Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Customs and revenue stopping airport drivers

• 05-03-2010 2:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭

I was out in Dublin airport dropping family members off at the departures area. As you drive out of departures (airport on your left), just before the road turns right and down the customs, revenue and police with drug dogs were stopping cars.

I got waved through but they had some bloke in a silver seat NI reg pulled in. Anyone know what they were at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

At a wild guess i'd say checking returning passengers luggage for drugs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Drugs, illegal cigarettes, any kind of tax evasion....no surprise to see a revenue officers at an airport probably their busiest place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I'd have thought just past Arrivals would be a better spot.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Bazzy

There was a documentary on on RTE a while ago and they stopped someone in the long term car park on the way out they had 4 or 5 suitcases full of cigarettes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Erren Music

nipplenuts wrote: »

Yea ... that's why I asked.

But hey this is Ireland, .....if it could be done half arsed and backwards

I'm only guessing, but here's a potential scenario: Mule gets off the plane with drugs. Handler collects mule in car. A search at arrivals gets the mule and the drugs, a search on the road gets the handler too.

Anan1 wrote: »
    I'm only guessing, but here's a potential scenario: Mule gets off the plane with drugs. Handler collects mule in car. A search at arrivals gets the mule and the drugs, a search on the road gets the handler too.

Bummer, imagine bringing in a load of drugs, getting all the way from the plane to outside the terminal, then meet your contact. Relax on the drive out of the airport and then BAM.

But as I said they were outside departures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

It's all about cigarettes, not drugs, if they stop somebody in the terminal they confiscate the goods, if they follow them out to their car they get the cigarettes and the right to confiscate the car resulting in the driver more likely to pay whatever duty they decide is outstanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

It's all about cigarettes, not drugs, if they stop somebody in the terminal they confiscate the goods, if they follow them out to their car they get the cigarettes and the right to confiscate the car resulting in the driver more likely to pay whatever duty they decide is outstanding.

This is absolutely right.

If the smuugled contraband is transported in a vehicle, then that vehicle becomes subject to seizure. The smuugler is given the option of paying a fine to get the vehicle back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Is this still valid?
    But, in a nod to health concerns over smoking, the EU regulations give national authorities the option to reduce the duty-free tobacco allowance from 200 cigarettes and 250 grams of tobacco to just 40 cigarettes and 50 grams of tobacco.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/world/duty-free-cheer-for-eu-travellers-388754.html

This is higher
    Q: What is the customs allowance cigarettes & alcohol?

A: - 3200 cigarettes
    - 400 cigarillos
    - 200 cigars
    - 3 kg of smoking tobacco
    - 110 litres of beer
    - 10 litres of spirits
    - 90 litres of wine
    - 20 litres of fortified wine (such as port or sherry)
    http://www.directferries.ie/faq/faq_duty_free_shopping.htm

Pkiernan wrote: »
    If the smuggled contraband is transported in a vehicle, then that vehicle becomes subject to seizure. The smuugler is given the option of paying a fine to get the vehicle back.
    I take it Customs have to prove that the driver/owner of said vehicle must reasonably have known that contraband was being carried?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Jeez, lets hope they're reading this thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭lynchie

Magnus wrote: »

The second batch of allowances are for bringing duty paid goods in from another EU country (bar a few exceptions) without being subjected to demonstrating to customs officials that they are for personal use. Above that number you may need to show that you are not selling them etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Just wondering but didn't some English guy win a case against British Customs where he bought thousands of cigarettes in France.

He argued he was going to smoke every single one of them and one the case. No customs or duty had to be paid on the cigarettes.

Was that a European case ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

OP says Customs were at Departures Road, how do we know they weren't in a pincer movement at the Arrivals Road aswell!

They could be checking VRT, and imported cars from NI being driven by Irish residents. They could be checking for cigs/drugs etc.

Re the import allowance mentioned above, the amounts are UK.

Here we are only allowed to bring in 800 cigs, if we have more than that we must prove they are for our own use. If you cannot prove that they will be taken away. I know, I was with someone recently who had 10 cartons of cigs, and they were taken away. If that was UK he would have been allowed to take in 16 cartons no questions asked.

Daft isn't it, that different EU countries have different guidance amounts as tow what is for your own use? Anyway, under free movement of goods and services within the EU, provided you buy the goods duty paid in another EU country, technically you can bring in as much as you like for your own use.

It is when the amount of say fags for example exceeds 800 that questions may be asked, and if smuggling for street selling is suspected, they are confiscated.

