner. Carlito missed with a corner attack, then Slater fired off with right hand blows and a kick to the chin. Carlito then stopped Slater with a boot to the face to cut off Slater and begin working over Christian v.2.

Carlito then airballed a corner attack and crotched himself on the middle rope. Slater made his comeback and slammed Carlito with a facebuster for a two count. Slater tried to charge Carlito off the ropes, but Carlito caught him with a sit-out slam. Carlito started smiling, then went looking for his apple, but Christian stole it and tossed it to Tarver. Carlito then grabbed Slater for a backstabber, but Slater blocked and jack-knife covered Carlito for a two count. Moments later, Slater rolled up Carlito and scored a quick three count for the win. Slater celebrated with Christian post-match as Carlito stared off into space looking embarrassed.

WINNER: Slater in 9:00 (6:00 aired on TV). Nice match based on a conflict played out in the ring. Amazing how that works. Slater looked solid here, especially the spot early on where he no-sold and told Carlito to bring it harder. Live crowds still need time to buy into the new stars, but they're getting there. Well done. (*1/2)

Darren Young video: They showed Darren Young in the sit-down/highlight video introducing him. He said he believed in Shawn Michaels and Ricky Steamboat growing up as a wrestling fan. Lots of good clips on Young having a good time as a character and high-flying in the ring.

Backstage: C.M. Punk was with Straight Edge Society recapping Young's first two weeks. He wanted to know if Young recognizes their help yet. Young then walked in and asked why he can't just live his lifestyle. Punk turned to Young and said he can lead a horse to water, but he can't make him drink. He said straight-edge can make anyone a winner, or Young can do things his way and see how it turns out. They walked off, leaving Young to contemplate things.

Up next: Justin Gabriel vs. Wade Barrett with Matt Hardy and World Hvt. champ Chris Jericho ringside.

Video package: Shawn Michaels. His Career. The Undertaker. His Streak. WrestleMania 26. Johnny Cash. Nothing else needs to be said.

[Q4]

[Commercial Break]

Raw Rebound: They focused on Batista hating on John Cena because he's the centerpiece of WWE. This led to a recap of last night's Raw with Cena running Vince McMahon's gauntlet in the main event. A little different video here with a slow-motion, slow-music march through the events leading to a fast pace recap of Cena making a spirited comeback that was cut short by Batista.

In-ring: Chris Jericho led Wade Barrett to the ring for the main event. Cole announced that Jericho is bringing back the Highlight Reel for the first time in two years. Yeah, it's almost been that long since he smashed Shawn Michaels through the Jeritron 3000. Main event up next.

[Commercial Break]

Raw preview: After all those lame guests, it's finally time for "Stone Cold" Steve Austin to guest host Raw two weeks before WrestleMania. They plugged the three big WrestleMania rewind matches and Austin officiating the Bret Hart and Vince McMahon contract signing.

In-ring: Back live in the arena, Jericho was smugly looking into the crowd before Matt Hardy's music hit to bring out Justin Gabriel, accompanied by Hardy. Torch reader Lane Harwood is live in Seattle and says a fan hit Jericho with a beer during his commercial break promo for the live crowd.

[Q5 -- over-run]

3 -- WADE BARRETT (w/World Hvt. champion Chris Jericho) vs. JUSTIN GABRIEL (w/Matt Hardy)

The bell sounded right at the top of the hour with England's Barrett vs. South Africa's Gabriel exchanging holds to begin the match. Gabriel with an odd garter belt of sorts around his left thigh. Barrett worked over Gabriel early on as Jericho grabbed some airtime shouting into Matthew's headset about his influence on Barrett wearing down Gabriel. Gabriel teased a comeback, but Barrett cut him off and Jericho began yelling again about influencing Barrett's in-ring work. "Why don't you just join us on commentary?" Cole said before cackling to himself. Cole actually letting his hair down a little bit on the show. Better Cole than robotic Cole on Raw. Out of nowhere, Gabriel crotched Barrett up top and knocked him to the corner. Gabriel then came off the top with a 450 splash out of nowhere for the sudden pin and the win.

Post-match: Hardy helped up Gabriel, who was selling the work from Barrett and the 450 splash. Jericho then jumped Hardy from behind and knocked him to the floor. Jericho gave Gabriel the codebreaker before slapping on the Walls of Jericho to stretch the Rookie a little bit. Gabriel tapped and Barrett raised both of their arms in victory. Gabriel was shown face-down on the mat with Jericho standing tall to close the show.

