Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I rant On Grey's Anatomy?

• 04-03-2010 11:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭

Okay let me stating that I rarely - if ever - watch Grey's. So, yes, I do know how to turn off the TV and even how to change channel. And yes I understand that there are fans of the show out there and no I am not being nasty or mean to those fans, you like TV shows; you like TV shows, nothing wrong with that. And again TBH there are plenty of bad TV shows that I quite happily sit and watch knowing that it is purely for enjoyment.

However (now that I have rebut everyone before they have a chance to reply) I have to state my disappointment at this programme, and it is purely an opinion.

I tuned in on Tuesday night. I found the acting stilted, the script forced/cheesy and the so called comic moments irritating/insensitive.

The episode I flicked in and out off was entitled "Invest In Love", for those of you who want to catch it is here.

The main portion of this episode revolved around 2 doctors who are having problems both at work and at home.

Arizona who has been given the opportunity to save a young patients life by his parents with a donation of 25million. This is a brilliant investment into the disease effecting the young patient and future use for research into the patient. Arizona's reaction to the news from the parents is sickening, she acts like a teenage getting a new car for their 16th Birthday. This problem for Arizona is reflected in her relationship with Callie.

Christian ignores orders by Owen during an operation, she successfully performs a cardiac produced on a patient. This problem is also reflected in their relationship. Both couples live in the same apartment or at least have an argument in the same apartment.

I am guessing that this was a "thinly" disguised juxtaposition of problems at work and at home. :rolleyes:

Meanwhile Alex is the comic relief in the episode as he just happens to get a little babies heart beating while taking it from life support. Known as the Kangaroo effect, for this to fully work he must remove his shirt. :rolleyes:

Again I just had to rant, Thank you for reading :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

It declined into farce after season 2, it's just a bad show...Gossip Girl is better then this tripe! (and thats some stretch!). Hell when you have actors getting fired for homophobia you know you're in trouble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

There is a Ranting forum if you wish to rant :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Didn't watch this past the first half of season 1. It just didn't click with me.
    Looks like I'm not missing much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    There is a Ranting forum if you wish to rant :)

I know but people aren't allow to reply in a positive way towards the show on that forum and I don't think that is fair or much point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Grey's Anatomy was watchable for the first 2 seasons.. but TR Knight (George) was, by far, the most likeable character. Hell, the only likeable character!

He started getting less and less screen-time and plotlines in season 3 onwards - until
    his ridiculous death last year

It's got the most smarmy unlikeable cast on TV.. and has descended from a quite a well-written show into a tiresome-medical-drama-by-numbers!

Supernatural did it best:

^ oh!...there is a ranting forum??....my dreams have been answered!

basquille wrote: »
    Supernatural did it best:

Look, Basquille, I am not a fan .... It's just a guilty pleasure :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Is that what Supernatural is like all the time? Not at all how I imagined it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

You know what I don't get, is the people who slate Grey's Anatomy so much but then love [H]ouse (... Roadhouse! :D)

They're the SAME THING. For the first 10 episodes of season 1 I thought I was watching some writers sick "Groundhog Day" joke. Then another 10 episodes later I realized that this was just pure torture.

Even CSI, which is wildly slated as being formulaic, took at least a few seasons before it started threading the same ground in every episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

Is that what Supernatural is like all the time? Not at all how I imagined it.

No, but it does have some great comedy throughout a significant amount of its' episodes. The specific episode that clip is from had a lot of TV show p*ss takes and was quite funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

It's a program for women to fawn all over male doctors. that's about it.. rubbish.

^ take no notice of the SN fanboys!...it's an a-typical scene!... it's General Hospital with vampires!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 milnerrm

i just can't see what the appeal of that show actually is, and whenever i ask my friends who watch, they say, 'you have to get in to it'...what a load of crap...its just really boring!!!
    another show that i don't understand is skins...its terrible!!!

