Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Positive stuff about Irish society.

• 09-03-2010 12:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭

Great poetry, A great society, a great attitude towards life and art? Definately critical of our own for sure, we do expect a lot from them. The world over respects us and welcomes us as ancestors. Barack obama and clinton claim irish ancestory.

Patricks day is celebrated in many countries by the emigrants of this small country.

Surely we should take pride in this? Our politicians let us down locally thus far but our attitude as a people has been second to none and critical of our own. As a small country we have produced amazing people and continue to do so.

We critisise our own terribly, but in a way it maintains our oportunity to have intelligent opinion in a very critical way. We are critics of our own in the sense that our best and brightest emigrate.

As a small country we should be proud of our acheivements on the world stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Positive in the aspect of tourists/foreigners looking at us or ourselves looking at us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Me hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Me hole

Edit: Damn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Well as the lonely planet put it we have 'a deliciously dark sense of humour'

Which I do like, worse news ever happens, you meet with friends and family shaking your head with disbelief, then someone (always) makes a completely inappropriate joke, and much laughter follows!

If you cant laugh sure whats the point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Sarah Morrisey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Sarah Morrisey
    Didn't pay your subscription?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

We're incredibly negative about our nationality and country. We're fierce in our defence when it comes to foreigners but criticise it more than anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

My sexual prowess.

One of the major tourism draws for Ireland last year.

I keep 'em coming (back). ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

Great poetry, A great society, a great attitude towards life and art? Definately critical of our own for sure, we do expect a lot from them. The world over respects us and welcomes us as ancestors. Barack obama and clinton claim irish ancestory.

Patricks day is celebrated in many countries by the emigrants of this small country.

Surely we should take pride in this? Our politicians let us down locally thus far but our attitude as a people has been second to none and critical of our own. As a small country we have produced amazing people and continue to do so.

We critisise our own terribly, but in a way it maintains our oportunity to have intelligent opinion in a very critical way. We are critics of our own in the sense that our best and brightest emigrate.

A bit of patriotism? Thats not allowed OP.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

We should be very proud who we are and the way we have people who claim Irish ancestory in all walks of life. Look for example this year at the sydney opera house which will be turned green on patricks day! Patricks day has been celebrated in Australia for 200 years now, which makes it one of the oldest celebrations in Australia as the country was only discovered in 1770. There is small examples like this which shows what the Irish race means to the world and I am proud and glad to call myself Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

We are a great little country all the same . We will survive , some in other countries but we will survive

Sing it , Ireland , Ireland , Ireland

Lets all sing and draw pictures , recite meandering poems and be grateful , that will get us out of this pile of sh!t we are in .

Personally I think we should be rioting on the streets , but feck it we are a great little crooked country.

Positive enough for you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Positive stuff about Irish society.

HIV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Lets be honest and be true to ourselves here, we celebrate paddys day but im afraid no one(or at least 98%) of irish (and foreign) people do be thinking of great irish poetry or art on march 17th, all my life growing up it has always revolved around alcohol im saddened to say, yes the parade is a very big part of the day too but only the kids remember that,

I agree that our achievements should be celebrated more as a small country, surely something more than a parade should celebrate our heritage and culture??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Sprouts

We are a bit hard on each other aren't we?

There is small examples like this which shows what the Irish race means to the world and I am proud and glad to call myself Irish

We are not a race, we are a nationality.

So that would make you a Zionist

Am I correct?

I hope I got that right , I'd hate to get a ban for being wrong

lonad wrote: »
    So that would make you a Zionist

Am I correct?

I hope I got that right , I'd hate to get a ban for being wrong

Is there a fool moon tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

We do an okay job of aping Britain.

Is there a fool moon tonight?

I see wit is not your strong point.

Bonito wrote: »
    Didn't pay your subscription?:pac:

That's why I put up Cheryl's bum, wanted to make the most of the last 24 hours.

Fcuking recession :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

That's why I put up Cheryl's bum, wanted to make the most of the last 24 hours.