WINNER: Gabriel in 4:00. Fine little match. Jericho was awesome screaming into Mathews's headset randomly. The post-match attack was good too in order to get heat on the heels with Barrett taking the loss. WWE putting Hardy in the same spotlight as the World champ on NXT can only help his career on Smackdown. Nice conclusion to a very strong episode with WWE finding its way here in Week 3. (*)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

the miz and bryan's feud is shaping up very well

is dean malenko on sd this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

the miz and bryan's feud is shaping up very well

is dean malenko on sd this week?

No, Dean will just be one of the security guys who breaks up the scuffle. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,004 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'm surprised Vickie has still had no interaction with Edge yet

So Drew joins in MITB also must be 10 in the match

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I'm surprised Vickie has still had no interaction with Edge yet

So Draw joins in MITB also must be 10 in the match

Yeah Kofi will probably be added on Raw, their is no obvious match for him if not.

I think Vickie's role right now is to get Mc Cool over, best of luck with that Vickie. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,720 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Drew getting a late entry into MITB gives me the impression he'll win it. I don't think its 10 men though. I think Drew just won the opportunity to be a late entry

Yeah Drew has to be the favorite to win it, Christian is the only other genuine option, the rest are making up the numbers.

I just watched NXT, it was really good. The opening tag match was decent, no botches from Danielson :D although Mr Hudson was pretty bad in the short period he was in the ring. I am not looking forward to his any lengthy single matches he may be in..:eek:

The feud between Miz and Danielson has been fantastic, I actually think the crowd will pop massively when he beats down Miz.

To think that people did not want them paired up a few weeks ago..011.gif

Slater beating Carlito wasn't as big as deal as Cole and Matthews try to make it sound, has Carlito won a match in the last 12 months? :confused:
    The last match even if it was brief between Wade and Gabriel was really good. The USA chants made no sense but heh wrestling fans are odd creatures. Jericho yelling at he commentators was awesome, as well as his beatdown on Gabriel at the end.

So far three episodes in and I can't complain to much. Their's been some good in ring stuff, well excpet when Miss Hudson is in the ring, and everyone except Skip and Tarver are coming across as potential stars for the the future. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

I enjoyed the tag match on nxt, especially the stuff with danielson and r-truth. I cant wait till this show is over so danielson can go to raw and become a "future hall of famer". Not that I don't really enjoy nxt, but shur ye know yerselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

The more i see Heath Slater i more i despise that gimp, what was up with that promo where he crying about Carlito spitting apple at him..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

The more i see Heath Slater i more i despise that gimp, what was up with that promo where he crying about Carlito spitting apple at him..

He really is a horrible example of a person isnt he? I'd say he'd make an unreal heel. He reminds me of Jedward - due to certain reasons, he will always be a ****ty, ****ty person, and thus a heel, to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Gerard.C wrote: »
    He really is a horrible example of a person isnt he? I'd say he'd make an unreal heel. He reminds me of Jedward - due to certain reasons, he will always be a ****ty, ****ty person, and thus a heel, to me.

Big time stick him with Vickie Guerrero and let us hate him even more:pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,517 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Poor Hart Dynasty and Cryme Tyme.

I know we are on the road mania, but post draft WWE were doing a great jo of making everyone look good. Even guys that lose a match were given a chance to display skills and not look like tools.

Its not that long since JTG was pinning Jericho. Things have flipped now and his team along with the harts are getting squashed by Taker. I see how that helps taker but WWE should be doing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Endaaaagh

Drew getting a late entry into MITB gives me the impression he'll win it. I don't think its 10 men though. I think Drew just won the opportunity to be a late entry

I'm predicting him to win it and and cash it in on the night only to lose (prob to Cena). This will free up the MITB for the PPV later on this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

NXT was a bit run-of-the-mill. Otunga was quite sloppy in his match and I wonder if he's being exposed too soon. Looks like they got a very poor rating too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

So, Cryme Time and The Hart Dynasty again for the bazillionth time eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    So, Cryme Time and The Hart Dynasty again for the bazillionth time eh?

It only lasts a minute so no worries.

I really enjoyed NXT, it is fast becoming my fave show:)

The Bryan/Miz feud is coming along really well. I liked the way they turned the table on Miz this week. First couple of weeks it was the Miz trying to make Bryam look bad but this week his attempts to do it made himself look bad. I also liked te way Bryan stood up to him post match and the way Miz ended up taking Bryan's **** showed Bryan to be a big deal.

