Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you ever have one of those days?

• 02-03-2010 10:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

Today should have be great.

No work, good bit of cash in my phoca, just had to drop someone at the airport at 2.30pm, then the day was mine till 9pm (babysitting :cool:).

All went swimmingly until on my back into town when I got a puncture in Santry. No real problem with that until the damn jack snapped and had to get a taxi to a garage to borrow one.

Sitting at the lights wondering what film I should go and see later when: BAM, some woman slams into the back of me in her Micra! :mad:

Scared the **** out of me and destroyed her car. Mine was fine bar a slightly warped bumper and it was slighty funny as she had to stand in the road giving her details to the Guards dressed in a pink bathrobe and matching pajamas and slippers :pac:

So now it's 4.30pm and I need to get into town asap as I still have a gift for my nephew to get that needs to be in the post by 5.30pm :eek:

Park in Marlborough St at 4.45pm but only have enough change to pay for parking till 5.18pm, which should be all the time I need (you can see what's coming :p).

So off I pop to Henry St, buy nephew his first footie kit. Hit Easons for a card and I'm in the GPO at 5.05 (all's going well) and just as I'm putting the Kit into Easons rip off boxes, I see that the bafoons in Lifestyle left the security clamp on it .... Nooooooo!!!! :eek:

It's 5.10 now and some jogging is in order to get to Lifestyle and back to make the 5.30pm post, which I just manage and then have to swallow that it'll cost €37 to send the package to Holland .. wtf :mad:

I pay it and then sprint back to Marlborough St and just as I round the corner at the Flowing Tide, I see 'Em .. I'm clamped :(

I decide to just go for something to eat and not even fcuking bother pleading my case, no point and so I head to Beshoffs for some Deep Fried Carbs and Sugar laden Tea.

As I go to pay ... ah noooo :eek:

I triple check all pockets and my wallet is gone!! :o

Just cards and €30 but not today, not ta-fcuking-day God.

I just starting laughing with defeat, the guy must have thought I was nuts, I literally couldn't stop and just went outside and looked to the sky in mercy :p

Phoned a mate in the end and he saved the day with a lend till I'm sorted tomorrow. We headed off to the cinema seen The Crazies .. seemed apt as I feel the day I had, has almost driven me crazy :o

So, have you ever had one of those days where things go wrong no matter what you do??

A day that just defeated you from start to finish despite your best efforts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

You clearly went through many emoticons today.

Chin up, at least it cant get worse. I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I just starting laughing with defeat, the guy must have thought I was nuts, I literally couldn't stop and just went outside and looked to the sky in mercy :p
    So you were the insane person I saw today :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Stee wrote: »
    You clearly went through many emoticons today.

Chin up, at least it cant get worse. I think.
    It can.

:rolleyes: = Worse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Fair play - at least you could laugh at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

fcuk me pete, that was some day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Ranting & Raving is the place for today mate :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

It was fine really, least I wasn't working and still got to go to the cinema :)

Anyone ever had mad days like that though?

Where you missed flights or crashed etc etc

Just a cascade of things not going to plan?

Ranting & Raving is the place for today mate :D

Yeah, what's the story, I just tried to go into Ranting and Raving and it won't let me.

Seriously, maybe I'm banned, what a day :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Sounds like you had a really ****ty day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Except for a minor road rage incident earlier my day could not have been any luckier everything went right I got my parking validated for free:D, I found 20 euro at the garage:D and also putting back a trolley at the supermarket I found a euro on the ground:D,

I arrived at the doctors (no appointments queing nightmare kinda doctor) when all the 8 people in front of me wanted to see another particular doctor I had just litterly walked in the number screen buzzed and I just strolled into the doctor that nobody wanted to see without having to wait:D

I finally figured out how to stop my car beeping everytime I start it telling me it needs to be serviced Ive another 10,000 miles before I hear it again:D

I came home to a lovely dinner waiting for me only to find out I had won a hamper in a local draw:D

Maybe I got you luck today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Well if it makes you feel any better,i've just realised my day wasn't as bad as it could've been!.
    I owe the till in work 150euro cos i lost count when a customer was paying me a few grand in cash and so managed to short change myself.
    Everything i needed in a hurry was out of stock.
    The 500euro i was expecting back tonight off someone i lent it to, never materialised and i won't see them now for a couple of weeks.
    I lost a debit card that had about 60quid on it.
    I broke a carton of eggs all over the kitchen floor.
    And today is my Dad's anniversary-maybe it just wasn't meant to be a good day all round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

fcuk me pete, that was some day!

