Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This year's Paddy's day junkets

• 05-03-2010 8:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭

This year's destinations for the ministers and the Attorney General include China, Russia, India, Vietnam, the United Arab Emirates, South Africa and Lesotho.

Nice work, if you can get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Eh i thought they were cutting back on all their trips? Glad they picked countries that have such strong ties with Ireland though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Lesotho??

I had to actually look that up.. Its a land locked country in the middle of south africa.. WHY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Nice work, if you can get it.

Finger's crossed the trip to Lesotho will prove fruitful and we can expect the giants of the Lesothan business world deciding to locate in Ireland in the near future :rolleyes:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

get as far away from this ****hole on paddys day,lesotho-cant really do better than that......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Charco wrote: »
    Finger's crossed the trip to Lesotho will prove fruitful and we can expect the giants of the Lesothan business world deciding to locate in Ireland in the near future :rolleyes:.

I for one welcome our future Lesothan overlords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

23 ministers and junior ministers are heading off. Who is minding us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Lesotho??

I had to actually look that up.. Its a land locked country in the middle of south africa.. WHY?
    Because south africa surrounds it.

I, genuinely, have no idea why it would be advantageous to go to Lesotho. Do they have diamod mines or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

69 wrote: »
    23 ministers and junior ministers are heading off. Who is minding us?

Nanny of course.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Is Harney off to Lesotho? Best chance she has of picking up a husband I'd say, the king marries everyone.

(I refuse to believe she's actually married already)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

i refuse to believe she copulates...
    maybe thats why the nation is in dire straits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Celebrate your country's patron saint by mainlining heroin! Yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Lesotho??

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Glad they picked countries that have such strong ties with Ireland though

Lesotho has close ties with Ireland with it having Ireland’s longest running bilateral programme.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Lesotho has close ties with Ireland with it having Ireland’s longest running bilateral programme.
    Fair play to them, how long have they been sending us aid?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Doesnt Lesotho do the Irish curriculum Leaving Certificate in schools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

m@cc@ wrote: »

Did the ESB do a lot of work down there in the eighties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Do you actually think its extremely fun to spend Ireland's national holiday travelling on a busy business trip trying to sell Ireland?

Travelling to South Africa and Lesotho is Ireland's Junior Minister of foreign aid or whatever its called, so that is one of the few trips which is probably not related to improving trade relations, but perhaps more a trip of good relations and to see where our money is going!

Otherwise they are travelling to countries which Ireland has strong trade relations or wants to build them.

Really this type trip is no great shakes, have none of you travelled before? I know I'd prefer to be in Ireland enjoying my day off rather than on a high stress diplomatic trade mission!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,764 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

enda1 wrote: »
    Do you actually think its extremely fun to spend Ireland's national holiday travelling on a busy business trip trying to sell Ireland?

Travelling to South Africa and Lesotho is Ireland's Junior Minister of foreign aid or whatever its called, so that is one of the few trips which is probably not related to improving trade relations, but perhaps more a trip of good relations and to see where our money is going!

Otherwise they are travelling to countries which Ireland has strong trade relations or wants to build them.

Really this type trip is no great shakes, have none of you travelled before? I know I'd prefer to be in Ireland enjoying my day off rather than on a high stress diplomatic trade mission!

Suit yourself, I¨ll taket he junket, thank you very much.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

antodeco wrote: »
    Doesnt Lesotho do the Irish curriculum Leaving Certificate in schools?

Your thinking of Libya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Teddy Chips

Tbf all these trips will include a trade element.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Lesotho??

You been in a taxi recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

enda1 wrote: »

I travel a fair bit for my job for conferences and meetings and such. While we work hard when we are away, we don't work 24 hours, we get lots of time to do touristy stuff (all out of own pockets though). So I find it hard to believe the the politicians going on these junkets will be doing nothing but working.

Also, they won't be travelling on the day, mostly they will be staying a few days at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭flowersagogo

Tbf all these trips will include a trade element.
    guinness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

syklops wrote: »
    Your thinking of Libya.

Jaysus, no wonder Gaddafi had it in for the British for so long and supported the IRA with arms. The Bloody Irish History Curriculem.
    A few classes on the Napoleonic wars, a bit about the unification of the German states by Bismark, a bit about the world wars and months and months of classes on the 800 years of opression by the ould enemy, did ya hear the murdering bast@rds walked around the villages with the heads of babies and kittens on their pikes!!!........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Maybe they have been invited to Lesotho for dinner but little do they know, the Lesothonians are fond of placing foreigners inside large black cooking pots and simmering for a number of hours.

If they think it's Mary Harney who's coming over then this fact would increase the likelihood of the cooking pot being whipped out.

It would want to be some pot. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,378 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Paddy's day in Lesotho:p You couldn't make it up. I suppose we need to visit these places. Seeing as we ship them millions of Euro every year, it would be nice to pop by now and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Mr_Hat

Why is the AG going anywhere

69 wrote: »
    Fair play to them, how long have they been sending us aid?

He/she meant one way aid:p

It must have been the word "bilateral" that fooled me. Tricksy. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Here is the press release from the Dept. of Taoiseach

Unfortunately we can't see schedules but it is clearly stated about limousines, hotel suits, 1st class travel etc. not being allowed.

To the above poster who thinks the ministers will have the evenings off for the craic, I think not.

"The Taoiseach has instructed all Government Departments to ensure that costs are kept to a minimum. Unless there is a compelling reason to do otherwise, first class flights, limousines, hotel suites and VIP lounges will not be used by Ministers."

He may want to stress this to Peter Power, and tell him to leave the cheque book at home

BTW, compelling reasons? With this shower, being a politician is compelling enough