EU laws are not evenly applied regarding the importation of duty paid goods. Typical Ireland, afraid their tax base will be affected. I am not happy about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭rugbyman

Hello Lynchie, you have inadvertedly printed your loto numbers, i plan to do those this week, you may have lost half the pot. I wish you luck!
    Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭P.C.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Bummer, imagine bringing in a load of drugs, getting all the way from the plane to outside the terminal, then meet your contact. Relax on the drive out of the airport and then BAM.

But as I said they were outside departures.

Am I the only one who knows that there is only one Drop Off/Pick Up point at the airport for private cars?

Taxis have a sepeate drop off and pick up places.
    Drop off = upstairs (departures)
    Pick up = downstairs (arrivals)

Busses - drop off and pick up = downstairs (arrivals)

Private cars - drop off and pick up = uptsairs (departures)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

JHMEG wrote: »
    Jeez, lets hope they're reading this thread!
    Many people who are arriving go upstairs to departures to be picked up. I'd imagine that a significant portion of vehicles leaving 'departures' have arriving passengers in them. (It saves having to pay for parking).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

P.C. wrote: »
    Am I the only one who knows that there is only one Drop Off/Pick Up point at the airport for private cars?

Private cars - drop off and pick up = uptsairs (departures)
    That's done unofficially. The DAA insist that anyone picking up passengers go to the short term car park. Occasionaly, the Airport Police stop single occupant vehicles arriving at departures and send then around again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭P.C.

That's done unofficially. The DAA insist that anyone picking up passengers go to the short term car park. Occasionaly, the Airport Police stop single occupant vehicles arriving at departures and send then around again.

While you may be correct about the DAA insisting they go to the short term car park, there is still only one place that private cars can go if they do not go to short term parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

Good to see the Customs lads out and about searching cars. The amount of smuggled cigarettes in the country at the moment is a disgrace, those buying them of course are to blame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Lauder wrote: »
    Good to see the Customs lads out and about searching cars. The amount of smuggled cigarettes in the country at the moment is a disgrace, those buying them of course are to blame.

Do you work for the government? :rolleyes:

I say fair play to anyone who can get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

P.C. wrote: »
    There is still only one place that private cars can go if they do not go to short term parking.
    Thats incorrect, they may also pick up or collect at the back of the multistory (still possible even with the set down area closed off) without having to go near the departures road or into short term parking.

They can exit via the new road at the church or the old exit again without having to go to short term parking or the departures road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Lauder wrote: »

Yes but most that are "smuggled" are sourced within the EU, free movement of goods and all that seems to be with O'Leary in the grave :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭itsonlywords

rugbyman wrote: »
    Hello Lynchie, you have inadvertedly printed your loto numbers, i plan to do those this week, you may have lost half the pot. I wish you luck!
    Rugbyman
    I will do them also and now it becomes a 3 way split.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭rugbyman

I will do them also and now it becomes a 3 way split.

welcome on board, provided there is only the three of us, or even thirty, fingers crossed

rugbyman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Max_Damage wrote: »

thats crazy.Dont you realise that YOU are paying for their crime in extra taxation. If they were stopped , you would pay less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭itsonlywords

rugbyman wrote: »
    welcome on board, provided there is only the three of us, or even thirty, fingers crossed

rugbyman
    Meet you Lotto HQ next Thursday morning 9am.

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Thats incorrect, they may also pick up or collect at the back of the multistory (still possible even with the set down area closed off) without having to go near the departures road or into short term parking.

They can exit via the new road at the church or the old exit again without having to go to short term parking or the departures road.

Yea I was back there last night again. I had a drive around the airport complex while waiting for family to get through (they were stuck in a mile long queue to get through immigration/garda checks - only 3 booths open).

You can drive in and out of all the carparks free, park at the bus parking at rear of car parks, use the petrol station, drive through the taxi area, I drove through departure drop off 3 times in a row and there was about 30 cars parked up waiting for people and a single garda trying to get them to move on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Not that it's relevant to this thread, but you'd probably be the first to complain about the state of the roads, increase in tolls, increases in motor tax etc etc when you're applauding people avoiding what adds up to a huge amount of money going to the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,194 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Do you enjoy paying higher taxes? Because thats what you're getting with your "fair play"

Its attitudes like yours that are the source of close to everything thats wrong with this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

corktina wrote: »
    thats crazy.Dont you realise that YOU are paying for their crime in extra taxation. If they were stopped , you would pay less.
    Yeah right, we'll never pay less here for anything, once there's a tax in place the only place it's going is up and us suckers paying all the way.

I think your spot on there, i'm sick to death of paying taxes here tbh and getting little or nothing back for it only incompetence and mismanagement. The whole idea of joining the EU in the first place was to be able to buy and sell throughout the EU with similar prices, we're a far cry from that now with all the taxes, VAT, VRT and all the other fees thrown in for good or bad measure. Fair play I say too to anyone who can and does get away with it, it's about time people made a stand for themselves instead of being patriotic and politically correct because lets face it our leaders are far from patriotic and politically correct themselves.