No, wait .. it's getting better :D

BluesBerry wrote: »
    Except for a minor road rage incident earlier

Do you drive a Micra?? :p
    I found 20 euro at the garage:D

Heeyyyy, which garage :mad:

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

One time I stubbed my toe getting into bed.

F*cking awful day that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Yeah, what's the story, I just tried to go into Ranting and Raving and it won't let me.

Seriously, maybe I'm banned, what a day :pac:

Just when you thought it couldn't get worse:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Do you drive a Micra?? :p

Heeyyyy, which garage :mad:

:p

Nope I drive a mercedes :D

A very profitable garage :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

No, wait .. it's getting better :D

well i'd like to help in anyway ;)

i had a sh!tty day once, not a patch on yours but..

i had a really bad toothache and had an appointment for the dentist.

went out to start the car to pick up the little 'un and head off.

car wouldn't start.

heavens opened.

soaked to the skin.

child got soaked.

borrowed my friends car as the pain was starting to make suicide appealing.

1lt micra, would have been quicker pushing the fcuking thing.

made it to the dentist, was told i would need root canal treatment.

it would cost €400!!!!

squelched back to the car and wept for myself that day.

i laughed at my dramatics the following day though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Ranting and Raving is now a private forum, seems you missed access :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    One time I stubbed my toe getting into bed.

F*cking awful day that was.

Stubbing your toe is probably the most painful experience, ever. Getting kicked in the niagra falls? Child birth? Pffffft. Whenever someone stubbed their toe, you can see the pain, the grabbing of the foot, the taking off the sock to make sure no nail is cracked. There is nothing more traumatic. And Pete, consider yourself lucky you haven't done it today

Actually plenty of time to go yet :pac:

Days were everything just goes wrong, had them, but smile my good man you made it. You had a lot of bad luck in one day, so you won't have much more!

Nope I drive a mercedes :D

A very profitable garage :p

Well, excuuuuuuuse me :pac:

Ranting and Raving is now a private forum, seems you missed access :D

Private forum??

That's the death of that then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

700 or more applications in 3 days I think :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

Wow bad day Pete. How was the movie?

I'm not really looking forward to tomorrow. Have about 40 annoying things that I have to do. Have a feeling I'm going to come home to a flooded house, some very weird noises coming from the attic. I had tonsillitis last week - finished my anti biotics yesterday and my throat is really sore again.

Wow I've nearly bored myself to sleep writing that! Moooooaaannnn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Fair play to ya Pete.
    If I'd had a day like that I'd probably have taken it about as well as this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Wow, what a tale of woe that was. Don't worry though, only half an hour of today left.
    Mine was fine bar a slightly warped bumper and it was slighty funny as she had to stand in the road giving her details to the Guards dressed in a pink bathrobe and matching pajamas and slippers :pac:

Hopefully there will be a positive from this experience, with some luck this experience mortified her enough so that we will have one less daft bint who thinks its all the fashion to leave the house in her pjs. Probably not but I can always hope.

Ah if ya think that's bad, I lost a fiver there one day last week..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Wow Petie, sucks to be you!

My day wasn't the worst but by no means spectacular

Failed the NCT, brake imbalance on the left side, pass rate is 30% I had 32%!

And now I have a sick stomach from licking 121 envelopes, they were cheap and I think that the glue was poisonous

I'm trying to ease the pain with red wine and benson & hedges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

We headed off to the cinema seen The Crazies

So did I :D

Also R&R is now a private forum you have to request access :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

All went swimmingly until on my back into town when I got a puncture in Santry. No real problem with that until the damn jack snapped and had to get a taxi to a garage to borrow one.
    Why didn't you just ask the taxi driver for a loan of his and throw him a few quid? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Why didn't you just ask the taxi driver for a loan of his and throw him a few quid? :confused:

Clearly because it would have made for an utterly sh1t thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Slashers gonna loooove this! After bein in a heap since mid/end last week and...genuinely tryin to get fit etc, the physio today told me i had either achilles tendonitis or snapped fibres of the achilles tendon.