Fcuking recession :mad:

oh dear pete .... how long do you have to suffer this horrendous situation for? you look all ..... weird

See, you only liked me cause I was a subscriber and I appeared to have cash.

Gold digger !!! :mad::mad:

See, you only liked me cause I was a subscriber and I appeared to have cash.

Gold digger !!! :mad::mad:

you are loike, such a, a, A CREEP!!!! :pac:

Look!!! ^^^^^^^^^^^ Personal Abuse !!!!! :mad:

You wait till I can afford another months subs, just wait .. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Look!!! ^^^^^^^^^^^ Personal Abuse !!!!! :mad:

Least you're straight now ;)

but then we can be friends again :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Well, in terms of writers we have a pretty amazing output for such a small country. From the book of kells to Swift, the anglo-irish writers of the 19th century and the huge literary output of the 20th century in poetry, drama, fiction, satire and onto television and film writers we seem able to put the old pen to paper or hit the keyboard no matter how drunk we supposedly are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

The positive stuff is that you still have enough energy to post threads about races, nationalities, cultures, Irish pride, draining your SW and superiority to others (Eastern Europe in particular) all over, over, over, over and over again. Fair play to you. Never bored. That's positive, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

We should be very proud who we are and the way we have people who claim Irish ancestory in all walks of life. Look for example this year at the sydney opera house which will be turned green on patricks day! Patricks day has been celebrated in Australia for 200 years now, which makes it one of the oldest celebrations in Australia as the country was only discovered in 1770. There is small examples like this which shows what the Irish race means to the world and I am proud and glad to call myself Irish

ya know i never really thought about it like that hmm...

but then we can be friends again :rolleyes:

Help me Scooby :(

ah ye changed! shaggy rocks.

who is this impostor?

ah ye changed! shaggy rocks.

who is this impostor?

Dalton, Timoty Dalton :cool:

Watch my car driving abilties here:

Dalton, Timoty Dalton :cool:

Watch my car driving abilties here:

dude. i thought we were friends. my ears! they bleed! :p

^^^^^^^that sideways triangle shall go untouched

i ain't no fool :cool:

So anyway, "Positive Stuff About Ireland".

Irish wimminz are sooo sincere, not materialistic, kind, sweet and loving :cool:

leprechauns

leprechauns

Something even better about Ireland:

http://www.Lepreporn.com ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

Lets be honest and be true to ourselves here, we celebrate paddys day but im afraid no one(or at least 98%) of irish (and foreign) people do be thinking of great irish poetry or art on march 17th, all my life growing up it has always revolved around alcohol im saddened to say, yes the parade is a very big part of the day too but only the kids remember that,

I agree that our achievements should be celebrated more as a small country, surely something more than a parade should celebrate our heritage and culture??
    That in a way is my whole point. Kids remember it because it is a great event, a celebration of Irish culture and nationality. It is a shame in a way that it is celebrated more by being an excuse for being langered via the booze etc.

All the same though I suppose we have to accept the fact that alcohol is a part of our lives first and foremost. As a nation we are definatively seen as a nation with an alcohol problem in a stereotypical sense. The laughable freindly drunks of Europe if you like.

Imagine what we could do / and be if alcohol was not so much a part of our culture? Although the other side of the coin is: If we sobered up then we might be as boring as any other nation. Oh well it is a tough call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Martin Cullens Resignation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

how dare you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

So anyway, "Positive Stuff About Ireland".

Irish wimminz are sooo sincere, not materialistic, kind, sweet and loving :cool:

Way to back track Pete :pac:

OT-We do have a long history. Not like some of these new fangled countries like America.
    And sure aren't we all great craic all over :D

donmeister wrote: »
    how dare you!

i'm just very daring you see.

eh, beautiful scenery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

i'm just very daring you see.

eh, beautiful scenery.

I dont know what the fuck you are on about now.

I need sleep.

Night everyone!

donmeister wrote: »
    I dont know what the fuck you are on about now.

I need sleep.

Night everyone!

yes you do :p

i was simply making a contribution to the thread!