......we're a far cry from that now with all the taxes, VAT,

Yeah, because nowhere else in Europe do people pay tax and VAT.

And of course, no other country has an equivalent of VRT in Europe.

Except the Netherlands

and Denmark

and some others.

This is actually a relatively low tax economy by European standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Yeah right, we'll never pay less here for anything, once there's a tax in place the only place it's going is up and us suckers paying all the way.

i'll rephrase... you wont pay less...but you will pay more if others circumvent the tax.

corktina wrote: »
    i'll rephrase... you wont pay less...but you will pay more if others circumvent the tax.

I genuinely don't think we'll ever pay less here for anything, look at a gallon of fuel here, 73% of it is tax and vat, that's almost three quarters of the price tax alone!!!! I can't ever see the price of cigarettes coming down either, you'll get the excuse that it's for our own good and the revenue will be spent on hospital care etc, yeah right! Total bollix tbh, we're just being taken for a ride as usual and all our savings now thrown at the banks, you wouldn't catch them sorting out the hospitals or employment with our pension funds though would you? We just get screwed here at every turn and there's not a thing we can do about it only leave the country, I would only my house is worth less than I paid for it and I can't sell it now anyway. God I hate the was this country is run!

If you mean motor fuel rather than home heating fuel I can only assume you've never driven elsewhere in Europe before as Ireland is near enough the bottom for petrol prices.

You haven't really done your research on prices around the world have you and just jumped on the "rip-off Ireland" bandwagon, correct ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I genuinely don't think we'll ever pay less here for anything, look at a gallon of fuel here, 73% of it is tax and vat, that's almost three quarters of the price tax alone!!!! I can't ever see the price of cigarettes coming down either, you'll get the excuse that it's for our own good and the revenue will be spent on hospital care etc, yeah right! Total bollix tbh, we're just being taken for a ride as usual and all our savings now thrown at the banks, you wouldn't catch them sorting out the hospitals or employment with our pension funds though would you? We just get screwed here at every turn and there's not a thing we can do about it only leave the country, I would only my house is worth less than I paid for it and I can't sell it now anyway. God I hate the was this country is run!

Netherlands has roughly a 30% BPM Tax on new and used cars, sometimes more if its a luxury car, sometimes less and sometimes none at all if its a feckin Hybrid.

1.48/litre for Petrol, 115/litre for Diesel

Road Tax on a 2.0L Diesel .. 346 Euro /QUARTER ... 1384/YEAR.

You can basically assume half your money / month is gone in tax.

I need to drive about 25,000km/year to get the Value out of driving a diesel, doing 45,000 / year so its grand though !!

**OT**
    The bit in bold is the most annoying part, you bought the fecking thing and you still have a place to live in! You don't make money on what you think your house is worth, you buy it to live in.
    **OT**

I think your spot on there, i'm sick to death of paying taxes here tbh and getting little or nothing back for it only incompetence and mismanagement. The whole idea of joining the EU in the first place was to be able to buy and sell throughout the EU with similar prices, we're a far cry from that now with all the taxes, VAT, VRT and all the other fees thrown in for good or bad measure. Fair play I say too to anyone who can and does get away with it, it's about time people made a stand for themselves instead of being patriotic and politically correct because lets face it our leaders are far from patriotic and politically correct themselves.

I agree with parts of both the above.

The fact that the gov get over €7 tax on packet of marlboro (€8.50 in shops) while knowing the damage cigarettes do is astounding.

Ditto for fuel. Anyone work for a petrol station here, you must be sending nearly 80% of all your takings to the gov. 2 most common things sold are fuel n fags.

If you want to buy cheap imported cigs with who knows what in them I do understand. Maybe consider giving up.

By the looks of it any money this gov get they will just p1ss it away on some hairbrained scheme anyway, as you Grimreaper666 quite rightly point out. €60 odd billion to fix the banks which will fail eventually, and nothing for services that could do with it.

But anyway getting way off thread now.

The fact that the gov get over €7 tax on packet of marlboro (€8.50 in shops) while knowing the damage cigarettes do is astounding.

*facepalm*

The reason for the €7 excise duty and the minimum price requirement IS the damage they do.

MYOB wrote: »
    *facepalm*

The reason for the €7 excise duty and the minimum price requirement IS the damage they do.

You misunderstand, does anyone here seriously believe that the 7 quid tax goes specifically to rectify the damage they cause.

coming here and posting the childish facepalm is stupid.

Realistically, Cigarettes should not be allowed to be sold.

Smoking in homes with children, and driving while smoking with children in cars should be banned.