Have to come back to this rant. Shooter in the hospital. Melodramatic crap, totally over playing the drama and being so basic about it, the first person he shots in the head, purely for shock factor yet its one bullet after another causing th shock of a beloved character dieing to be no more than an extra being shot. And that was only the first episode in a 2 parter :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

A poor man's ER.

God, I miss ER. :( What an amazing show.

^ take no notice of the SN fanboys!...it's an a-typical scene!... it's General Hospital with vampires!

I take it then that you only ever watched 1 or 2 episodes of the show before scuttling back to more high brow fare such as the Hills. Supernatural over the course of the past 5 seasons evolved into the most consistently brilliant show on TV, the multi season story arch was superbly implemented with even the stand-alone episodes having some part in the over all arc. The writing was constantly fresh and fun, the acting superb, the humour spot on and the soundtrack bettered any other show out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Hossbox

I knocked on the telly last night when I got in from work. A fat one was crying, and the whingey Asian one told her to stop. Then the whingey Asian one started crying. Then the fat one told her to stop. Then they both started crying. And I died a little inside...

It's just bad bad bad

I take it then that you only ever watched 1 or 2 episodes of the show before scuttling back to more high brow fare such as the Hills. Supernatural over the course of the past 5 seasons evolved into the most consistently brilliant show on TV, the multi season story arch was superbly implemented with even the stand-alone episodes having some part in the over all arc. The writing was constantly fresh and fun, the acting superb, the humour spot on and the soundtrack bettered any other show out there.

I'm not a fan of the show, it's jusy not to my liking, not saying it's bad....but i can't be arsed to go watch 5 seasons to form an opinion, so i'll stick with my uninformed default of....it sucks.

Hossbox wrote: »
    I knocked on the telly last night when I got in from work. A fat one was crying, and the whingey Asian one told her to stop. Then the whingey Asian one started crying. Then the fat one told her to stop. Then they both started crying. And I died a little inside...

So you missed the fat one telling one of the patients to play dead before the shooter arrived into the room :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

I watch GA every week, but I mostly end up rolling my eyes for most of each episode.
    I thought Tuesday's episode had potential, shooter in the hospital - great, some drama, some excitement, but my God, I just wanted him to shoot half the characters to be honest - Meredith being top of that list.
    How did he get around so many different floors of the hospital without being stopped. It really was farcical.
    And the love triangles, pyramids, octagons are so ridiculous now. The only characters I actually like are Alex, Bailey and Mark (oh and the chief, I mean the real chief!)
    I will no doubt be tuning in next Tuesday - for my weekly guilty pleasure.
    Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Elmo wrote: »
    So you missed the fat one telling one of the patients to play dead before the shooter arrived into the room :rolleyes:

'The fat one' is Callie not Bailey. Plus Callie is not fat, she's voluptuous. :D

jcsmum wrote: »
    'The fat one' is Callie not Bailey. Plus Callie is not fat, she's voluptuous. :D

I only called her the fat one due to the previous poster. I think I mixed Callie and Bailey up in my original rant. I am talking about the Black girl who told the patient to play dead and on another occasion she was in the middle of an operation when the transplant organ dropped to the floor and she shouted "3 second rule, 3 second rule". :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭deemy

Couldnt give a rats about the show either. poor mans ER indeed.
    just wondering does anyone know the name of the tune that is playing in the background of the clip advertising next weeks finale on rte 2.
    It has 'here I am, here I am' in the lyrics. I know I have a dance version of it in my collection but cant figure out name to find it:D

I'm not a fan of the show, it's jusy not to my liking, not saying it's bad....but i can't be arsed to go watch 5 seasons to form an opinion, so i'll stick with my uninformed default of....it sucks.

Calling a show General Hospital with Vampires is saying it's a bad show, no two ways about it. Supernatural is a truly amazing piece of television, I know numerous people who thought it was nothing more than two hunky men in tight t-shirts but after giving it a go they all loved it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭elekid

Reminds me of this quote from a recent episode of American Dad:
    Stan: "Roger, you were crying like Francine when she watches Grey's Anatomy"
    Francine: "I just feel so sorry for those poor actors"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

jcsmum wrote: »
    How did he get around so many different floors of the hospital without being stopped. It really was farcical.