I was in Glasgow for the weekend. Neurofen plus and sambuca=numb as feck and made it even worse.Cue ridiculous ankle swelling today. Week 2 Day 1 of the Couch 2 5K is on hold.*

*not cancelled or lazy couldnt be arsed ..just on hold (who knew the achilles was a painful mofo!!)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Proof that god is a bastard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

anniehoo wrote: »
    Slashers gonna loooove this! After bein in a heap since mid/end last week and...genuinely tryin to get fit etc, the physio today told me i had either achilles tendonitis or snapped fibres of the achilles tendon.

I was in Glasgow for the weekend. Neurofen plus and sambuca=numb as feck and made it even worse.Cue ridiculous ankle swelling today. Week 2 Day 1 of the Couch 2 5K is on hold.*

*not cancelled or lazy couldnt be arsed ..just on hold (who knew the achilles was a painful mofo!!)

Ah poor aul Annie, that'll keep you off this fitness madness for a while!

But at least you broke the beasts back, it'll be no bother to ya when you get better (may I suggest Guinness for its high quantities of iron, is there nothing that drink wont fix??)

I have a 1/2 mile drive way so have been doing good running it for the last week, gonna climb Croagh Patrick friday, I've told everyone so I have to do it. Watch me post back here with a broken ankle and 3 slipped discs :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

God love ya! That's one crappy day. I hat being clamped. I was done once in UCD even tho i parked in a (almost) legitimate parking spot.

Seriously I have done more dodgy parking before this and only got a warning, guess the clamper was trying to make his quota.

Missed a lecture and had to call the folks for their credit card number. They still haven't let me live it down. Im buying a bolt cutter and a hacksaw next week :D
    anniehoo wrote: »

I

A few months back I tore all the ligaments in my ankle a week after I joined a boxing club. 4 weeks on crutches for me.

LMAO :D

Shortly after starting this thread last, as I was responding to the odd reply, this happened:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64735298 :p

Did do, but said he didn't have one but I was a little suspicious.

Taxi's drivers are a nightmare when it comes to things like that.

I remember once leaving my lights when parked near Stephen's Green and asking taxi's for a jump start. Must have asked twenty of them and they all said they couldn't for insurance reasons and engine might blow up reasons :rolleyes: etc.

Eventually a guy in a Fed-Ex van gave me a jump (not Tom Hanks though :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Today should have be great.

No work, good bit of cash in my phoca, just had to drop someone at the airport at 2.30pm, then the day was mine till 9pm (babysitting :cool:).

Sitting at the lights wondering what film I should go and see later when: BAM, some woman slams into the back of me in her Micra!

Scared the **** out of me and destroyed her car. Mine was fine bar a slightly warped bumper and it was slighty funny as she had to stand in the road giving her details to the Guards dressed in a pink bathrobe and matching pajamas and slippers

So now it's 4.30pm and I need to get into town asap as I still have a gift for my nephew to get that needs to be in the post by 5.30pm

Park in Marlborough St at 4.45pm but only have enough change to pay for parking till 5.18pm, which should be all the time I need (you can see what's coming :p).

So off I pop to Henry St, buy nephew his first footie kit. Hit Easons for a card and I'm in the GPO at 5.05 (all's going well) and just as I'm putting the Kit into Easons rip off boxes, I see that the bafoons in Lifestyle left the security clamp on it .... Nooooooo!!!!

It's 5.10 now and some jogging is in order to get to Lifestyle and back to make the 5.30pm post, which I just manage and then have to swallow that it'll cost €37 to send the package to Holland .. wtf :mad:

I pay it and then sprint back to Marlborough St and just as I round the corner at the Flowing Tide, I see 'Em .. I'm clamped :(

I decide to just go for something to eat and not even fcuking bother pleading my case, no point and so I head to Beshoffs for some Deep Fried Carbs and Sugar laden Tea.