I also have to say Bryan's size is less and less of a factor. In the ring he look natural and has a realistic style. When they do a close up of him his mean face is, as the miz would say, awesome.

There is something about heath slater I just can't warm too. Same goes for Otunga.

I think Tarver could make a pretty good bodyguard for carlito if Carlito ever gets another push. I still love the carlito persona after all this time.

Young should be under a mask, he just looks too much like Cena.

I enjoyed the video of Gabriel. Showing some of his high flying moves made me look forward to his match, creating the idea of a guy who could do something mad out of nowhere. The ending of his match fitted into that, when he won straight off getting his butt kicked for a while.

Overall I really enjoyed it, I am looking forward to next week already:cool:.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    I really enjoyed NXT, it is fast becoming my fave show:)

The Bryan/Miz feud is coming along really well. I liked the way they turned the table on Miz this week. First couple of weeks it was the Miz trying to make Bryam look bad but this week his attempts to do it made himself look bad. I also liked te way Bryan stood up to him post match and the way Miz ended up taking Bryan's **** showed Bryan to be a big deal.

I also have to say Bryan's size is less and less of a factor. In the ring he look natural and has a realistic style. When they do a close up of him his mean face is, as the miz would say, awesome.

There is something about heath slater I just can't warm too. Same goes for Otunga.

I think Tarver could make a pretty good bodyguard for carlito if Carlito ever gets another push. I still love the carlito persona after all this time.

Young should be under a mask, he just looks too much like Cena.

I enjoyed the video of Gabriel. Showing some of his high flying moves made me look forward to his match, creating the idea of a guy who could do something mad out of nowhere. The ending of his match fitted into that, when he won straight off getting his butt kicked for a while.

Overall I really enjoyed it, I am looking forward to next week already:cool:.

You forgot about my favorite Wade. :mad:

I'd agree with most of that, Tarver needs to knock someone out soon as thats his gimmick and you should want to get it over with the fans before they forget about it!

Otunga is terrible luckily for him his missus is a big deal or he would be nowhere near the show.

Rjd2 wrote: »
    You forgot about my favorite Wade. :mad:

I'd agree with most of that, Tarver needs to knock someone out soon as thats his gimmick and you should want to get it over with the fans before they forget about it!

Otunga is terrible luckily for him his missus is a big deal or he would be nowhere near the show.

Well I did mention Justin was getting his butt Kicked so I should of mention the "impressive wade" was doing the butt kicking (Hows that?)

Agree on Tarver. If I didn't know the result of the Carlito match I would of expected a Big Show style knock out with the refs back turned type of a thing.

Otunga annoys me at this stage, he looks like he has implants rather than real muscle's!

Well I did mention Justin was getting his butt Kicked so I should of mention the "impressive wade" was doing the butt kicking (Hows that?)

Otunga annoys me at this stage, he looks like he has implants rather than real muscle's!

I'd prefer magnificent/epic/heroic/immortal but beggars cant be choosers. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭Ridley

Can we get NXT/Smackdown/Superstars (last week's was a good show dangit. CHAVO and Kofi actually used the stupid no blood rule to the match's advantage) spoiler threads seperate so I don't have to duck Smackdown's? ;)

Anyway, NXT. Still a good show. Now I can see what people are looking at in Daniel Bryan though They should position him in the middle of the group shot on the opening titles so there isn't a short guy on the right.

I do wonder if non-Pro superstars are going to turn up on NXT (Bryan vs Big Show for example).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,927 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Im enjoying NXT alot

especially like the THE MIZ & DANIEL BRYAN feud and Justin Gabriel keeps impressing me

Feck it anyway No Smackdown till 11.:mad:

Sky Plus it is.

Ridley wrote: »
    (Bryan vs Big Show for example).

Great idea.
    Let Danielson carry Big Slow to his greatest match and let him retire with some dignity.
    I would like to see.
    Gabriel V Bourne
    Danielson V Morrison.

WOW

CM Punk was creeeeeeeeeppppppppyyyyyyyyyy.

Really creepy and I liked it! Punk should be champ:(

I also like McIntyre's new music and titantron. It is very Ortonlike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

WOW

CM Punk was creeeeeeeeeppppppppyyyyyyyyyy.

Really creepy and I liked it! Punk should be champ:(

I also like McIntyre's new music and titantron. It is very Ortonlike.

That Punk/Rey promo was EPIC!! I hate when they bring in a wrestlers family but it worked wonders here. Punk has improved on his promo's so much, he's now 1 of the best in terms of mic work. Punk singing "Happy Birthday" in his awkward "signing" voice to Aaliyah was very creepy and yet, pretty cool.