Without being stopped by who? :pac:

What mad person is going to tackle a mad man with a gun??

Alicat wrote: »
    Without being stopped by who? :pac:

What mad person is going to tackle a mad man with a gun??

Surely a snipper would have been organised and shot him when he had a clear shot through all the windows that the shooter was standing between :rolleyes: Its times like these when need Jack Bauer :)

I mean was there no paging system in that damned place that they might have made the announcement "eh.. attention everybody, theres a shooter in the hospital, so unless you want our A&E to look like the Mater on a bad saturday night, I'd recommend you lock yourself in whatever room you are currently located."

I actually watched this, cos I hate the program and was looking forward to seeing all the irritating characters being shot.... and just like in a true fairytale, all the main characters are only slightly injured. I'd nearly get the plane over to finish off Dempsey myself..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Its an american drama series. If you want "reality" stick with docs on Discovery,National Georgraphic etc

The reason i watch any drama series is because "its not real".If you are involved IRL with medicine then of course you'd be fuming..but cmon??! Its a drama..end of. Theres medical documentaries on plenty of stations if you want to watch what really happens.I watch them too.

Its acting, about a job that most of us cant/wont ever understand.Just appreciate it for what it is.Drama!!! (hope McDreamy doesnt die :D)

anniehoo wrote: »
    Its acting, about a job that most of us cant/wont ever understand.Just appreciate it for what it is.Drama!!! (hope McDreamy doesnt die :D)

I hope it's like Dr Drake Ramoré in Friends... The only doctor that could have saved McDoofus, was in fact McDoofus himself... comic irony.

No idea why RTE are promoing it so much between the football.. I mean it's hardly their target audience... ?? The only episode I ever enjoyed of GE was when they all went on Oprah about actual mental patient Isaiah Washington.... (see comic irony again)... when he shouted homophobic remarks about the gay lad.. now that was funny. Do ye actual fans remember, I just remember the controversy.

No idea why RTE are promoing it so much between the football.. I mean it's hardly their target audience... ??
    Are ye havin a laugh? Id happily sit watchin paint dry for an entire day than watch football.Yawn yawn...zzzzzzzzzz!

I detest (yep..not hate..detest) football (the most overrated sport ever) and i can guarantee you im not the only one. Love the Soaps, the Dramas, the Reality Shows. But...i also equally love Nature,Science and Medical true life programmes. Each to their own...

Are ye havin a laugh? Id happily sit watchin paint dry for an entire day than watch football.Yawn yawn...zzzzzzzzzz!

thats my point though... why would they advertise a women's program like Grey's Anatomy on the ad breaks of the soccer, which is predominantly watched by males. They are doing the same this week with the second part of the "Season Finale"...

a women's program like Grey's Anatomy on the ad breaks of the soccer,
    Am lost for words and may never be able to construct a decent reply.

Its an american drama series. If you want "reality" stick with docs on Discovery,National Georgraphic etc

The reason i watch any drama series is because "its not real".If you are involved IRL with medicine then of course you'd be fuming..but cmon??! Its a drama..end of. Theres medical documentaries on plenty of stations if you want to watch what really happens.I watch them too.

I did respond to the fact that I do and many on here do watch dramas that aren't overly realistic and indeed in many of those dramas they have plenty of cheesy acting (that is in the very first post).

However what I notice about GA is that it is either trying to be a Drama or a Comedy or a Dramedy (<<< hate that term for Drama/comedy). I don't really know where GA lies.

Drama's can be quality, realistic and Entertaining. The audience know that most "realistic" drama "is not real" but they still want some sense of reality. GA just doesn't provide any sense of reality. The scripts are either intentionally trying to being funny or they are unintentionally being funny. Generally with GA the more unintentional the funnier, usually when characters are taking themselves far too seriously. Good drama knows how to script natural comedy in drama so that it doesn't take from the drama, GA doesn't know how to do this.

