Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

motoring quote of the day

• 05-03-2010 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭

"Sure, automatic is the only way to go. Stirring the petrol when you're trying to drive is a b******s"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Sorry. A guy just said that to me there. I lol'd and I just wanted to share:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

discussing a certain jeep with a trader:

A Trooper? sure you couldn't raffle them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

Mate talking about women drivers after he failed the test. "Sure she wouldn't drive a stake in a wet bog"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

"Nothing like the smell of burning clutch first thing in the morning"

My dad when my sister managed to fcuk the clutch in her Micra when she was learning to drive...she did this trying to get out of the driveway which is on a steep hill:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

"I'd rather AIDS" - an ex. collegue when asked to price a used Laguna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Nice Guy Always to me:
    "Can I see your licence Sir?"
    :(

R.O.R wrote: »
    "I'd rather AIDS" - an ex. collegue when asked to price a used Laguna.

I used to hear a variation of that "you'd get rid of AIDS quicker!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭STForSale

I wouldn't keep chickens in it.
    Used when referring to any car that is "untidy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

"give her a clean and she'll be a new machine"

Filthy dirty 00 micra going through the auction's once people were coughing and choking there was that much smoke coming out the back !!! bodywork wasnt the awul best either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

"perfect mechanical order"

I hate that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Jaysus this yoke wouldnt beat eggs

*Used to describe a mondeo 1.6 litre with a gammy engine during a test drive"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

"Ah Jaysus" .... said by car salesman when my mother went looking at changing her car. She'd just told him she'd a rover to trade in! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

"wouldn't pull me socks off!" A garda talking to me about his mondeo patrol car.

"wouldn't drive that into a wall.." Same Garda talking about a quite loud civic that just passed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Smug BMW "expert" to mother; "I hear you got a new 5 series.. Oh, Ive a BMW too, but its a 525d and its a Saloon".
    Mother: "Thats nice, mines a 535d Touring..."
    Expert: long pause accompanied by a mix of frustration and shock... "why would a woman need a 3.5litre engine.." :rolleyes:

And yes, I know the 535d isnt a 3.5 litre, he evidentially didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

yyyuuuuuummmm, twin-turbo.

Is your mum single ? ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

SV wrote: »
    "wouldn't pull me socks off!" A garda talking to me about his mondeo patrol car.

"wouldn't drive that into a wall.." Same Garda talking about a quite loud civic that just passed

variation on the theme...

"wouldn't pull the knickers of a whore"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭dunleakelleher

When asked "does she burn oil?" the reply was "she would if she got it."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

" That yokes had more hits than Elvis " :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Great thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Pique

A mate said to me about fast (but thirsty) Subarus.

It'll pass everything but a petrol station :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Guy said to me when a young local guy passed in a badly pimped out starlet:

"I'd rather be seen getting out of a sheep"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

"If they were hanging mechanics, he'd die innocent".

variation on the theme...

"wouldn't pull the knickers of a whore"

I got "wouldn't pull a sailor out of your sister" about a 1.6 Avensis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭jayok

"Just drive it like you stole it!"

Recommendations on how to get the maximum thrills from a 1.6 VTi Civic.

Question from an ex on this whole Mile / KM thing

HER: "So how many meters are there in a Kilometer"
    ME: "Stunned Look"
    HER: "Never Mind"

BTW She graduated with an Honours Engineering Degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I got "wouldn't pull a sailor out of your sister" about a 1.6 Avensis.

"Wouldn't pull you out of the bed in the morning" was very correctly attributed to an old Nissan Sunny with a 1.7 litre diesel engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

" wouldnt pull the skin of a rice puddin' "

@neuromancer - I think your sig has some of the better quotes here:

"Fast, reliable, cheap. You can only have two."

"Just because you can afford to buy one, that doesn't mean you can afford to drive one."

Very apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

E39MSport wrote: »
    yyyuuuuuummmm, twin-turbo.

Not twin turbo. 2 turbos, but not twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

mickdw wrote: »
    Not twin turbo. 2 turbos, but not twins
    Diesel E39 perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

The old classic, people say this to me non stop.

"So whats the mileage on her?". "85,000". "85?! Ach sure she'll do that again no bother".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,120 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I used to hear a variation of that "you'd get rid of AIDS quicker!"

Yep, used car salesman pointing at a Citroen C5: "harder to shift than AIDS" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Diesel E39 perhaps?

What?

Q "Does she burn oil"

A "She would if she got it ;)"

(How not to sell a car)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭pdiddy

never drive faster then ur guardian angel can fly

I saw a sticker on the back window of a lowered Nova SR years back saying "Too fast to live, too young to die" :rolleyes:
    The thing was fecked looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

There was a post on here a while back about somone buying an automatic and asking a question about things to look out for (can't remember the type of car), but another poster said:
    "yeah and be sure to check the cluch too"
    Facepalm of the highest order. Very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭dunleakelleher

RoverJames wrote: »
    Q "Does she burn oil"

A "She would if she got it ;)"

(How not to sell a car)

a day late, used already post #19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Said of a light fingered mechanic that there were so many car parts in his locker "if you pushed it, it would start".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

Has it got esb windows and a sunshine roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭woody33

Years ago I had a Mini Clubman.

Me: "It's an estate."
    Smartarse: "It's in a state alright."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Has it got esb windows and a sunshine roof.
    or being called a "moon roof"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

A few of my favourites:

One carefull owner, The other five didnt give a s h it!!
    That yoke has had more hits than the Beatles!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

The F*cking F*cker is F*cked,

the above was a text from my mate, left me wondering, eventually found out it was the engine of his trooper had seized

snowman707 wrote: »
    eventually found out it was the engine of his trooper had seized

3.0 one ?