Here it is for those who didn't see it:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

Punk has improved on his promo's so much, he's now 1 of the best in terms of mic work.

He hasn't really, he's always been great on the mic. It's just that he's now being given the opportunity to talk with good material in a way that he's comfortable with. When he started with WWE it was all generic promos about how he loved competition. Now he's doing something more akin to the type of promos that he'd been doing before he joined WWE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

A rookie beating a pro on NXT should mean something. After this week, it doesn't.

And Punk has always been awesome. Its just scary how good he is.

Poor Hart Dynasty and Cryme Tyme.

I know we are on the road mania, but post draft WWE were doing a great jo of making everyone look good. Even guys that lose a match were given a chance to display skills and not look like tools.

Its not that long since JTG was pinning Jericho. Things have flipped now and his team along with the harts are getting squashed by Taker. I see how that helps taker but WWE should be doing more.

Aye both teams looked like absolute muppets, I hate to say it but iif that was Hunter, people would be fuming. The Hart Dynasty move to SD so far has been an epic failure. Hopefully for them it gets a little better after Mania.

The Punk promo was awesome aye, their wasn't much else to get that excited about though. Beth killing people was fun, if they are going to do a diva match at Mania hopefully its her v Michelle. Both girls are decent workers and I imagine if Beth hits the grand slam on Vickie, the crowd will erupt. :o

Miz v Truth was harmless enough while Jo Mo v Show was really dull. It was basically the same Big Show match we have seen in the last few years sadly.

The promo between Edge and Jericho was good enough even if the consistent spear stuff still grates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,004 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Yeah Kofi will probably be added on Raw, their is no obvious match for him if not.

I think Vickie's role right now is to get Mc Cool over, best of luck with that Vickie. :pac:

McTool is awful and Beth looked very sloppy taking them all out this week

I mean Edge mentioned Vickie i thought she might come out so he could do another SPEAR :D

I must confess i'm crushing on Justin and Bryan :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,720 ✭✭✭✭Penn

That Punk/Rey promo was EPIC!! I hate when they bring in a wrestlers family but it worked wonders here. Punk has improved on his promo's so much, he's now 1 of the best in terms of mic work. Punk singing "Happy Birthday" in his awkward "signing" voice to Aaliyah was very creepy and yet, pretty cool.

My God... that was 7 shades of brilliance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

Watching Punk's promo either Rey's daughter is one of the best at acting already in the WWE or she was genuinely upset. If it's the former then she deserves a lot of credit too, and if it's the latter that's quite disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Jolt2007 wrote: »
    Watching Punk's promo either Rey's daughter is one of the best at acting already in the WWE or she was genuinely upset. If it's the former then she deserves a lot of credit too, and if it's the latter that's quite disturbing.

I think it's the former as I'm sure I've read Rey somewhere saying that his daughter wants to be in the business.

I agree that angle was very well done. I actually really want to see those two go at it at Mania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Jolt2007 wrote: »

I'd also say it's the former, in which case fair play to her. So many wrestlers' families die a death on camera, but she sold punk's creepiness so well it was unreal. He's getting so over as a truly rotten, weirdo heel, it's great. The highlight of the week in wrestling for me, and I was really cringing when Mysterio brought out his family.

Also continue to love NXT. It's pretty obvious that Daniel Bryan has tons of ability, but I've been so impressed by Justin Gabriel and (to a slightly lesser extent) Wade Barrett. For whatever reason, Gabriel's being allowing to look genuinely strong with bigger guys - perhaps it's because he's slightly bigger than rey/bourne, or perhaps they realise how badly they've wasted Bourne. Tarver looks like he could be decent too.

I can't wait till they cut off some of the chaff and give the standouts a bit more time. In particular, the sooner Heath Slater goes the better. He is good in the ring, but he's just a charisma black hole, from his man-child voice to the stupid little dance he does. And 'a rock band without the instruments'? That's not cool - that's just four guys who spend a lot of time indoors, except without the things that make them worth paying attention to. If a rock band turned up without instruments, I'd say they were really fking stupid and boo them off stage. Actually, wait, that might be kinda apt.....

The one thing that's starting to bug me is that they're 'explaining' the rules without actually explaining them. Ok, I get it that no superstar can vote for or against their rookie, but how does the voting work? Is it the trainers who get together and vote 'yea' or 'nea' on keeping guys? And when will it happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

they are building rey v punk really well all credit to both and rey's family especially the little girl