Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ebay Lunatic

• 10-03-2010 10:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi All This is a weird one for you. I bought some runners on ebay from a guy here in the uk where I live, which genuinely fell to bits after a few days. I sent him a message to tell him this and a few minutes later, he rang my mobile and basically said I was lying and there was nothing wrong with them. I was a bit taken aback to say the least (I had forgotten my number was available) and dismissed him saying ok, fine and that was that. I then set up a claim on paypal to get my money back. Once he got the claim notification he sent me a message to get the runners back and he would check them with the manafacturers and all this nonsense, so I said, no I would wait for Paypal's outcome. I subsequently won the case and am sending the runners back to him for a refund. Since then I have recevied two messages from him on Ebay. The first was a thinly-veiled threat that he is coming down my way at the weekend with a mate (!) and can collect them. Again, I calmly replied that I was to send them back by tracked postage per Paypal's instructions. The second was just a message containing my home details and phone number, which are available to him on Ebay, again another bit of intimidation.

I know that he probably won't come anywhere near my house, but he will definitely be near here on Saturday for a football match. I don't know the lad from Adam and he could be a spacer….he is certainly behaving like one. I feel a bit silly going to the police about it, and am equally wary of reporting him to Ebay in case it drives him more crazy. What do you suggest I should do? I live with my gf who knows little about it, and obviously I don't want to worry her necessarily. The fact that he has all my details is my main concern. A brick through the window or something would be quite easy for him to do and I'd have no comeback. He seems genuinely angry at this and has taken the whole issue personally since day one. I don't feel like he should get away with this crap either.

Advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I doubt anything will happen. I don't think there is any harm in mentioning it to the local police with a copy of any correspondence exchanged, including text messages.

Even if the put a constable on the street corner / keep an eye on any fans in the neighbourhood, its not much of a problem for them.

Do you have a web-cam you can put recording at the front of the house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

Oh my god, I would contact the police, Also contact ebay straight away they have people in there to deal with such things!! That man needs to be put straight! Remember its very easy for people to be bullies on the internet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Chet Zar

This is harassment - don't be intimidated.

Contact ebay with all the details of your correspondence with him - they'll have his address, phone number, cc details, IP address - everything. Let them advise you (he could be down as a troublemaker on their system, and if needs be the police can be contacted if his behaviour is deemed to be threatening - the police could even have a record on him too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP here, You're dead right...I;m not gonna be intimidated and have contacted Ebay with details and asked them whether I should contact the police.

Hopefully that will be the end of it - I will keep you informed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

OP, talk to your local police station with all the corespondence you have - the harrasment act in the UK says very clearly that harrassment is an arrestable offence, and its defined as 'if you think you're being harrassed, you are!'.

you must also tell your GF, she needs to be aware that there could be people/a person around over that weekend who you and she should avoid - primarily that means not answering the door/phone to people she doesn't know, and not allowing herself to be stopped in the area around your house by people she doesn't know. you'll all be a damn sight better off 'worrying her' about this now, than when there's a half-cut yob in your hall that your GF has let in because she's not been warned about the situation.

personally i'd visit the copshop, then invest in a solicitors letter to this gimp outlining the provisions of the Harrassment Act.

I've let her know just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭fend

Ebay sellers can be CRAZY! Anything to prevent their feedback from going down. My aul lad had a similar problem to this a couple of years ago, the seller rang him up roaring and screaming asking why he had given neutral [Not even negitive!!!!]feedback as opposed to positive feedback. :rolleyes:

Truth of the matter was, the goods were not as described and took over a month to arrive.

Stick to your guns and make sure ebay follow through with something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

me too,

I had a guy going MENTAL because I left neutral feedback.

OP make sure you keep all corispondance (Spelling?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Report to the police before the weekend. Then if anything untoward happens they will know straight away who to call on first. Otherwise explaining it all to them after the incident makes it mush less likely that they'll speak to him. Get your retaliation in first, call the cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭fend

OP take not of all calls, when they were made, how long they lasted, write down the key notes of what was said. Don't erase any emails. And if you do decide to contact the guards, make sure you log what day/time the call was made, and who you spoke to.

i just realised i have my number on ebay after i read this i wonder is there any way of removing it?