Characters

Cristian who goes around angry for some reason and refuses to help her former partner Owen, it isn't like he is asking her to do his filing for him :rolleyes:

Miranda who seems to think everything is one big joke, with lines like "3 Second Rule" straight after 5 mins of melodramatic **** and in the shooter episode "Play Dead" to a patient :rolleyes:

Arizona who seems to think that all she needs to do is smile and nod like a 4 year old getting ice cream. :rolleyes:

etc etc etc.

The problem is that GA is not even a drama. If suffers because of its melodramatic storylines and its lack of reality (not its complete reality). It isn't engaging, all the character are 1 Dimensional and Shallow.
    Am lost for words and may never be able to construct a decent reply.

Let me, some women might be watching the WC with their partners and see that GA is on after. Go to the pub lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

Elmo wrote: »
    Surely a snipper would have been organised and shot him when he had a clear shot through all the windows that the shooter was standing between :rolleyes: Its times like these when need Jack Bauer :)

Who's also a result of made-up and unrealistic tv :pac:

The hospital building is huge, and more importantly tall, with no other buildings around it for snipers to take position for a clear shot at ANYONE, let alone the one target in the building.

And even if you're talking about the scene on the walkway, sure the armed officers were only on their way in.
    I mean was there no paging system in that damned place that they might have made the announcement "eh.. attention everybody, theres a shooter in the hospital, so unless you want our A&E to look like the Mater on a bad saturday night, I'd recommend you lock yourself in whatever room you are currently located."

Well was the 'Lockdown' not just that?

Alicat wrote: »
    Who's also a result of made-up and unrealistic tv :pac:

I was being Ironic.
    Well was the 'Lockdown' not just that?

You have have never seen a real lockdown, have you? Like the ones in 24 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I used to really love GA when it started. Then in season 2 (I think it was season 2) there was those two episodes were Addison went for a visit to the other hospital so they could prep everyone for that spin-off series. When that happened I turned it off and haven't watched it since. It was ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

The best tv show set in a hospital is Garth Marenghi's Darkplace. Hands down :cool:

^ Greys is just drivel....utter pooh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Unfortunately the wife loves GA so I have to endure it once a week, normally my head is buried in the laptop or listening to music so I don't really watch it. It is a soap opera in a hospital.

However I was riveted watching the last two episodes hoping the whole cast would get gunned down. Christ when the shooter confronted Patrick Dempsey I was screaming
    shoot him in the head, or after he shot him "DOUBLE TAP DOUBLE TAP!"

Of course they copped out. But at least it made it more interesting for me :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Every since that last likable character left, "George", it has dropped to completely missable TV. Still, I'll tune in for the last episode on Living just to cheer the, I persume, irrate viewer on a rampage on. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

I liked Grey's in the early couple of seasons.

Watched the season finale on Tuesday and was absolutely disgusted with it. With a finale I expect to be left wondering what happened. I don't want everything to be wrapped up neatly in a little bow. May as well just kill the series there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The best character on the show is Alex and he needs to be used more imo

Season 6 was huge improvement (thanks to Izzie leaving she should have died in Season 5 imo) compared to past Seasons and the finale was superb

The show went downhill after Season 2 but Season 6 has brought it back

I liked Grey's in the early couple of seasons.

Watched the season finale on Tuesday and was absolutely disgusted with it. With a finale I expect to be left wondering what happened. I don't want everything to be wrapped up neatly in a little bow. May as well just kill the series there.

You'd better not see this year finale of House, a great episode ruined by a travesty of an ending/copout :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,989 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Obviously I dont watch this..........the wife does and I have wathed one/two shows.
    One happened to be a couple of season ago I think - where yer wan Grey herself survied a 10 minute stint under the water and managed to survive - quality.
    That was the end of it for me.

No attractive women on this show, save for Sarah Drew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

No attractive women on this show, save for Sarah Drew.

callie is hot ;)

who is sarah drew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

callie is hot ;)

who is sarah drew

April.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

April.

she aint very attractive i wanted her to die the other night