As I go to pay ... ah noooo :eek:

I triple check all pockets and my wallet is gone!! :o

Just cards and €30 but not today, not ta-fcuking-day God.

Phoned a mate in the end and he saved the day with a lend till I'm sorted tomorrow. We headed off to the cinema seen The Crazies .. seemed apt as I feel the day I had, has almost driven me crazy :o

So, have you ever had one of those days where things go wrong no matter what you do??

A day that just defeated you from start to finish despite your best efforts?

This post = 17 'Thanks'
    Except for a minor road rage incident earlier my day could not have been any luckier everything went right I got my parking validated for free:D, I found 20 euro at the garage:D and also putting back a trolley at the supermarket I found a euro on the ground:D,

I arrived at the doctors (no appointments queing nightmare kinda doctor) when all the 8 people in front of me wanted to see another particular doctor I had just litterly walked in the number screen buzzed and I just strolled into the doctor that nobody wanted to see without having to wait:D

I finally figured out how to stop my car beeping everytime I start it telling me it needs to be serviced Ive another 10,000 miles before I hear it again:D

I came home to a lovely dinner waiting for me only to find out I had won a hamper in a local draw:D

Maybe I got you luck today

This post = 1 'Thanks'

Proof that Irish people are in fact, miserable cúnts who hate to see others do well.

:P

baz2009 wrote: »
    This post = 17 'Thanks' .. This post = 1 'Thanks'

Proof that Irish people are in fact, miserable cúnts who hate to see others do well. :P

Think AH'ers were just in a good mood last night.

I was fully expecting:

"Who gives a sh*t about you and your fcuking car getting bumped and clamped.

Next time pay attention in the shop and you just might notice if a security clamp is left on.

Oh and make sure you have enough change for the meter and you won't get clamped then assh*ole.

Buy a decent car Jack too!!

This ain't twitter loser."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

Scared the **** out of me and destroyed her car. Mine was fine bar a slightly warped bumper and it was slighty funny as she had to stand in the road giving her details to the Guards dressed in a pink bathrobe and matching pajamas and slippers :pac:

The Gardai must be getting pretty laid-back about the uniform.

But yeah, I hate those days.

The Gardai must be getting pretty laid-back about the uniform.

But yeah, I hate those days.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

have an idea of the exact same thing yer on about, fortunately for me, i work in a place i can just give out shít to everybody and no-one would bat an eyelid ;)

Worked in McD's on Grafton St. when i was younger, and because it was busiest day of the year, we all had to work St. Patricks day. We all went on the lash the night before, so with a sore head on me i cycle into work thanking god that i had an afternoon start instead of early morning.

I get a puncture on the way in and didn't have a lock with me as i used to leave it indoors, out the back storage area. I live on the Northside so when i get to roughly where Pearse St., i'm thinking "WTF? Why are all those people standing ar......BOLLOX! The parade!"

Dragging a flat bike around the packed perimeter of the parade route with a whopper (big mac?) hangover is loadsa fun. Srsly. Eventually legged it across the road at a point on Kildare St. and get to work late and get a bollocking. Then realise I've forgotten my work trousers and have to get a loan of a pair off somebody else who's finishing their shift.

Eventually make it up to the kitchen to find that all the handier jobs are gone and I have to do lobby for the day. This is the cleaning tables, mopping and sweeping floors, changing bins etc. that you see the frontline staff do. Have to do the old upstairs lobby, all bins and because I'm the only bloke thats outside the tills, I'm in charge of cleaning the gents as well. Trying to mop a toilet floor when there's 12 people standing/p1ssing is also loadsa fun.

Towards the end of the shift, after the main madness has ended and it's not that busy I get moved into the kitchen. At one point I'm carrying a big bag of sliced pickles in whatever the juice is that they're pickled in. Open it up with one of those safety opener things thats fixed to the wall, slip on the way back to where i'm supposed to leave them and spill pickle juice all over myself and have to put up with that vinegary smell all afternoon.

Eventually make it through the day and go to get the bus home. Bleedin' wrecked so prob don't look like i'm in the best condition i've ever been. Get a few odd looks from people on the street and on the bus. Arrive home and walk in the door only for me ma to say...
    "Why have you still got a hairnet on?"